DETAILED ACTION
Pursuant to the preliminary amendment dated 9/20/2024, claims 1-16 are amended and claims 17-20 are newly added.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application is a National Stage Application of PCT/EP2023/057368, filed on 3/22/2023. The instant application claims foreign priority to FR 2202544 filed on 3/22/2022. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant application on 9/20/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) dated 9/20/2024 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609, except where noted. Accordingly, the IDS documents have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 9, 12, 15, 16 and 20 are rejected for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "for example". The term "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. Preferences, options and examples are properly set forth in the specification, but when included in the claims lead to confusion over the intended scope of the claim. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes, the broadest claim limitation(s) will be considered without taking into account preferences or examples.
Claim 12 recites the limitation, “the washing”. Claim 15 recites the limitations, “the separation”, “the reaction medium” and “the first and second fractions”. Claim 16 recites the limitation, “the second fraction”. Claim 20 recites the limitation, “the reaction medium”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 11, 12, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (Carb. Poly., Sept 2020, IDS).
Liu et al. discloses a process for preparing cellulose nanofibers, with cellulose I crystal structure, by first preparing a deep eutectic solvent (DES) by mixing choline chloride (CC) and oxalic or citric acids, at a CC:acid mole ratio of 1:1, then mixing the DES with hardwood pulp, followed by extrusion and 40 minutes of colloid milling and then isolating the CNF as a dispersion using aqueous dialysis. (Sec. 2.1-2.3, 4; Table 1) Liu also discloses that the CNF are esterified with carboxylate groups during the process to a degree of 5, 10 or 15%. (Sec. 3.4)
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Carb. Poly., Sept 2020, IDS), in view of Yu et al. (Cellulose, 2019, IDS).
The disclosure of Liu is referenced as discussed above. Liu does not teach a mechanochemical reaction temperature of 25°C.
Yu et al. discloses a method for making cellulose nanocrystals by mechanochemical reaction (ball milling) of ramie pulp with a DES comprising choline chloride and oxalic acid, at 25°C. (p. 3071, Col. 2) Yu also discloses separating fibers from a reaction mixture using filtration and/or centrifugation. (pp. 3071-3072)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to analogous art, such as Yu et al., for ways to reasonably modify the mechanochemical process of Liu. Hence, changing the mechanochemical reaction temperature of Liu to be 25°C, or separation of fraction via filtering and/or centrifugation, would be an obvious modification in view of Yu.
Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Carb. Poly., Sept 2020, IDS), in view of Yu et al. (Cellulose, 2019, IDS), further in view of Zeng et al. (Cellulose, 2021, PTO-892).
The disclosure of Liu/Yu is referenced as discussed above. The combined prior art does not teach a mechanochemical frequency of 5-50 Hz.
Zeng et al. discloses a method for making cellulose nanocrystals by mechanochemical treatment of softwood pulp using a ball mill at 30 Hz. (p. 3393, Col. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to analogous art, such as Zeng et al., for ways to reasonably modify the mechanochemical process of Liu/Yu. Hence, setting the ball mill frequency to 30 Hz, would be an obvious modification in view of Zeng.
Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Carb. Poly., Sept 2020, IDS), in view of Xie et al. (Inter. J. Poly. Sci., 2018, PTO-892).
The disclosure of Liu is referenced as discussed above. Liu does not teach a mechanochemical reaction resulting in cellulose nanomaterial with solids content at 20% or greater.
Xie et al. discloses that ball milling has been used to generate cellulose nanofibers with a solids content of greater than 50% (Sec. 3.1.3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to analogous art, such as Xie et al., for ways to reasonably modify the mechanochemical process of Liu. Hence, changing the solids content in the mechanochemical reaction of Liu would be an obvious modification in view of Xie.
Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DALE R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693