DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 10, 12, 13, 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 23 and 26 are rejected as typographical errors make it vague and definite for one of ordinary skill in the art to assume what applicant intended to claim. For example, in claim 2, line 10, it is not clear whether the term “hydroxethyl” is meant “hydroxyethyl” or should be others. In lines 7-9 from the bottom of the claim, as for the expression “t-butyl acrylate/ethyl acrylate/methacrylic acid, t-butyl acrylate/methacrylic acid/Dimethicone Copolyol, vinyl acetate/crotonic acid/vinyl neodecanoate” it is not clear whether applicants intended to recite three different copolymers as individual species in the Markush group or a combination thereof.
Claims 23 and 26 are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 4, 10 and 12 are rejected for depending on the indefinite base claim, claim 2.
Claim 13 recites, “wherein the composition has an average particle size distribution (D60) of at least 30 to 100 or of at least 40 to 95. The claim is vague and indefinite as there is no mention of what the particle size refers to; the unit of the size is also missing
Claims 2, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 depends on claim 1 and recites, “wherein the hair spray composition further “optionally” comprises. . . “ Since claim 2 includes an option where no further limitation is made to the base claim, claim 2 is an improper dependent claim. Claims 24 and 26 fail to further limit claims 23 and 27, respectively, for the same reason.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[ (a)(1) as being anticipated by Unilever (NL 7809963 A, published on April 9, 1980).
The ‘963 reference discloses a hair spray composition comprising 0.4-7 wt % of a hair spray resin, a solvent, optionally a propellant and 0.3 wt % of hydroxypropyl cellulose as a drag reducing agent. See translation, abstract.
Claims 1, 5, 8, 15, 18-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoffmann-La Roche (GB 858614 A, published December 22, 1958) (“Roche”).
Roche discloses a pressurized hair spray comprising a polymer blend comprising ethyl cellulose (0.27 wt %) and polyoxyethylene lanolin polymer gel (50% active in Lanogel, 0.225 wt %) in anhydrous ethanol (20.15wt%). See Example 1; reference claims 1, , 5, 6, 8, , 18, 19, 20. Ethyl cellulose and panthenol are used as hair setting agents.
Regarding claims 15 and 23, Example 1 further comprises an antistatic agent 0.1 wt % (N-cetyl-N-ethyl-morpholinium ethylsulphate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10-12 and 15-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klug (US 3210251 A, published on October 5, 1965, cited in IDS) in view of Birkel et al. (US 20090061004 A1, published on March 5, 2009) (“Birkel” hereunder).
Klug discloses an aerosol hair spray formulation comprising 1 wt % hydroxypropyl cellulose and 30wt % absolute ethanol as a solvent. See Example 1.
Klug fails to teach a polymer blend.
Birkel teaches hair styling products comprising at least one film-forming ingredient with hair-fixing action and solid particles for proving hair styling and volume. As for the film-forming ingredients, hydroxypropyl cellulose with a molecular weight of 30-50 g/mol is specifically mentioned. See [0048-0049]. Also disclosed are synthetic film-forming polymers such as crotonic acid/vinyl acetate copolymers or vinylpyrrolidone/vinyl acetate copolymer, etc. See [0050], Example 2.
It is well settled in patent law that combining art-recognized equivalents known for the same purposes is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144. 06. In this case, since Klug and Birkel establish that hydroxypropyl cellulose and other hair-fixing film formers such as PVP/VA are well known for their hair use in hair spray formulations, combining the two to make another hair fixing spray composition would have been prima facie obvious. See present claims 1, 2, 4(ii), 5, 7, 11,
Regarding claims 8 and 10 (i), Example 2, a spray gel, contains 3 wt % of VPV/VA copolymer.
Regarding claim 12, Birkel teaches that suitable anionic film-forming polymers include polystyrenesulfonic acid having molecular weight ranging from about 100k- about 500k, which overlap with the presently claimed range. See [0051].
Regarding claim 15, Klug teaches glycerine is used as a plasticizer.
Regarding claim 16, Klug teaches propane, n-butane, and isobutane, carbon dioxide, nitrous oxide and nitrogen, etc., are widely used aerosol propellants. See col, 4, lines 14- 26.
Regarding claim 17, Klug teaches that glycols, glycerol and its water soluble esters can be used as plasticizers in the formulation.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Klug discloses absolute alcohol or a hydroalcoholic solvents used in the examples
Regarding claims 20, 23-27, while the Klug example is an aerosol product, Birkel teaches and suggests that either aerosol or pump spray compositions can be formulated.
Regarding claim 21 and 22, applying an appropriate amount of the product to style hair as needed would have only taken ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 1, 5, 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klug in view of Chan et al. (US 5804166A, published on September 8, 1998) (“Chan” hereunder).
Klug discloses an aerosol hair spray formulation comprising 1 wt % hydroxypropyl cellulose and 30wt % absolute ethanol as a solvent. See Example 1.
Klug fails to teach other polymers.
Chan discloses a list of polymers suitable for making hair spray, including nonionic cellulose ethers, among others. See col. 3, lines 23-38. The reference teaches and suggests that hydroxypropyl cellulose can be used in combination with other water-soluble, non-ionic cellulose ethers, including methylhydorxypropyl cellulose, which exhibited effective high humidity curl retention property. See col. 2, lines 11-31. Also disclosed as effective polymers include octylacrylamide/acrylate/butylaminoethyl methacrylate copolymer and Luviskol VA acrylic copolymer. See col. 3, lines 23 – 38; Table 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the teachings of Klug and incorporate methylhydroxypropyl cellulose or octylacrylamide/acrylate/butylaminoethyl methacrylate copolymer into the hair spray composition as motivated by Chan. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, as the latter teaches that these polymers are known to provide effective hair holding properties in high humidity. As both references teach hair spray formulations in organic solvents, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully combining the teachings and producing a stable hair spray composition that can provide enhanced curl retention property even in a humid condition.
Claims 3, 6, 7, 9, 16, 17, 19, 21, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roche as applied to claims 1, 5, 8, 15, 18-20 and 23 as above, and further in view of Klug.
Roche discloses a pressurized hair spray comprising a polymer blend comprising ethyl cellulose (0.27 wt %) and polyoxyethylene lanolin polymer gel (50% active in Lanogel, 0.225 wt %) in anhydrous ethanol (20.15wt%). See Example 1; reference claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 18, 19, 20. Ethyl cellulose and panthenol are used as hair setting agents.
Roche fails to teach a polymer blend comprising hydroxypropyl cellulose.
Klug teaches an aerosol hair spray formulation comprising 1 wt % hydroxypropyl cellulose, glycerol as a plasticizer and 30wt % absolute ethanol as a solvent. See Example 1. The reference teaches that hydroxypropyl cellulose is useful in forming film on hair and holding styled hair in place.
As discussed above, combining art-recognized equivalents known for the same purposes is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144. 06. In this case, since Roche and Klug establish that that ethyl cellulose and hydroxypropyl cellulose are useful as hair setting polymers in hair spray formulations, combining the two to make another hair holding spry composition would have been prima facie obvious. See present claims 1 and 2. 4(ii), 5, 7, 11,
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Roche and Klug teach using 0.1 wt % of ethylcellulose and 1 wt % of hydroxypropyl cellulose, respectively. It is viewed that combining these hair holding polymers in respectively known amount would have been prima facie obvious. See also present claims 6 and 7.
Regarding claim 16, 24, Klug teaches propane, n-butane, and isobutane, carbon dioxide, nitrous oxide and nitrogen, etc., are widely used aerosol propellants. See col, 4, lines 14- 26.
Regarding claim 17, Klug teaches that glycols, glycerol and its water soluble esters can be used as plasticizers in the formulation.
Regarding claim 19, both Roche and Klug disclose absolute alcohol used as the solvents in the examples.
Regarding claim 21 and 22, applying an appropriate amount of the product to style hair as needed would have only taken ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/GINA C JUSTICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617