DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “28B” for side wall portion and “28C” for support projections both disclosed in [0074] of the originally-submitted specification. Additionally, the drawings are objected to because the reference character(s) “22B” and “22C” found in Fig 13 are not mentioned in the originally-submitted specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-9: replacement of all instances of “the resin member” to “the ring-shaped resin member”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aoi et al. (US20180166942) (of record).
Regarding claim 8, Aoi discloses a stator manufacturing method, comprising:
providing a stator assembly including a stator core (“stator” (23)) having coils (“coils” (43)) wound on a plurality of teeth (“teeth” (412)) projecting from a yoke (“housing” (22));
arranging a ring-shaped resin member (“O-ring” (70)) at least at one end portion in an axial direction of the stator core such that at least part of the ring-shaped resin member is crushed when pressed by a mold ([0050], [0052], “first mold” (61) and “second mold” (62));
clamping the stator assembly inside the mold with the ring-shaped resin member arranged at the at least one end portion in a state in which the ring-shaped resin member is pressed (Fig 4, [0052]); and
injecting a molding resin into the mold ([0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houzumi et al. (US20150357888) in view of Thomason (US5306459) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Houzumi discloses a stator manufacturing method, comprising:
providing a stator assembly including a stator core (“annual stator core” (3) and “phase coil” (4)) having coils (“phase coils” (4U, 4V, 4W)) wound on a plurality of teeth (“teeth” [0033]) projecting from a yoke (“annular stator core” (3), Fig 1, [0033]), and a case surrounding an outer periphery of the stator core (“housing” (2), Fig 1);
arranging a ring-shaped resin member (“primary molding member” (200), Fig 13-14), [0038]) at least at one end portion in an axial direction of the case (Fig 18, [0084]); and
injecting a molding resin into the mold ([0084]).
While Houzumi does disclose that the method comprises a step of closing a mold (“second die” (400), Fig 18) around the stator assembly ([0084]) and that the radial positioning of the ring-shaped resin member is controlled ([0081]), Houzumi does not explicitly disclose that the arrangement of the ring-shaped member is done such that at least part of the ring-shaped resin member is crushed when pressed by the mold and that the stator assembly is clamped inside the mold with the ring-shaped resin arranged at the at least one end portion in a state in which the ring-shaped resin member is pressed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that Thomason, which is within the molding art, teaches that during the method of molding a molded member (“insert” (24b)), when a mold (“mold plate” (36) and “mold plate” (34)) is closed around the molded member, the closing of the mold is done such that at least a part of the molded member is crushed when pressed and the stator assembly inside the mold with the molded member arranged at the at least one end portion is clamped in a state in which the molded member is pressed (C4 L48-58, in conjunction with use of a “rib” (28), Fig 7-9) for the benefit of compensating for dimensional variations between molded members and height differences in the mold cavities to ensure a desired contour (C5 L1-15).
Regarding claim 3, modified Houzumi teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Houzumi teaches that the ring-shaped resin member is a bus-bar unit (“busbar unit” (100)); and the stator assembly includes a plurality of bus-bars having one end portions electrically connected to end portions of the coils (“winding terminals” (5)), with the bus-bars having other end portions that extend outside the stator assembly through the ring-shaped resin member (Fig 1-2, “phase terminals” (14, 24, 34)). Regarding claim 8, Houzumi discloses a stator manufacturing method, comprising:
providing a stator assembly including a stator core (“annual stator core” (3)) having coils (“phase coils” (4U, 4V, 4W)) wound on a plurality of teeth (“teeth” [0033]) projecting from a yoke (Fig 1, [0033]);
arranging a ring-shaped resin member (“primary molding member” (200), Fig 13-14), [0038]) at least at one end portion in an axial direction of the case (Fig 18, [0084]); and
injecting a molding resin into the mold ([0084]).
While Houzumi does disclose that the method comprises a step of closing a mold (“second die” (400), Fig 18) around the stator assembly ([0084]) and that the radial positioning of the ring-shaped resin member is controlled ([0081]), Houzumi does not explicitly disclose that the arrangement of the ring-shaped member is done such that at least part of the ring-shaped resin member is crushed when pressed by the mold and that the stator assembly is clamped inside the mold with the ring-shaped resin arranged at the at least one end portion in a state in which the ring-shaped resin member is pressed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that Thomason, which is within the molding art, teaches that during the method of molding a molded member (“insert” (24b)), when a mold (“mold plate” (36) and “mold plate” (34)) is closed around the molded member, the closing of the mold is done such that at least a part of the molded member is crushed when pressed and the stator assembly inside the mold with the molded member arranged at the at least one end portion is clamped in a state in which the molded member is pressed (C4 L48-58, in conjunction with use of a “rib” (28), Fig 7-9) for the benefit of compensating for dimensional variations between molded members and height differences in the mold cavities to ensure a desired contour (C5 L1-15).
Regarding claim 9, modified Houzumi teaches all limitations of claim 8 as set forth above. Additionally, Houzumi teaches that the mold includes an upper mold (“second upper mold” (420)) and a lower mold (“second lower mold” (410)) and Thomason teaches the use of a ring shaped rib (“rib” (28)) for a molded member (“insert” (24b)) provided on an outer peripheral face of the resin member that is directly clamped between an upper mold (“mold plate” (36)) and a lower mold (“mold plate” (34), Fig 6-9) when clamped inside the mold (Fig 9, in that the rib is clamped and located directly between mold components..
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houzumi et al. (US20150357888) and Thomason (US5306459) (of record) as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1 and in further view of Nakagawa (US20120319512) and Koide et al. (JP2008154348) (machine translation).
Regarding claim 2, modified Houzumi teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. While Houzumi does not explicitly teach that the ring-shaped resin member is configured from a thermoplastic resin and that the stator manufacturing method further comprises pre-heating at least part of the mold including a portion that will contact the ring-shaped resin member, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that:
a1) Nakagawa, which is within the stator molding art, teaches that for the use of resin in molding motors and stator, the use of either thermosetting or thermoplastic resin is commonly known ([0131]) and
a2) Nakagawa’s teachings represents documentary evidence of common knowledge that can be relied upon in making a rejection (see MPEP 2144.03); and
b) Koide, which is within the stator molding art, teaches that it is conventional and required for the resins to be preheated to ensure low curing times and proper resin fluidity ([0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the closest prior art of record is Houzumi et al. (US20150357888) and Thomason (US5306459) (of record), which teach all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. However, the prior art does not explicitly disclose that the ring-shaped resin member includes a first ring-shaped projection formed at least at one of a face that contacts the case or a face on an opposite side from the face that contacts the case.
Regarding claim 5, the closest prior art of record is Houzumi et al. (US20150357888) and Thomason (US5306459) (of record), which teach all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. However, the prior art does not explicitly disclose that the ring-shaped resin member includes a first ring-shaped projection formed at least at one of a face that contacts the case or a face on an opposite side from the face that contacts the case.
Regarding claim 6, the closest prior art of record is Houzumi et al. (US20150357888) and Thomason (US5306459) (of record), which teach all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. However, the prior art does not explicitly disclose that the ring-shaped resin member includes a tongue piece that extends along an inner peripheral face of the case, and an indentation able to accommodate entry of a leading end portion of the tongue piece is provided at the inner peripheral face of the case; and the stator manufacturing method further comprises using the mold to press the ring-shaped resin member against the case and to fit a leading end of the tongue piece into the indentation.
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior art of record is Houzumi et al. (US20150357888) and Thomason (US5306459) (of record), which teach all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. However, the prior art does not explicitly disclose that the case is configured from a resin, and the ring-shaped resin member is part of the case.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER D BOOTH/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749