DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/20/24, and 1/13/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waggel et al. (US 2020/0244210) in view of Ionescu (WO 2020180293 A1) (hereinafter rejections rely on equivalent English translation US 2022/0060134).
Regarding claim 1,
Waggel discloses (Fig. 4):
A variable frequency drive system (Fig. 4, 300) comprising: a power converter (330) comprising a plurality of power cells (not shown, ¶0029) supplying power to one or more output phases (¶0041), each power cell comprising multiple switching devices (Fig. 1, power cell, ¶0002), a plurality of sensors monitoring values of the power converter (410, 420, ¶0035, 0043), and a control system (400) in communication with the power converter (330)and controlling operation of the plurality of power cells (in 330, ¶0029, ¶0035), wherein the control system is configured to obtain an internal coolant flow rate (Fig. 5, uses multiple variables to determine coolant flow rate, CFMin,CFMOUT, ¶0052,).
Waggel does not disclose:
via computer executable instructions to access and utilize a multi-dimensional response surface
However, Ionescu teaches (fig. 4):
via computer executable instructions (Fig. 5, 412, ¶0049) to access and utilize a multi-dimensional response surface (Reduced order model, ROM, is a multidimensional table that calculates flow rates and temperature, ¶0046, Fig. 6, 604)
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 2,
Waggel discloses (Fig. 4):
wherein the internal coolant flow rate is an internal air flow rate (CFMin,CFMOUT, ¶0052).
Regarding claim 3,
Waggel discloses the above elements from claim 1,
Waggel does not disclose:
further comprising a reduced order model (ROM), stored in a memory of the control system, wherein the ROM is configured to utilize the internal coolant flow rate for further processing.
However, Ionescu teaches (Fig. 6):
drive of further comprising a reduced order model (ROM), stored in a memory of the control system, wherein the ROM is configured to utilize the internal coolant flow rate for further processing (fig. 6, 604, ¶0045-¶0046).
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 4,
Waggel discloses the above elements from claim 1,
Waggel does not disclose:
wherein the multi-dimensional response surface is designed as a multi-dimensional lookup table.
However, Ionescu teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the multi-dimensional response surface is designed as a multi-dimensional lookup table (¶0046).
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 5,
Waggel discloses the above elements from claim 4,
Waggel does not disclose:
wherein input values for the multi-dimensional lookup table include power and measured internal temperature, and an output value is the internal coolant flow rate.
However, Ionescu teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein input values for the multi-dimensional lookup table include power and measured internal temperature, and an output value is the internal coolant flow rate (¶0046).
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 6,
Waggel discloses the above elements from claim 1,
Waggel does not disclose:
wherein the multi-dimensional response surface is designed as a functional mock- up unit (FMU) including compiled code.
However, Ionescu teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the multi-dimensional response surface is designed as a functional mock- up unit (FMU) including compiled code (¶0046-¶0049).
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 7,
Waggel discloses the above elements from claim 1,
Waggel does not disclose:
wherein the multi-dimensional response surface is created using computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulation of one or more selected device(s).
However, Ionescu teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the multi-dimensional response surface is created using computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulation of one or more selected device(s) (¶0045-¶0046).
Regarding claim 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 8,
Waggel discloses the above elements from claim 7,
Waggel does not disclose:
wherein the CFD simulation uses power input and coolant flow rate input and a relevant temperature output which is also an actual measurement location of temperature inside the one or more selected device(s).
However, Ionescu teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the CFD simulation uses power input and coolant flow rate input and a relevant temperature output which is also an actual measurement location of temperature inside the one or more selected device(s) (¶0045-¶0046).
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 9,
Waggel discloses (Fig. 4):
A method for controlling a variable frequency drive (Fig. 4, 300) comprising, through operation of at least one processor (400): obtain an internal coolant flow rate (CFMin,CFMOUT, ¶0052).
Waggel does not disclose:
accessing and utilizing a multi-dimensional response surface
However, Ionescu teaches (Fig. 5):
accessing and utilizing a multi-dimensional response surface (Reduced order model, ROM, is a multidimensional table that calculates flow rates and temperature, ¶0046)
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 10,
Waggel discloses the above elements from claim 9,
Waggel does not disclose:
wherein the multi-dimensional response surface is designed as a multi-dimensional lookup table.
However, Ionescu teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the multi-dimensional response surface is designed as a multi-dimensional lookup table (¶0046).
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 11,
Waggel discloses the above elements from claim 9,
Waggel does not disclose:
wherein the multi-dimensional response surface is designed as a functional mock- up unit (FMU) including compiled code.
However, Ionescu teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the multi-dimensional response surface is designed as a functional mock- up unit (FMU) including compiled code (¶0046-¶0049).
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 12,
Waggel discloses the above elements from claim 10,
Waggel does not disclose:
wherein input values for the multi-dimensional lookup table include power and measured internal temperature, and an output value is the internal coolant flow rate.
However, Ionescu teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein input values for the multi-dimensional lookup table include power and measured internal temperature, and an output value is the internal coolant flow rate (¶0046).
Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 13,
Waggel discloses the above elements from claim 9,
Waggel does not disclose:
further comprising: creating the multi-dimensional response surface using computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulation of one or more selected device(s).
However, Ionescu teaches (Fig. 6):
further comprising: creating the multi-dimensional response surface using computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulation of one or more selected device(s) (¶0045-¶0046).
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 14,
Waggel discloses the above elements from claim 13,
Waggel does not disclose:
wherein the CFD simulation uses power input and coolant flow rate input and a relevant temperature output which is also an actual measurement location of temperature inside the one or more selected device(s).
However, Ionescu teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the CFD simulation uses power input and coolant flow rate input and a relevant temperature output which is also an actual measurement location of temperature inside the one or more selected device(s) (¶0045-¶0046).
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 15,
Waggel discloses the above elements from claim 9,
Waggel does not disclose:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing executable instructions that when executed by a computer perform a method for controlling a variable frequency drive as claimed in claim 9.
However, Ionescu teaches (Fig. 6):
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing executable instructions that when executed by a computer perform a method for controlling a variable frequency drive as claimed in claim 9 (¶0071).
Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the VFD system from Waggel that controls coolant flow in a power converter using multiple variables (¶0048) and use the Reduced order model from Ionescu in order to calculate the heat and coolant amount and change operating parameters of the converter based on the reduced order model (¶0045-¶0046). This would improve the cooling which would improve efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Allmendinger (US 2007/0261475) – fluid measurement system
/C.S.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 2837 /KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837