DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2, and 17-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/24/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibayama (US 5793531 A).
Re Claim 1, Shibayama discloses, a zoom optical system (See Fig. 2) comprising, sequentially from an object side: a first lens group (G1) having negative refractive power (G1 is negative) [Col 5, Lines 25-35]; a second lens group (G2) having positive refractive power (G2 is positive) [Col 5, Lines 25-35]; a third lens group (G3); and a fourth lens group (G4) having positive refractive power (G4 is positive) [Col 5, Lines 25-35], wherein a space between adjacent lens groups changes at zooming (See Fig. 2 where the space between adjacent lenses changes), with the first lens group (G1) fixed relative to an image plane (Fig. 2: G1 is fixed) and the fourth lens group (G4) moving along an optical axis (Fig. 2: G4 moves along the optical axis), at least the second lens group (G2) moves along the optical axis at focusing (Fig. 2: G2 moves along the optical axis), and the zoom optical system satisfies a condition expressed by the expressions below, 0.05<(-f1)/f2<1.5 (Using Table 1: -(-42.37)/(46.05)=0.92)
0.1<ft/Bft<1.5 (Using Table 1: 97/70=1.39),
f1: focal length of the first lens group (G1), f2: focal length of the second lens group (G2), ft: overall focal length of the zoom optical system in a telephoto end state, and Bft: back focus of the zoom optical system in the telephoto end state.
Re Claim 3, Shibayama discloses, the zoom optical system according to claim 1, and Shibayama further discloses on Fig. 2 and Table 1, wherein the zoom optical system satisfies a condition expressed by an expression below, 0.01<(-f1)/|f3|<1 (Using Table 1: 42.37/76=0.56. in the expression, f1: focal length of the first lens group (G1), and f3: focal length of the lens group (G3).
Re Claim 4 Shibayama discloses, the zoom optical system according to claim 1, and Shibayama further discloses on Fig. 2 and Table 1, wherein the zoom optical system satisfies a condition expressed by an expression below, 0.1<f4/f2<1.2 (See Table 1: 21.76/46.05=0.47) in the expression, f2: focal length of the second lens group (G2), and f4: focal length of the fourth lens group (G4).
Re Claim 5, Shibayama discloses, the zoom optical system according to claim 1, and Shibayama further discloses on Fig. 2 and Table 1, wherein the zoom optical system satisfies a condition expressed by an expression below, 0.01<f4/|f3|<1 (Table 1: 21.76/|-76.05|=0.29). in the expression, f3: focal length of the third lens group (G3), and f4: focal length of the fourth lens group (G4).
Re Claim 7, Shibayama discloses, the zoom optical system according to claim 1, and Shibayama further discloses on Fig. 2 and Table 1, wherein the zoom optical system satisfies a condition expressed by an expression below, 0.01<f2/|f3|<2 (Table 1:46.05/76.05=0.61). in the expression, f2: focal length of the second lens group (G2), and f3: focal length of the third lens group (G3).
Re claim 8, Shibayama discloses, the zoom optical system according to claim 1, and Shibayama further discloses on Fig. 2 and Table 1, wherein the zoom optical system satisfies a condition expressed by an expression below, 0.01<ft/TL<1 (Using Table 1: 97/184.94=0.52), in the expression, ft: overall focal length of the zoom optical system in a telephoto end state, and TL: optical total length of the zoom optical system.
Re claim 9, Shibayama discloses, the zoom optical system according to claim 1, and Shibayama further discloses on Fig. 2 and Table 1, wherein the zoom optical system satisfies a condition expressed by an expression below, 0.30<fw/Bfw<4.000 (Using Table 1: 51.4/38.05=1.35) in the expression, fw: overall focal length of the zoom optical system in a wide-angle end state, and Bfw: back focus of the zoom optical system in a wide-angle end state.
Re claim 10, Shibayama discloses, the zoom optical system according to claim 1, and Shibayama further discloses on Fig. 2 and Table 1, wherein the zoom optical system satisfies a condition expressed by an expression below, 0.1<ft/TLGt<1 (97/114.51=0.85) in the expression, ft: overall focal length of the zoom optical system in a telephoto end state, and TLGt: distance on the optical axis from a lens surface closest to an object side to a lens surface closest to an image plane side in the zoom optical system in the telephoto end state.
Re Claim 15, Shibayama discloses, a method for manufacturing a zoom optical system including, sequentially from an object side, : a first lens group (G1) having negative refractive power (G1 is negative) [Col 5, Lines 25-35]; a second lens group (G2) having positive refractive power (G2 is positive) [Col 5, Lines 25-35]; a third lens group (G3); and a fourth lens group (G4) having positive refractive power (G4 is positive) [Col 5, Lines 25-35], the method comprising:
disposing the lens groups so a space between adjacent lens groups changes at zooming (See Fig. 2 where the space between adjacent lenses changes), with the first lens group (G1) fixed relative to an image plane (Fig. 2: G1 is fixed) and the fourth lens group (G4) moving along an optical axis (Fig. 2: G4 moves along the optical axis),
disposing the lens groups so at least the second lens group (G2) moves along the optical axis at focusing (Fig. 2: G2 moves along the optical axis), and
disposing the lens groups so that condition compressed by an expression below is satisfied:
0.05<(-f1)/f2<1.5 (Using Table 1: -(-42.37)/(46.05)=0.92)
0.1<ft/Bft<1.5 (Using Table 1: 97/70=1.39),
f1: focal length of the first lens group (G1), f2: focal length of the second lens group (G2), ft: overall focal length of the zoom optical system in a telephoto end state, and Bft: back focus of the zoom optical system in the telephoto end state.
Claim(s) 1, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugita (US 20090168192 A1).
Re Claim 1, Sugita discloses, a zoom optical system (See Fig. 5) comprising, sequentially from an object side: a first lens group (L1) having negative refractive power (L1 is negative) [Par 48]; a second lens group (L2) having positive refractive power (L2 is positive) [Par 48]; a third lens group (L3); and a fourth lens group (L4) having positive refractive power (L4 is positive) [Par 48], wherein a space between adjacent lens groups changes at zooming (See Fig. 5 where the space between adjacent lenses changes), with the first lens group (L1) fixed relative to an image plane (Fig. 5: L1 is fixed) and the fourth lens group (L4) moving along an optical axis (Fig. 5: L4 moves along the optical axis), at least the second lens group (L2) moves along the optical axis at focusing (Fig. 5: L2 moves along the optical axis), and the zoom optical system satisfies a condition expressed by the expressions below, 0.05<(-f1)/f2<1.5 (Using Table for Example 3: -(-13.49)/(36.66)=0.37)
0.1<ft/Bft<1.5 (Using Table for Example 3: 18/43.22=0.42),
f1: focal length of the first lens group (G1), f2: focal length of the second lens group (G2), ft: overall focal length of the zoom optical system in a telephoto end state, and Bft: back focus of the zoom optical system in the telephoto end state.
Re claim 11, Sugita discloses, the zoom optical system according to claim 1, and further disclsoes on Fig. 5, wherein the third lens group (L3) has positive refractive power (L3 is positive) [Par 48].
Re claim 14, Shibayama discloses, an optical apparatus comprising the zoom optical system according to claim 1 (see Fig. 2: lens can be used in cameras) [Col 2, Lines 35-45].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibayama.
Re Claim 6, Shibayama discloses, the zoom optical system according to claim 1, wherein (-f1)/f4=42.37/21.76=1.95.
But Shibayama does not explicitly disclose, wherein the zoom optical system satisfies a condition expressed by an expression below, 0.150<(-f1)/f4<1.5 in the expression, f1: focal length of the first lens group (G1), and f4: focal length of the fourth lens group (G4).
Optimizing group focal length (f1 or f4) is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Shibayama teaches focal length as a variable which achieves a recognized result [Col 3, Lines 0-40], removing discrepancies in the focal point position [Col 2, Lines 15-20].
Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting group focal length and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to optimize, such that 0.150<(-f1)/f4<1.5, since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibayama in view of Mihara (US 20040027685 A1).
Re claim 12, Shibayama discloses, the zoom optical system according to claim 1.
But Shibayama does not explicitly disclose, wherein the second lens group (G2) is constituted by one lens component.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Mihara teaches, on Fig. 1(A), that it is desirable in zooming optical systems to include, wherein the second lens group (G2) is constituted by one lens component (Fig. 1a: G2 has one doublet lens component)[Par 130].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Shibayama with Mihara in order to provide a lens diminished thickness, as taught by Mihara [Par 13-14].
Re claim 13, Shibayama discloses, the zoom optical system according to claim 1.
But Shibayama does not explicitly disclose wherein the second lens group (G2) is constituted by one positive lens and one negative lens.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Mihara teaches, on Fig. 1(A), that it is desirable in zooming optical systems to include, wherein the second lens group (doublet of G2) is constituted by one positive lens (double convex R8-R9 is positive) and one negative lens (concave and convex negative lens, R9-R10) [Par 130].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Shibayama with Mihara in order to provide a lens diminished thickness, as taught by Mihara [Par 13-14].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Abe (US 20190212525 A1) teaches a lens system with four lens groups.
/RAY ALEXANDER DEAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872