This action is responsive to communication filed on 8/5/2026.
Claims 1-4,6-15, 17-22 are subject to examination.
This amendment and applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and entered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-15, 17-18, 20-22 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. 2021/0168905 (hereinafter Yu) in view of Salkintzis et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2022/0116327 (hereinafter Salkintzis)
With respect to claim 1,Yu teaches a user equipment (“UE”) for wireless communication comprising:
-at least one memory (Paragraph 565) ; and at least one processor (Paragraph 565) coupled with atleast one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
-establish a multiaccess data connection with the mobile communication network (i.e. establish establishing wireless network connection using different access technologies)(Paragraph 231, 232, 233, 234, 256), the multiaccess data connection configured to apply a set of steering rules (Paragraph 265), wherein each steering rule comprises and a steering mode (Paragraph 265);
- establish a plurality of QUIC connections (i.e. first transmission method using MP-QUIC)(Paragraph 61, 238), each QUIC connection supporting data transmission over a first access network or a second access network (Paragraph 238);
-detect a data packet to be transmitted via the multiaccess data connection (i.e. data packet transmitted using 3GPP access technology and non-3GPP access technology) (Paragraph 291-292) ; select a first steering rule in the set of steering rules, wherein the first steering rule comprises a first steering mode (Paragraph 298-299); select a first QUIC connection of the plurality of QUIC connections for transmitting the data packet (Paragraph 302-304, 316-317); allocate a new stream in the first QUIC connection, wherein the new stream (i.e. second transmission method) is configured to transmit data traffic using the first steering mode (Paragraph 343, 345); and send the data packet using the new stream (i.e. transmits service flow using second transmission method) (Paragraph 342-343, 374-375)
Yu does not explicitly show traffic descriptor and select a first steering rule in the set of steering rules, wherein the first steering rule comprises a first steering mode and a traffic descriptor that matches the data packet, map the data packet to a quality of service (“QoS”) flow based on the set of QoS rules for the multiaccess data connection, wherein the first QUIC connection is associated with QoS flow
Salkintzis teaches traffic descriptor (Paragraph 83, 86) and select a first steering rule in the set of steering rules (i.e. applies the first set of rules and the second set of rules for steering the traffic of the multi-access data connection) (Paragraph 94, 97), wherein the first steering rule comprises a first steering mode (Paragraph 97) and a traffic descriptor that matches the data packet (i.e. traffic descriptor which identifies the data traffic that matches the rule)(Paragraph 82-84)
-map the data packet to a quality of service (“QoS”) flow based on the set of QoS rules for the multiaccess data connection (i.e. first QUIC connection that carries a first QoS flow (QoS to flow 1) and a second QUIC connection that a second QoS Flow (QoS Flow 2) (Paragraph 84, 60)
-select, a first QUIC connection of the plurality of the QUIC connections for transmitting the data packet (Paragraph 60, 83-84), wherein the first QUIC connection is associated with QoS flow (i.e. first QUIC connection that carries a first QoS flow (QoS to flow 1))(Paragraph 83-84, 87). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Salkintzis’s teaching in Yu’s teaching to come up with mapping the data to QoS flow based on set of QoS rules and selecting based on first QoS flow identity wherein each QUIC connection is associated with respective QoS flow identity. The motivation for doing so would be to transfer data traffic wherein each QoS rule has a packet filter list component which identifies the data traffic that matches the rule and QoS flow identity component which identifies the QoS Flow.
With respect to claim 2, Yu and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 1, but Yu further teaches wherein each QUIC connection has at least one QUIC stream and wherein each QUIC stream is associated with context information comprising one or more steering mode (Paragraph 324), a transport mode, a destination internet protocol (IP) address, and a destination port (Paragraph 483)
With respect to claim 3, Yu and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 1, but Salkintzis further teaches wherein to establish the plurality of QUIC connections, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to indicate a QoS flow identity associated with each of the QUIC connection of the plurality of the QUIC connections (Paragraph 83-84)
With respect to claim 4, Yu and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 3, but Salkintzis further teaches wherein the associated QoS flow identity is indicated using a HTTP settings parameter or a QUIC transport parameter (i.e. QFI component identifies QoS flow (i.e. QoS parameters and QUIC connection) (Paragraph 84, 87)
With respect to claim 6, Yu and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 1, but Yu further teaches wherein to transmit the data packet using the new stream, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a transport mode to use to send the data packet (Paragraph 343, 345)
With respect to claim 7, Yu teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein the new QUIC stream has a first stream identifier (ID) wherein the selected transport mode is a stream mode, and wherein to transmit the data packet using the stream mode, the least one processor is configured to cause the UE to encapsulate the data packet within a stream frame with a stream ID equal to the first stream ID (Paragraph 281, 454); and transmit the stream frame via the first QUIC connection (Paragraph 316).
With respect of claim 9, Yu and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 6, but Salkintzis further teaches wherein to select transport mode, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to identify a data delivery preference associated with the data packet (Paragraph 61, 64-66, 77), and wherein the data delivery preference is identified using one or more of: a toleration of out-of-order packets, a need for packet duplication, a transport preference of an application generating the data packet, the first steering mode (Paragraph 64-66) or combination thereof.
With respect of claim 10, Yu and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 9, but Yu further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit the data packet using a datagram mode based on the data delivery preference indicating that in-sequence reception is not required, or does not indicate that no duplicate packet reception is required (Paragraph 273) or both.
With respect of claim 11, Yu and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 9, but Yu further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit the data packet using a stream mode based on the data delivery preference indicating that in-sequence reception is not required, or does not indicate that no duplicate packet reception is required (Paragraph 273) or both.
With respect of claim 12, Yu and Salkintzis teaches the UE of claim 1, but Yu further teaches wherein the data packet initiates a new data flow, the data flow being a sequence of data segments going to the same destination address and port and wherein the new QUIC stream is used to send all data segments of the new data flow (Paragraph 483)
With respect to claims 13, 14, 17, 18, 20 respectively, teaches same limitations as claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 12 respectively.
With respect to claim 15, Yu and Salkintzis the processor of claim 13, but Yu further teaches wherein to establish the plurality of QUIC connection, the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to indicate a QoS flow identity associated with each QUIC connection (Paragraph 34, 37-38), wherein the associated QoS flow identity is indicated using a HTTP settings parameter or a QUIC transport parameter (Paragraph 37-38)
Yu does not explicitly show wherein each QUIC connection of the plurality of the QUIC connections is associated with a respective QoS flow identity.
Salkintzis teaches select based on the first quality of service (“QoS”) flow identity (i.e. “QFI”) (Paragraph 83, 87), a first QUIC connection of the plurality of the QUIC connections for transmitting the data packet (Paragraph 83), wherein each QUIC connection of the plurality of the QUIC connections is associated with a respective QoS flow identity (i.e. there is one-to-one mapping between QoS flows and QUIC connections and the QoS Flow identity component identifies the QoS flow) (Paragraph 83-84, 87) and wherein the associated QoS flow identity is indicated using a HTTP settings parameter or a QUIC transport parameter (i.e. QFI component identifies QoS flow (i.e. QoS parameters and QUIC connection) (Paragraph 84, 87) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Salkintzis’s teaching in Yu’s teaching to come up with selecting based on first QoS flow identity wherein each QUIC connection is associated with respective QoS flow identity. The motivation for doing so would be to transfer data traffic wherein each QoS rule has a packet filter list component which identifies the data traffic that matches the rule and QoS flow identity component which identifies the QoS Flow.
With respect to claim 21, Yu and Salkintzis teaches the processor of claim 15, but Salkintzis further teaches wherein the associated QoS flow identity is indicated using a HTTP settings parameter or a QUIC transport parameter(i.e. QFI component identifies QoS flow (i.e. QoS parameters and QUIC connection) (Paragraph 84, 87)
With respect to claim 22, Yu and Salkintzis teaches the processor of claim 17, but Salkintzis further teaches wherein to select the transport mode, the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to identify a data delivery preference associated with the data packet (Paragraph 61, 64-66, 77), and wherein the data delivery preference is identified using one or more of: a toleration of out-of-order packets, a need for packet duplication, a transport preference of an application generating the data packet, the first steering mode (Paragraph 64-66),or combinations thereof.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Gkellas reference has been deemed moot since Gkellas reference is not being cited for this rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Salkintzis reference with respect to amended claim limitations in claim(s) 1, 13, have been considered but deemed non-persuasive.
With respect to amended claim 1 and 13, applicant state Yu and Salkintzis does not teach “wherein to select the first QUIC connection, the at least one processor is configured…rules for the multiaccess data connection and wherein the first QUIC connection is associated with the particular QoS flow” and “map the data packet to a set of QoS rules for the multi-access data connection”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant because in Paragraph 94-97, 82-84, 60, Salkintzis teaches traffic descriptor (Paragraph 83, 86) and select a first steering rule in the set of steering rules (i.e. applies the first set of rules and the second set of rules for steering the traffic of the multi-access data connection) (Paragraph 94, 97), wherein the first steering rule comprises a first steering mode (Paragraph 97) and a traffic descriptor that matches the data packet (i.e. traffic descriptor which identifies the data traffic that matches the rule)(Paragraph 82-84)
-map the data packet to a quality of service (“QoS”) flow based on the set of QoS rules for the multiaccess data connection (i.e. first QUIC connection that carries a first QoS flow (QoS to flow 1) and a second QUIC connection that a second QoS Flow (QoS Flow 2) (Paragraph 84, 60)
-select, a first QUIC connection of the plurality of the QUIC connections for transmitting the data packet (Paragraph 60, 83-84), wherein the first QUIC connection is associated with QoS flow (i.e. first QUIC connection that carries a first QoS flow (QoS to flow 1))(Paragraph 83-84, 87). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Salkintzis’s teaching in Yu’s teaching to come up with selecting based on first QoS flow identity wherein each QUIC connection is associated with respective QoS flow identity. The motivation for doing so would be to transfer data traffic wherein each QoS rule has a packet filter list component which identifies the data traffic that matches the rule and QoS flow identity component which identifies the QoS Flow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A). Li et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2023/0074934
B). Venkataraman et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2021/0320883
C). Mestery et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2023/0085513
DHAIRYA A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453