DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see application, filed 03/24/2026, with respect to the specification objection, 112 rejections and 102 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection/rejections above have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see application, filed 03/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 7-8, 10-11 and 15 under Nakagawa (US 20220242317) been fully considered and are persuasive (i.e. Applicant states that Sony Semiconductor Solutions Corporation is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Sony Group Corporation, Remarks Pg. 12). Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wakabayashi (JP 2022028982) in view of Nistico (US 20210334992).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 02/19/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi (JP 2022028982) in view of Nistico (US 20210334992).
Regarding claim 1, Wakabayashi discloses
a sensor device for observing a scene, the sensor device comprising: [See Wakabayashi [Fig. 27 and 0212] Device has pixels that receive light for event detection and pixels that receive light for generating an image of the area of interest formed on the same chip.]
a plurality of pixels each configured to receive light from the scene and to perform photoelectric conversion to generate an electrical signal; [See Wakabayashi [Fig. 27] Pixel array.]
event detection circuitry that is configured to detect as event data intensity changes above a predetermined threshold of infrared light received by each of a first subset of the pixels; [See Wakabayashi [Fig. 27 and 0272] Event detection unit corresponds with a subset of the pixel array for event detection. Also, see 0084, pixel receives infrared light for distance measurement.]
pixel signal generating circuitry that is configured to generate pixel signals indicating intensity values of visible light received by each pixel of a second subset of the pixels; and [See Wakabayashi [Fig. 27 and 0272] Pixel signal generation unit with a subset of the pixel array for imaging. Also, see 0084, pixel receives visible light.]
Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
processing circuitry configured to extract additional information from the event data detected within the received infrared light, which additional information differs from two-dimensional intensity information on the observed scene.
However, Nistico does disclose
processing circuitry configured to extract additional information from the event data detected within the received infrared light, which additional information differs from two-dimensional intensity information on the observed scene. [See Nistico [0047] Pattern decoding an event signal for an event sensor. Also, see 0004, event sensor for detecting a change in light intensity. Also, see 0026, near-infrared light. Also, see 0004, estimating depth using event sensor.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi to add the teachings of Nistico, in order to improve upon deficiencies associated with frame-based cameras by utilizing event cameras [See Nistico [0003]].
Regarding claim 2, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) disclose the sensor device of claim 1. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to decode as additional information a signal encoded in the received infrared light.
However, Nistico does disclose
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to decode as additional information a signal encoded in the received infrared light. [See Nistico [0036] Pattern decoding operations. Also, see 0026, IR light. Also, see 0047, encoding the illumination pattern.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) disclose the sensor device of claim 1. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
wherein the signal encoded in the received infrared light is a communication signal generated by modulating the infrared light.
However, Nistico does disclose
wherein the signal encoded in the received infrared light is a communication signal generated by modulating the infrared light. [See Nistico [0017] Multiple illumination patterns with different modulating frequencies. Also, see 0026, IR light.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) disclose the sensor device of claim 1. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
further comprising an infrared light transmitter that is configured to emit a predetermined, time-varying infrared light pattern onto the scene; wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate based on reflections of the predetermined, time-varying infrared light pattern on the scene as additional information depth information indicating the distance of objects in the scene to the sensor device.
However, Nistico does disclose
further comprising an infrared light transmitter that is configured to emit a predetermined, time-varying infrared light pattern onto the scene; wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate based on reflections of the predetermined, time-varying infrared light pattern on the scene as additional information depth information indicating the distance of objects in the scene to the sensor device. [See Nistico [0003-0004] Structured light depth estimation using an event sensor. Also, see Fig. 1, Projector. Also, see Fig. 3, multiple illumination patterns in a time-multiplexed manner.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) disclose the sensor device of claim 4. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
further comprising: a communication connection between the infrared light transmitter and the processing circuitry that allows synchronization of the light emission from the infrared light transmitter and the event data detected due to reception of infrared light.
However, Nistico does disclose
further comprising: a communication connection between the infrared light transmitter and the processing circuitry that allows synchronization of the light emission from the infrared light transmitter and the event data detected due to reception of infrared light. [See Nistico [Fig. 14 and 0057] Communication interfaces/buses for interconnecting the various components.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) disclose the sensor device of claim 1. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
wherein the additional information comprises information that has been encoded in the received infrared light by a source external to the sensor device, and
the processing circuitry is configured to decode the encoded information from the event data.
However, Nistico does disclose
wherein the additional information comprises information that has been encoded in the received infrared light by a source external to the sensor device, and [See Nistico [0003-0004] Structured light depth estimation using an event sensor. Also, see Fig. 1, Projector. Also, see Fig. 3, multiple illumination patterns in a time-multiplexed manner.]
the processing circuitry is configured to decode the encoded information from the event data. [See Nistico [0047] Pattern decoding an event signal for an event sensor. Also, see 0004, event sensor for detecting a change in light intensity. Also, see 0026, near-infrared light. Also, see 0004, estimating depth using event sensor.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) disclose the sensor device of claim 4. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
a communication connection between the infrared light transmitter and the processing circuitry that is configured to allow synchronization of the light emission from the infrared light transmitter and the event data detected due to reception of infrared light,
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the depth information by correlating the event data with a known timing of the predetermined, time-varying infrared light pattern.
However, Nistico does disclose
a communication connection between the infrared light transmitter and the processing circuitry that is configured to allow synchronization of the light emission from the infrared light transmitter and the event data detected due to reception of infrared light, [See Nistico [Fig. 14 and 0057] Communication interfaces/buses for interconnecting the various components.]
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the depth information by correlating the event data with a known timing of the predetermined, time-varying infrared light pattern. [See Nistico [0049] generating mapping data by correlating the pixel events with multiple illumination patterns projected by an optical system towards the scene….using timestamp information.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Wakabayashi discloses
a sensor device for observing a scene, the sensor device comprising: [See Wakabayashi [Fig. 27 and 0212] Device has pixels that receive light for event detection and pixels that receive light for generating an image of the area of interest formed on the same chip.]
a plurality of pixels each configured to receive light from the scene and to perform photoelectric conversion to generate an electrical signal; [See Wakabayashi [Fig. 27] Pixel array.]
event detection circuitry that is configured to detect as event data intensity changes above a predetermined threshold of infrared light received by each of a first subset of the pixels; [See Wakabayashi [Fig. 27 and 0272] Event detection unit corresponds with a subset of the pixel array for event detection. Also, see 0084, pixel receives infrared light for distance measurement.]
pixel signal generating circuitry that is configured to generate pixel signals indicating intensity values of visible light received by each pixel of a second subset of pixels; [See Wakabayashi [Fig. 27 and 0272] Pixel signal generation unit with a subset of the pixel array for imaging. Also, see 0084, pixel receives visible light.]
a first wafer on which the plurality of pixels is formed; and at least one further wafer on which the event detection circuitry and the pixel signal generating is formed. [See Wakabayashi [Fig. 19]. Also, see 0220.]
Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
an infrared light transmitter that is configured to emit a predetermined, time-varying infrared light pattern onto the scene;
processing circuitry that is configured to extract additional information from the event data detected within the received infrared light, which additional information differs from two-dimensional intensity information on the observed scene, the processing circuitry being further configured to generate, based on reflections of the predetermined, time-varying infrared light pattern on the scene, depth information indicating the distance of objects in the scene to the sensor device;
However, Nistico does disclose
an infrared light transmitter that is configured to emit a predetermined, time-varying infrared light pattern onto the scene; [See Nistico [0003-0004] Structured light depth estimation using an event sensor. Also, see Fig. 1, Projector. Also, see Fig. 3, multiple illumination patterns in a time-multiplexed manner.]
processing circuitry that is configured to extract additional information from the event data detected within the received infrared light, which additional information differs from two-dimensional intensity information on the observed scene, the processing circuitry being further configured to generate, based on reflections of the predetermined, time-varying infrared light pattern on the scene, depth information indicating the distance of objects in the scene to the sensor device; [See Nistico [0047] Pattern decoding an event signal for an event sensor. Also, see 0004, event sensor for detecting a change in light intensity. Also, see 0026, near-infrared light. Also, see 0004, estimating depth using event sensor.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi to add the teachings of Nistico, in order to improve upon deficiencies associated with frame-based cameras by utilizing event cameras [See Nistico [0003]].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi (JP 2022028982) in view of Nistico (US 20210334992) in view of Besley et al. (herein after will be referred to as Besley) (US 20200184710) and in further view of Lin et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lin) (US 20110267348).
Regarding claim 6, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) disclose the sensor device of claim 4. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
wherein if a human head is part of the observed scene, the control unit is configured to generate based on the pixel signals indicating the intensity values of visible light and the depth information data of a virtual three-dimensional model of the human head, which data preferably allow to render the human head on a display with an adjusted viewing direction.
However, Besley does disclose
the control unit is configured to generate based on the pixel signals indicating the intensity values of visible light and the depth information data of a virtual three-dimensional model [See Besley [Abstract] Generating a virtual view of a scene by adjusting the scene based on a 3D model of the scene. Also, se 0005, using image and depth data for reconstruction of 3D geometry of the scene.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) to add the teachings of Besley, in order to utilize the depth/image data in Wakabayashi/Nistico to generate free viewpoint video.
Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico and Besley) do not explicitly disclose
wherein if a human head is part of the observed scene,
However, Lin does disclose
wherein if a human head is part of the observed scene, [See Lin [0005] Generating a virtual camera viewpoint for a user captured during video conferencing (i.e. user’s head/facial area will be included).]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico and Besley) to add the teachings of Lin, in order to provide free viewpoint video for a user interacting with video conferencing.
Claims 7-8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi (JP 2022028982) in view of Nistico (US 20210334992) and in further view of Saari et al. (herein after will be referred to as Saari) (US 20220221733).
Regarding claim 7, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) disclose the sensor device of claim 1. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
further comprising a plurality of color filters that are arranged such that at least visible light reaches the pixels of the second subset of pixels and that only infrared light reaches the pixels of the first subset of pixels.
However, Saari does disclose
further comprising a plurality of color filters that are arranged such that at least visible light reaches the pixels of the second subset of pixels and that only infrared light reaches the pixels of the first subset of pixels. [See Saari [0166] Pixel array for an event camera. Also, see 0175, mosaic filter of RGB-IR for a 4 pixel unit cell.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) to add the teachings of Saari, in order to incorporate obvious color/infrared filters for the corresponding color/infrared pixels. Filter benefits in image processing are known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico and Saari) disclose the sensor device of claim 7. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
wherein the pixels are arranged in a pixel array having a plurality of 2×2 pixel groups that contain each one pixel of the first subset of pixels and three pixels of the second subset of pixels; and the plurality of color filters are arranged in a color filter array having red, green, blue and infrared filters, where to each 2×2 pixel group one red, one green, one blue, and one infrared filter is assigned, with the infrared filter being assigned to the pixel of the first subset of pixels.
However, Saari does disclose
wherein the pixels are arranged in a pixel array having a plurality of 2×2 pixel groups that contain each one pixel of the first subset of pixels and three pixels of the second subset of pixels; and the plurality of color filters are arranged in a color filter array having red, green, blue and infrared filters, where to each 2×2 pixel group one red, one green, one blue, and one infrared filter is assigned, with the infrared filter being assigned to the pixel of the first subset of pixels. [See Saari [0166] Pixel array for an event camera. Also, see 0175, mosaic filter of RGB-IR for a 4 pixel unit cell.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) disclose the sensor device of claim 4. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to generate, based on the pixel signals indicating the intensity values of visible light and the depth information, a combined visible light and depth representation of the observed scene.
However, Saari does disclose
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to generate, based on the pixel signals indicating the intensity values of visible light and the depth information, a combined visible light and depth representation of the observed scene. [See Saari [0008] 3D imaging. Also, see 0007, deliver both 2D image and depth information. Also, see 0166, event camera.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) to add the teachings of Saari, in order to generate 3D image data using color image data combined with depth/distance information in Wakabayashi/Nistico.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi (JP 2022028982) in view of Nistico (US 20210334992) in view of Saari (US 20220221733) and in further view of Shiina et al. (herein after will be referred to as Shiina) (JP 2022049487).
Regarding claim 9, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico and Saari) disclose the sensor device of claim 7. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
wherein pixels are arranged in groups of five pixels, with one pixel of the first subset of pixels arranged with respect to a direction of light incidence behind 2×2 pixels of the second subset of pixels; and the plurality of color filters are arranged in a color filter array having red, green, and blue filters, arranged in a Bayer pattern, which color filters are infrared transparent.
However, Shinna does disclose
wherein pixels are arranged in groups of five pixels, with one pixel of the first subset of pixels arranged with respect to a direction of light incidence behind 2×2 pixels of the second subset of pixels; and the plurality of color filters are arranged in a color filter array having red, green, and blue filters, arranged in a Bayer pattern, which color filters are infrared transparent. [See Shiina [Fig. 37]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) to add the teachings of Saari, in order to improve the accuracy of results obtained by different sensors [See Shiina [0005]].
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi (JP 2022028982) in view of Nistico (US 20210334992) and in further view of Kelly et al. (herein after will be referred to as Kelly) (US 20220166948).
Regarding claim 10, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) disclose the sensor device of claim 1. Furthermore, Wakabayashi discloses
further comprising a first wafer on which the plurality of pixels is formed; and at least one further wafer on which the event detection circuitry and the pixel signal generating circuitry is formed; [See Wakabayashi [Fig. 19] Also, see 0220.]
wherein the event detection circuitry is formed from a plurality of first circuit blocks; the pixel signal generating circuitry is formed from a plurality of second circuit blocks; and [See Wakabayashi [Fig. 27] Shows the pixel/event circuitry blocks.]
Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
the arrangement of the first circuit blocks and the second circuit blocks on the at least one further wafer corresponds to the arrangement of the plurality of pixels on the first wafer.
However, Kelly does disclose
the arrangement of the first circuit blocks and the second circuit blocks on the at least one further wafer corresponds to the arrangement of the plurality of pixels on the first wafer. [See Kelly [Fig. 1B]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) to add the teachings of Kelly, in order to directly connect the pixel arrays to the corresponding integrated circuits via flip-chip or bump-bonding processes [See Kelly [0039]].
Regarding claim 11, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico and Kelly) disclose the sensor device of claim 10. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
wherein all pixels are formed on the side of the first wafer facing the incident light; and the first circuit blocks and the second circuit blocks are formed on the same side of a second wafer.
However, Kelly does disclose
wherein all pixels are formed on the side of the first wafer facing the incident light; and the first circuit blocks and the second circuit blocks are formed on the same side of a second wafer. [See Kelly [Fig. 1B]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 10.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi (JP 2022028982) in view of Nistico (US 20210334992) in view of Kelly (US 20220166948) and in further view of Norton (US Patent No. 5,373,182).
Regarding claim 12, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico and Kelly) disclose the sensor device of claim 10. Furthermore, Wakabayashi discloses
two further wafers are provided, where the one adjacent to the first wafer carries the second circuit blocks and the other one carries the first circuit blocks. [See Wakabayashi [Fig. 20 and 0221]
Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
wherein the pixels of the second subset of pixels are formed on the side of the first wafer facing the incident light, while the pixels of the first subset of pixels are formed on the opposite side of the first wafer; and
However, Norton does disclose
wherein the pixels of the second subset of pixels are formed on the side of the first wafer facing the incident light, while the pixels of the first subset of pixels are formed on the opposite side of the first wafer; and [See Norton [Col. 7 lines 43-46] Front side illuminated visible detector with a back side illuminated IR detector.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico and Kelly) to add the teachings of Norton, in order to improve upon the quality of a visible/IR detector [See Norton [Col. 1 lines 44-53]].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi (JP 2022028982) in view of Nistico (US 20210334992) in view of Kelly (US 20220166948) in view of Norton (US Patent No. 5,373,182) and in further view of Chun (US 20210233851).
Regarding claim 13, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico and Kelly) disclose the sensor device of claim 10. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
wherein the pixels of the second subset of pixels are formed on the side of the first wafer facing the incident light, while the pixels of the first subset of pixels are formed on the opposite side of the first wafer; and
the first circuit blocks and the second circuit blocks are formed on two opposite sides of a second wafer, where the side carrying the second circuit blocks is adjacent to the first wafer.
However, Norton does disclose
wherein the pixels of the second subset of pixels are formed on the side of the first wafer facing the incident light, while the pixels of the first subset of pixels are formed on the opposite side of the first wafer; and [See Norton [Col. 7 lines 43-46] Front side illuminated visible detector with a back side illuminated IR detector.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico and Kelly) to add the teachings of Norton, in order to improve upon the quality of a visible/IR detector [See Norton [Col. 1 lines 44-53]].
Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico, Kelly and Norton) do not explicitly disclose
the first circuit blocks and the second circuit blocks are formed on two opposite sides of a second wafer, where the side carrying the second circuit blocks is adjacent to the first wafer.
However, Chun does disclose
the first circuit blocks and the second circuit blocks are formed on two opposite sides of a second wafer, where the side carrying the second circuit blocks is adjacent to the first wafer. [See Chun [Abstract] First integrated circuitry on a first side of the die and second integrated circuitry on a second, opposite side of the die.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico, Kelly and Norton) to add the teachings of Chun, in order to improve upon semiconductor packages [See Chun [0001]].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi (JP 2022028982) in view of Nistico (US 20210334992) in view of Kelly (US 20220166948) in view of Norton (US Patent No. 5,373,182) and in further view of Narui et al. (herein after will be referred to as Narui) (US Patent No. 10,636,830).
Regarding claim 14, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico and Kelly) disclose the sensor device of claim 10. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
wherein the pixels of the second subset of pixels are formed on the side of the first wafer facing the incident light, while the pixels of the first subset of pixels are formed on the opposite side of the first wafer; and
the first circuit blocks and the second circuit blocks are formed on the same side of a second wafer such that the first circuit blocks are encircled by the second circuit blocks.
However, Norton does disclose
wherein the pixels of the second subset of pixels are formed on the side of the first wafer facing the incident light, while the pixels of the first subset of pixels are formed on the opposite side of the first wafer; and [See Norton [Col. 7 lines 43-46] Front side illuminated visible detector with a back side illuminated IR detector.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico and Kelly) to add the teachings of Norton, in order to improve upon the quality of a visible/IR detector [See Norton [Col. 1 lines 44-53]].
Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico, Kelly and Norton) do not explicitly disclose
the first circuit blocks and the second circuit blocks are formed on the same side of a second wafer such that the first circuit blocks are encircled by the second circuit blocks.
However, Narui does disclose
the first circuit blocks and the second circuit blocks are formed on the same side of a second wafer such that the first circuit blocks are encircled by the second circuit blocks. [See Narui [Claims 1-2] First circuit blocks surround second circuit blocks on a second substrate.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico, Kelly and Norton) to add the teachings of Narui, in order to perform a simple substitution of pixel circuitry layout.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi (JP 2022028982) in view of Nistico (US 20210334992) in view of Kelly (US 20220166948) and in further view of Saari (US 20220221733).
Regarding claim 19, Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico and Kelly) disclose the sensor device of claim 10. Furthermore, Wakabayashi does not explicitly disclose
further comprising a plurality of color filters that are arranged such that at least visible light reaches the pixels of the second subset of pixels and that only infrared light reaches the pixels of the first subset of pixels.
However, Saari does disclose
further comprising a plurality of color filters that are arranged such that at least visible light reaches the pixels of the second subset of pixels and that only infrared light reaches the pixels of the first subset of pixels. [See Saari [0166] Pixel array for an event camera. Also, see 0175, mosaic filter of RGB-IR for a 4 pixel unit cell.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Wakabayashi (modified by Nistico) to add the teachings of Saari, in order to incorporate obvious color/infrared filters for the corresponding color/infrared pixels. Filter benefits in image processing are known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486