CTNF 18/849,312 CTNF 82236 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement submitted on 01/14/2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file. Preliminary Amendment The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 09/20/2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on 09/20/2024. Claims 1-12 have been canceled. Claims 13-22 have been added. Claims 13-22 are now pending in the present application. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liao (US 2021/0368341 A1) . Regarding claim 13 , Liao teaches a method performed by a PIN element with management capability (PEMC) (Liao – [0163]) for communication in a personal IOT network (PIN) (Liao – Abstract, [0064], [0163]), the method comprising: receiving, from a PIN Element (PINE) (Liao – [0162]-[0163]), a request message to join a PIN, wherein the request message includes an ID of the PINE and a PIN ID which is an identifier of the PIN that the PINE wants to join (read as when a user/UE requests a service from the PIN device connected to the gateway UE, the user/UE signed the message using indicated hash algorithm and encrypt the message with public key of the service identified by an associated User Identifier based on the User Profile) (Liao – [0129]); performing an authorization procedure to determine whether the PINE has authorized to join the PIN (read as when the gateway UE receives the service request message for a service provided by the PIN device, the gateway UE performs the user authentication for the requested user by using the private key of the service to ensure that the message is sent by a legitimate user/UE and justifies the hash value of the message to ensure that the message was not modified during message delivery) (Liao – [0130]); and sending, to the PINE, an accept message (read as if the authentication is successful, the gateway UE forwards the service request to the PIN device; the communication of the service between the PIN device and the requested user/UE is started) (Liao – [0131]-[0132]). Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 13 , Liao further teaches wherein the request message further includes information about required services for identifying one or more services requested by the PINE (read as when the user/UE is out of home, this solution provides method for the user authentication from user out of home requesting to access services provided by an PIN device at home via a gateway UE; the gateway UE sends the credential information of the service to the 5G network and relies on the 5G network to distribute the credential information to the authorized users of the services based on stored User Profiles of all Users; the gateway UE obtains the active services related information from the PIN device such as HTTP request and response) (Liao – [0123], [0126]). Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 13 , Liao further teaches wherein the request message further includes information about supported services for identifying one or more services that the PINE can provide (read as the registration message includes the services related information or the User Profiles of the services provided by the PIN device) (Liao – [0127]). Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 13 , Liao further teaches wherein the request message further includes device type information (read as if the gateway does not have the User Profile of the service user, the gateway UE continues to step 1, indicating service-related information including the User Identifier, credentials, service type, service description, etc.) (Liao – [0125]). Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 13 , Liao further teaches wherein the accept message includes PIN element with gateway capability (PEGC) information (read as PIN Element with Gateway Capability is a UE PIN Element with the ability to provide or indirect Network connection to and from the 5G network; PIN Element can have both PIN management capability and Gateway Capability) (Liao – [0163]). Regarding claim 18 , Liao teaches a PIN element with management capability (PEMC) (Liao – [0163]) for communication in a personal IOT network (PIN) (Liao – Abstract, [0064], [0163]), the PEMC comprising: a memory (read as main memory 204) (Liao – [0053]); a PIN discovery and communication controller (read as when a PIN device is turned on, the evolved residential gateway, eRG, discovers and connects to the PIN device at the first time, the eRG determines if the PIN device is an authorized User identified by a User Identity indicated in its UE configuration) (Liao – [0095]); and a processor (read as processor) (Liao – [0053]) coupled to the memory and the PIN discovery and communication controller is configured to: receive, from a PIN Element (PINE) (Liao – [0162]-[0163]), a request message to join a PIN, wherein the request message includes an ID of the PINE and a PIN ID which is an identifier of the PIN that the PINE wants to join (read as when a user/UE requests a service from the PIN device connected to the gateway UE, the user/UE signed the message using indicated hash algorithm and encrypt the message with public key of the service identified by an associated User Identifier based on the User Profile) (Liao – [0129]), perform an authorization procedure to determine whether the PINE has authorized to join the PIN (read as when the gateway UE receives the service request message for a service provided by the PIN device, the gateway UE performs the user authentication for the requested user by using the private key of the service to ensure that the message is sent by a legitimate user/UE and justifies the hash value of the message to ensure that the message was not modified during message delivery) (Liao – [0130]), and send, to the PINE, an accept message (read as if the authentication is successful, the gateway UE forwards the service request to the PIN device; the communication of the service between the PIN device and the requested user/UE is started) (Liao – [0131]-[0132]). Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 18 , Liao further teaches wherein the request message further includes information about required services for identifying one or more services requested by the PINE (read as when the user/UE is out of home, this solution provides method for the user authentication from user out of home requesting to access services provided by an PIN device at home via a gateway UE; the gateway UE sends the credential information of the service to the 5G network and relies on the 5G network to distribute the credential information to the authorized users of the services based on stored User Profiles of all Users; the gateway UE obtains the active services related information from the PIN device such as HTTP request and response) (Liao – [0123], [0126]). Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 18 , Liao further teaches wherein the request message further includes information about supported services for identifying one or more services that the PINE can provide (read as the registration message includes the services related information or the User Profiles of the services provided by the PIN device) (Liao – [0127]). Regarding claim 21 as applied to claim 18 , Liao further teaches wherein the request message further includes device type information (read as if the gateway does not have the User Profile of the service user, the gateway UE continues to step 1, indicating service-related information including the User Identifier, credentials, service type, service description, etc.) (Liao – [0125]). Regarding claim 22 as applied to claim 18 , Liao further teaches wherein the accept message includes PIN element with gateway capability (PEGC) information (read as PIN Element with Gateway Capability is a UE PIN Element with the ability to provide or indirect Network connection to and from the 5G network; PIN Element can have both PIN management capability and Gateway Capability) (Liao – [0163]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to APRIL GUZMAN GONZALES whose telephone number is (571)270-1101. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am to 4:00 pm EST. The examiner’s email address is april.guzman@uspto.gov. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wesley L. Kim can be reached at (571) 272-7867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /APRIL G GONZALES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/849,312 Page 2 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/849,312 Page 3 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/849,312 Page 4 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/849,312 Page 5 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/849,312 Page 6 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/849,312 Page 7 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/849,312 Page 8 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/849,312 Page 9 Art Unit: 2648