DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leadingham et al. (2002/0031926).
With respect to claim 1, Leadingham discloses a collection device 2, as shown in figure 1, comprising a lid 4 including a first gasket 50 and a first mating surface 72 that are oriented concentrically to a central axis, as shown in figure 3. A fluid collector 6 includes a second gasket 64 and a second mating surface 34 that are oriented concentrically to the central axis, as shown in figure 3, wherein the second gasket 64 engages with the first mating surface 72 and the second mating surface 34 engages with the first gasket 50 when the lid 4 is selectively engaged with the fluid collector 6, as shown in figure 5.
With respect to claim 2, if the first gasket and the first mating surface are not engaged before negative pressure is imparted to the fluid collector, the introduction of negative pressure via the negative pressure source will inherently create suction within the fluid containment region that will cause the lid to engage.
With respect to claim 3, an outer radius of the second gasket 64 is smaller than an inner radius of the first gasket 50, as shown in figure 5.
Claim(s) 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakagawa et al. (WO 2020/246431; please see US 12,171,928 for English translation).
With respect to claim 6, Nakagawa discloses a collection device, as shown in figure 1, comprising a pressure containment means 10 having a fluid containment region 14 that is translucent, as disclosed in column 6, lines 19-26. A solids filtration means 82 is disposed within the fluid containment region 80, as shown in figure 2, and is translucent, as disclosed in column 9, lines 49-53. A first fluid communication means 56 is connected to the pressure containment means 10 and separated from the fluid containment region 14 by the solids filtration means 82, as shown in figure 2. A second fluid communication means 58 is disposed within the fluid containment region and a negative pressure source to impart negative pressure into the fluid containment region to draw fluid through the first fluid containment means 56 through the solids filtration means 82 into the fluid containment region, as disclosed in column 7, lines 55-63, and column 8, lines 47-55.
With respect to claim 7, an aerosol filtration means 68 is disposed within the fluid containment region and connected to the second fluid communication means 58, as shown in figure 2.
With respect to claim 8, the solids filtration means 82 is held in the fluid containment region via engagement features interfacing with a first through-hole 62 in the lid 16 that is positioned non-concentrically to a central axis of the pressure containment means 10, as shown in figure 2.
With respect to claim 9, the pressure containment means 10 includes a lid 16 and a fluid collector 14, as shown in figure 1, with a first sealing means 42 and a second sealing means 32, as shown in figure 2.
With respect to claim 10, the lid 16 comprises a plurality of first engagement means 72, as shown in figure 5, and the fluid collector comprises a plurality of second engagement means 32, as shown in figure 3, that engage with corresponding first engagement means via a downward force and a rotational force in a first direction applied to the lid 16 when in contact with the fluid collector 14 to seal the pressure containment means 10 via the first sealing means 42, as disclosed in column 9, lines 8-26.
With respect to claim 11, if the second sealing means is not engaged before negative pressure is imparted to the pressure containment means, the introduction of negative pressure via the negative pressure source will inherently create suction within the pressure containment means that will cause the lid to engage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leadingham et al. (2002/0031926) in view of Blake, III (5,045,077).
With respect to claim 4, Leadingham discloses the lid 4 includes an intake port 46 defining a first through-hole, as shown in figure 2. Leadingham discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of a solids filter defining a plurality of outlets, intake tubing, and a cap configured to secure the solids filter via a one-way valve. Blake discloses a collection device comprising a lid and a fluid collector, as shown in figure 5. The lid includes an intake port 62 that defines a through-hole 60, a solids filter, and a cap configured to secure the solids filter via a one-way valve to remove undesirable materials from the drained fluids, as disclosed in column 7, lines 14-20. A filter inherently a plurality of fluid outlets. Blake teaches that this configuration prevents backflow of gases, as disclosed in column 3, lines 33-48. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lid of Leadingham with a solids filter defining a plurality of outlets, intake tubing, and a cap configured to secure the solids filter via a one-way valve, as taught by Blake, to remove undesirable materials and prevent backflow.
With respect to claim 5, modified Leadingham discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the fluid collector and filter being translucent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the fluid collector and filter of modified Leadingham translucent to achieve the predictable result of allowing a user to view the contents of the fluid collector.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa et al. (WO 2020/246431) in view of Conley et al. (11,633,137).
With respect to claims 12-14, Nakagawa discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the first and second engagement means comprising a first magnet and a second magnet. Conley teaches the functional equivalent of interference fit fasteners and magnets for use in a fluid collection device, as shown in figure 4E and disclosed in column 29, lines 24-41. It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first and second engagement means of Nakagawa with a first magnet and a second magnet, since Conley teaches the functional equivalence of fasteners such as those taught by Nakagawa and magnets for use in fluid collection containers.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa et al. (WO 2020/246431).
With respect to claim 15, Nakagawa discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of a pressure indicating means disposed in the fluid containment region and visible from outside the fluid containment region. The use of pressure indicating means is well-known in the art to show a user if the pressure within a fluid collection system is correct. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the collection device of Nakagawa with a pressure indicating means to achieve the predictable result of allowing a user to gauge the correct pressure within the system. It would further have been obvious to make the pressure indicating means visible from outside of the fluid containment region because the fluid containment region of Nakagawa is transparent or translucent and therefore elements within the region are visible from outside, and further to achieve the predictable result of allowing a user to gauge the pressure without having to open the fluid containment region.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patents 11,945,001; 11,432,835; and 8,801,682 disclose fluid collection devices for use with negative pressure.
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781