Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) in Claim 1 is/are: an acquisition unit that acquires data (Disclosed as part of the acquisition unit, also defined as a communication unit 33 of simulation device 3, See fig.4. A detailed algorithm (step-by-step) plan for the acquisition unit 33 of the simulation device 3 is disclosed at step S11 of fig.6 flowchart and Specification at [0038]) and an arithmetic unit that calculates a physical property (Disclosed as part of the arithmetic unit 31 of the simulation device 3, See fig.4. A detailed algorithm (step-by-step) plan for the arithmetic unit 31 of the simulation device 3 is disclosed at step S18 of fig.7 flowchart and Specification at [0046]). Thus, the claimed units and functions that invoked 112f are supported by the written description and are in accordance with MPEP 2181(II)(B).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informality: Independent claims 1 and 8-9 recite the limitation “acquiring data related to a behavior of the industrial machine from a control device performing operation control of the industrial machine, a sensor provided on the industrial machine or an imaging device imaging a component constituting the industrial machine” that is a run-on sentence which lacks a clear main clause, thus renders the claims unclear and improper. Possible amendment to this limitation is as follows:
“acquiring data related to a behavior of the industrial machine from a control device performing operation control of the industrial machine, wherein the acquired data is measured by a sensor provided on the industrial machine or by an imaging device imaging a component constituting the industrial machine”.
Claims 2-7 are further objected for being dependent upon an objected base claim 1. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Independent claims 1, 8, and 9:
Step 1:
Claim 1 is drawn to a simulation device simulating a behavior of an industrial machine, claim 8 is drawn to a method to simulate a behavior of an industrial machine, and claim 9 is drawn to a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a simulation program causing a computer to simulate a behavior of an industrial machine, therefore each of claims 1, 8, and 9 falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter).
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Nonetheless, claims 1, 8, and 9 are directed to a judicially recognized exception of an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 8 and 9 recite a step of “calculates a physical property indicating a behavior of the industrial machine on the basis of acquired data” that under its broadest reasonable interpretation, enumerates a mental concept and/or a mathematical concept. For example, based on some collected data, a human can accurately mental modeling/calculating physical values (like friction, torque, or vibration frequency) in our heads to derive the machine’s actual health or operational status. (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III and/or I)).
Step 2A, Prong 2:
Claims 1, 8, and 9 recite additional step of “acquires data related to a behavior of the industrial machine from a control device performing operation control of the industrial machine, [wherein the acquired data is measured by] a sensor provided on the industrial machine or an imaging device imaging a component constituting the industrial machine” that is interpreted as a form of insignificant input-solution activity, such that data gathering is necessary for the use of the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B:
The additional element that is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea because the court decisions have determined that this additional element to be well-understood, routine, and conventional when claimed in a merely generic manner for data acquisition, data manipulation, and data outputting (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network; and/or iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; also See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016))). As such, claims 1 and 13 are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-7:
Step 1:
Claims 2-7 are drawn to a simulation device simulating a behavior of an industrial machine, therefore each of claims 2-7 falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter). Nonetheless, dependent claims 2-7 are also ineligible for the same reasons given with respect to claim 1.
Steps 2A-2B:
Claims 2-6 recite further the insignificant extra-solution activity defining the type of data acquired being related to a behavior of the industrial machine with “an extruder having a screw for melting and plasticizing a raw material and a cylinder into which the screw is rotatably inserted, the acquisition unit acquires set data indicating an extrusion output of the raw material, a screw rotational speed or a cylinder temperature from the control device” (claim 2); “an extruder having a screw for melting and plasticizing a raw material and a cylinder into which the screw is rotatably inserted, the sensor provided in the industrial machine includes a temperature sensor detecting a temperature of the cylinder and a pressure sensor detecting pressure inside the cylinder, the acquisition unit acquires temperature data or pressure data from the temperature sensor or the pressure sensor… wherein the pressure sensor is provided at each of multiple locations of the cylinder, the simulation device further comprises a table in which viscosity of the raw material and a different property of the raw material are associated with each other” (claims 3-4); and “an extruder having a screw for melting and plasticizing a raw material and a cylinder into which the screw is rotatably inserted, the acquisition unit acquires image data obtained by imaging the screw from the imaging device” (claim 5); “an extruder having a screw for melting and plasticizing a raw material and a cylinder into which the screw is rotatably inserted, the sensor includes a temperature sensor for detecting a temperature of the cylinder and a plurality of pressure sensors for detecting pressures inside the cylinder at a plurality of locations, the simulation device further comprises a table in which a viscosity of the raw material and other properties of the raw material are associated with each other, the acquisition unit acquires data indicating an extrusion output of the raw material or a screw rotational speed from the control device, temperature data and pressure data from the temperature sensor and the plurality of pressure sensors, and image data obtained by imaging the screw from the imaging device” (claim 6) (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). Claims 2-7 recite further the mental concept of “calculates the physical quantity using the set data acquired” (claim 2); “calculates the physical quantity using the temperature data or the pressure data acquired… calculates viscosity of the raw material based on pressure data acquired from a plurality of the pressure sensors, specifies the different property of the raw material using calculated viscosity with reference to the table, and calculates the physical property using the viscosity and the different property of the raw material” (claims 3-4); “specifies a construction of the screw based on acquired image data, and calculates the physical quantity using data indicating the construction of the screw specified” (claim 5); “calculates a viscosity of the raw material based on pressure data acquired from the plurality of pressure sensors, specifies a different property of the raw material using calculated viscosity with reference to the table, specifies a construction of the screw based on acquired image data, and calculates the physical quantity using acquired data indicating an extrusion output and a screw rotational speed, pressure data, temperature data, viscosity and a different property of the raw material and data representing a construction of the screw” (claim 6); and “calculates the physical quantity in parallel with an operation of the industrial machine” (claim 7) (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
The additional steps that are a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea because the court decisions have determined that this additional element to be well-understood, routine, and conventional when claimed in a merely generic manner for data acquisition, data manipulation, and data outputting (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network; and/or iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; also See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016))). As such, claims 2-6 are not patent eligible.
Note: Claims 2-6 fail to positively recite a practical application. Such that, each of the following claim elements are not actively being recited in the claim. Rather, they only define where the acquired data were generated from. As such, the following elements are just defining the type of data being acquired and not as active elements being recited in the claim.
“an extruder” having a screw for melting and plasticizing a raw material and a cylinder into which the screw is rotatably inserted,
“the sensor” includes a temperature sensor for detecting a temperature of the cylinder and a plurality of pressure sensors for detecting pressures inside the cylinder at a plurality of locations”, and
“a table” in which a viscosity of the raw material and other properties of the raw material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Chamil Abeykoon (“A Novel Model-Based Controller for Polymer Extrusion”, IEEE, December 2014, p.1413-1430).
With respect to claims 1, 8, and 9, Chamil teaches a simulation device, method, and non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a simulation program causing a computer to simulate a behavior of an industrial machine (model-based control…to control the polymer extrusion process incorporating a melt temperature profile prediction soft sensor and fuzzy logic, abstract), comprising:
an acquisition unit that acquires data related to a behavior of the industrial machine from a control device performing operation control of the industrial machine, a sensor provided on the industrial machine or an imaging device imaging a component constituting the industrial machine (soft sensor provided at extruder to measure TIR, fig.2 and p.1417; measured TIR, ωsc, Rp,j, T1, T2, T3, T4 inputs into model-based controller, fig.7 and p.1420); and
an arithmetic unit that calculates a physical property indicating a behavior of the industrial machine on the basis of acquired data (predict a melt temperature profile across the melt flow in real-time… model is to predict the melt temperature profile across the melt flow [melt temperature profile prediction model (MTPP-model)] and it takes six process inputs (ωsc, Rp,j, T1, T2, T3, T4) for its prediction. Here, ωsc represents the screw speed, Rp,j is the radial position across the melt flow, while T1- T4 represent the set temperatures of the extruder barrel zones 1-4, p.1417; The efficacy of the proposed controller was verified over the different screw speeds, and its performance on achieving the desired average melt temperature (Tm,avg) and reducing the melt temperature variance (Tv) across the melt flow at different screw speeds are shown in Figs. 11–15 together with the adjustments made to the manipulated variables for achieving these set/desired outputs, p.1422).
With respect to claim 2, Chamil teaches wherein the industrial machine is an extruder having a screw for melting and plasticizing a raw material and a cylinder into which the screw is rotatably inserted (screw extruder, fig.1, for melting and plasticizing polymeric materials and a cylinder into which the screw is rotatably inserted as taught in p.1413 and fig.1), the acquisition unit acquires set data indicating an extrusion output of the raw material, a screw rotational speed or a cylinder temperature from the control device, and the arithmetic unit calculates the physical quantity using the set data acquired (predict a melt temperature profile across the melt flow in real-time… model is to predict the melt temperature profile across the melt flow [melt temperature profile prediction model (MTPP-model)] and it takes six process inputs (ωsc, Rp,j, T1, T2, T3, T4) for its prediction. Here, ωsc represents the screw speed, Rp,j is the radial position across the melt flow, while T1- T4 represent the set temperatures of the extruder barrel zones 1-4, p.1417; The efficacy of the proposed controller was verified over the different screw speeds, and its performance on achieving the desired average melt temperature (Tm,avg) and reducing the melt temperature variance (Tv) across the melt flow at different screw speeds are shown in Figs. 11–15 together with the adjustments made to the manipulated variables for achieving these set/desired outputs, p.1422).
With respect to claim 7, Chamil teaches wherein the arithmetic unit calculates the physical quantity in parallel with an operation of the industrial machine (the proposed controller manipulates the screw speed and each barrel zone temperature by making adjustments to them individually (i.e., all of these variables manipulate in parallel) via a rule-based fuzzy logic control mechanism. Efficacy of the controller by achieving its targets and rejecting disturbances was also tested by simulation, and good results were obtained. The controller settled back to the normal conditions within a short period of time (e.g., settled back to the normal conditions just after 40 s followed by an applied 20◦C positive step change to the feedback) after removing the applied disturbances to the manipulated variables and the feedback. Therefore, this may offer a promising approach to operate extruders at high screw speeds while achieving both high energy and thermal efficiencies simultaneously, p.1429).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamil Abeykoon (“A Novel Model-Based Controller for Polymer Extrusion”, IEEE, December 2014, p.1413-1430) in view of Schwaiger et al. (US-2006/0138690-A1).
With respect to claim 3, Chamil teaches wherein the industrial machine is an extruder having a screw for melting and plasticizing a raw material and a cylinder into which the screw is rotatably inserted (screw extruder, fig.1, for melting and plasticizing polymeric materials and a cylinder into which the screw is rotatably inserted as taught in p.1413 and fig.1), the sensor provided in the industrial machine includes a temperature sensor detecting a temperature of the cylinder (soft sensor provided at extruder to measure TIR, fig.2 and p.1417), the acquisition unit acquires temperature data or pressure data from the temperature sensor or the pressure sensor, respectively, and the arithmetic unit calculates the physical quantity using the temperature data or the pressure data acquired (predict a melt temperature profile across the melt flow in real-time… model is to predict the melt temperature profile across the melt flow [melt temperature profile prediction model (MTPP-model)] and it takes six process inputs (ωsc, Rp,j, T1, T2, T3, T4) for its prediction. Here, ωsc represents the screw speed, Rp,j is the radial position across the melt flow, while T1- T4 represent the set temperatures of the extruder barrel zones 1-4, p.1417; The efficacy of the proposed controller was verified over the different screw speeds, and its performance on achieving the desired average melt temperature (Tm,avg) and reducing the melt temperature variance (Tv) across the melt flow at different screw speeds are shown in Figs. 11–15 together with the adjustments made to the manipulated variables for achieving these set/desired outputs, p.1422).
Chamil does not clearly teach of a pressure sensor detecting pressure inside the cylinder. However, it is known by Schwaiger to teach of an extrusion plant with an extruder (Schwaiger: extruder 1, fig.2) including temperature sensors (Schwaiger: the temperature sensors 1.6 for determining the extruder cylinder temperature, the temperature sensor 1.7 for determining the mass temperature of the melt in the adapter 1.9… and the temperature sensors 2.2 for determining the extrusion die temperature, fig.2 and [0046]) and a pressure sensor detecting pressure inside the cylinder (Schwaiger: pressure sensor 1.8 for determining the melt pressure in the adapter 1.9 and the extrusion die 2, fig.2 and [0046]; additional pressure measuring sensors 2.3 and 2.4 in the extrusion die 2 for determining a more precise pressure consumption in the extrusion die. Said pressure measuring sensors are provided at locations where a direct contact with the melt is possible, but is situated at a position relating to the end product where there is a subordinate demand on the surface quality (e.g. freedom from striations, gloss), fig.4 and [0048])
Because Schwaiger’s teaching is also directed to an extruder (Schwaiger: extruder 1, fig.2; Chamil: fig.1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of the pressure sensor as taught by Schwaiger with the extruder as taught by Chamil for the purpose of determining precise pressure consumption in the extrusion die (Schwaiger: [0046 and 0048]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamil Abeykoon (“A Novel Model-Based Controller for Polymer Extrusion”, IEEE, December 2014, p.1413-1430) in view of Rechter et al. (US-2015/0148932-A1).
With respect to claim 5, Chamil teaches wherein the industrial machine is an extruder having a screw for melting and plasticizing a raw material and a cylinder into which the screw is rotatably inserted (Chamil: screw extruder, fig.1, for melting and plasticizing polymeric materials and a cylinder into which the screw is rotatably inserted as taught in p.1413 and fig.1) and the arithmetic unit specifies a construction of the screw based on acquired data, and calculates the physical quantity using data indicating the construction of the screw specified (Chamil: The efficacy of the proposed controller was verified over the different screw speeds, and its performance on achieving the desired average melt temperature (Tm,avg) and reducing the melt temperature variance (Tv) across the melt flow at different screw speeds are shown in Figs. 11–15 together with the adjustments made to the manipulated variables for achieving these set/desired outputs, p.1422).
Chamil does not appear to teach acquiring image data obtained by imaging the screw from the imaging device, and the arithmetic unit specifies a construction of the screw based on acquired image data.
However, it is known by Rechter to teach of a method and system for checking the construction of an extruder screw (title, Abstract, and figs.1-4)), particularly, Rechter teaches acquiring image data obtained by imaging the screw from the imaging device, and the arithmetic unit specifies a construction of the screw based on acquired image data (Rechter: a camera, which takes images of the extruder screw which are processed, in particular by the controlling and processing device, for determining the information on the actual geometry… edge detection algorithms are used to determine in the images the corresponding edges of the element geometries. As described, a conveying element has a screw-shaped helical edge structure [0018-0021]).
Because Rechter’s teaching is also directed to an extruder (Rechter: figs.1-4; Chamil: fig.1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of acquiring image data obtained by imaging the screw from the imaging device, and the arithmetic unit specifies a construction of the screw based on acquired image data as taught by Rechter with the extruder as taught by Chamil for the purpose of allowing the extruder screw to be recorded and checked when it is being pushed into the barrel, and in the presence of an error to be pulled off again immediately and constructed correctly (Rechter: [0020]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4/3/1 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to further overcome the claim objections and the 101 rejections as set forth above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious, which makes the following claims allowable over the prior art:
With respect to claim 4, wherein the pressure sensor is provided at each of multiple locations of the cylinder, the simulation device further comprises a table in which viscosity of the raw material and a different property of the raw material are associated with each other, the arithmetic unit calculates viscosity of the raw material based on pressure data acquired from a plurality of the pressure sensors, specifies the different property of the raw material using calculated viscosity with reference to the table, and calculates the physical property using the viscosity and the different property of the raw material.
With respect to claim 6, wherein the industrial machine is an extruder having a screw for melting and plasticizing a raw material and a cylinder into which the screw is rotatably inserted, the sensor includes a temperature sensor for detecting a temperature of the cylinder and a plurality of pressure sensors for detecting pressures inside the cylinder at a plurality of locations, the simulation device further comprises a table in which a viscosity of the raw material and other properties of the raw material are associated with each other, the acquisition unit acquires data indicating an extrusion output of the raw material or a screw rotational speed from the control device, temperature data and pressure data from the temperature sensor and the plurality of pressure sensors, and image data obtained by imaging the screw from the imaging device, the arithmetic unit calculates a viscosity of the raw material based on pressure data acquired from the plurality of pressure sensors, specifies a different property of the raw material using calculated viscosity with reference to the table, specifies a construction of the screw based on acquired image data, and calculates the physical quantity using acquired data indicating an extrusion output and a screw rotational speed, pressure data, temperature data, viscosity and a different property of the raw material and data representing a construction of the screw.
Conclusion
The additional prior arts made of record and have not been relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as follows:
Saez et al. "Real-Time Manufacturing Machine and System Performance Monitoring Using Internet of Things", IEEE, Oct. 2018, p.1735-1748 teaches a simulation device, method, and non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a simulation program causing a computer to simulate a behavior of an industrial machine (simulation uses discrete-event systems to estimate performance metrics at a system level, and continuous dynamics at a machine level to monitor input and output variables. Simulation outputs are used as a reference to detect abnormal conditions based on deviations of real outputs in different stages of the process, Abstract), comprising: an acquisition unit that acquires data related to a behavior of the industrial machine from a control device performing operation control of the industrial machine, a sensor provided on the industrial machine or an imaging device imaging a component constituting the industrial machine (Sensors, condition monitors, and machines connected to the system level controller generate data that is can be used in the estimation of states and machine health, p.1738-1739; Data from condition sensors such as encoders, current transformers, temperature, or pressure sensors are used to monitor machine continuous variables in discrete time, p.1742); and an arithmetic unit that calculates a physical property indicating a behavior of the industrial machine on the basis of acquired data (Data from condition sensors such as encoders, current transformers, temperature, or pressure sensors are used to monitor machine continuous variables in discrete time…comparison of plant floor data with real-time simulation data to analyze performance at both machine and system levels. For the zth event on a string, we monitor discrete variables such as cycle time, continuous state variables Θ, and output-variables Γ, given a discrete time step k, p.1742-1743).
Dolansky et al. (US-2009/0259444-A1) teaches a simulation device, method, and non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a simulation program causing a computer to simulate a behavior of an industrial machine (system and method for operating an industrial machine and for simulating the operation of an industrial machine [0002]; a method and a device which gives a better simulation of dynamic and/or static processes in an industrial machine and/or improves the use of the industrial machine through a simulation [0014]), comprising: an acquisition unit that acquires data related to a behavior of the industrial machine from a control device performing operation control of the industrial machine, a sensor provided on the industrial machine or an imaging device imaging a component constituting the industrial machine; and an arithmetic unit that calculates a physical property indicating a behavior of the industrial machine on the basis of acquired data (With the aid of a simulation, for example, the following behavioral modes of an industrial machine can be simulated: logical behavior (e.g. binary signals for sensors, limit values, position values, . . . ); regulation behavior (e.g. the reaction of a control device to a change in target value); controlled motion behavior (e.g. movement caused by electric motors, movements transmitted by gearing,…) The physical principles underlying the behavior of the industrial machine are translated, through a model-creation process, into an abstract simulation model. This means that the behavior of the real electric machine is interpreted in order to reduce it to technical and physical principles, [0008-0012]).
Palberg et al. (WO-2017174205-A2); SHIN HEE CHEOL (KR-102176821-B1); WO_2007028685_A2; and WO_2021105325_A1.
/HIEN D KHUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116 July 17, 2026