DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/20/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 and 23-24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “… wherein the information indicating availability of the at least one network …” which recites the limitation “the at least one network” which indicates antecedence to a preceding limitation reciting “at least one network”.
However, a review of the preceding limitations from which claim 4 is dependent upon shows no recitation of “at least one network” and as such, the claims therefore lacks antecedent basis and appears to be a typographical error where the recited “the at least one network” should instead be written without “the” and will be interpreted as such (i.e. “4. … wherein the information indicating availability of ).
Claim 5 recites “The UE of claim 1, … received in a first system information block broadcast by a base station of a network providing service to the apparatus.” which recites the limitation “the apparatus” which indicates antecedence to a preceding limitation reciting “an apparatus”.
However, a review of the preceding limitations from which claim 5 is dependent upon shows no recitation of “an apparatus” as the previous limitations have already been amended to recite “UE” instead and as such, the claims therefore lacks antecedent basis and appears to be a typographical error where the recited “the apparatus” should instead be written as “the UE” and will be interpreted as such (i.e. “5. The UE of claim 1, … received in a first system information block broadcast by a base station of a network providing service to the UE. ).
Claim 23 recites “… wherein the information indicating availability of the at least one network …” which recites the limitation “the at least one network” which indicates antecedence to a preceding limitation reciting “at least one network”.
Similar to claim 4 above, a review of the preceding limitations from which claim 23 is dependent upon shows no recitation of “at least one network” and as such, the claims therefore lacks antecedent basis and appears to be a typographical error where the recited “the at least one network” should instead be written without “the” and will be interpreted as such (i.e. “23. … wherein the information indicating availability of ).
Claim 24 recites “…The processor of claim 21 … received in a first system information block broadcast by a base station of a network providing service to the apparatus.” which recites the limitation “the apparatus” which indicates antecedence to a preceding limitation reciting “an apparatus”.
Similar to claim 5 above, a review of the preceding limitations from which claim 24 is dependent upon shows no recitation of “an apparatus” and as such, the claims therefore lacks antecedent basis and appears to be a typographical error where the recited “the apparatus” should instead be written as “the processor” and will be interpreted as such (i.e. “24. …The processor of claim 21 … received in a first system information block broadcast by a base station of a network providing service to the processor. ).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xiang (US Patent Publication 2024/0205814 herein after referenced as Xiang).
Regarding claim 19, Xiang discloses:
A base station for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to: broadcast information indicating availability of at least one network supporting the localized service in a system information block, wherein the information indicating availability of the at least one network supporting the localized service identifies at least one localized service respectively provided by the at least one network supporting the localized service (Xiang, [0076]-[0077] discloses The discovery information (i.e. reads on information indicating availability of at least one network supporting the localized service in) may be broadcasted (i.e. reads on for wireless communication and reads on broadcast) via the SIB message (i.e. reads on a system information block) from the gNB (i.e. reads on base station) and discloses The discovery information (i.e. reads on wherein the information indicating availability of the at least one network supporting the localized service) may indicate that the local network supports or provides accessing to one or more localized services (i.e. reads on identifies at least one localized service respectively provided by the at least one network supporting the localized service). The discovery information may also indicate that the access network may broadcast other information of the one or more localized services for the UE to receive at a later time if the UE is interested in accessing the localized services. The UE supporting localized service capability to receive the discovery information can use the discovery information for further localized service discovery and network selection. For example, if the UE is configured a policy to discover localized services, when it receives the discovery information, the UE may active its network discovery and selection procedure to collect the localized service information and conduct further actions based on the policy with that information; Xiang, [0180] discloses the base stations 670a-670b may include or be one or more of several well-known devices, such as a base transceiver station BTS, a Node-B NodeB, an evolved NodeB eNodeB, a Next Generation NG NodeB gNB, a Home NodeB, a Home eNodeB, a site controller, an access point AP, or a wireless router; Xiang, [0193] discloses Furthermore, a device may contain multiple instances of a component, such as multiple processing units, processors, memories, transmitters, receivers, etc.. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for a complex device such as a base station to include a processor and memory in order to be able to perform the disclosed functionalities).
Regarding claim 20, Xiang discloses:
The base station of claim 19, (see claim 19).
wherein system information block comprises at least one of a service identifier and a human-readable service name of the at least one localized service (Xiang, [0086]-[0087] discloses The detailed information may further include a list of service ID(s). A service ID may include a service or application ID and/or service type indication and discloses The detailed information may further include a list of human readable service name(s) corresponding to the localized service(s) supported by the local network).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10, 13, 21 and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang (US Patent Publication 2024/0205814 herein after referenced as Xiang) in view of Buckley et al. (US Patent Publication 2006/0172735 herein after referenced as Buckley).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 10 and claim 21, Xiang discloses:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: and A method for network discovery performed by user equipment in a telecommunications network, the method comprising: and A processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to: initiate discovery of a network supporting a localized service based on a trigger event; (Xiang, [0073] discloses In another example, Tom is traveling abroad. He configured (i.e. reads on based on a trigger event) his phone (i.e. reads on UE) to discover (i.e. reads on initiate discovery of and reads on network discovery) all the local networks (i.e. reads on a network) that provide localized services (i.e. reads on supporting a localized service) for him to select manually. When he arrives in city A which is covered by local networks X and Y, local network X broadcasts discovery information that it offers some interactive guiding service for visitors. Local network Y does not offer any localized service. Tom's UE receives the discovery information from local network X and presents the discovery information to Tom. Tom can then manually decide whether he wants to access (i.e. reads on for wireless communication) local network X or not; Xiang, [0102] discloses At operation 202b, the UE 232 is interested in the localized service(s) provided by the local network C based on the user input or based on a pre-configured policy; Xiang, [0063] discloses while UEs may also be commonly referred to as mobile stations, mobiles, terminals, users, subscribers, stations, and the like. Access nodes may provide wireless access in accordance with one or more wireless communication protocols; Xiang, [0193] discloses Furthermore, a device may contain multiple instances of a component, such as multiple processing units, processors, memories, transmitters, receivers, etc. ).
receive broadcast information indicating availability of the localized service; (Xiang, [0073] discloses In another example, Tom is traveling abroad. He configured his phone to discover all the local networks that provide localized services for him to select manually. When he arrives in city A which is covered by local networks X and Y, local network X broadcasts discovery information (i.e. reads on receive broadcast information) that it offers some interactive guiding service for visitors (i.e. reads on indicating availability of the localized service). Local network Y does not offer any localized service. Tom's UE receives the discovery information from local network X and presents the discovery information to Tom. Tom can then manually decide whether he wants to access local network X or not; Xiang, [0076]-[0077] discloses The radio access network RAN of a local network broadcasts discovery information to indicate that the local network provides access to one or more localized services. The discovery information may be received by all the UEs within the coverage area of the RAN of the local network. The discovery information may be broadcasted via the SIB message from the gNB or query procedure such as via the Internet and discloses The discovery information may indicate that the local network supports or provides accessing to one or more localized services. The discovery information may also indicate that the access network may broadcast other information of the one or more localized services for the UE to receive at a later time if the UE is interested in accessing the localized services. The UE supporting localized service capability to receive the discovery information can use the discovery information for further localized service discovery and network selection. For example, if the UE is configured a policy to discover localized services, when it receives the discovery information, the UE may active its network discovery and selection procedure to collect the localized service information and conduct further actions based on the policy with that information).
construct(Xiang, [0073] discloses In another example, Tom is traveling abroad. He configured his phone to discover all the local networks that provide localized services for him to select manually. When he arrives in city A which is covered by local networks X and Y, local network X broadcasts discovery information that it offers some interactive guiding service for visitors. Local network Y does not offer any localized service. Tom's UE receives the discovery information from local network X and presents (i.e. reads on construct) the discovery information (i.e. reads on available networks supporting the localized service) to Tom. Tom can then manually decide whether he wants to access local network X (i.e. reads on and select a first network supporting the localized service) or not; Xiang, [0108]-[0109] discloses At operation 204, after receiving the detailed information about the localized service(s) from the RAN 224, based on the pre-configured UE policy, the UE 232 may either present the detailed information if the service ID, service type, and/or the service name are human readable, or such information can be converted into human readable information to the user interface UI for the user of the UE 232 to make a decision/selection. Or, the UE 232 may use the pre-configured network selection policy corresponding to the detailed information from local network C and automatically select the local network C for network access if there is match between the pre-configured network selection policy and the detailed information and discloses At operation 205, if the UE 232 decides to access the local network C for a localized service that the local network C provides, the UE 232 may start the normal network access process with the RAN 224 e.g., performing a random access procedure to access the RAN 224. After the access process, the UE may access the localized service via the RAN 224 through at least one of the AMF 226 of the network C and/or the localized service AF 228).
Xiang discloses a mobile device detecting available networks providing a service and displaying the detected network to the user for selection but fails to explicitly recite multiple networks providing the service being detected which are utilized in constructing a list to be selected and therefore fails to disclose “construct a list of available networks” and “select a first network from the list of available networks”.
In a related field of endeavor, Buckley discloses:
construct a list of available networks; and select a first network from the list of available networks (Buckley, [0052]-[0053] discloses During operation of the mobile node, the mobile node monitors channels upon which radio access network broadcasts control signals that identify the networks from which the signals are broadcast. When a mobile node detects a signal broadcast by a network, the indication is provided by way of the line 44 to the selector 42, and the identified network is added to an available network list 56 (i.e. reads on construct a list of available networks), here maintained at the selector. The available network list, in the exemplary implementation, is an aggregated list that accumulates entries on the list, identifying the detected network, together with its communication service capability, and an indication of whether the network presently appears to be available. The communication service capability of the network is, for instance, also broadcast with the broadcast signals that identify the network. Detection of the signals indicates the network to be available and discloses When the selected communication service is to be initiated, the selector accesses the available network list and also one or more of the database listings 34, 36, etc. If an entry on the first-accessed listing identifies a radio access network that exhibits the communication service capability permitting the selected communication service to be performed and also is available, as indicated by the available network list (i.e. reads on from the list of available networks), the selector selects such radio access network (i.e. reads on and select a first network), and communications are attempted to be effectuated therewith; Buckley, [0051] discloses The apparatus further includes a selector 42 that is coupled to the receive part 22 and to the storage element 32. … The selector is further coupled to receive indications of when a selected communication service is to be initiated by the mobile node and the type of communication service that is to be initiated. … The selector operates to select a selected radio access network with which the mobile node shall attempt to communicate pursuant to effectuation of the selected communication service; Buckley, [0048] discloses The mobile node further includes apparatus 28 of an embodiment of the present invention. The apparatus operates to select, or to facilitate selection of, the radio access network through which the mobile node communicates, such as when the mobile node roams beyond its home network or otherwise is to communicate by way of a network other than its home network. The apparatus 28, in its selection, takes into account the availability of a radio access network, the communication service capabilities of the radio access network, and the level of preference associated with the radio access network. By basing the selection on this criteria, the mobile node is less likely to attempt to communicate with a radio access network pursuant to a selected communication service that is unable to effectuate the performance of the selected communication service).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Xiang to incorporate the teachings of Buckley for the purpose of providing the system with a means to aggregate multiple different available networks detected for selection (Buckley, [0052]-[0053]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Xiang, [0201]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device detecting available networks providing a service and displaying the detected network to the user for selection as taught by Xiang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device detecting available networks providing a service and displaying the detected network to the user for selection, wherein multiple available networks are aggregated into a list to be utilized in the selection as taught by Buckley) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device detecting available networks providing a service and displaying the detected network to the user for selection (i.e. as taught by both Xiang & Buckley) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 4 and claim 13 and claim 23, Xiang in view of Buckley discloses:
The UE of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The method of claim 10 (see claim 10) and The processor of claim 21 (see claim 21).
wherein the information indicating availability of(Xiang, [0103]-[0104] discloses At operation 203, the broadcast interval indicated at operation 201 is up, the RAN 224 broadcasts another SIB message including more detailed information of the localized service(s). The detailed information may include at least one of the following: and discloses a list of localized service(s) provided by the local network C, including the service type ID or name which may be human readable text).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 24, Xiang in view of Buckley discloses:
The UE of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The processor of claim 21 (see claim 21).
wherein the information indicating availability of a first network supporting the localized service is an indication received in a first system information block broadcast by a base station of a network providing service to the UE / processor (Xiang, [0076]-[0077] discloses The radio access network RAN of a local network broadcasts discovery information to indicate that the local network provides access to one or more localized services. The discovery information may be received by all the UEs within the coverage area of the RAN of the local network. The discovery information may be broadcasted via the SIB message from the gNB or query procedure such as via the Internet and discloses The discovery information may indicate that the local network supports or provides accessing to one or more localized services. The discovery information may also indicate that the access network may broadcast other information of the one or more localized services for the UE to receive at a later time if the UE is interested in accessing the localized services. The UE supporting localized service capability to receive the discovery information can use the discovery information for further localized service discovery and network selection. For example, if the UE is configured a policy to discover localized services, when it receives the discovery information, the UE may active its network discovery and selection procedure to collect the localized service information and conduct further actions based on the policy with that information; Xian, [0162] discloses In some embodiments, the providing the detailed information may include broadcasting, by the first network device during the broadcast interval, the further detailed information about the one or more localized services in a second SIB message based on a UE input or the preconfigured localized services and network selection policy; Xiang, [0028] discloses In some embodiments, the first network device and the second network device may be a same base station).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 25, Xiang in view of Buckley discloses:
The UE of claim 5, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to (see claim 5) and The processor of claim 24, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to cause the processor to (see claim 24).
receive a second system information block comprising network information including at least one of a service identifier and a human-readable service name of the first network supporting the localized service (Xiang, [0103]-[0104] discloses At operation 203, the broadcast interval indicated at operation 201 is up, the RAN 224 broadcasts another SIB message including more detailed information of the localized service(s). The detailed information may include at least one of the following: and discloses a list of localized service(s) provided by the local network C, including the service type ID or name which may be human readable text; Xiang, [0138] discloses In some embodiments, the UE may obtain the further detailed information by monitoring during the broadcast interval to receive the further detailed information about the one or more localized services in a second SIB message based on a user input or the preconfigured localized services and network selection policy; Xiang, [0021] discloses In some embodiments, the discovery information may further include human readable information. The human readable information may be compressed or represented by pre-agreed coding translated by the UE and presented to a user of the UE; Xian, [0162] discloses In some embodiments, the providing the detailed information may include broadcasting, by the first network device during the broadcast interval, the further detailed information about the one or more localized services in a second SIB message based on a UE input or the preconfigured localized services and network selection policy).
Regarding claim 7, Xiang in view of Buckley discloses:
The UE of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to (see claim 6).
prepare a list of suitable networks supporting the localized service using the network information in the second system information block (Xiang, [0108]-[0109] discloses At operation 204, after receiving the detailed information about the localized service(s) from the RAN 224, based on the pre-configured UE policy, the UE 232 may either present the detailed information if the service ID, service type, and/or the service name are human readable, or such information can be converted into human readable information to the user interface UI for the user of the UE 232 to make a decision/selection. Or, the UE 232 may use the pre-configured network selection policy corresponding to the detailed information from local network C and automatically select the local network C for network access if there is match between the pre-configured network selection policy and the detailed information and discloses At operation 205, if the UE 232 decides to access the local network C for a localized service that the local network C provides, the UE 232 may start the normal network access process with the RAN 224 e.g., performing a random access procedure to access the RAN 224. After the access process, the UE may access the localized service via the RAN 224 through at least one of the AMF 226 of the network C and/or the localized service AF 228; Buckley, [0052]-[0053] discloses During operation of the mobile node, the mobile node monitors channels upon which radio access network broadcasts control signals that identify the networks from which the signals are broadcast. When a mobile node detects a signal broadcast by a network, the indication is provided by way of the line 44 to the selector 42, and the identified network is added to an available network list 56, here maintained at the selector. The available network list, in the exemplary implementation, is an aggregated list that accumulates entries on the list, identifying the detected network, together with its communication service capability, and an indication of whether the network presently appears to be available. The communication service capability of the network is, for instance, also broadcast with the broadcast signals that identify the network. Detection of the signals indicates the network to be available and discloses When the selected communication service is to be initiated, the selector accesses the available network list and also one or more of the database listings 34, 36, etc. If an entry on the first-accessed listing identifies a radio access network that exhibits the communication service capability permitting the selected communication service to be performed and also is available, as indicated by the available network list, the selector selects such radio access network, and communications are attempted to be effectuated therewith).
Claim(s) 2-3, 11-12 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang (US Patent Publication 2024/0205814 herein after referenced as Xiang) in view of Buckley et al. (US Patent Publication 2006/0172735 herein after referenced as Buckley) and further in view of Yoon (US Patent 10,582,399 herein after referenced as Yoon).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 11 and claim 22, Xiang in view of Buckley discloses:
The UE of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The method of claim 10 (see claim 10) and The processor of claim 21 (see claim 21).
wherein the trigger event is at least one of a user input to enable access to the localized service, (Xiang, [0073] discloses In another example, Tom is traveling abroad. He configured his phone to discover all the local networks that provide localized services for him to select manually. When he arrives in city A which is covered by local networks X and Y, local network X broadcasts discovery information that it offers some interactive guiding service for visitors. Local network Y does not offer any localized service. Tom's UE receives the discovery information from local network X and presents the discovery information to Tom. Tom can then manually decide whether he wants to access local network X or not; Xiang, [0102] discloses At operation 202b, the UE 232 is interested in the localized service(s) provided by the local network C based on the user input or based on a pre-configured policy).
Xiang in view of Buckley discloses a process of searching for networks based on a trigger event but fails to explicitly recite that said trigger events includes a roaming status, location and time and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the trigger event is at least one of a roaming status, a location, and a time.”
In a related field of endeavor, Yoon discloses:
wherein the trigger event is at least one of a roaming status, a location, and a time (Yoon, Fig. 7 & Column 16, Lines 29-41 & Lines 56-57 discloses When a user equipment enters a LAC, and when the user equipment is connected to a roaming cell, the coverage index can be used to adjust a frequency of searching for a provider cell. This optimizes a battery life of the user equipment by preventing searching for a provider cell in areas with a low coverage index. At operation 708, the process can include determining that the user equipment is at a location associated with the region of interest and discloses At operation 710, the process can include determining that the user equipment is in a roaming state at the location; Yoon, Fig. 7 & Column 17, Lines 4-15 discloses At operation 712, the process can include scanning one or more wireless resources for a signal associated with the first network. In some instances, the operation 712 can be performed by the user equipment using roaming analyzer component 204 to scan one or more wireless resources for a signal associated with the first network at any regular or irregular interval or can initiate a scan based on an internal or external trigger or command. For example, the roaming analyzer component 204 can receive an instruction from the remote network device to initiate a scan. Additionally, the roaming analyzer component 204 can initiate a rescan at a default time interval e.g., every 1 hour).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Xiang in view of Buckley to incorporate the teachings of Yoon for the purpose of providing the system with a means to optimize a battery life of the user equipment by preventing searching for a provider cell in areas with a low coverage index (Yoon, Fig. 7 & Column 16, Lines 33-36) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Xiang, [0201]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device detecting available networks based on a trigger event as taught by Xiang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device detecting available networks based on a trigger event, wherein the trigger event includes location, roaming status and time as taught by Yoon) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device detecting available networks based on a trigger event (i.e. as taught by both Xiang & Yoon) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 3 and claim 12, Xiang in view of Buckley and further in view of Yoon discloses:
The UE of claim 2, (see claim 2) and The method of claim 11 (see claim 11).
wherein the UE is configured with local service information including a time period and a location for which the first network supporting the localized service is available (Xiang, [0088] discloses The detailed information may further include validity information of the localized service(s). The validity information of a localized service may include a time period, location restriction, and/or other condition(s) of using the localized service).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang (US Patent Publication 2024/0205814 herein after referenced as Xiang) in view of Buckley et al. (US Patent Publication 2006/0172735 herein after referenced as Buckley) and further in view of You et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0022126 herein after referenced as You).
Regarding claim 8, Xiang in view of Buckley discloses:
The UE of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to (see clam 6).
(Xiang, [0109] discloses At operation 205, if the UE 232 decides to access the local network C for a localized service that the local network C provides, the UE 232 may start the normal network access process with the RAN 224 e.g., performing a random access procedure to access the RAN 224. After the access process, the UE may access the localized service via the RAN 224 through at least one of the AMF 226 of the network C and/or the localized service AF 228).
Xiang in view of Buckley discloses performing network access procedures by performing a random access procedure but fails to explicitly recite that the procedure includes sending a random access request and therefore fails to disclose “transmit a random access channel (RACH) request”.
In a related field of endeavor, You discloses:
transmit a random access channel (RACH) request (You, [0184] discloses the terminal device may transmit the random access request to the network device, to request the network device to provide a service for the terminal device).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Xiang in view of Buckley to incorporate the teachings of You for the purpose of providing the system with a means to request the network device to provide a service for the terminal device (You, [0184]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Xiang, [0201]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing a random access procedure as taught by Xiang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing a random access procedure, wherein the random access procedure includes transmitting a random access request as taught by You) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device performing a random access procedure (i.e. as taught by both Xiang & You) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang (US Patent Publication 2024/0205814 herein after referenced as Xiang) in view of Buckley et al. (US Patent Publication 2006/0172735 herein after referenced as Buckley) and further in view of Wang et al. (US Patent Publication 2025/0016041 herein after referenced as Wang).
Regarding claim 9, Xiang in view of Buckley discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to (see claim 1).
(Xiang, [0109] discloses At operation 205, if the UE 232 decides to access the local network C for a localized service that the local network C provides, the UE 232 may start the normal network access process with the RAN 224 e.g., performing a random access procedure to access the RAN 224. After the access process, the UE may access the localized service via the RAN 224 through at least one of the AMF 226 of the network C and/or the localized service AF 228).
Xiang in view of Buckley discloses performing network access procedures but fails to explicitly recite that the procedure includes sending a registration request and therefore fails to disclose “register with the selected network by transmitting a registration request message including a network access indication for the network.”
In a related field of endeavor, Wang discloses:
register with the selected network by transmitting a registration request message including a network access indication for the network (Wang, Abstract discloses Systems, methods, and instrumentalities are disclosed for service provisioning and providing access to a PALS hosting network. … The WTRU may send a fourth message to a second network node, wherein the second network node is associated with the second network, wherein the fourth message is based on the policy information and the updated network configuration, and wherein the fourth message indicates a registration request associated with the slice identifier; Wang, [0112] discloses In examples, the WTRU may inform the PALS hosting network of one or more of the following information when it accesses the hosting network, e.g., during the registration procedure: the WTRU identifier with the home network e.g., the generic public subscription identifier GPSI, mobile station integrated services digital network MSISDN, etc. or the user's interested/target service in the PALS hosting network).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Xiang in view of Buckley to incorporate the teachings of Wang for the purpose of providing the system with a means to register and indicate which service is being requested (Wang, Abstract) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Xiang, [0201]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing an access procedure as taught by Xiang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing an access procedure, wherein the access procedure includes transmitting a registration request indicating the requested service as taught by Wang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device performing an access procedure (i.e. as taught by both Xiang & Wang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645