DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communication filed on 4/21/2026.
Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
This amendment and applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and entered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-18, 20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. 2021/0168905 (hereinafter Yu) in view of Gkellas et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2023/0247487 (hereinafter Gkellas) further in view of Salkintzis et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2022/0116327 (hereinafter Salkintzis)
With respect to claim 1,Yu teaches a user equipment (“UE”) for wireless communication comprising:
-at least one memory (Paragraph 565) ; and at least one processor (Paragraph 565) coupled with atleast one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
-establish a multiaccess data connection with the mobile communication network (i.e. establish establishing wireless network connection using different access technologies)(Paragraph 231, 232, 233, 234, 256), the multiaccess data connection configured to apply a set of steering rules (Paragraph 265), wherein each steering rule comprises and a steering mode (Paragraph 265);
- establish a plurality of QUIC connections (i.e. first transmission method using MP-QUIC)(Paragraph 61, 238), each QUIC connection supporting data transmission over a first access network or a second access network (Paragraph 238);
-detect a data packet to be transmitted via the multiaccess data connection (i.e. data packet transmitted using 3GPP access technology and non-3GPP access technology) (Paragraph 291-292) ; select a first steering rule in the set of steering rules, wherein the first steering rule comprises a first steering mode (Paragraph 298-299); select a first QUIC connection of the plurality of QUIC connections for transmitting the data packet (Paragraph 302-304, 316-317); allocate a new stream in the first QUIC connection, wherein the new stream (i.e. second transmission method) is configured to transmit data traffic using the first steering mode (Paragraph 343, 345); and send the data packet using the new stream (i.e. transmits service flow using second transmission method) (Paragraph 342-343, 374-375)
Yu does not teach traffic descriptor and select a first steering rule in the set of steering rules, wherein the first steering rule comprises a first steering mode and a traffic descriptor that matches the data packet.
Gkellas teaches traffic descriptor (Paragraph 25) and select a first steering rule in the set of steering rules, wherein the first steering rule comprises a first steering mode and a traffic descriptor that matches the data packet (Paragraph 25, 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Gkellas’s teaching in Yu’s teaching to come up with having traffic descriptor and select steering rule comprising steering mode and traffic descriptor. The motivation for doing for enabling proper QoS enforcement and to enforce maximum bit rate and perform charging.
Yu and Gkellas does not explicitly show wherein each QUIC connection of the plurality of the QUIC connections is associated with a respective QoS flow identity.
Salkintzis teaches select based on the first quality of service (“QoS”) flow identity (i.e. “QFI”) (Paragraph 83, 87), a first QUIC connection of the plurality of the QUIC connections for transmitting the data packet (Paragraph 83), wherein each QUIC connection of the plurality of the QUIC connections is associated with a respective QoS flow identity (i.e. there is one-to-one mapping between QoS flows and QUIC connections and the QoS Flow identity component identifies the QoS flow) (Paragraph 83-84, 87). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Salkintzis’s teaching in Yu and Gkellas’s teaching to come up with selecting based on first QoS flow identity wherein each QUIC connection is associated with respective QoS flow identity. The motivation for doing so would be to transfer data traffic wherein each QoS rule has a packet filter list component which identifies the data traffic that matches the rule and QoS flow identity component which identifies the QoS Flow.
With respect to claim 2, Yu, Gkellas and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 1, but Yu further teaches wherein each QUIC connection has at least one QUIC stream and wherein each QUIC stream is associated with context information comprising one or more steering mode (Paragraph 324), a transport mode, a destination internet protocol (IP) address, and a destination port (Paragraph 483)
With respect to claim 3, Yu, Gkellas and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 1, but Salkintzis further teaches wherein to establish the plurality of QUIC connections, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to indicate a QoS flow identity associated with each of the QUIC connection of the plurality of the QUIC connections (Paragraph 83-84)
With respect to claim 4, Yu, Gkellas and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 3, but Gkellas further teaches wherein the associated QoS flow identity is indicated using a HTTP settings parameter or a QUIC transport parameter (Paragraph 37-38)
With respect to claim 5, Yu, Gkellas and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 1, but Gkellas further teaches wherein to select the first QUIC connection, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to map the data packet to a particular QoS flow based on a set of QoS rules for the multiaccess data connection and wherein the first QUIC connection is associated with the particular QoS flow (Paragraph 34-35, 73)
With respect to claim 6, Yu, Gkellas and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 1, but Yu further teaches wherein to transmit the data packet using the new stream, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a transport mode to use to send the data packet (Paragraph 343, 345)
With respect to claim 7, Yu, Gkellas and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein the new QUIC stream has a first stream identifier (ID) wherein the selected transport mode is a stream mode, and wherein to transmit the data packet using the stream mode, the least one processor is configured to cause the UE to encapsulate the data packet within a stream frame with a stream ID equal to the first stream ID (Paragraph 281, 454); and transmit the stream frame via the first QUIC connection (Paragraph 316).
With respect of claim 9, Yu, Gkellas and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 6, but Yu further teaches wherein to select transport mode, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to identify a data delivery preference associated with the data packet (Paragraph 302-304, 316-317), and wherein the data delivery preference is identified using one or more of: a toleration of out-of-order packets, a need for packet duplication, a transport preference of an application generating the data packet, the first steering mode (Paragraph 264) or combination thereof.
With respect of claim 10, Yu, Gkellas and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 9, but Yu further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit the data packet using a datagram mode based on the data delivery preference indicating that in-sequence reception is not required, or does not indicate that no duplicate packet reception is required (Paragraph 273) or both.
With respect of claim 11, Yu, Gkellas and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 9, but Yu further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit the data packet using a stream mode based on the data delivery preference indicating that in-sequence reception is not required, or does not indicate that no duplicate packet reception is required (Paragraph 273) or both.
With respect of claim 12, Yu, Gkellas and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 1, but Yu further teaches wherein the data packet initiates a new data flow, the data flow being a sequence of data segments going to the same destination address and port and wherein the new QUIC stream is used to send all data segments of the new data flow (Paragraph 483)
With respect to claims 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 20 respectively, teaches same limitations as claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 12 respectively.
With respect to claim 15, Yu, Gkellas and Salkintzis the processor of claim 13, but Yu further teaches wherein to establish the plurality of QUIC connection, the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to indicate a QoS flow identity associated with each QUIC connection (Paragraph 34, 37-38), wherein the associated QoS flow identity is indicated using a HTTP settings parameter or a QUIC transport parameter (Paragraph 37-38)
Yu and Gkellas does not explicitly show wherein each QUIC connection of the plurality of the QUIC connections is associated with a respective QoS flow identity.
Salkintzis teaches select based on the first quality of service (“QoS”) flow identity (i.e. “QFI”) (Paragraph 83, 87), a first QUIC connection of the plurality of the QUIC connections for transmitting the data packet (Paragraph 83), wherein each QUIC connection of the plurality of the QUIC connections is associated with a respective QoS flow identity (i.e. there is one-to-one mapping between QoS flows and QUIC connections and the QoS Flow identity component identifies the QoS flow) (Paragraph 83-84, 87). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Salkintzis’s teaching in Yu and Gkellas’s teaching to come up with selecting based on first QoS flow identity wherein each QUIC connection is associated with respective QoS flow identity. The motivation for doing so would be to transfer data traffic wherein each QoS rule has a packet filter list component which identifies the data traffic that matches the rule and QoS flow identity component which identifies the QoS Flow.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim limitations in claim(s) 1, 13, have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A). Li et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2023/0074934
B). Salkintzis et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2022/0116327
C). Venkataraman et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2021/0320883
D). Mestery et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2023/0085513
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DHAIRYA A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453