DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/23/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues Miller (US 20140306866 A1) does not disclose:
as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Examiner replies Miller teaches generating, by the first device, a first virtual representation of the detected first physical object of the predefined type; (160 in Figure 21; para. [0106], “the interface display 303 may be substantially transparent, thereby allowing the user to view the local, physical environment, while various local, physical objects are displayed to the user as rendered physical objects”; para. [0098], “the virtual object 404 is an object created by the system 100, and displayed via the user interface 302”; para. [0033], “In another embodiment, a method enabling two or more users to interact within a virtual world comprising virtual world data comprises creating a remote avatar for a first user accessing the virtual world through a first user device at a first location, placing, the remote avatar of the first user, at a real geographical location, such that the first user can experience the real geographical location through the first user device at the first location, and interacting with a second user accessing the virtual world through a second user device at the real geographical location through the remote avatar placed at the real geographical location. The first location may be different from the real geographical location, or the first location may be substantially the same as the real geographical location.”)
transmitting, by the first device to a multilocation augmented reality controller, the first virtual representation and information relating to integration of the first virtual representation into the augmented reality environment, the first virtual representation being transmitted for rendering at a second location; (claim 13, “wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to a computer network to transmit at least a portion of a virtual world data”; para. [0085], “The data stored in one or more servers 110 within the computing network 105 is, in one embodiment, transmitted or deployed at a high-speed, and with low latency, to one or more user devices 120”; Figure 21; Figure 19; Figure 23; para.[0036], “Another embodiment is directed to a system for enabling two or more users to interact within a virtual world comprising virtual world data, comprising a computer network comprising one or more computing devices, the one or more computing devices comprising memory, processing circuitry, and software stored at least in part in the memory and executable by the processing circuitry to process at least a portion of the virtual world data; wherein at least a first portion of the virtual world data originates from a first user virtual world local to a first user, and wherein the computer network is operable to transmit the first portion to a user device for presentation to a second user, such that the second user may experience the first portion from the location of the second user, such that aspects of the first user virtual world are effectively passed to the second user. The first and second users may be in different physical locations or in substantially the same physical location. At least a portion of the virtual world may be configured to change in response to a change in the virtual world data. At least a portion of the virtual world may be configured to change in response to a physical object sensed by the user device. The change in virtual world data may represent a virtual object having a predetermined relationship with the physical object. The change in virtual world data may be presented to a second user device for presentation to the second user according to the predetermined relationship. The virtual world may be operable to be rendered by at least one of the computer servers or a user device. The virtual world may be presented in a two-dimensional format. The virtual world may be presented in a three-dimensional format. The user device may be operable to provide an interface for enabling interaction between a user and the virtual world in an augmented reality mode. The user device may be operable to provide an interface for enabling interaction between a user and the virtual world in a virtual reality mode. The user device may be operable to provide an interface for enabling interaction between a user and the virtual world a combination of augmented and virtual reality mode. The virtual world data may be transmitted over a data network. The computer network may be operable to receive at least a portion of the virtual world data from a user device. At least a portion of the virtual world data transmitted to the user device may comprise instructions for generating at least a portion of the virtual world. At least a portion of the virtual world data may be transmitted to a gateway for at least one of processing or distribution. At least one of the one or more computer servers may be operable to process virtual world data distributed by the gateway.”)
receiving, by the first device from the multilocation augmented reality controller, shared augmented-reality-environment data including a second virtual representation of a second physical object of a predefined type captured by a second device at the second location and information relating to integration of the second virtual representation into the augmented reality environment; and (claim 13, “wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to a computer network to transmit at least a portion of a virtual world data”; para. [0085], “The data stored in one or more servers 110 within the computing network 105 is, in one embodiment, transmitted or deployed at a high-speed, and with low latency, to one or more user devices 120”; Figure 23; para. [0174], “Referring to FIG. 23, for illustrative purposes, another augmented reality scenario is presented with a view (172) featuring certain actual reality elements, such as: the architecture of the room (174), a coffee table (180), a DJ table (178), and five actual people (176, 188, 182, 184, 186), each of whom is wearing head mounted augmented reality interface hardware (300) so that they may experience their own augmented reality views of things around them, such as a virtual reality cartoon character (198), a virtual reality Spanish dancer character (196), a stormtrooper character (194), and a globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192) for one of the actual people (188). Without the augmented reality interface hardware, the room would look to the five actual people like a room with furniture, a DJ table, and nothing out of the ordinary; with the augmented reality interface hardware, the system is configured such that the engaged players or participants may experience the person who decided to show up virtually as a stormtrooper, the person who decided to show up virtually as a Spanish dancer, the person who decided to show up virtually as the cartoon character, and the person who decided to show up actually wearing normal clothing, but has decided that she wants her head to be visualized with the globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192).”)
Regarding the remaining arguments: Applicant argues with respect to the amended claim language, which is fully addressed in the prior art rejections set forth below.
Conclusion: The rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are shown to have been proper, and the claims are rejected below. In as much as new citations and parenthetical remarks can be considered new grounds of rejection, such new grounds of rejection are necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Therefore, the present Office Action is made final.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 14, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 line 2, claim 14 line 2, and claim 19 line 2 cites “the transmitted information” which should be “the transmitted information related to integration.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 10, 12-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miller et al. (US 20140306866 A1 – IDS REF) (hereinafter Miller).
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses A method of synchronizing simultaneous rendering of a same augmented reality environment at multiple locations, the method comprising: (para. [0002], “The present invention generally relates to systems and methods configured to facilitate interactive virtual or augmented reality environments for one or more users.”)
obtaining, by a first device at a first location, a first camera view of a first local environment, the first camera view capturing a first physical object of a predefined type; (Figure 21; para. [0092], “The environment-sensing system 306 includes one or more sensors 312 for obtaining data from the physical environment around a user.”; Figure 19; Figure 23)
detecting, by the first device, the first physical object of the predefined type in the first camera view; (Figure 21; para. [0093], “The environment-sensing system 306 may be used for mapping one or more elements of the physical environment around the user by detecting and registering the local environment, including static objects, dynamic objects, people, gestures and various lighting, atmospheric and acoustic conditions.”; Figure 19; Figure 23)
generating, by the first device, a first virtual representation of the detected first physical object of the predefined type; (160 in Figure 21; Figure 23; para. [0106], “the interface display 303 may be substantially transparent, thereby allowing the user to view the local, physical environment, while various local, physical objects are displayed to the user as rendered physical objects”; para. [0098], “the virtual object 404 is an object created by the system 100, and displayed via the user interface 302”; para. [0033], “In another embodiment, a method enabling two or more users to interact within a virtual world comprising virtual world data comprises creating a remote avatar for a first user accessing the virtual world through a first user device at a first location, placing, the remote avatar of the first user, at a real geographical location, such that the first user can experience the real geographical location through the first user device at the first location, and interacting with a second user accessing the virtual world through a second user device at the real geographical location through the remote avatar placed at the real geographical location. The first location may be different from the real geographical location, or the first location may be substantially the same as the real geographical location.”; para. [0172], “Referring to FIG. 21, a player's eye view (152) of another player (150) who also happens to be actually present in London (138) and walking across the same bridge toward the “agent 006” player (140), but without an augmented reality head mounted display (element 300 of FIG. 19, for example), is presented. This player (150) may not have a head mounted augmented reality display, but he is carrying a mobile communication device (154) such as a tablet or smartphone, which in this embodiment, may be wirelessly connected with the larger system and utilized as a “window” into the augmented reality world of the subject game and configured to present in the limited user interface (156) of the device augmented reality information regarding one or two other nearby players who may be actually there (158) or virtual (160), along with other augmented reality display information (162) such as warnings or character information.”)
transmitting, by the first device to a multilocation augmented reality controller, the first virtual representation and information relating to integration of the first virtual representation into the augmented reality environment, the first virtual representation being transmitted for rendering at a second location; (claim 13, “wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to a computer network to transmit at least a portion of a virtual world data”; para. [0085], “The data stored in one or more servers 110 within the computing network 105 is, in one embodiment, transmitted or deployed at a high-speed, and with low latency, to one or more user devices 120”; Figure 21; Figure 19; Figure 23; para.[0036], “Another embodiment is directed to a system for enabling two or more users to interact within a virtual world comprising virtual world data, comprising a computer network comprising one or more computing devices, the one or more computing devices comprising memory, processing circuitry, and software stored at least in part in the memory and executable by the processing circuitry to process at least a portion of the virtual world data; wherein at least a first portion of the virtual world data originates from a first user virtual world local to a first user, and wherein the computer network is operable to transmit the first portion to a user device for presentation to a second user, such that the second user may experience the first portion from the location of the second user, such that aspects of the first user virtual world are effectively passed to the second user. The first and second users may be in different physical locations or in substantially the same physical location. At least a portion of the virtual world may be configured to change in response to a change in the virtual world data. At least a portion of the virtual world may be configured to change in response to a physical object sensed by the user device. The change in virtual world data may represent a virtual object having a predetermined relationship with the physical object. The change in virtual world data may be presented to a second user device for presentation to the second user according to the predetermined relationship. The virtual world may be operable to be rendered by at least one of the computer servers or a user device. The virtual world may be presented in a two-dimensional format. The virtual world may be presented in a three-dimensional format. The user device may be operable to provide an interface for enabling interaction between a user and the virtual world in an augmented reality mode. The user device may be operable to provide an interface for enabling interaction between a user and the virtual world in a virtual reality mode. The user device may be operable to provide an interface for enabling interaction between a user and the virtual world a combination of augmented and virtual reality mode. The virtual world data may be transmitted over a data network. The computer network may be operable to receive at least a portion of the virtual world data from a user device. At least a portion of the virtual world data transmitted to the user device may comprise instructions for generating at least a portion of the virtual world. At least a portion of the virtual world data may be transmitted to a gateway for at least one of processing or distribution. At least one of the one or more computer servers may be operable to process virtual world data distributed by the gateway.”)
receiving, by the first device from the multilocation augmented reality controller, shared augmented-reality-environment data including a second virtual representation of a second physical object of a predefined type captured by a second device at the second location and information relating to integration of the second virtual representation into the augmented reality environment; and (claim 13, “wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to a computer network to transmit at least a portion of a virtual world data”; para. [0085], “The data stored in one or more servers 110 within the computing network 105 is, in one embodiment, transmitted or deployed at a high-speed, and with low latency, to one or more user devices 120”; Figure 23; para. [0174], “Referring to FIG. 23, for illustrative purposes, another augmented reality scenario is presented with a view (172) featuring certain actual reality elements, such as: the architecture of the room (174), a coffee table (180), a DJ table (178), and five actual people (176, 188, 182, 184, 186), each of whom is wearing head mounted augmented reality interface hardware (300) so that they may experience their own augmented reality views of things around them, such as a virtual reality cartoon character (198), a virtual reality Spanish dancer character (196), a stormtrooper character (194), and a globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192) for one of the actual people (188). Without the augmented reality interface hardware, the room would look to the five actual people like a room with furniture, a DJ table, and nothing out of the ordinary; with the augmented reality interface hardware, the system is configured such that the engaged players or participants may experience the person who decided to show up virtually as a stormtrooper, the person who decided to show up virtually as a Spanish dancer, the person who decided to show up virtually as the cartoon character, and the person who decided to show up actually wearing normal clothing, but has decided that she wants her head to be visualized with the globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192).”)
maintaining, by the first device, the augmented reality environment by integrating the first camera view of the first local environment with the received second virtual representation wherein the first physical object of the predefined type is displayed in the augmented reality environment as captured by the first camera view without displaying the first virtual representation of the first physical object of the predefined type. (Figure 23; para. [0174], “Referring to FIG. 23, for illustrative purposes, another augmented reality scenario is presented with a view (172) featuring certain actual reality elements, such as: the architecture of the room (174), a coffee table (180), a DJ table (178), and five actual people (176, 188, 182, 184, 186), each of whom is wearing head mounted augmented reality interface hardware (300) so that they may experience their own augmented reality views of things around them, such as a virtual reality cartoon character (198), a virtual reality Spanish dancer character (196), a stormtrooper character (194), and a globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192) for one of the actual people (188). Without the augmented reality interface hardware, the room would look to the five actual people like a room with furniture, a DJ table, and nothing out of the ordinary; with the augmented reality interface hardware, the system is configured such that the engaged players or participants may experience the person who decided to show up virtually as a stormtrooper, the person who decided to show up virtually as a Spanish dancer, the person who decided to show up virtually as the cartoon character, and the person who decided to show up actually wearing normal clothing, but has decided that she wants her head to be visualized with the globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192).”; para. [0174], “The system may also be configured to show certain virtual features associated with the actual DJ table (178), such as virtual music documentation pages (190) which may be only visible to the DJ (176) through his augmented reality interface hardware (300), or DJ table lighting features which may be visible to anyone around using their augmented reality interface hardware (300).”; para. [0085])
Regarding claim 3, Miller discloses wherein at least one of the first physical object of the predefined type and the second physical object of the predefined type is a person. (para. [0075], “Objects may be any type of animate or inanimate object, including but not limited to, buildings, plants, vehicles, people,”; Figure 23; para. [0174], “the system is configured such that the engaged players or participants may experience the person who decided to show up virtually as a stormtrooper, the person who decided to show up virtually as a Spanish dancer, the person who decided to show up virtually as the cartoon character, and the person who decided to show up actually wearing normal clothing, but has decided that she wants her head to be visualized with the globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192).”)
Regarding claim 4, Miller discloses further comprising generating information relating to the integration of at least one of the first virtual representation and the second virtual representation of the person, including a description of movement performed by the person. (Figure 18; Figure 23para. [0084], “The servers 110 within the computing network 105 also store computational state data for each of the digital worlds. The computational state data (also referred to herein as state data) may be a component of the object data, and generally defines the state of an instance of an object at a given instance in time. Thus, the computational state data may change over time and may be impacted by the actions of one or more users and/or programmers maintaining the system 100.”; para. [0171], “the system may be configured to present information deemed relevant to the scene presented, such as a message through the messaging interface (112) that agent 006 is approaching, along with visually-presented highlighting around the agent 006 character.”; para. [0036]-[0037; para. [0150]; para. [0176]).
Regarding claim 5, Miller discloses wherein transmitted information is configured to enable the second device to integrate or change an integration of a corresponding virtual representation and a camera view of a local environment at the second location. (para. [0084], “As a user impacts the computational state data (or other data comprising the digital worlds), the user directly alters or otherwise manipulates the digital world. If the digital world is shared with, or interfaced by, other users, the actions of the user may affect what is experienced by other users interacting with the digital world”; Figure 20; Figure 21)
Regarding claim 6, Miller discloses wherein the generated first virtual representation and information relating to the integration thereof into the augmented reality environment is transmitted to a multilocation augmented reality controller running on a server to be forwarded to the second device at the second location. (para. [0071], “User devices are configured for communicating directly with computing network 105, or any of the servers 110. Alternatively, user devices 120 communicate with the remote servers 110, and, optionally, with other user devices locally, through a specially programmed, local gateway 140 for processing data and/or for communicating data between the network 105 and one or more local user devices 120."; para. [0036]-[0037]; Figure 1)
Regarding claim 7, Miller discloses where processing of information relating to generation or updating of information is distributed between the at least one device, the server, and the at least one other device. (para. [0071], “User devices are configured for communicating directly with computing network 105, or any of the servers 110. Alternatively, user devices 120 communicate with the remote servers 110, and, optionally, with other user devices locally, through a specially programmed, local gateway 140 for processing data and/or for communicating data between the network 105 and one or more local user devices 120.”; para. [0084], “As a user impacts the computational state data (or other data comprising the digital worlds), the user directly alters or otherwise manipulates the digital world. If the digital world is shared with, or interfaced by, other users, the actions of the user may affect what is experienced by other users interacting with the digital world”)
Regarding claim 10, Miller discloses A method of synchronizing simultaneous rendering of a same augmented reality environment at multiple locations, the method comprising: (para. [0002], “The present invention generally relates to systems and methods configured to facilitate interactive virtual or augmented reality environments for one or more users.”)
receiving, by a multilocation augmented reality controller running on a server, from a first device at a first location, a first virtual representation of a first physical object of a predefined type generated based on detection of the first physical object of the predefined type in a first camera view of the first local environment, together with information relating to an integration of the first virtual representation into the augmented reality environment; (Figure 21; Figure 20; Figure 23; Figure 1; para. [0093], “The environment-sensing system 306 may be used for mapping one or more elements of the physical environment around the user by detecting and registering the local environment, including static objects, dynamic objects, people, gestures and various lighting, atmospheric and acoustic conditions.”; para. [0036]-[0037])
receiving, by the multilocation augmented reality controller, from a second device at a second location, a second virtual representation of a second physical object of a predefined type generated based on detection of the second physical object of the predefined type in a second camera view of the second local environment, together with information relating to an integration of the second virtual representation into the augmented reality environment; (Figure 21; Figure 20; Figure 23; Figure 1; para. [0093], “The environment-sensing system 306 may be used for mapping one or more elements of the physical environment around the user by detecting and registering the local environment, including static objects, dynamic objects, people, gestures and various lighting, atmospheric and acoustic conditions.”; para. [0036]-[0037])
maintaining, by the multilocation augmented reality controller, shared augmented-reality-environment data including the first virtual representation of the detected first physical object of the predefined type detected in the first camera view and the second virtual representation of the detected second physical object of the predefined type detected in the second camera view, together with the information relating to the respective integrations into the augmented reality environment; and (Figure 2; para. [0036]-[0037]; Figure 23; para. [0174], “Referring to FIG. 23, for illustrative purposes, another augmented reality scenario is presented with a view (172) featuring certain actual reality elements, such as: the architecture of the room (174), a coffee table (180), a DJ table (178), and five actual people (176, 188, 182, 184, 186), each of whom is wearing head mounted augmented reality interface hardware (300) so that they may experience their own augmented reality views of things around them, such as a virtual reality cartoon character (198), a virtual reality Spanish dancer character (196), a stormtrooper character (194), and a globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192) for one of the actual people (188). Without the augmented reality interface hardware, the room would look to the five actual people like a room with furniture, a DJ table, and nothing out of the ordinary; with the augmented reality interface hardware, the system is configured such that the engaged players or participants may experience the person who decided to show up virtually as a stormtrooper, the person who decided to show up virtually as a Spanish dancer, the person who decided to show up virtually as the cartoon character, and the person who decided to show up actually wearing normal clothing, but has decided that she wants her head to be visualized with the globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192).”; para. [0174], “The system may also be configured to show certain virtual features associated with the actual DJ table (178), such as virtual music documentation pages (190) which may be only visible to the DJ (176) through his augmented reality interface hardware (300), or DJ table lighting features which may be visible to anyone around using their augmented reality interface hardware (300).”; para. [0085])
transmitting, by the multilocation augmented reality controller to the first device, the second virtual representation and the information relating to the integration of the second virtual representation into the same augmented reality environment; and
transmitting, by the multilocation augmented reality controller to the second device, the first virtual representation and the information relating to the integration of the first virtual representation into the same augmented reality environment, (Figure 2; para. [0036]-[0037]; Figure 23; para. [0174], “Referring to FIG. 23, for illustrative purposes, another augmented reality scenario is presented with a view (172) featuring certain actual reality elements, such as: the architecture of the room (174), a coffee table (180), a DJ table (178), and five actual people (176, 188, 182, 184, 186), each of whom is wearing head mounted augmented reality interface hardware (300) so that they may experience their own augmented reality views of things around them, such as a virtual reality cartoon character (198), a virtual reality Spanish dancer character (196), a stormtrooper character (194), and a globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192) for one of the actual people (188). Without the augmented reality interface hardware, the room would look to the five actual people like a room with furniture, a DJ table, and nothing out of the ordinary; with the augmented reality interface hardware, the system is configured such that the engaged players or participants may experience the person who decided to show up virtually as a stormtrooper, the person who decided to show up virtually as a Spanish dancer, the person who decided to show up virtually as the cartoon character, and the person who decided to show up actually wearing normal clothing, but has decided that she wants her head to be visualized with the globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192).”; para. [0174], “The system may also be configured to show certain virtual features associated with the actual DJ table (178), such as virtual music documentation pages (190) which may be only visible to the DJ (176) through his augmented reality interface hardware (300), or DJ table lighting features which may be visible to anyone around using their augmented reality interface hardware (300).”; para. [0085])
wherein the multilocation augmented reality controller is configured to transmit the first virtual representation to the second device for integration with the second camera view without transmitting the second virtual representation to the second device for integration with the second camera view, and to transmit the second virtual representation to the first device for integration with the first camera view without transmitting the first virtual representation to the first device for integration with the first camera view. (Figure 2; para. [0036]-[0037]; Figure 23; para. [0174])
Regarding claim 15, Miller discloses A device configured to participate in
synchronized simultaneous rendering of a same augmented reality environment at multiple locations, the device comprising: (para. [0002], “The present invention generally relates to systems and methods configured to facilitate interactive virtual or augmented reality environments for one or more users.”; Abstract, “one more computing device…”)
a camera; (para. [0005], “a first pair of cameras…”)
a communication interface; (Figure 2; Figure 3)
a display interface; (Figure 2; Figure 3)
one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions executable by the one or more processors to implement: (para. [0036], “the one or more computing devices comprising memory, processing circuitry, and software stored at least in part in the memory and executable by the processing circuitry to process at least a portion of the virtual world data;”
a camera module configured to obtain, using the camera, a first camera view of a first local environment at a first location, the first camera view capturing a first physical object of a predefined type, (para. [0110], “The various modes discussed herein may be applied to user devices other than the head-mounted system 300. For example, an augmented reality interface may be provided via a mobile phone or tablet device. In such an embodiment, the phone or tablet may use a camera to capture the physical environment around the user, and virtual objects may be overlaid on the phone/tablet display screen.”)
an object detection module configured to detect the first physical object of the predefined type in the first camera view, (para. [0092], “The environment-sensing system 306 includes one or more sensors 312 for obtaining data from the physical environment around a user. Objects or information detected by the sensors may be provided as input to the user device.”)
a virtual-representation generation module configured to generate a first virtual representation of the detected first physical object of the predefined type, (para. [0074], “Software programs running on the servers and optionally user devices 120 and gateways 140, are used to generate digital worlds (also referred to herein as virtual worlds) with which users interact with user devices 120.”)
a multilocation augmented reality module configured to transmit, using the communication interface, the generated first virtual representation and information relating to an integration of the generated first virtual representation into the augmented reality environment, the generated first virtual representation being transmitted for rendering at a second location, the multilocation augmented reality module being further configured to receive, using the communication interface, a second virtual representation of a second physical object of a predefined type captured by a second device at the second location and information relating to integration of the second virtual representation into the augmented reality environment, and (Figure 1; Figure 2; para. [0036]-[0037]; para. [0036]-[0037]; Figure 23; para. [0174], “Referring to FIG. 23, for illustrative purposes, another augmented reality scenario is presented with a view (172) featuring certain actual reality elements, such as: the architecture of the room (174), a coffee table (180), a DJ table (178), and five actual people (176, 188, 182, 184, 186), each of whom is wearing head mounted augmented reality interface hardware (300) so that they may experience their own augmented reality views of things around them, such as a virtual reality cartoon character (198), a virtual reality Spanish dancer character (196), a stormtrooper character (194), and a globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192) for one of the actual people (188). Without the augmented reality interface hardware, the room would look to the five actual people like a room with furniture, a DJ table, and nothing out of the ordinary; with the augmented reality interface hardware, the system is configured such that the engaged players or participants may experience the person who decided to show up virtually as a stormtrooper, the person who decided to show up virtually as a Spanish dancer, the person who decided to show up virtually as the cartoon character, and the person who decided to show up actually wearing normal clothing, but has decided that she wants her head to be visualized with the globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192).”; para. [0174], “The system may also be configured to show certain virtual features associated with the actual DJ table (178), such as virtual music documentation pages (190) which may be only visible to the DJ (176) through his augmented reality interface hardware (300), or DJ table lighting features which may be visible to anyone around using their augmented reality interface hardware (300).”; para. [0085)
an augmented reality content integration module configured to maintain the augmented reality environment by integrating the first camera view of the first local environment with the received second virtual representation, the augmented reality content integration module being configured to cause the first physical object of the predefined type to be displayed in the augmented reality environment as captured by the first camera view without displaying the first virtual representation of the first physical object of the predefined type. (Figure 1; Figure 2; para. [0036]-[0037]; Figure 23; para. [0174], “Referring to FIG. 23, for illustrative purposes, another augmented reality scenario is presented with a view (172) featuring certain actual reality elements, such as: the architecture of the room (174), a coffee table (180), a DJ table (178), and five actual people (176, 188, 182, 184, 186), each of whom is wearing head mounted augmented reality interface hardware (300) so that they may experience their own augmented reality views of things around them, such as a virtual reality cartoon character (198), a virtual reality Spanish dancer character (196), a stormtrooper character (194), and a globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192) for one of the actual people (188). Without the augmented reality interface hardware, the room would look to the five actual people like a room with furniture, a DJ table, and nothing out of the ordinary; with the augmented reality interface hardware, the system is configured such that the engaged players or participants may experience the person who decided to show up virtually as a stormtrooper, the person who decided to show up virtually as a Spanish dancer, the person who decided to show up virtually as the cartoon character, and the person who decided to show up actually wearing normal clothing, but has decided that she wants her head to be visualized with the globe-rabbit-eared head covering (192).”; para. [0174], “The system may also be configured to show certain virtual features associated with the actual DJ table (178), such as virtual music documentation pages (190) which may be only visible to the DJ (176) through his augmented reality interface hardware (300), or DJ table lighting features which may be visible to anyone around using their augmented reality interface hardware (300).”; para. [0085])
Regarding claims 12, 13, and 14, the claims are similar in scope to claims 3, 4, and 5 respectively and they are rejected under similar rationale as claims 3, 4, and 5 respectively.
Regarding claims 17, 18, 19, and 20, the claims are similar in scope to claims 3, 4, 5, and 6 respectively and they are rejected under similar rationale as claims 3, 4, 5, and 6 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (US 20140306866 A1 – IDS REF) (hereinafter Miller) in view of Valli et al. (WO 2017177019 A1) (hereinafter Valli).
Regarding claim 2, Miller discloses wherein the information relating to the integration of generated first the virtual representation includes information describing a change (para. [0084], “The computational state data (also referred to herein as state data) may be a component of the object data, and generally defines the state of an instance of an object at a given instance in time.”)
Miller does not explicitly disclose in at least one of a position and an orientation of the generated first representation.
However, Valli more explicitly teaches in at least one of a position and an orientation of the generated first representation. (para. [0012], “in at least one of a position and an orientation of the virtual object.”)
As both Miller and Valli are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the information relating to the integration of generated first the virtual representation includes information describing a change in at least one of a position and an orientation of the generated first representation, in the context of augmented reality, by Miller according to the teaching of Valli in order for a system to identify position and orientation information consistently based on the changes in the environment (Valli, para. [0004]).
Regarding claims 11 and 16, the claims are similar in scope to claim 2 and they are rejected under similar rationale as claim 2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hyorim Park/
Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615