DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 09/20/2024.
Claims 1-15, 19-22 have been examined.
Claims 17-18 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-5, 10, 11-14 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Wallstedt et al. (US 2018/0059213).
As of claim 1, Wallstedt discloses a method for processing a sensing service (para [0017] [0024] [0066] discloses geographically distributed radar sensing units, are implemented in communication units of the wireless communication system, forming a radar sensing network implemented in the wireless communication system, and processing the measurement information according to at least one radar sensing rule to generate a radar detection result), performed by a first network element (para [0067] discloses the communication units include network nodes such as radio base stations and similar radio access points, and/or user equipment such as mobile stations or equivalent wireless communication devices (=network element); and comprising: determining a candidate mode for processing sensing data from at least one source ([FIG. 5A-B] [FIG.7] shows different modes of operation of a radar sensing unit or radar detection unit. Para [0142] the set of sensing rules and parameters span the DRSN and be different for different DRSN units. Para [0148] discloses How the sensed/measured signals should be processed, the analysis and processing mode of the DRSN unit), wherein the candidate mode is determined from at least one predetermined sensing data processing mode (para [0090] [0095] disclose the radar sensing measurements possibly performed at multiple occasions over time, collects relevant measurement information by receiving and aggregating radar sensing measurements from multiple radar sensing units and processes the collected measurement information according to at least one radar sensing rule to generate a radar detection result which corresponds to predetermined sensing data processing mode).
As of claim 11, Wallstedt discloses a method for processing a sensing service (para [0017] [0024] [0066] discloses geographically distributed radar sensing units, are implemented in communication units of the wireless communication system, forming a radar sensing network implemented in the wireless communication system, and processing the measurement information according to at least one radar sensing rule to generate a radar detection result), performed by a terminal (para [0067] discloses the communication units include network nodes such as radio base stations and similar radio access points, and/or user equipment such as mobile stations or equivalent wireless communication devices (=wireless communication devices) and comprising: sending sensing service request information to a first network element (para [0188] discloses a DRSN unit be configured to receive measurement results from neighboring units or to send its measurement results to a central unit for analysis/processing which corresponds to sending service request therefore receive the measurement results [0267] discloses sending signals corresponds to request), wherein the sensing service request information is used for the first network element to determine a candidate mode ([FIG. 5A-B] [FIG.7] shows different modes of operation of a radar sensing unit or radar detection unit. Para [0142] the set of sensing rules and parameters span the DRSN and be different for different DRSN units. Para [0148] discloses How the sensed/measured signals should be processed, the analysis and processing mode of the DRSN unit), which is for processing sensing data from at least one source (para [0188] discloses DRSN unit (=source) be configured to receive measurement results from neighboring units or send its measurement results to a central unit for analysis/processing), from at least one predetermined sensing data processing mode (para [0090] [0095] disclose the radar sensing measurements possibly performed at multiple occasions over time, collects relevant measurement information by receiving and aggregating radar sensing measurements from multiple radar sensing units and processes the collected measurement information according to at least one radar sensing rule to generate a radar detection result which corresponds to predetermined sensing data processing mode).
As of claim 14, Wallstedt discloses a method for processing a sensing service, performed by a fourth network element and comprising: sending sensing service request information to a first network element (para [0188] discloses a DRSN unit be configured to receive measurement results from neighboring units or to send its measurement results to a central unit for analysis/processing which corresponds to sending service request therefore receive the measurement results. Para [0267] discloses sending signals corresponds to request); wherein the sensing service request information is used for the first network element to determine a candidate mode ([FIG. 5A-B] [FIG.7] shows different modes of operation of a radar sensing unit or radar detection unit. Para [0142] the set of sensing rules and parameters span the DRSN and be different for different DRSN units. Para [0148] discloses How the sensed/measured signals should be processed, the analysis and processing mode of the DRSN unit),
which is for processing sensing data from at least one source (para [0188] discloses DRSN unit (=source) be configured to receive measurement results from neighboring units or send its measurement results to a central unit for analysis/processing), from at least one predetermined sensing data processing mode (para [0090] [0095] disclose the radar sensing measurements possibly performed at multiple occasions over time, collects relevant measurement information by receiving and aggregating radar sensing measurements from multiple radar sensing units and processes the collected measurement information according to at least one radar sensing rule to generate a radar detection result which corresponds to predetermined sensing data processing mode).
As of claims 2, 12 and 13, rejection of claims 1, 11 and 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Wallstedt teaches the at least one predetermined sensing data processing mode comprises at least one of: a first mode for processing the sensing data based on a terminal; a second mode for processing the sensing data based on a base station; a third mode for processing the sensing data based on a core network element; or a fourth mode for processing the sensing data based on an application server (para [0062][0067] discloses collecting measurement information related to radar sensing measurements by aggregating radar sensing measurements from multiple radar sensing units, wherein the communication units include network nodes such as radio base stations/o radio access points, and/or user equipment such as mobile stations).
As of claim 3, rejection of claim 2 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Wallstedt teaches in response to determining that the candidate mode is the first mode, determining that an interface for transmitting the sensing data is a PC5 or Uu interface; or, in response to determining that the candidate mode is the second mode, determining that an interface for transmitting the sensing data is a X2 or Uu interface; or, in response to determining that the candidate mode is the third mode, determining that the sensing data is transmitted from the terminal or the base station to the core network element; or, in response to determining that the candidate mode is the fourth mode, determining that the sensing data is transmitted from the terminal or the base station to the application server (para [0172] discloses measurement results to other DRSN units in the neighborhood using established network control and communication functionalities (e.g. the X2 interface between LTE eNodeB base stations).
As of claim 4, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Wallstedt teaches the determining the candidate mode for the processing sensing data from the at least one source comprises: determining, based on acquired predetermined information, the candidate mode for processing the sensing data from the at least one source (para [0188] discloses DRSN unit (=source) be configured to receive measurement results from neighboring units or send its measurement results to a central unit for analysis/processing).
As of claim 5, rejection of claim 4 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Wallstedt teaches the acquired predetermined information comprises at least one of: service authorization information of a terminal or a base station; user consent information; information about at least one of capability or current state of the terminal, the base station, or a core network; sensing service request information; or information about a pre-configured operator allowed sensing data processing mode (para [0188] discloses a DRSN unit be configured to receive measurement results from neighboring units or to send its measurement results to a central unit for analysis/processing which corresponds to sending service request therefore receive the measurement results, para [0267] discloses sending signals corresponds to request).
As of claim 10 rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Wallstedt teaches determining at least one of a predetermined sensing mode, a transmitter or a receiver of the sensing service (para [0111] discloses turning on or off operation in the shared channels for the relevant transmitters, as determined by the sensing result and/or by the network deployment and/or transmitter characteristics).
As of claim 19, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Wallstedt teaches a memory; and a processor, connected to the memory, configured to execute computer-executable instructions stored on the memory and capable of implementing the method (para [0230] discloses the radar detection unit as discussed herein comprises a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor, whereby the processor is operative to detect radar operation and/or enable radar detection).
As of claim 20, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Wallstedt teaches non-transitory computer storage medium, the non- transitory computer storage medium storing computer-executable instructions, the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the method (para [0028] discloses computer-program product comprising a computer-readable medium).
As of claim 21, rejection of claim 11 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Wallstedt teaches a memory; and one or more processors connected to the memory and configured to execute computer-executable instructions stored on the memory, wherein the computer- executable instructions when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processor to collectively perform the method (para [0230] disclose a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor, whereby the processor is operative to detect radar operation and/or enable radar detection).
As of claim 22, rejection of claim 14 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Wallstedt teaches a memory; and one or more processors connected to the memory and configured to execute computer-executable instructions stored on the memory, wherein the computer-executable instructions when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to collectively perform the method (para [0248] discloses the radar detection unit comprises a processor 110 and a memory 120, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7,13 and 16 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over in Wallstedt et al. (US 2018/0059213) in view of XU et al. (US 2024/0201318).
As of claim 6, rejection of claim 5 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Wallstedt does not explicitly discloses but XU teaches comprising: in response to that the at least one-predetermined sensing data processing mode comprises at least one of a first mode or a second mode, obtaining the acquired predetermined information from at least one of a second network element or a third network element, wherein the first mode is a mode for processing the sensing data based on the terminal, and the second mode is a mode for processing the sensing data based on the base station (para [0094] [0134] discloses the second sensing mode information include second operation mode information that indicate an operation mode of the third sensing network element, para [0096][0118] discloses determine the first operation mode information and the at least one piece of second operation mode information and at least one of first capability information and first sensing resource information).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wallstedt with the teaching of XU in order to improve the sensing accuracy as taught by para [0005].
As of claims 7,13 and 16, rejection of claims 5, 11 and 14 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Wallstedt does not explicitly discloses but XU teaches receiving the sensing service request information, wherein the sensing service request information comprises at least one of: information about a target area; information for requesting sensing from multiple sources; a direct indication of sensing data processing request; information about requirement for sensing result; or sensing data processing mode preference information (XU, para [0258] discloses the service requirement of the first sensing service a first sensing distance, a first sensing area, a first sensing quality of service QoS requirement (=requirement for sensing result) a first sensing location point, a first sensing user equipment identifier, first sensing object recognition accuracy).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wallstedt with the teaching of XU in order to improve the sensing accuracy as taught by para [0005].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the Applicant rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 8, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation acquiring evaluation information from candidate terminals; in response to determining that the candidate mode is a first mode, determining a target terminal meeting a predetermined condition by: determining, based on the evaluation information, candidate terminals meet the predetermined condition one by one until the target terminal is determined; or, determining, based on the evaluation information, candidate terminals meeting the predetermined condition; and determining the target terminal from the candidate terminals meeting the predetermined condition;
Claim 9 is objected as being dependent on claim 8.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471