DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 11, 2026 has been entered. Claims 20-43 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Abstract and Claims have overcome each objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on May 1, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 29 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to teach the claimed invention of independent claim 29. Particularly, the applicant argues that prior art of record does not teach the added limitations “in which a specific device is selected on an external control device using a management number, the state of that specific device is displayed on a screen, and the operator visually confirms that information and then performs a maintenance operation manually based on the displayed information.”
The examiner notes that while the external control device is recognized as communicating with the inkjet recording device, it is not part of the inkjet recording device but rather part of the inkjet recording system. Therefore, the external control device’s capabilities and functions hold no patentable weight for the inkjet recording device itself (MPEP 2114 II). Specifically, the prior art of record does teach the structure of the external control device and the functions of the inkjet recording device [wherein the transmission unit transmits information from the inkjet recording device to the external control device and the main body control unit performs operations on the basis of an instruction from the external control device]. Therefore, the prior art still teaches all limitations of the inkjet recording device itself.
Therefore, the original rejection of claim 29 will not be withdrawn. The new limitation(s) regarding the external control device function (“in the external control device, by selecting a management number of the inkjet recording device, a plurality of types of information of the selected inkjet recording device are displayed on a display screen of the external control device” and “on the basis of an instruction from the external control device including the plurality of types of information displayed on the display screen of the external control device”) will be still be noted with the rejection of claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites “selecting a management number of the inkjet recording device”. Clarity is needed for “a management number” as present claim language is not clear and/or indefinite in scope. As understood from the specification, “a management number” is used to differ the present inkjet device from a different one. For the purposes of examination, the recitation will be examined as “selecting a management number of the inkjet recording device, the management number being a number that differentiates the inkjet recording device from other inkjet recording devices”.
Claim 29 recites further recites “a plurality of types of information of the selected inkjet recording device”. Presently, it is unclear what the “plurality of types of information” covers and is therefore indefinite. It would be clearer if the scope were included, such as “a plurality of types of information of the selected inkjet recording device, the plurality of types of information including the head mounting detection information, the ink ejection information, and the print head operation information”.
Claim 29 recites further recites “a maintenance operation on the basis of an instruction from the external control device including the plurality of types of information displayed on the display screen of the external control device”. Presently, the language is unclear as to what “including the plurality of types of information” entails. As understood from the applicant’s argument of “the operator visually confirms that information and then performs a maintenance operation manually based on the displayed information”, an instruction for the maintenance operation from the external control device is based on the plurality of information. For the purposes of examination, the recitation will be examined as “a maintenance operation on the basis of an instruction from the external control device, the instruction being based on the plurality of types of information displayed on the display screen of the external control device”.
Claims 30-43 are rejected for their dependency on rejected claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29, 30, 33-36, 38-40, and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taneda et al. (JP 2021091171 A, from IDS), hereinafter referred to as Taneda, in further view of Yamada et al. (US 20180281486 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yamada, and as supported by Yoshida (JP H0958014 A, from IDS).
Regarding claim 29, Taneda teaches an inkjet recording device (inkjet recording device I; at para. 0039) comprising:
a printing head including a nozzle that particulates supplied ink and ejects ink particles (print head 1; at para. 0039; nozzle 12 ejects ink particles; at para. 0040), a charging electrode that charges the ink particles ejected from the nozzle (charging electrode 13; at para. 0060), a deflection electrode that deflects the ink particles charged by the charging electrode (deflection electrode 15; at para. 0060), and a gutter that collects the ink not used for printing (gutter 16; at para. 0044);
a main body including an ink supply path for supplying the ink in an ink container to the printing head (controller 100; at para. 0044; fourth ink path 25 of ink flow/distribution path 104c connects main tank 104b and nozzle 12; at para. 0106), an ink collection path for collecting the ink not used for the printing into the ink container (fifth ink path 25 of ink flow/distribution path 104c; at para. 0108), a solvent supply path for supplying a solvent in a solvent container to the ink container (conditioning tank 105b may be connected to main tank 104b via third solvent path 33; at para. 0112), and a flow rate adjustment unit that adjusts flows of the ink and the solvent in the respective paths (various valves V and pumps P; at para. 0071, 0076; Fig. 4);
a main body control unit that controls the flow rate adjustment unit of the main body and an operation of the printing head (control unit 101 outputs control signals to control the valves and pumps; at para. 0071, 0076); and
a head mounting unit including a head mounting portion for mounting and containing the printing head (cleaning mounting unit 200; at para. 0165), and a printing head detector that detects that the printing head is mounted (magnet 211a communicated with magnetic sensor 10b to determine whether or not the print head is mounted; at para. 0173, 0177).
Taneda further teaches wherein the main body control unit includes a transmission unit that transmits, to an external control device connected via a network (inkjet recording device may be connected to external control devices to perform operations and controls via networks; at para. 0053; external control device may be operation display unit 103 or operation terminal 800; at para. 0061; display unit 103 may be separable from the housing; at para. 0063; display unit 103 includes a notification unit that notifies the user of various information; at para. 0064; output signal by magnetic sensor 10b; at para. 0206), head mounting detection information indicating that the printing head is mounted in the head mounting unit on the basis of at least a detection signal from the printing head detector (magnetic sensor 10b outputs a detection signal when the head is mounted; at para. 0177), ink ejection information indicating that the ink is ejected from the nozzle of the printing head (control signals for processing conditions are sent from and received by control unit 101 and indicated on operation display unit 103 or operation terminal 800; at para. 0061; information, such as processing conditions, may be displayed to user; at para. 0055, 0059, 0063), and print head operation information indicating an operation state of the print head (operation state such as sleep mode after printing operation is stopped is transmitted/displayed to display unit 103a; at para. 0242, 0243; Fig. 43, 44),
in the external control device, a plurality of types of information of the inkjet recording device are displayed on a display screen of the external control device (operation display unit 103 or operation terminal 800), the plurality of types of information including head mounting detection information, ink ejection information, and print head operation information (as mentioned above; at para. 0055, 0059, 0061, 0063, 0177, 0242, 0243), and
the main body control unit performs, after the head mounting detection information is transmitted to the external control device, a maintenance operation on the basis of an instruction from the external control device (maintenance execution process; at para. 0202), the instruction being based on the plurality of types of information displayed on the display screen of the external control device (user can be prompted to confirm head mounting; at para. 0207; user can start sleep mode wherein maintenance/cleaning with ink discharge will start, or and stop/cancel/release sleep mode; at para. 0243; as noted before for claim 29, operations may be controlled by the external control device; further, it is understood that because the user can see/receive the various information, the instruction by the user via the external control device may be based on the information provided).
Taneda further teaches the use of a management number to be used to confirm proper communication between the main body and the printing head and/or the head mounting unit (serial number may be transmitted between the controller 100 and printing head 1 and/or cleaning mounting unit 200; at para. 0215, 0224, 0236, 0239), however Taneda does not explicitly teach wherein the management number is a number that differentiates the inkjet recording device from other inkjet recording devices.
Yamada teaches an inkjet recording system (at para. 0046; Fig. 3, 4) that includes an inkjet recording device (printer 100; at para. 0046; Fig. 1, 3, 4) and an external control device (host device 300; at para. 0046; Fig. 1, 3, 4). The external control device is able to select a management number that identifies the specific inkjet recording device (printing app 400 of host device 300 includes a printing device name obtaining unit 401 and selects/registers a printer available from a list such as by choosing a model number for the printing device name; at para. 0050, 0051, 0053). Further, the external control device may determine if the inkjet recording device is in an acceptable state (indication of if it is possible or impossible for the printer 100 to receive a print job; at para. 0055, 0095) and what the current status of the inkjet recording device is (status of printing device such as idle or busy or if there is an error; at para. 0113).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the external control device of Taneda to explicitly include a selection for a management number of the inkjet recording device on the external control device for the purpose of viewing information related to the specific inkjet recording device among multiple as taught by Yamada (at para. 0096-0099).
While Taneda is not explicit with “ink ejection information” and “an instruction” for maintenance, it is noted that various processing conditions and commands are communicated between the main body control unit and the external control device via signals (display unit 103 can display information to and accept operations by a user; at para. 0055), and ejection information is a known processing condition (further, cleaning operation may involve ink ejection/discharge and cleaning may be automatic/period when in sleep mode, and sleep mode is transmitted/displayed to display unit 103a; at para. 0240, 0242, 0243). This is further supported by Yoshida.
Yoshida teaches that ink ejection information may be communicated between a main body control unit and an external control device (purge data may be communicated between a printer and host computer; at para. 0033) and the external device may be used to give maintenance instructions (at para. 0007, 0011-0013).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include various process information including ink ejection information as data transmitted to an external control device wherein the external control device may provide instructions or commands for maintenance operations for the purpose of clear communication between the main body control unit and the external control device as taught by Taneda and Yoshida.
Regarding claim 30, Taneda further teaches wherein the main body control unit performs the maintenance operation by performing control to start the ink ejection from the nozzle on the basis of an instruction from the external control device (cleaning operation may involve ink ejection/discharge; at para. 0240; as noted before for claim 29, operations may be controlled by the external control device).
Regarding claim 33, Taneda further teaches wherein the main body includes a viscosity measurement unit that measures a viscosity of the ink contained in the ink container (viscometer 53; at para. 0107), and
the main body control unit includes a viscosity adjustment unit that performs viscosity adjustment by continuing ink circulation in which the ink is ejected from the nozzle and collected from the gutter when the viscosity measured by the viscosity measurement unit is lower than a predetermined viscosity set in advance (ink is circulated and viscosity is adjusted until it is determined to be in a normal range; at para. 0265).
Taneda does not explicitly teach a viscosity adjustment notification unit that notifies the external control device of viscosity adjustment completion information indicating that the adjustment of the viscosity to the predetermined viscosity is completed, however viscosity being completely adjusted to the predetermined (normal) range allows processing to continue (SN18, SN19; at para. 0265). Overall, the viscosity can be sensed, process execution is determined based on the sensed viscosity (at para. 0265), and processing conditions and commands can be transmitted to/from the external control device (as applied to claim 29). Therefore, it would be obvious for viscosity adjustment completion information to be sent to the external control device or otherwise understood given that the external control device can view processing conditions and processing may proceed based on viscosity adjustment completion.
Regarding clam 34, Taneda further teaches wherein when the ink is ejected from the nozzle of the printing head, the main body control unit performs the maintenance operation by performing stop control to stop the ink ejection from the nozzle on the basis of an instruction from the external control device (control unit 101 stops ejection of the ink for cleaning; at para. 0153-0154; as noted before for claim 29, operations may be controlled by the external control device).
Regarding claim 35, Taneda further teaches wherein the head mounting unit includes a collection container that contains a cleaning liquid dripping from the printing head below the printing head mounting portion (collection container 300 is attached via the bottom wall portion 212 of cleaning mounting unit 200; at para. 0183), and a collection container detector that determines whether or not the collection container is mounted (container detection sensor 235; at para. 0197), and
the main body control unit includes a collection container mounting notification unit that notifies the external control device of collection container mounting information indicating a state where the collection container is mounted in the head mounting unit (magnetic force detection signal is sent to control unit 101; at para. 0197; error signal for head not mounted may be sent to external device; at para. 0251, 0253).
Regarding claim 36, Taneda further teaches wherein the head mounting unit or the printing head includes a cleaning nozzle that ejects the solvent for cleaning the printing head mounted in the head mounting unit (cleaning nozzle 19 sprays solvent for cleaning; at para. 0244), and
the main body control unit performs the maintenance operation by performing solvent ejection control to eject the solvent from the cleaning nozzle on the basis of an instruction from the external control device (control unit 101 executes cleaning operation by cleaning operation unit 101a; at para. 0149, 0244; as noted before for claim 29, operations may be controlled by the external control device).
Regarding claim 38, Taneda further teaches wherein the head mounting unit includes a collection container liquid amount detection unit that detects that a liquid amount in the collection container is equal to or more than a given value (liquid level sensor 240 measures if liquid amount is equal to or higher than a predetermined value; at para. 0202), and
the main body control unit includes a liquid amount abnormality notification unit that notifies the external control device of liquid amount abnormality information indicating occurrence of a liquid amount abnormality when it is detected by the collection container liquid amount detection unit that the liquid amount in the collection container is equal to or more than the given value (error signal for abnormal liquid amount may be sent to external device at para. 0251, 0253).
Regarding claim 39, Taneda further teaches wherein the head mounting unit is connected to the main body via a cable (cleaning mounting unit 200 and controller 100 may be connected via wire; at para. 0166).
Regarding claim 40, Taneda further teaches wherein the main body control unit includes a non-ejection time period notification unit (processing conditions and commands can be transmitted to/from the external control device; as applied to claim 29) that records a date and a time when the ink is ejected from the nozzle of the printing head (operation date and time is updated and stored based when operating, such as printing processing wherein ink is ejected; at para. 0272) and notifies the external control device of non-ejection time period information indicating that the ink is not ejected from the nozzle when the ink is not ejected from the nozzle for a time period equal to or longer than a set time period (neglect/leaving period is determined based on difference between current time and date of non-operation to stored operating time and date; at para. 0272; neglect/leaving period is compared to a specified number of days, and if longer than set days, the mode/state of the device changes; at para. 0273, 0274; processing conditions are transmittable to external control device; as applied to claim 29).
Regarding claim 43, Taneda further teaches inkjet recording system (inkjet recording system S; at para. 0039) comprising: inkjet recording device according to claim 29; and
the external control device that controls the inkjet recording device via wireless communication (wireless communication may be used to connect inkjet recording device I to external devices; at para. 0053).
Claim(s) 31 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taneda as modified by Yamada and Yoshida, as applied to claims 30 and 36, in further view of Kurihara et al. (CN 105339174 A), hereinafter referred to as Kurihara.
Regarding claim 31, Taneda further teaches wherein the printing head includes a charge sensor that detects an amount of charge of the ink particles ejected from the nozzle and charged by the charging electrode (charge detection sensor 14; at para. 0082), and
the main body control unit includes an abnormality occurrence notification unit that stops the ejection of the ink from the nozzle and notifies the external control device of an occurrence of an abnormality (when abnormality is detected, cleaning operation is stopped; at para. 0255; cleaning operation may involve ink ejection/discharge; at para. 0240; when an abnormality is detected, error signal may be sent to external device; at para. 0251, 0253).
Further, Taneda teaches that the main body control unit may determine when the amount of charge is outside a threshold set in advance (control unit 101 can determine if charge is normal or appropriate based on charge detection signal; at para. 0096), however Taneda does not teach the abnormality detected for the abnormality occurrence notification unit as a charging abnormality.
Kurihara teaches an inkjet recording device (ink jet recording apparatus 1; pp. 2, ll. 36) wherein an abnormality occurrence notification unit outputs a signal to an external control device (pp. 6, ll. 37-40) in response to an abnormality such as a charging abnormality specifically (pp. 3, ll. 39-46).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Taneda to include a charge abnormality as an abnormality to be communicated to an external device for the purpose of including additional abnormalities to be used for determining further processing and/or emergency control as taught by Kurihara (pp. 6, ll. 37-54).
Regarding claim 37, Taneda further teaches wherein the printing head includes a charge sensor that detects an amount of charge of the ink particles ejected from the nozzle and charged by the charging electrode (charge detection sensor 14; at para. 0082), and
the main body control unit includes an abnormality notification unit that notifies the external control device of an occurrence of an abnormality (when an abnormality is detected, error signal may be sent to external device; at para. 0251, 0253).
Further, Taneda teaches that the main body control unit may determine when the amount of charge is outside a threshold set in advance (control unit 101 can determine if charge is normal or appropriate based on charge detection signal; at para. 0096), and that following maintenance/cleaning (cleaning nozzle 19 sprays solvent for cleaning; at para. 0244), ink ejection is started (at para. 0126). With ink ejection, application of charge to the ink particles and of voltage to the deflection electrode follows (at para. 0142). Therefore, Taneda teaches the application of voltage to the deflection electrode may be after cleaning of the printhead with solvent wherein ink particle charge is also detected.
However, Taneda does not teach the abnormality detected for the abnormality notification unit as a charging abnormality.
Kurihara teaches an inkjet recording device (ink jet recording apparatus 1; pp. 2, ll. 36) wherein an abnormality occurrence notification unit outputs a signal to an external control device (pp. 6, ll. 37-40) in response to an abnormality such as a charging abnormality specifically (pp. 3, ll. 39-46).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Taneda to include a charge abnormality as an abnormality to be communicated to an external device for the purpose of including additional abnormalities to be used for determining further processing and/or emergency control as taught by Kurihara (pp. 6, ll. 37-54).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taneda as modified by Yamada and Yoshida, as applied to claim 30, in further view of Suzuki (US 20100045728 A1).
Regarding claim 32, Taneda does not teach wherein the printing head includes a heater that heats the ink to be supplied to the nozzle, and a temperature sensor for measuring an ambient temperature around the printing head, and the main body control unit includes a heating notification unit that notifies the external control device of heating information indicating that heating using the heater is necessary when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor is lower than a predetermined temperature set in advance. Taneda does teach a notification unit such that processing conditions and commands can be transmitted to/from the external control device (as applied to claim 29).
Suzuki teaches an inkjet recording device (inkjet printer 1; at para. 0022) wherein a print head (heads 2; at para. 0022) includes a heater that heats the ink to be supplied to the nozzle (heater 76; at para. 0055), and a temperature sensor for measuring an ambient temperature around the printing head (temperature sensor 75; at para. 0035; Fig. 1). The ink is heated by the heater when ambient temperature is lower than a predetermined temperature (at para. 0064). It is also mentioned that the temperature sensor sends a detection signal to a controller (at para. 0035).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Taneda to include a temperature sensor for measuring ambient temperature around the printing head to adjust the temperature of the ink accordingly for the purpose of better control of the viscosity of the ink as taught by Suzuki (at para. 0035). Further, because the detected temperature is signaled to the controller as taught by Suzuki, it would be reasonable that the external control device would receive such a signal as a processing condition as taught by Taneda.
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taneda as modified by Yamada and Yoshida, as applied to claim 29, in further view of Asami (US 20120268507 A1).
Regarding claim 41, Taneda further teaches wherein the main body control unit includes:
an ink circulation cycle unit that performs an operation of repeating an ink circulation cycle in which the ink is ejected from the nozzle (at para. 0044) at set intervals in a state where the printing head is mounted in the head mounting unit to be circulated in each of the paths and then the ejection of the ink from the nozzle is stopped to result in a standby state (ink is able to be continuously ejected even when not printing; at para. 0042; after the head is determined to be mounted, process proceeds to perform fall process then goes into sleep mode; at para. 0271; fall process includes ink ejection stop; at para. 0153), and a circulation cycle implementation situation notification unit that notifies the external control device of circulation cycle implementation information indicating a situation in which the ink circulation cycle is implemented (ink is continuously ejected unless stopped for a specific mode, and a change in mode/status is a processing condition; processing conditions are transmittable to external control device; as applied to claim 29).
Taneda further teaches wherein the main body control unit includes an abnormality notification unit that notifies the external control device of an occurrence of an abnormality (when an abnormality is detected, error signal may be sent to external device; at para. 0251, 0253), however Taneda does not teach the abnormality detected for the abnormality notification unit as an ink circulation cycle abnormality.
Asami teaches an inkjet printer ink path with an ink circulation cycle unit (ink path 1 with ink circulation unit 6; at para. 0028) wherein ink circulation is implemented and sensors may detect an abnormality, such as hindered or improper ink circulation (at para. 0096).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Taneda to include abnormality detection for the ink circulation cycle for the purpose of stopping improper circulation and sending a notification/service call as taught by Asami (at para. 0097, 0098).
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taneda as modified by Yamada and Yoshida, as applied to claim 29, in further view of Takahashi et al. (US 2021245495 A1, from IDS), hereinafter referred to as Takahashi.
Regarding claim 42, Taneda further teaches inkjet recording system (inkjet recording system S; at para. 0039) comprising: inkjet recording device according to claim 29; a network (at para. 0053); and connected to the network to control the inkjet recording device (connection of the recording device I to devices may be done via a network; at para. 0053). However, Taneda does not teach a server connected to the inkjet recording device wherein the external control device is connected to the network to control the inkjet recording device via the server.
Takahashi teaches an inkjet recording system (inkjet recording device management system; at para. 0023, 0059; Fig. 1, 10) wherein a server (database server 10, authentication server 11, web server 12, AP server 13; at para. 0024, 0059; Fig. 1, 10) is connected to an inkjet recording device (inkjet recording devices 100; at para. 0028, 0029, 0059; Fig. 1, 10). The server is also connected to a network (network 9; at para. 0027; Fig. 1, 10), and an external control device (communication devices 90; at para. 0028, 0059; Fig. 1, 10; or management terminal 15; at para. 0027; Fig. 1, 10) is connected to the network (Fig. 1, 10).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Taneda to further include a server linking the external control device and network to the inkjet recording device for the purpose of using a server separate from the other parts of the system to perform various functions including accumulation of information, network authentication, web page connection, and calculations as taught by Takahashi (at para. 0025).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
09 July 2026
/KYRA MELOR VAN KREUNINGEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853