Claim Objections
Claims 2-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: each of these claims includes in the preamble the phrase “real time tracking antenna” which should be --real-time location tracking antenna--. Any other instance of this limitation phrase should be corrected. Appropriate correction is required.
Furthermore, claim 2 includes on line 1 the limitation “recoding” which should be --recording--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the PCB including from the top" in body of claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Given the missing details due to lack of antecedent basis, a proper determination of patentability for claim 5 cannot be determined. Claim 5 is given broadest reasonable interpretation as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by COLBURN et al. (US 20090021429 A1).
Re claim 1. COLBURN discloses (abstract) a real-time location tracking antenna configured to locate tags, the real-time location tracking antenna is a switched lobe antenna for 2D positioning (see [0017-0018] – radar system for automotive applications suitable for detecting tags – detection of elevation and azimuth as in [0017, 0025-0030]) which at least comprises:
[0017] The following discussion of the embodiments of the invention directed to a low cost radar system for automotive applications that employ a monopulse beamformer in a receiver with a simple single beam transmitter and provides object detection in both azimuth and elevation is merely exemplary in nature, and is in no way intended to limit the invention or its applications or uses.
a. at least three patch antenna elements in an antenna;
(see FIG.3 where eight different antennas described as being patch antennas per claim 4)
4. The receiver architecture according to claim 1 wherein the antennas are patch antennas.
b. means configured to set up at least three overlapping lobes in desired 2D FOV where each lobe overlaps with a neighbouring lobe (i.e. lobes of the eight patch antennas in FIG.3 are overlapping two by two, as per diagram of patch antenna, [0020-0024] – overlapping beams), where the means is one of:
i. one first controller including one phase shifter module where the overlapping lobes are obtained by controlling the phase to each of the patch antenna elements utilising the phase shifter where the first controller ([0018-0022] – several lobe generations through phase shifting) at least further comprises:
[0018] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a receiver architecture 10 for a radar transceiver that is applicable for automotive applications. For certain radar transceivers, it is desirable to make the transmitter a simple transmitting device, and place the complexity for signal processing in the receiver architecture. The receiver architecture 10 includes a traditional analog sum and difference beamformer 12 that provides analog monopulse beamforming from receive signals received by two antennas 14 and 16. The antennas 14 and 16 could consist of one or more individual elements depending on the required antenna beamwidth. Signals received by the antennas 14 and 16 are sent to a traditional monopulse beamformer 12 through phase shifters 18 and 20, respectively, that change the phase of the receive signals for monopulse processing in manner that will be discussed in detail below.
[0019] Radar monopulse signal processing includes comparing receive beams generated by at least two antennas when the signals received by the antennas are in phase and are 180.degree. out of phase. When the receive signals are combined in phase, the receive beams are directed along an antenna bore-sight typically directly in front of the vehicle. When the signals are 180.degree. out-of-phase there is a null along the antenna bore-sight, but the phase difference creates beam side-lobes on either side of the bore-sight. When the signals received from targets are compared between the receive beams that are combined in-phase (sum pattern) relative to the receive beam and that are combined out-of-phase (difference pattern), the direction of the target relative to the bore-sight can be determined. It is the relative amplitude and phase of the signals that gives the specific direction of the target relative to the antenna bore-sight. The traditional beamformer 12 is able to provide the required target monopulse signals by dividing the beams received by each antenna and combining them both with a 0 and 180 degree phase shift to create the sum and difference patterns. By adding an additional relative phase shift between the signals from the two antennas, the sum and difference patterns can be scanned to off bore-sight angles to improve the angular accuracy for off bore-sight targets.
[0020] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of a receiver architecture 24 that includes a digital processor 26 to perform the monopulse beamforming and steering in the digital domain. Signals are received by antennas 28 and 30 that are down-converted by down-converters 32 and 34, respectively. As previously mentioned, the antennas 28 and 30 could consist of multiple array elements depending on the antenna beamwidth required. The receive signals are converted to digital signals by analog-to-digital converters 36 and 38, where the digital signals are sent to the digital processor 26. The processor 26 is able to perform the monopulse signal processing using signals from the antennas 28 and 30 to provide the sum and difference beams that are then compared to identify targets along or near the bore-sight of the antennas 28 and 30. Additionally, the relative phase shift between the signal from the antennas 28 and 30 can be applied to steer the sum and difference patterns off bore-sight in the digital domain.
[0021] The receiver architectures 10 and 24 provide a simple technique for using the monopulse process to detect a target with greater accuracy than the traditional monopulse approach since the sum and difference patterns can be steered off bore-sight. However, the target detection direction is only in a single plane, such as the azimuth plane. Additional antennas and beamformers may be necessary to provide monopulse processing in both azimuth and elevation, desirable for automotive applications.
[0022] FIG. 3 is a plan view of a receiver architecture 46 that includes a first antenna array and beamformer 48 and a second antenna array and beamformer 50 that operate based on the traditional monopulse techniques with additional phase shifting to steer the sum and difference patterns, as discussed above. In this embodiment, the antenna array and beamformer 48 provides monopulse processing in the azimuth direction and the antenna array and beamformer 50 provides monopulse processing in the elevation direction.
recording means (under BRI recordings means include any processing and storing of data – including read value data) configured to:
read RSSI values from each of the at least three overlapping antenna lobes, and the first controller is configured to record the read RSSI values, and monopulse values in elevation and azimuth is calculated by the first controller based on RSSI values from overlapping lobes, thereby providing real-time 2D location tracking ([0020-0024] – use of RSSI is not explicit however, based on use of monopulse processing, RSSI is necessarily computed and is implicitly shown), and
ii. one second controller including one switching device (i.e. switch is disclosed as being used, such as switch 90) and where the switching device is configured to switch between the at least three patch antenna elements, where the second controller at least comprises:
recording means configured to:
read RSSI values from each of the at least three patch antenna elements, and the second controller is configured to record the read RSSI values, and monopulse values in elevation and azimuth is calculated by the second controller based on RSSI values from overlapping lobes, thereby providing real-time 2D location tracking (as explained above, switch operates together in a similar manner as explained above to obtain the same results).
[0023] The antenna array and beamformer 48 includes four antennas 52, 54, 56 and 58 and a beamformer 60 that can be either an analog beamformer or a digital beamformer of the type discussed above. The antennas 52 and 56 combine to form one beam and the antennas 54 and 58 combine to form another beam to provide the two beams for the monopulse processing. The antennas 52 and 56 are coupled to the beamformer 60 by a transmission line 62 and the antennas 54 and 58 are coupled to the beamformer 60 by a transmission line 64.
[0024] The antenna array and beamformer 50 includes antennas 68, 70, 72 and 74 and a beamformer 76. The antennas 68 and 72 combine to form one beam and the antennas 70 and 74 combine to form another beam to provide the two beams for monopulse processing. The antennas 68 and 72 are coupled to the beamformer 76 by a transmission line 78 and the antennas 70 and 74 are coupled to the beamformer 76 by a transmission line 80.
[0025] The antenna array and beamformer 48 provides the target signals of the sum and difference patterns in the horizontal plane on transmission line 82 and on transmission line 84, respectively. Likewise, the antenna array and beamformer 50 provides the target signals of the sum and difference patterns in the vertical plane on transmission line 86 and transmission line 88, respectively. Depending on which direction, azimuth or elevation, the radar system is currently detecting, a switch 90 switches the sum beam in the azimuth direction and the elevation direction to an output transmission line 92, and a switch 94 switches the difference beam in the azimuth and the elevation direction to an output transmission line 96. In this way a single set of monopulse receiver electronics can be used to determine both azimuth and elevation information about the target with a single fixed transmit beam.
[0026] FIG. 4 is a plan view of an antenna and beamformer 100 for a radar system including an array of four antennas 102, 104, 106 and 108 and four beamformers 110, 112, 114 and 116. In this embodiment, by providing the four beamformers 110, 112, 114 and 116, the array of antennas 102, 104, 106 and 108 can provide receive beams in both azimuth and elevation using monopulse processing. The antennas 102 and 104 provide target signals on transmission lines 120 and 122, respectively, to the beamformer 110. The beamformer 110 provides the sum beam target signals on transmission line 124 and the difference beam target signals on transmission line 126. Likewise, the target signals received by the antennas 106 and 108 are sent to the beamformer 114 on transmission lines 128 and 130, respectively. The beamformer 114 provides the sum beam target signals on transmission line 132 and the difference beam target signals on transmission line 134. The sum beam signals on the transmission lines 124 and 132 are sent to the beamformer 112, which provides the sum beam signals on transmission line 140 for the elevation difference beam signal on transmission line 142. Likewise, the difference beam signals on the transmission lines 126 and 134 are sent to the beamformer 116, which provides the azimuth difference beam signals on transmission line 144 (the sum port of the beamformer 116). By using a single set of monopulse receive electronics that is connected to the sum beam signal 140 and switches between the elevation 142 and azimuth 144 difference beam patterns, both the azimuth and elevation position of a target can be determined with a single fixed beam transmitter.
[0028] The transmitter 158 also includes a plurality of antenna elements 164 positioned along a transmission line 166, where the distance between the antenna elements 164 defines the phase relationship between the antenna elements 164 and provides the direction of the beam 154. Thus, the beam 152 can be directed along the vehicle's bore-sight in elevation, and the beam 154 can be directed towards the ground to determine whether a detected object is on the ground. The transceiver architecture 150 includes a switch 168 that switches between the transmitters 156 and 158 so that a transmit signal on a transmission input line 170 is transmitted by the transmitter 156 or 158.
[0030] FIG. 7 is a plan view of a transmitter architecture 200 that can transmit signals in either a sum or difference pattern depending on the position of a switch 216 positioned to provide difference scene illumination in elevation. The transmitter architecture 200 could be used in a transceiver with an azimuth only monopulse receiver, such as shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, to get both azimuth and elevations information. The transmitter architecture 200 includes a transmitter 202 having antenna elements 204 coupled to one transmission line 206 and antenna elements 208 coupled to another transmission line 210. An analog monopulse beamformer 212 is provided between the transmission lines 206 and 210. A signal to be transmitted is provided on an input transmission line 214. The switch 216 switches between an in-phase port 218 and an out-of-phase port 220 of the beamformer 212. When the switch 216 is switched to the in-phase port 220, then the transmitter 202 provides a beam 222 parallel to the ground in front of the vehicle. When the switch 216 is switched to the out-of-phase port 218, the transmitter 202 generates two beams 224 and 226 with a null in between. Therefore, targets in front of the vehicle can be detected in elevation as a result of switching between the sum and difference beam patterns.
Re claim 4. COLBURN discloses (FIG.3-4) the real time tracking antenna in accordance with claim 1, where the real time tracking antenna comprises at least three equidistant arranged patch antenna elements on a single planar PCB.
Re claim 6. COLBURN discloses (FIG.3) the real time tracking antenna in accordance with claim 1 wherein the one switching device includes at least three output ports, where each of the at least three output ports are connected with a patch antenna element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COLBURN in view of YANG (CN 102522629 B).
2. COLBURN discloses the real time tracking antenna in accordance with claim 1 wherein the recoding means at least comprises:
i. a microprocessor; [0020]
ii. memory modules (implicitly a microprocessor requires at least one memory module to operate properly).
However, COLBURN fails to explicitly disclose:
iii. at least three switches for connection between the microprocessor and each of the patch antenna elements.
YANG teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention, using three switches for a five-patch antenna.
[0007] the prior art document " Xue-based fluorescence probe can not et.al,, Bing-Benzhong Wang, Weixia Wuj and ShaoqiuXiao. iiYagi Patch Antenna With Dual-Band and Pattern Reconfigurable Characteristics. IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters, 2007, vol.6. and claims a orientation-pattern restructure-able antenna, as shown in FIG. 1, the whole antenna composed of five rectangular patches, middle size patch is an excitation unit, four sizes two sides of a small rectangular patch as a parasitic element. each parasitic element is opened with slot, groove is installed three switches, switch installed in the groove through control state, may make patches as a director or reflector. when the switch of the middle of the patches on slot is off, and the other two switches are closed, the patches as director; and when the patches on the three switch are both off, the parasitic patches as reflector. when two patch state excitation unit are director at one side, and the other side of the patch excitation element is a reflector, it can make the radiation pattern to the director direction. the direction diagram of the parasitic patch state outside of the reflector is not obvious. Thus A can achieve radiation pattern beam direction change of antenna is a reconfigurable microstrip patch yagi antenna.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add at least three switches for connection with microprocessor in order to further control each patch antenna as suggested above.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COLBURN in view of KIRINO (US 6496147 B1).
However, COLBURN fails to explicitly disclose:
Re claim 3. the real time tracking antenna in accordance with claim 1 where the one phase shifter module includes at least three phase shifters where each of the at least three phase shifters are in functional communication with one patch antenna element.
KIRINO teaches (abstract) in similar field of invention, using at least three phase shifters functioning with each patch antenna.
(11) The antenna patches 106d, 106h, 106l, and 106p which correspond to the first row, the second row, the third row, and the fourth row of a fourth column are connected to the first to fourth connection nodes N1-N4 through the three phase shifters 107a2-107a4 in series connection, the three phase shifters 107a6-107a8 in series connection, the three phase shifters 107a10-07a12 in series connection, and the three phase shifters 107a14-107a16 in series connection, respectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a phase shifter for each antenna in order to adapt antennas for proper phase shifting.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COLBURN in view of YANG (CN 102522629 B) further in view of BIRON (US 5306874 A).
However, COLBURN fails to explicitly disclose:
5. the real time tracking antenna in accordance with claim 2 where the PCB including from the top:
a top overlay, a top solder surface material, a copper top layer, a dielectric, copper bottom layer, a bottom solder surface and a bottom overlay, the PCB further includes five coax connectors for connection with the phase shifter module. (as best understood)
BIRON teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention, the similar structure commonly used to form PCB (under BRI) which includes a commonly formed structure for PCBs.
(c.4, l.1 – c.5, l.12)
(7) Following the electroplate of copper layer 51, a first etching mask of photoresist material 52, corresponding to the intended shape of the terminal connectors 54, is imaged and developed or the top surface 53 of copper layer 51, as shown in dotted lines in FIG. 6 and also shown in FIG. 7. As shown in FIG. 7, each terminal connector 54 has a reduced width or narrow `tongue` portion 54T that overlies a respective one of windows 11, 13. The length of `tongue` portion 54 coincides with the width of a window and is delineated by dotted lines 54T 11 and 54T 13. A second etching mask 56 of photoresist material, corresponding to the intended pattern of the flexible interconnect tracks 58, is selectively formed on the bottom surface 55 of copper layer 51, as shown by clothes lines in FIG. 6 and shown in FIG. 8. In addition to defining the intended shapes of the terminal connectors 54 and interconnect tracks 58, the respective masks also include a border or frame pattern, as shown at 61 in FIGS. 6 and 7 and 63 in FIGS. 6 and 8. The soluble photoresist material defining the configurations of the terminal connectors 54 and interconnect tracks 58 is then removed by a suitable photoresist wash, exposing respective terminal (54) and track-shaped portions of underlying copper layer 51, as well as their border regions 61, 63, as shown in FIG. 6A. Next, as shown in FIG. 6B, respective layers of solder material 66, 67 which resist copper etchant then applied to the exposed surfaces 53, 55 of copper layer 51. The remaining portions of photoresist masks 52, 56 are then stripped off, exposing those portions 71, 72 of the underlying copper layer 51 that is not masked by solder material, as shown in the top and bottom views of FIGS. 9 and 10.
(8) Next, as shown in the cross-sectional illustration of FIG. 11, the top side 81 of the laminate structure, including solder built up regions 54 and exposed portions 71 of the top surface 53 of copper layer 51, is refilmed with a layer of photoresist 83, while the bottom side 85 remains uprotected. A copper wash is then applied to the unprotected bottom side 85, thereby etching away the exposed copper layer 51 not masked by solder material 67, which coincides with track 58, leaving a solder covered-conductor pattern of interconnect tracks 58 and border pattern 63, as shown in FIG. 12. The resist layer 83 on the top side 81 of the laminate structure is then stripped off.
(9) As shown in FIG. 13, the bottom side 85 is then is non-selectively refilmed with a photoresist layer 87, leaving the top side 81 unprotected. A copper wash is then applied to the unprotected top side 81, thereby etching away the exposed surface of copper layer 51 and beryllium copper layer 31 not covered by protective solder layer 66. This copper wash step leaves a solder-covered conductor pattern of terminal connectors 54 and border pattern 61, and exposing those portions 91, 92 of windows 11, 13, respectively, not covered by `tongue` portions terminal connectors 54, as shown in FIG. 14.
… the remainder of the top-side copper, including beryllium copper layer 31, is etched away by the copper wash, leaving terminal conductors 54 at opposite ends of the top of the dielectric substrate 21. These terminal conductors are connected to the tracks 58 on the bottom surface of the dielectric substrate by the plated through holes 41, as described above. Because edges of the windows define ends of the terminal connectors, extraneous material beyond the edges of the windows is readily broken away to leave the structure shown in FIG. 15. The solder overlay is etched off the protected portions of copper layer 51, and the border is trimmed, leaving a jumper cable configuration, as shown in FIGS. 15 and 16. Because of the plated through holes 41, terminal connectors 54 are conductively connected through the dielectric substrate with opposite end portions of the flexible tracks 58.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try forming a PCB using the claimed layer structure in order to obtain a PCB which operates properly for control circuits for instance, under BRI.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COLBURN in view of FLORENT et al. (US 20130101196 A1).
However, COLBURN fails to explicitly disclose:
16. (Currently Amended) A real-time location tracking antenna system for 3D positioning which at least comprises two real-time location tracking antennas according to claim 1, where the two real time location tracking antennas are spatially separated and where a controller system reads 2D positioning values from the at least two real time location tracking antennas thereby providing a 3D positioning system.
FLORENT teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention, the use of 2D positioning data to derive three-dimensional information for navigation purposes, which would included real-time location tracking functions.
[0007] One of the advantages is that, although only one projection is provided for the X-ray fluoroscopy image, which one projection for itself does not provide any depth information, by mapping the determined two-dimensional position to a position in the 3D data set it is still possible to derive the necessary three-dimensional information as a basis for the navigational information being provided to the user. The navigational information can thus assist the user, for example a physician, to steer the device navigation, for example. By extracting local three-dimensional parameters, the interventional device serves as a pointer in the 3D data set or 3D volume. Since the two-dimensional information is acquired by two-dimensional X-ray fluoroscopy images, it is possible to continuously acquire such images in order to continuously track the two-dimensional device position and the related three-dimensional position during the navigation process, providing the possibility to communicate three-dimensional information to the physician, or the user, in real-time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try obtain 3D positioning from 2D dimensional data in order to further adapt the system of COLBURN for navigation purposes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 includes in particular this limitation “where the real time tracking antenna either comprises at least three 1-patch antenna PCBs arranged tilted relative to an XY-plane, or where the real time tracking antenna comprises at least three 1-patch antenna PCBs arranged tilted relative to an XY-plane and another patch antenna PCB arranged substantially parallel to an XY-plane” not found in the prior art. Remaining claims are dependent on claim 7, hence the same reasoning applies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CARLOS E. GARCIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2686
/Carlos Garcia/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686 3/17/2026