DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. A preliminary amendment filed 9/20/24 amended claims 1 & 12-15; and added claims 16-20.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/20/24 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the RAN apparatus" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-12, 14, & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryu (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0232204).
Regarding claims 1 and 11:
Ryu discloses an apparatus and method comprising: at least one memory (paragraph 0362; see also claim 17); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Ibid) and configured to cause the RAN apparatus to: receive, from a first network entity, a first request message for a service authorization and authentication (“AA”) procedure (the registration request message of Figure 20; see also paragraph 0318: “In an example, the wireless device may send a registration request message to the mobility management function”); receive, from a second network entity, aerial subscription information corresponding to an uncrewed aerial vehicle (“UAV”) associated with the first request message (Figure 20, and paragraphs 0318-0319, including “In an example, the capability may indicate an unmanned and/or uncrewed aerial service (e.g., UAS, UAV)” and “In an example, if the capability indicates the UAS, the subscription server may include UAS subscription information to the subscription information”; transmit, to a third network entity, a second request message for the service AA procedure (paragraph 0323: “If the authentication and/or authorization is required based on the subscription information, the mobility management function may perform the authentication and/or authorization procedure by sending an authentication and/or authorization (AA) request message to an authentication and/or authorization (AA) server”; receive, from the third network entity, a first response message indicating a result of the service AA procedure (paragraph 0324: “In an example, the mobility management function may receive an AA response message from the AA server. In response to receiving the AA response message, the mobility management function may determine whether to activate the one or more RAN functions for the wireless device”); and transmit a third request message comprising the aerial subscription information and the result of the service AA procedure (paragraphs 0325-0326, including: “In response to the determination, the mobility management function may send one or more messages to the base station, to activate the one or more RAN functions associated with the service” and “In response to the activation of the RAN functions, the base station may send RRC message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration) to employ the RAN functions for the service”).
Regarding claim 12:
The rejection of claim 1 applies mutatis mutandis to claim 12.
Regarding claim 9:
Ryu further discloses wherein the apparatus comprises a mobility management entity (“MME”), wherein the first network entity comprises a radio access network (“RAN”) node associated with the UAV, and wherein the second network entity comprises a Home Subscriber Server (“HSS”) (e.g. paragraphs 0294, 0300, 0314, & 0317; and Figures 18 & 20).
Regarding claims 10:
Ryu further discloses wherein the aerial subscription information comprises a value indicating whether an uncrewed aerial system (“UAS”) service is allowed or unallowed (paragraph 0324).
Regarding claim 14:
Ryu further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the RAN apparatus to enable one or more features based at least in part on the result of the service AA procedure (paragraph 0324).
Regarding claim 15:
Ryu further discloses wherein the one or more features comprise: an aerial height comprising a lower threshold; an aerial height comprising an upper threshold; location information comprising a horizontal velocity; location information comprising a vertical velocity; flight path information; an open loop power control parameter to calculate a pathloss compensation factor; an interference detection based on UAV reporting measurements; or a combination thereof (height thresholds and flight path information at paragraphs 0294-0295).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu in view of “3GPP TR 23.754 v17.1.0: 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on supporting Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS) connectivity, identification, and tracking (Release 17)” (from the IDS of 9/20/24; hereinafter, “3GPP”).
Regarding claims 1, 9-12, 14, & 15:
The rejection of claims 1, 9-12, 14, & 15 under 35 USC 102 applies mutatis mutandis herein, further noting that given that the preferred embodiment of the Ryu disclosure relies on a 5G wireless network (see e.g. paragraphs 0031 & 0121), any technical details regarding the wireless network not explicitly disclosed by Ryu can be found in the standards documents including but not limited to 3GPP; thus it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application for a person of ordinary skill in the art to ensure that the wireless network that Ryu’s UAV relies upon conforms with the relevant aspects of the 5G wireless network standard as disclosed by 3GPP, particularly those aspects specifically intended for allowing unmanned aerial vehicles to access the 5G network.
Regarding claims 2 and 16: The combination further discloses wherein the first request message comprises an extended protocol configuration options (“ePCO”) information element (“IE”), wherein the ePCO IE comprises a container identity and a Service-level AA container IE, and wherein the Service-level AA container comprises a Civil Aviation Authority (“CAA”)-level UAV identifier (“ID”) and an Uncrewed aerial system Service Supplier (“USS”) address, an Uncrewed Aerial System Service Supplier/UAV Authorization and Authentication (“UUAA”) aviation payload, or both (3GPP, pages 45-46: “3. The UAV sends an Attach Request to the MME. In EPS, Protocol Configuration Options (PCO) in the ESM message container are used to transfer parameters between the UE and the PDN GW, and sent transparently through the MME and the Serving GW. The PCO is extended to enable the UAV to insert the CAA-Level UAV ID, the Flight Authorization ID (if available), the UUAA Aviation Payload containing application layer information that is transparent to the EPC, and the Aviation Connectivity Payload containing the information for flight path authorization/registration for flight operation and for the authorization of UAV and networked UAV controller pairing (the information exchanged between UAV and USS/UTM for authorization for pairing of the networked UAV controller and UAV can refer to clause 6.5.3.1). The UAV in the UUAA procedure uses credentials obtained by the UAV during registration with the USS/UTM. The UAV may include the USS/UTM address information (see clause 6.5.2.3)”).
Regarding claim 3: The combination further discloses wherein the container identity in the ePCO IE indicates that the first request message is for the service AA procedure (3GPP, Ibid).
Regarding claims 4 and 17: The combination further discloses wherein the first request message comprises an access point name (“APN”) associated with establishing a default bearer for Uncrewed Aerial System (“UAS”) services (3GPP, page 46: “5. The MME determines the UAV has an aerial subscription and selects the Default APN for connectivity with the USS/UTM”).
Regarding claim 5: The combination further discloses wherein the APN indicates that the first request message is for the service AA procedure (3GPP, page 46: “For the scenario of single PDN connection, UUAA, authorization of UAV and networked UAV controller pairing, and authorization for establishment of user plane resource are always requested for APNs corresponding to UAS services, and may be verified against the UAV subscription if the node is an SMF+PGW-C”).
Regarding claims 6 and 18: The combination further discloses wherein the first request message comprises an Attach Request message, wherein the service AA procedure comprises an Uncrewed Aerial System Service Supplier/UAV Authorization and Authentication (“UUAA”) procedure (3GPP, pages 45-46: “3. The UAV sends an Attach Request to the MME. In EPS, Protocol Configuration Options (PCO) in the ESM message container are used to transfer parameters between the UE and the PDN GW, and sent transparently through the MME and the Serving GW. The PCO is extended to enable the UAV to insert the CAA-Level UAV ID, the Flight Authorization ID (if available), the UUAA Aviation Payload containing application layer information that is transparent to the EPC, and the Aviation Connectivity Payload containing the information for flight path authorization/registration for flight operation and for the authorization of UAV and networked UAV controller pairing (the information exchanged between UAV and USS/UTM for authorization for pairing of the networked UAV controller and UAV can refer to clause 6.5.3.1). The UAV in the UUAA procedure uses credentials obtained by the UAV during registration with the USS/UTM. The UAV may include the USS/UTM address information (see clause 6.5.2.3)”), and wherein the third request message comprises an Initial Context Setup Request message comprising an attach accept message (page 56, “6.8.2 Procedures”: “AMF that supports Aerial UE function provides the user's subscription information on Aerial UE authorisation to the NG-RAN via the NG AP Initial Context Setup Request during Registration and Service Request procedures”).
Regarding claims 7 and 19: The combination further discloses wherein the first request message comprises a Packet Data Network (“PDN”) Connectivity Request message, wherein the service AA procedure comprises an Uncrewed Aerial System Service Supplier/UAV Authorization and Authentication (“UUAA”) procedure, and wherein the third request message comprises a User Equipment (“UE”) Context Modification Request message (3GPP, page 46, “7. The SMF+PGW-Cverifies whether a secondary authentication is required for the PDN connection establishment request…” and all subsections thereof).
Regarding claim 8: The combination further discloses wherein the third network entity comprises a serving gateway (“SGW”) associated with a packet data network (“PDN”) gateway (“PGW”), wherein the second request message comprises a Create Session Request message (3GPP, page 47: “14. The MME sends a Create Session Request to the SMF+PGW-C via the SGW. The MME may include the ME Identity (IMEISV of the UAV). The MME selects a SMF+PGW-C suitable to serving the APN for C2 connectivity (it is expected to select the same PGW serving the PDN connection for UAV-USS/UTM connectivity)”), and wherein the first response message comprises a Create Session Response message comprising an Activate Evolved Packet System (“EPS”) Bearer Context Request message (3GPP, pages 102-103: “3. Based on the UAV UE's subscriber profile, DNN and S-NSSAI provided in the request the AMF selects the SMF and sends Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request to the SMF. It is assumed that the UAV is configured with the appropriate S-NSSAI and DNN to use or that the 3GPP Network has configured the Default S-NSSAI and Default DNN to be dedicated for UAV-USS/UTM connectivity.”).
Regarding claim 13:
The combination further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the RAN apparatus to: determine a lost connection to the UAV (3GPP, page 71, top paragraph: “Knowing the network mobility restriction information for a specific area is directly related with the successful and safe operation of UAV. If the UAV network connectivity suddenly dropped, then the desired or planned operation of UAV is impossible, and will be consequence into terrible accidents”; and forward a User Equipment (“UE”) context comprising the aerial subscription information to a RAN node, wherein the aerial subscription information comprises a value indicating whether an uncrewed aerial system (“UAS”) service is allowed or unallowed (3GPP, page 56, “6.8.2 Procedures”: “The NG-RAN supporting Aerial UE function handling uses the per user information supplied by the AMF to determine whether or not to allow the UE to use Aerial UE function”; see also Ryu at paragraph 0324).
Regarding claim 20:
The combination further discloses wherein the first network entity comprises a mobility management entity (“MME”), wherein the second request message comprises a Create Session Request message (3GPP, page 47: “14. The MME sends a Create Session Request to the SMF+PGW-C via the SGW. The MME may include the ME Identity (IMEISV of the UAV). The MME selects a SMF+PGW-C suitable to serving the APN for C2 connectivity (it is expected to select the same PGW serving the PDN connection for UAV-USS/UTM connectivity)”), wherein the first response message comprises a Create Session Response message comprising an Activate Evolved Packet System (“EPS”) Bearer Context Request message (3GPP, pages 102-103: “3. Based on the UAV UE's subscriber profile, DNN and S-NSSAI provided in the request the AMF selects the SMF and sends Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request to the SMF. It is assumed that the UAV is configured with the appropriate S-NSSAI and DNN to use or that the 3GPP Network has configured the Default S-NSSAI and Default DNN to be dedicated for UAV-USS/UTM connectivity.”), and wherein the aerial subscription information comprises a value indicating whether an uncrewed aerial system (“UAS”) service is allowed or unallowed (3GPP, page 56, “6.8.2 Procedures”: “The NG-RAN supporting Aerial UE function handling uses the per user information supplied by the AMF to determine whether or not to allow the UE to use Aerial UE function”; see also Ryu at paragraph 0324).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0369363 (Ferdi)
U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0321323 (Ge)
U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0099870 (Moon)
THOMAS A. GYORFI
Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/THOMAS A GYORFI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2435 2/20/2026