This action is responsive to communication filed on 9/15/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11-18, 21-24 are subject to examination.
This amendment and applicants’ arguments have been fully considered and entered into by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11-18, 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Negi et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2021/0182430 (hereinafter Negi) in view of Chopdekar et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2022/0321616 (hereinafter Chopdekar) further in view of Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2016/0065648 (hereinafter Kim)
With respect to claim 1, Negi teaches a document block sharing method, comprising:
-presenting a sharing interface in response to a sharing operation triggered for a document block in a first document (i.e. initiating a co-browsing session wherein a participant may select a document to be shared using user interface) (Paragraph 87-89)
-determining a target business scenario (i.e. containing sensitive information to be shared using user interface of a co-browsing application executing on a user device) based on a selection operation on the sharing interface (Paragraph 91, 89, 93-95);
-acquiring permission information of the document block (i.e. each participant may have a permission level associated with the document viewing and editing the document and user permission setting which can be adjust wherein sensitive content may be masked) (Paragraph 73, 85, 33-34, 69) and
-in response to a sharing confirmation operation, sending a document block indicated by the sharing operation together with the permission information (i.e. sharing the document wherein the document have a permission level including editing and viewing the document permission) (Paragraph 85, 92) to the target business scenario (i.e. distinct text blocks may be identified to be portions of a documents wherein portions of the document to be shared in the co-browsing session) (Paragraph 94-97) while remaining in the graphical user interface of the first application (i.e. the edit mode is still in the first application window)(Fig. 3E-I)(Paragraph 75-84) wherein the document block indicated by the sharing operation comprises one or more document blocks (i.e. distinct text blocks may be identified to be portions of the documents)(Paragraph 94-97)
Negi does not explicitly teach wherein the sharing interface element indicates one or more different applications to which the document block can be sent, determining a second application(i.e. chat window) based on receiving a selection operation associated with the second application in the sharing interface element, wherein the second application is among the one or more different applications to which the document block can be sent, and second application without switching to displaying the second application, wherein the document block remains an editable information entity in the second application.
Chopdekar teaches displaying a first document in a graphical user interface of a first application (i.e. presenter device is currently in a screen share mode wherein the application utilized to access the resource such as word processing, document viewer etc.)(Paragraph 49-50);
-presenting a sharing interface element in the graphical user interface of the first application in response to a sharing operation triggered for a document block in the first document (Paragraph 49-50), wherein the sharing interface element indicates one or more different applications to which the document block can be sent (i.e. presenter device is currently in a screen share mode wherein the application utilized to access the resource such as word processing, document viewer etc.) (Paragraph 49-50)
-determining a second application(i.e. chat window) based on receiving a selection operation associated with the second application in the sharing interface element (Paragraphs 9-10), wherein the second application is among the one or more different applications to which the document block can be sent (Paragraph 9-10, 50-51)
-in response to a sharing confirmation operation, sending the document block indicated by the sharing operation to the second application without switching to displaying the second application (i.e. presenter shares the link and the resource’s link which is a document or file is automatically provided to a location such as a chat window)(Paragraph 51-52, 10)
-wherein the document block indicated by the sharing operations comprises one or more document blocks (i.e. sharing resource addresses into link for the document, wherein the link is sent to the participant) (Paragraph 51-52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Chopdekar’s teaching in Negi’s teaching to come up with having second application is among the one or more different applications to which the document block can be sent. The motivation for doing so would be sharing document via instant message and communicating/commenting/discussing at the same time with one or more users.
Negi and Chopdekar does not explicitly teach wherein the document block remains an editable information entity in the second application.
Kim teaches wherein the document block remains an editable information entity in the second application (Fig. 9A-9C)(Paragraphs 97-99) and wherein the document block indicated by the sharing operation comprises one or more document blocks (Paragraph 97-99). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Kim’s teaching in Negi and Chopdekar’s teaching to come up with having document block remains editable information entity in the second application. The motivation for doing so would be so the editable document can be further edited in the second application if needed.
With respect to claim 2, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches the method according to claim 1, but Chopdekar further teaches wherein, the second application comprises a chat application (Paragraph 9, 10, 55); and sending the document block indicated by the sharing operation to the second application comprises: sending, chat of the chat application, the document block indicated by the sharing operation (Paragraphs 9-10, 55)
With respect to claim 3, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches the method according to claim 2, but Chopdekar further teaches wherein the method further comprises: before presenting the sharing interface element in response to the sharing operation triggered for the document block in the first document (Paragraph54-55), presenting a document block operation option box in response to a selection operation on the document block in the first document (Paragraph 54-55) wherein the document block operation option box comprises an option of sharing to a chat (Paragraph 54-55)
With respect to claim 5, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches the method according to claim 1, but Negi further teaches wherein acquiring the permission information of the document block comprises: acquiring permission information of the first document as the permission information of the document block (i.e. user permission setting which can be adjust wherein sensitive content may be masked) (Paragraph 33-34, 69, 73, 85) or presenting a permission setting interface of the document block, and acquiring the permission information of the document block based on an operation on the permission setting interface, wherein when the first document comprises a plurality of document blocks, permissions for the document blocks are set uniformly or separately in the permission setting interface.
With respect to claim 6, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches the method according to claim 2, but Chopdekar further teaches wherein the method further comprises: assigning a first permission for the document block to members in the chat, wherein the first permission is to assign the same permission to the members in the target chat, or to assign different permissions the members in the chat (Paragraph 9-10, 55, 4)
With respect to claim 7, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches the method according to claim 2, but Chopdekar further teaches wherein the method further comprises at least one of the following: in response to an operation of withdrawing the sent document block in the chat, revoking the first permission assigned to the members in the target chat for the document block; further assigning a first permission for the first document to the members in the chat while assigning the first permission for the document block to the members in the chat (Paragraph 54-55)(Fig. 3)
With respect to claim 9, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches the method according to claim 2, but Chopdekar further teaches wherein the method further comprises at least one of the following: after presenting the sharing interface element in response to the sharing operation triggered for the document block in the first document, in response to the sharing confirmation operation, acquiring a postscript input into a postscript box of the sharing interface, and sending the postscript into the chat; in response to a trigger operation of a first user for the document block in the chat, presenting the first document to the first user, and positioning to a location of the document block (Paragraph 51-52, 10)
With respect to claim 11, Negi teaches a method of improving efficiency for inter-application information sharing, comprising:
-displaying a first document in a graphical user interface of a first application (Paragraph 117)
-receiving an operation of sending a document block of the first document (i.e. initiating a co-browsing session wherein a participant may select a document to be shared using user interface) (Paragraph 87-89)
acquiring first permission information of the document block (Paragraph 33-34, 69, 73) and
Negi does not explicitly teach associated with a second application that is different from the first application, sending the document block together with the first permission information to the second application while remaining in the graphical user interface of the first application without switching to displaying the second application to cause the document block to be displayed in an interface of the second application in a preset present style based on the first permission information, wherein the document block remains an editable information entity in the second application wherein the interface of the second application corresponds to an individual member of the chat.
Chopdekar teaches displaying a first document in a graphical user interface of a first application (i.e. presenter device is currently in a screen share mode wherein the application utilized to access the resource such as word processing, document viewer etc.)(Paragraph 49-50);
- receiving an operation of sending a document block of the first document to chat associated with a second application that is different from the first application (i.e. presenter device is currently in a screen share mode wherein the application utilized to access the resource such as word processing, document viewer etc.) (Paragraph 49-50)
- acquiring first permission information of the document block (Paragraph 49)
-sending the document block to the second application without switching to displaying the second application to cause the document block to be displayed in an interface of the second application in a preset present style based on the first permission information, wherein the interface of the second application corresponds to an individual member of the chat (i.e. presenter shares the link and the resource’s link which is a document or file is automatically provided to a location such as a chat window)(Paragraph 51-52, 10)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Chopdekar’s teaching in Negi’s teaching to come up with having second application is among the one or more different applications to which the document block can be sent. The motivation for doing so would be sharing document via instant message and communicating/commenting/discussing at the same time with one or more users.
Kim teaches sending the document block together with the first permission information to the second application while remaining in the graphical user interface of the first application (Fig. 9A-9C) (Paragraph 97-99 )without switching (Fig. 5c, d) to displaying the second application to cause the document block to be displayed in an interface of the second application in a preset present style based on the first permission information (Paragraph 97-99, 89), wherein the document block remains an editable information entity in the second application wherein the interface of the second application corresponds to an individual member of the chat (Fig. 5C-D) (Paragraph 89) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Kim’s teaching in Negi and Chopdekar’s teaching to come up with having document block remains editable information entity in the second application. The motivation for doing so would be so the editable document can be further edited in the second application if needed.
With respect to claim 12, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches the method according to claim 11, but Chopdekar further teaches wherein, the preset present style comprises: a text hyperlink and a message card (Paragraph 50-51); and the method further comprises: after receiving the operation of sending the document block of the first document to the chat (Paragraph 9-10, 55), in response to the operation of sending the document block of the first document to the chat (Paragraph 9-10, 55) , parsing the document block, generating a text hyperlink corresponding to the document block, and rendering, in the preset present style, a message card corresponding to the document block (Paragraph 9-10, 54-55, 58)
With respect to claim 13, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches the method according to claim 12, but Chopdekar further teaches wherein the preset present style comprises at least one of the following: a title bar, comprising the text hyperlink (Paragraph 55, 58); a content area, in which part or all of content of the document block is displayed (Paragraph 54-55, 56-58); or a permission area, comprising permission setting control, wherein the permission setting control is used by a current user to set a permission of a chat member for the document block, or the permission area is used for displaying a permission of the current user for the document block.
With respect to claim 14, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches the method according to claim 12, but Chopdekar further teaches wherein the method further comprises: in response to an operation of triggering the document block presented in the target chat, opening a browser and skipping to the first document corresponding to the document block (i.e. open the resource and a native application executing on participant device will open the file/document)(Paragraph 51)
With respect to claim 15, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches the method according to claim 12, but Chopdekar further teaches wherein the method further comprises: before opening the browser (Paragraph 50) and skipping to the first document corresponding to the document block (Paragraph 50), determining whether a user triggering the operation has at least a reading permission for the first document (Paragraph 50); if so, executing the operation of opening the browser and skipping to the first document corresponding to the document block (Paragraph 50-51); and otherwise, presenting prompt information of applying for a permission for the first document (Paragraph 50, 51))
With respect to claim 16, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches the method according to claim 12, but Chopdekar further teaches wherein presenting, in the interface corresponding to individual member of the target chat, the document block in the preset present style based on the first permission information of the document block, comprises: in a case where a current user in the target chat has a readable permission or an editable permission for the document block in the first permission information, displaying part or all of content of the document block in the target chat of the current user (Paragraph 50-51); OR in a case where the current user in the target chat has no permission for the document block in the first permission information, displaying, in the target chat of the current user, prompt information of applying for a permission.
With respect to claim 17, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches the method according to claim 12, but Chopdekar further teaches wherein the method further comprises: in response to an editing operation or a commenting operation on the document block in the target chat (Paragraph 4, 55), detecting whether a member performing the editing operation or the commenting operation has an editable permission (Paragraph 4, 55), and if so, adding edited content or commented content into the document block in the target chat (Paragraph 4, 55)
With respect to claim 18, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches the method according to claim 17, but Chopdekar further teaches wherein the method further comprises: after adding the edited content or commented content into the document block in the target chat, synchronizing the edited content or commented content into the first document (Paragraph 4, 55, 76, 85)
With respect to claim 21, it teaches same limitation as claim 1, therefore rejected under same basis.
With respect to claim 22, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a program or an instruction, and the program or the instruction, when operated by at least one computing apparatus, causes the at least one computing apparatus to execute the steps of the method according to claim 1 (paragraph 60-61)(and also see rejection of claim 1 above).
With respect to claim 23, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches a system, comprising at least one computing apparatus and at least one storage apparatus for storing an instruction, wherein the instruction, when operated by the at least one computing apparatus, causes the at least one computing apparatus to execute the steps of the method according to claim 11 (paragraph 60-61)(and also see rejection of claim 11 above).
With respect to claim 24, Negi, Chopdekar and Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer- readable storage medium stores a program or an instruction, and the program or the instruction, when operated by at least one computing apparatus, causes the at least one computing apparatus to execute the steps of the method according to claim 11 (paragraph 60-61)(and also see rejection of claim 11 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to “wherein the document remains an editable information entity in the second application” is newly added limitation, therefore moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to “acquiring permission information of the document block”, “together with the permission information” and “while remaining in the graphical user interface of the application” has been fully considered but deemed non-persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant because in Paragraphs 73, 85, 33-34, 69, Negi teaches acquiring permission information of the document block (i.e. each participant may have a permission level associated with the document viewing and editing the document and user permission setting which can be adjust wherein sensitive content may be masked) (Paragraph 73, 85, 33-34, 69) and
In Paragraph 85, 92, 94-97, Negi further teaches in response to a sharing confirmation operation, sending a document block indicated by the sharing operation together with the permission information (i.e. sharing the document wherein the document have a permission level including editing and viewing the document permission) (Paragraph 85, 92) to the target business scenario (i.e. distinct text blocks may be identified to be portions of a documents wherein portions of the document to be shared in the co-browsing session) (Paragraph 94-97) while remaining in the graphical user interface of the first application (i.e. the edit mode is still in the first application window)(Fig. 3E-I)(Paragraph 75-84) wherein the document block indicated by the sharing operation comprises one or more document blocks (i.e. distinct text blocks may be identified to be portions of the documents)(Paragraph 94-97)
Negi does not explicitly teach wherein the sharing interface element indicates one or more different applications to which the document block can be sent, determining a second application(i.e. chat window) based on receiving a selection operation associated with the second application in the sharing interface element, wherein the second application is among the one or more different applications to which the document block can be sent, and second application without switching to displaying the second application, wherein the document block remains an editable information entity in the second application.
Chopdekar teaches displaying a first document in a graphical user interface of a first application (i.e. presenter device is currently in a screen share mode wherein the application utilized to access the resource such as word processing, document viewer etc.)(Paragraph 49-50);
-presenting a sharing interface element in the graphical user interface of the first application in response to a sharing operation triggered for a document block in the first document (Paragraph 49-50), wherein the sharing interface element indicates one or more different applications to which the document block can be sent (i.e. presenter device is currently in a screen share mode wherein the application utilized to access the resource such as word processing, document viewer etc.) (Paragraph 49-50)
-determining a second application(i.e. chat window) based on receiving a selection operation associated with the second application in the sharing interface element (Paragraphs 9-10), wherein the second application is among the one or more different applications to which the document block can be sent (Paragraph 9-10, 50-51)
-in response to a sharing confirmation operation, sending the document block indicated by the sharing operation to the second application without switching to displaying the second application (i.e. presenter shares the link and the resource’s link which is a document or file is automatically provided to a location such as a chat window)(Paragraph 51-52, 10)
-wherein the document block indicated by the sharing operations comprises one or more document blocks (i.e. sharing resource addresses into link for the document, wherein the link is sent to the participant) (Paragraph 51-52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Chopdekar’s teaching in Negi’s teaching to come up with having second application is among the one or more different applications to which the document block can be sent. The motivation for doing so would be sharing document via instant message and communicating/commenting/discussing at the same time with one or more users.
Negi and Chopdekar does not explicitly teach wherein the document block remains an editable information entity in the second application.
Kim teaches wherein the document block remains an editable information entity in the second application (Fig. 9A-9C)(Paragraphs 97-99) and wherein the document block indicated by the sharing operation comprises one or more document blocks (Paragraph 97-99). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Kim’s teaching in Negi and Chopdekar’s teaching to come up with having document block remains editable information entity in the second application. The motivation for doing so would be so the editable document can be further edited in the second application if needed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A). Liu et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2023/0153274
B). Masi et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2019/0068661
C). Yi et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2018/0167451
D). Lewis et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2013/0110941
DHAIRYA A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453