DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2024, 06/18/2025 and 07/02/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 09/20/2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure filed on 09/20/2024 is accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "The method according to claim 19" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-13, 16, 18, 21, 25-26, 28 and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon (US 20220046540 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 33 and 35, Kwon discloses a processor and a memory storing a computer program (figure 13), monitoring paging downlink control information, DCI, performed by a user equipment (paragraph [0104], "At each DRX cycle, within a specific time duration, a paging occasion (PO) is predetermined for a UE to monitor a control channel for paging, or paging DCI"; paragraph [0123], "UE monitors control channel for paging, or paging DCI, during each paging occasion"); receiving a wake-up signal corresponding to the user equipment (paragraph [0116], "The base station transmits a WUS 610 at a time period T1620 before the beginning of the paging occasion 601"; paragraph [0117], "After the UE receives the WUS 610, the UE determines whether or not to monitor the paging occasion 601 to receive control channel for paging"; figure 6); determining a time domain position of a monitoring occasion for monitoring paging DCI according to a time domain position for receiving the wake-up signal (paragraphs [0104] and [0123], as cited; paragraph [0119], "time gap T1620 configured between the WUS 610 and the start of the paging occasion", "the time gap T1620 may be any time duration in a way that a UE can estimate the start time of the associated paging occasion, for example the paging occasion 601, using the configured time gap T1620 from the time the WUS 610 is received", wherein thus D7 clearly discloses a determining according to the time domain position for receiving the wake-up signal; figure 6); and monitoring paging DCI corresponding to the user equipment at the time domain position of the monitoring occasion for monitoring the paging DCI (paragraphs [0104], [0119], [0123]; figure 6).
Regarding claims 16, 34 and 36, Kwon discloses a processor and a memory storing a computer program (figure 13) sending a wake-up signal corresponding to a user equipment to the user equipment (section 4.1, "inclusion of a minimum time-gap between the last PEI occasion and the earliest PO, this to allow the UE to prepare for reception of paging DCI and paging message" … (section 2.1, "Proposal 3: PEI will alert the UE to wake up only when paging message", wherein the PEI is a wake-up signal; section 4.1, "derive MOs for PEI monitoring", "PEI monitoring/transmission occasion(s)"); determining a time domain position of a monitoring occasion for sending paging DCI according to a time domain position for sending the wake-up signal (paragraphs [0104] and [0123], as cited; paragraph [0119], "time gap T1620 configured between the WUS 610 and the start of the paging occasion", "the time gap T1620 may be any time duration in a way that a UE can estimate the start time of the associated paging occasion, for example the paging occasion 601, using the configured time gap T1620 from the time the WUS 610 is received", wherein thus D7 clearly discloses a determining according to the time domain position for receiving the wake-up signal; figure 6); and sending paging DCI corresponding to the user equipment at the time domain position of the monitoring occasion for sending the paging DCI (paragraphs [0104], [0119], [0123]; figure 6).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon discloses claim 1, Kwon also discloses a monitoring occasion of the wake-up signal corresponding to the user equipment is periodically distributed in a time domain (paragraphs [0115] - [0123]; figures 6, 7)
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Kwon discloses claims 1 and 16, Kwon also discloses at least one of after a moment corresponding to a first time interval behind an end position of the time domain position for receiving the wake-up signal; or a moment corresponding to a second time interval behind an end position of the time domain position for receiving the wake-up signal (paragraphs [0116] - [0119]; figure 6).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon discloses claim 3, Kwon also discloses a paging search space period for transmitting the paging DCI comprises M * N monitoring occasions, wherein M is a quantity of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) actually sent by a network device, and N is an integer greater than zero (paragraphs [0116] - [0119], [0145], [0146], [0197]; figure 6).
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Kwon discloses claims 3 and 18, Kwon also discloses a one of: M * H monitoring occasions after the first moment and closest to the first moment in a paging search space for transmitting the paging DCI, wherein M is a quantity of SSBs actually sent by a network device, and H is an integer greater than zero; M * H monitoring occasions in one or more paging search space periods after the first moment and closest to the first moment in a paging search space for transmitting the paging DCI, a start time of the paging search space period is later than the first moment, M is a quantity of SSBs actually sent by the network device, and H is an integer greater than zero; or all paging occasions in a paging search space period after the first moment and closest to the first moment in a paging search space for transmitting the paging DCI, and a start time of the paging search space period is later than the first moment (paragraphs [0116] - [0119], [0145], [0146], [0197]; figure 6)
Regarding claim 8, Kwon discloses claim 6, Kwon also discloses M * N monitoring occasions, H is equal to N (paragraphs [0116] - [0119], [0145], [0146], [0197]; figure 6)
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Kwon discloses claims 5 and 16, Kwon also discloses at least one of receiving configuration information sent by the network device that indicates a paging search space for transmitting the paging DCI; or reporting capability information to the network device that indicates at least one of the first time interval or the second time interval (paragraphs [0070], [0110])
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Kwon discloses claims 3 and 21, Kwon also discloses at least M monitoring occasions for monitoring the paging DCI are provided between the first moment and the second moment, wherein M is a quantity of SSBs actually sent by a network device (paragraphs [0116] - [0119], [0145], [0146], [0197]; figure 6)
Regarding claim 12, Kwon discloses claim 3, Kwon also discloses an interval between the first moment and the second moment is greater than or equal to a duration of a paging search space period (paragraphs [0116] - [0119], [0145], [0146], [0197]; figure 6)
Regarding claims 13 and 28, Kwon discloses claims 3 and 18, Kwon also discloses at least one of at least one monitoring occasion in S paging search space periods after the first moment S is an integer greater than or equal to 1; or at least one monitoring occasion in S paging search space periods before the second moment, S is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (paragraphs [0116] - [0119], [0145], [0146], [0197]; figure 6).
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-13, 16, 18, 21, 25-26, 28 and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moderator ((MediaTek), "Summary#5 of Paging Enhancements", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #106bis-e, R1-2110671, e- Meeting, October 11th - 19th, 2021, 51 pages).
Regarding claims 1, 33 and 35, Moderator discloses a processor and a memory storing a computer program (UE processing includes a processor and a memory), monitoring paging downlink control information, DCI, performed by a user equipment (section 4.1, "inclusion of a minimum time-gap between the last PEI occasion and the earliest PO, this to allow the UE to prepare for reception of paging DCI and paging message"), receiving a wake-up signal corresponding to the user equipment (section 2.1, "Proposal 3: PEI will alert the UE to wake up only when paging message", wherein the PEI is a wake-up signal; section 4.1, "derive MOs for PEI monitoring", "PEI monitoring/transmission occasion(s)"); determining a time domain position of a monitoring occasion for monitoring paging DCI according to a time domain position for receiving the wake-up signal (section 3.1, "Support SIB based configuration of PEI, including - a time offset relative to start of an associated PO, to indicate start of PEI monitoring", wherein the time offset also implies determining the time domain position of the monitoring occasion for the paging DCI according to the time domain position for receiving the wake-up signal, also see the corresponding clarity objection in section 3.1 above; section 4.1, as cited and in particular "reception of paging DCI", and in addition "Intel Proposal 6: An offset is configured to derive MOs for PEI monitoring with respect to the MOs of PO addressed by the PEI", "Proposal 11: UE does not expect the time gap between the burst of PEI MOs and PO is smaller than a minimum time gap. The minimum time gap should be at least 50 ms"); and monitoring paging DCI corresponding to the user equipment at the time domain position of the monitoring occasion for monitoring the paging DCI (sections 3.1 and 4.1, as cited).
Regarding claims 16, 34 and 36 Moderator discloses a processor and a memory storing a computer program (UE processing includes a processor and a memory) sending a wake-up signal corresponding to a user equipment to the user equipment (section 4.1, "inclusion of a minimum time-gap between the last PEI occasion and the earliest PO, this to allow the UE to prepare for reception of paging DCI and paging message" … (section 2.1, "Proposal 3: PEI will alert the UE to wake up only when paging message", wherein the PEI is a wake-up signal; section 4.1, "derive MOs for PEI monitoring", "PEI monitoring/transmission occasion(s)");
determining a time domain position of a monitoring occasion for sending paging DCI according to a time domain position for sending the wake-up signal (section 3.1, "Support SIB based configuration of PEI, including - a time offset relative to start of an associated PO, to indicate start of PEI monitoring", wherein the time offset also implies determining the time domain position of the monitoring occasion for the paging DCI according to the time domain position for receiving the wake-up signal, also see the corresponding clarity objection in section 3.1 above; section 4.1, as cited and in particular "reception of paging DCI", and in addition "Intel Proposal 6: An offset is configured to derive MOs for PEI monitoring with respect to the MOs of PO addressed by the PEI", "Proposal 11: UE does not expect the time gap between the burst of PEI MOs and PO is smaller than a minimum time gap. The minimum time gap should be at least 50 ms"); and sending paging DCI corresponding to the user equipment at the time domain position of the monitoring occasion for sending the paging DCI (sections 3.1 and 4.1, as cited).
Regarding claim 2, Moderator discloses claim 1, Moderator also discloses a monitoring occasion of the wake-up signal corresponding to the user equipment is periodically distributed in a time domain (section 4.1)
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Moderator discloses claims 1 and 16, Moderator also discloses at least one of after a moment corresponding to a first time interval behind an end position of the time domain position for receiving the wake-up signal; or a moment corresponding to a second time interval behind an end position of the time domain position for receiving the wake-up signal (section 3.1 and 4.1)
Regarding claim 5, Moderator discloses claim 3, Moderator also discloses a paging search space period for transmitting the paging DCI comprises M * N monitoring occasions, wherein M is a quantity of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) actually sent by a network device, and N is an integer greater than zero (section 3.1. 3.2 and 4.1)
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Moderator discloses claims 3 and 18, Moderator also discloses a one of: M * H monitoring occasions after the first moment and closest to the first moment in a paging search space for transmitting the paging DCI, wherein M is a quantity of SSBs actually sent by a network device, and H is an integer greater than zero; M * H monitoring occasions in one or more paging search space periods after the first moment and closest to the first moment in a paging search space for transmitting the paging DCI, a start time of the paging search space period is later than the first moment, M is a quantity of SSBs actually sent by the network device, and H is an integer greater than zero; or all paging occasions in a paging search space period after the first moment and closest to the first moment in a paging search space for transmitting the paging DCI, and a start time of the paging search space period is later than the first moment (section 3.1. 3.2 and 4.1)
Regarding claim 8, Moderator discloses claim 6, Moderator also discloses M * N monitoring occasions, H is equal to N (section 3.1. 3.2 and 4.1)
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Moderator discloses claims 5 and 16, Moderator also discloses at least one of receiving configuration information sent by the network device that indicates a paging search space for transmitting the paging DCI; or reporting capability information to the network device that indicates at least one of the first time interval or the second time interval (section 3.1. 3.2 and 4.1)
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Moderator discloses claims 3 and 21, Moderator also discloses at least M monitoring occasions for monitoring the paging DCI are provided between the first moment and the second moment, wherein M is a quantity of SSBs actually sent by a network device (section 3.1. 3.2 and 4.1)
Regarding claim 12, Moderator discloses claim 3, Moderator also discloses an interval between the first moment and the second moment is greater than or equal to a duration of a paging search space period (section 3.1. 3.2 and 4.1)
Regarding claims 13 and 28, Moderator discloses claims 3 and 18, Moderator also discloses at least one of at least one monitoring occasion in S paging search space periods after the first moment S is an integer greater than or equal to 1; or at least one monitoring occasion in S paging search space periods before the second moment, S is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (section 3.1. 3.2 and 4.1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen (US 20200169446 A1) discloses paging in beamformed wireless communication system.
Islam (US 20220159574 A1) discloses control channel signaling for user equipment (UE) power saving.
Bi (US 11363587 B2) discloses information transmission method and device.
Park (US 11864109 B2) discloses wake-up signal operation for multiple transmission and reception points.
Su (US 12349062 B2) discloses reference signal sending method, reference signal receiving method, device, and system.
/JUAN A TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634