Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 30-38, 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khanna US 2009/0158417 in view of Liedes US 2019/297533.
As per claim 1, (Currently Amended) Khanna teaches A method associated with a Security Association (SA) performed by a Central Processing Unit(CPU), comprising multiple cores, the method comprising: [0019][0048] (SA using multiple cores)
Khanna teaches replacing an anti-replay window for the SA with at least two sub anti-replay windows wherein each of the sub anti-replay windows is assigned a sub anti-replay window identifier; receiving a first packet and a second packet, each of the first packet and the second packet comprising an integrity protected part; [0019][0021][0027][0031][0032][0040]-[0046] (teaches separating the anti-replay into separate windows on per DSCP basis, resulting in multiple anti-replay windows; teaches the DSCP anti-replay windows are subsets of a global anti-replay window, teaches authentication of packets)
Khanna teaches performing a lookup for a respective sub anti-replay window, using the derived sub anti-replay window identifier, for each of the first packet and the second packet against the sub anti-replay window identifier of each of the sub anti-replay windows; [0019][0041] (identifies DSCP header and anti-replay window to lookup the window parameters)
Khanna teaches distributing each of the first packet and the second packet, using the derived sub anti-replay identifier, to a sub anti-replay window of the sub anti-replay windows; and performing a service, wherein the service uses the derived sub anti-replay window identifiers for each of the first packet and the second packet accept the first packet and reject the second packet
if a sequence number of the first packet and the second packet are same; and accept the first packet and the second packet if a sequence number of the first packet and the second packet are different. [0037][0039] (teaches if the sequence numbers are stored and if a second packet sequence matches a first sequence packet number then the packet is discarded) [0040]-[0046] (teaches identification of a DSCP anti-replay window and preventing replay attacks by comparing to these sub-windows to received packet sequence numbers)
Khanna teaches authentication but does not explicitly teach packet hash integrity.
Liedes teaches computing a hash value for each of the first packet and the second packet, wherein each of the hash value is based on an integrity protected part of the first packet and the second packet, respectively, to produce a derived sub anti-replay window identifier for each of the first packet and the second packet; [0006][0049][0087][0091] (teaches ESP protocol which inherently involves a hash for integrity check, teaches using ESP identifier as SPI)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Liedes with the prior art because it provides an additional security check that the integrity of the data is intact.
As per claim 2, (Original) the method of claim 1, Khanna teaches wherein the service is an anti-replay service. [0004][0019]
Liedes teaches wherein the service is an anti-replay service. [0004][0006][0048] (teaches anti-replay service and processing packets)
As per claim 3, (Currently Amended) the method of claim 1, Khanna fails to teach the following limitations.
Liedes teaches receiving the first packet and the second packet, one each at two of the multiple cores. [0058]-[0060] [0065]-[0072] (teaches parallel processing of packets in a replay window where the packets are distributed to different cores)
As per claim 4, (Currently Amended) the method of claim 1, Khanna fails to teach the following limitations.
Liedes teaches receiving the first packet and the second packet at one of the multiple cores. [0058]-[0060] [0065]-[0072] (teaches parallel processing of packets in a replay window where the packets are distributed to different cores)
As per claim 5, (Currently Amended) the method of claim 1, Khanna teaches wherein a number of sub anti-replay windows is less than or equal to 2^[length of data bits]. [0030] Figure 2 (teaches a global anti-replay window, and a plurality of sub-windows that are less than a certain number of bits by design choice)
As per claim 6, (Currently Amended) the method of claim 1, Khanna teaches distributing, using the derived sub anti-replay identifier, the first packet and the second packet to a same sub anti-replay window if the sequence number of the first packet and the sequence number of the second packet are equal. [0039]-[0046] (teaches identification of a DSCP anti-replay window, directing, packets to that window, and preventing replay attacks by comparing to these sub-windows to received packet sequence numbers, direction of the packets to the anti-replay windows is not subject to sequence numbering)
As per claim 7, (Currently Amended) the method of claim 1, Khanna teaches receiving a third packet comprising an integrity protected part, and distributing, using the derived sub anti-replay identifier, the third packet to a same sub anti-replay window as the first packet if sequence number of the third packet is same as the sequence number of the first packet. [0039]-[0046] (teaches identification of a DSCP anti-replay window, directing, packets to that window, and preventing replay attacks by comparing to these sub-windows to received packet sequence numbers, direction of the packets to the anti-replay windows is not subject to sequence numbering)
As per claim 8, (Currently Amended) the method of claim 1 Khanna teaches receiving a third packet comprising an integrity protected part and distributing, using the derived sub anti-replay identifier, the third packet to a same sub anti-replay window as the second packet if sequence number of the third packet is same as the sequence number of the second packet. [0039]-[0046] (teaches identification of a DSCP anti-replay window, directing, packets to that window, and preventing replay attacks by comparing to these sub-windows to received packet sequence numbers, direction of the packets to the anti-replay windows is not subject to sequence numbering)
As per claim 9, (Currently Amended) the method of claim 1 distributing, Khanna teaches using the derived sub anti-replay identifier, the first packet and the second packet to different sub anti-replay windows if the sequence number of the first packet and the second packet are different. [0039]-[0046] (teaches identification of a DSCP anti-replay window, directing, packets to that window, and preventing replay attacks by comparing to these sub-windows to received packet sequence numbers, direction of the packets to the anti-replay windows is not subject to sequence numbering)
As per claim 10, (Currently Amended) the method of claim 1, Khanna teaches discarding the second packet if the sequence number of the first packet is greater than or equal to the sequence number of the second packet; or discarding the second packet if the sequence number of the first packet is lesser than or equal to the sequence number of the second packet. [0037][0039] (teaches if the sequence numbers are stored and if a second packet sequence matches a first sequence packet number then the packet is discarded)
11-29. (Cancelled)
As per claim 30. (Currently Amended) Khanna teaches A Central Processing Unit (CPU) comprising multiple cores, the CPU configured to: [0019][0048] (SA using multiple cores)
Khanna teaches replace an anti-replay window for a Security Association (SA) with at least two sub anti-replay windows wherein each of the sub anti-replay windows is assigned a sub anti-replay window identifier; receive a first packet and a second packet, each of the first packet and the second packet comprising an integrity protected part; [0019][0021][0027][0031]
[0032][0040]-[0046] (teaches separating the anti-replay into separate windows on per DSCP basis, resulting in multiple anti-replay windows; teaches the DSCP anti-replay windows are subsets of a global anti-replay window, teaches authentication of packets)
Khanna teaches perform a lookup for a respective sub anti-replay window, using the derived sub anti- replay window identifier, for each of the first packet and the second packet against the sub anti-replay window identifier of each of the sub anti-replay windows; [0019][0041] (identifies DSCP header and anti-replay window to lookup the window parameters)
Khanna teaches distribute each of the first packet and the second packet, using the derived sub anti-replay identifier, to a sub anti-replay window of the sub anti-replay windows; and perform a service, wherein the service uses the derived sub anti-replay window identifiers for each of the first packet and the second packet to; accept the first packet and reject the second packet if a sequence number of the second first packet and the first second packet are the same; and accept the first packet and the second packet if a sequence number of the first packet and the second packet are different. [0037][0039] (teaches if the sequence numbers are stored and if a second packet sequence matches a first sequence packet number then the packet is discarded) [0040]-[0046] (teaches identification of a DSCP anti-replay window and preventing replay attacks by comparing to these sub-windows to received packet sequence numbers)
Khanna teaches authentication but does not explicitly teach packet hash integrity.
Liedes teaches compute a hash value for each of the first packet and the second packet, wherein each of the hash value is based on an integrity protected part of the first packet and the second packet, respectively, to produce a derived sub anti-replay window identifier for each of the first packet and the second packet; [0006][0049][0087][0091] (teaches ESP protocol which inherently involves a hash for integrity check, teaches using ESP identifier as SPI)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Liedes with the prior art because it provides an additional security check that the integrity of the data is intact.
As per claim 31. (Original) The CPU of claim 30, Khanna teaches wherein the service is an anti-replay service. [0004][0019]
Liedes teaches wherein the service is an anti-replay service. [0004][0006][0048] (teaches anti-replay service and processing packets)
As per claim 32. (Currently Amended) the CPU of claim 30, Khanna fails to teach the following limitations.
Liedes teaches further to receive the first packet and the second packet, one each at two of the multiple cores. [0058]-[0060] [0065]-[0072] (teaches parallel processing of packets in a replay window where the packets are distributed to different cores)
As per claim 33. (Currently Amended) The CPU claim 30, Khanna fails to teach the following limitations.
Liedes teaches further to receive the first packet and the second packet at one of the multiple cores. [0058]-[0060] [0065]-[0072] (teaches parallel processing of packets in a replay window where the packets are distributed to different cores)
As per claim 34. (Currently Amended) The CPU of claim 30, Khanna teaches wherein a number of sub anti-replay windows is less than or equal to 2^[length of data bits]. [0030] Figure 2 (teaches a global anti-replay window, and a plurality of sub-windows that are less than a certain number of bits by design choice)
As per claim 35. (Currently Amended) The CPU of claim 30, Khanna teaches further to distribute, using the derived sub anti-replay identifier, the first packet and the second packet to a same sub anti-replay window if the sequence number of the first packet and the sequence number of the second packet are same. [0039]-[0046] (teaches identification of a DSCP anti-replay window, directing, packets to that window, and preventing replay attacks by comparing to these sub-windows to received packet sequence numbers, direction of the packets to the anti-replay windows is not subject to sequence numbering)
As per claim 36. (Currently Amended) The CPU of claim 30, Khanna teaches further to receive a third packet comprising an integrity protected part and distributing, using the derived sub anti-replay identifier, the third packet to a same sub anti-replay window as the first packet if sequence number of the third packet is same as the sequence number of the first packet. [0039]-[0046] (teaches identification of a DSCP anti-replay window, directing, packets to that window, and preventing replay attacks by comparing to these sub-windows to received packet sequence numbers, direction of the packets to the anti-replay windows is not subject to sequence numbering)
As per claim 37. (Currently Amended) The CPU of claim 30, Khanna teaches further to receive a third packet comprising an integrity protected part and distributing, using the derived sub anti-replay identifier, the third packet to a same sub anti-replay window as the second packet if sequence number of the third packet is same as the sequence number of the second packet. [0039]-[0046] (teaches identification of a DSCP anti-replay window, directing, packets to that window, and preventing replay attacks by comparing to these sub-windows to received packet sequence numbers, direction of the packets to the anti-replay windows is not subject to sequence numbering)
As per claim 38. (Currently Amended) The CPU of claim 30, Khanna teaches further to distribute, using the derived sub anti-replay identifier, the first packet and the second packet to different sub anti-replay windows if the sequence number of the first packet and the second packet are different. [0039]-[0046] (teaches identification of a DSCP anti-replay window, directing, packets to that window, and preventing replay attacks by comparing to these sub-windows to received packet sequence numbers, direction of the packets to the anti-replay windows is not subject to sequence numbering)
39-59. (Cancelled)
As per claim 60. (Currently Amended) Khanna teaches A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having thereon a computer program comprising instructions which, when executed on a Central Processing Unit (CPU) with multiple cores, [0019][0048] (SA using multiple cores)
Khanna teaches perform operations comprising: replacing an anti-replay window for a Security Association (SA) with at least two sub anti-replay windows wherein each of the sub anti-replay windows is assigned a sub anti-replay window identifier; receiving a first packet and a second packet, each of the first packet and the second packet comprising an integrity protected part; [0019][0021][0027][0031] [0032][0040]-[0046] (teaches separating the anti-replay into separate windows on per DSCP basis, resulting in multiple anti-replay windows; teaches the DSCP anti-replay windows are subsets of a global anti-replay window, teaches authentication of packets)
Khanna teaches performing a lookup for a respective sub anti-replay window, using the derived sub anti- replay window identifier, for each of the first packet and the second packet against the sub anti-replay window identifier of each of the sub anti-replay windows; [0019][0041] (identifies DSCP header and anti-replay window to lookup the window parameters)
Khanna teaches distributing each of the first packet and the second packet, using the derived sub anti- replay identifier, to a sub anti-replay window of the sub anti-replay windows; and performing a service, wherein the service uses the derived sub anti-replay window identifiers for each of the first packet and the second packet to: accept the first packet and reject the second packet if a sequence number of the first packet and the second packet are same; and accept the first packet and the second packet if a sequence number of the first packet and the second packet are different. [0037][0039] (teaches if the sequence numbers are stored and if a second packet sequence matches a first sequence packet number then the packet is discarded) [0040]-[0046] (teaches identification of a DSCP anti-replay window and preventing replay attacks by comparing to these sub-windows to received packet sequence numbers)
Khanna teaches authentication but does not explicitly teach packet hash integrity.
Liedes teaches computing a hash value for each of the first packet and the second packet, wherein each of the hash value is based on an integrity protected part of the first packet and the second packet, respectively, to produce a derived sub anti-replay window identifier for each of the first packet and the second packet; [0006][0049][0087][0091] (teaches ESP protocol which inherently involves a hash for integrity check, teaches using ESP identifier as SPI)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Liedes with the prior art because it provides an additional security check that the integrity of the data is intact.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439