CTNF 18/849,539 CTNF 84479 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1,2,4,7,8,13-15,21,23,34,35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazawa et al.(US 2013/0202727) in view of Leblans(US 2003/0142398) . Considering Claim 1 Kitazawa discloses a light emitting device for emitting an emission beam from a light generating device to a physical object (See Paragraph 48,50,51, fig. 2 i.e. a light emitting device(1) for emitting an emission beam from a light generating device(8) to a physical object(Q)) , the light emitting device comprising: an image forming optical system (See Paragraph 55, fig. 2 i.e. an image forming optical system(21)) ; an imaging device configured to capture at least a part of an image of the physical object formed on the image plane by the image forming optical system (See Paragraph 55,56, fig. 2 i.e. an imaging device which is imaging element(20) configured to capture at least a part of an image of the physical object(Q) formed on the image plane(P1) by the image forming optical system(21)) ; a position changing device configured to change a position of the emission beam from the light generating device on the conjugate plane so that an emission position of the emission beam output by the image forming optical system is changed (See Paragraph 61,66,74, fig. 2 i.e. a position changing device which is a scanning device(4) configured to change a position of the emission beam from the light generating device(8) on the conjugate plane which is object plane(P1) so that an emission position of the emission beam output by the image forming optical system(21) is changed) ; and a control device configured to control the position changing device on the basis of imaging results of the imaging device (See Paragraph 50,70, fig. 2 i.e. a control device(5) configured to control the position changing device which is scanning device(4) on the basis of imaging results of the imaging device(20)) , wherein the control device controls the position changing device on the basis of the imaging results of the imaging device so that the emission beam output by the image forming optical system is emitted to at least a part of the physical object (See Paragraph 50,70, fig. 2 i.e. wherein the control device(5) controls the position changing device(4) on the basis of the imaging results of the imaging device(20) so that the emission beam output by the image forming optical system(21) is emitted to at least a part of the physical object(Q)) . Kitazawa does not explicitly disclose an optical member configured to output light input via the image forming optical system toward an image plane of the image forming optical system and output the emission beam input from the light generating device via a conjugate plane which is object plane conjugate to the image plane toward the image forming optical system. Leblans teaches an optical member configured to output light input via the image forming optical system toward an image plane of the image forming optical system and output the emission beam input from the light generating device via a conjugate plane which is object plane conjugate to the image plane toward the image forming optical system (See Paragraph 46, fig. 2 i.e. an optical member which is beamsplitter(12) configured to output light input via the image forming optical system(18) toward an image plane(20) of the image forming optical system which is image lens(18) and output the emission beam input from the light generating device(25) via a conjugate plane which is object plane(16) conjugate to the image plane(20) toward the image forming optical system(18)) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Kitazawa, and have an optical member to be configured to output light input via the image forming optical system toward an image plane of the image forming optical system and output the emission beam input from the light generating device via a conjugate plane which is object plane conjugate to the image plane toward the image forming optical system, as taught by Leblans, thus providing an efficient transmission system by eliminating the need of multiple device by using a bidirectional beam splitter that transmit and receive signal in both direction. Considering Claim 2 Kitazawa and Leblans disclose the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the image forming optical system is telecentric on a conjugate plane side (See Kitazawa: Paragraph 96, fig. 5 i.e. wherein the image forming optical system(21) is telecentric on a conjugate plane side(P1,P8)) . Considering Claim 4 Kitazawa and Leblans disclose the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the image forming optical system forms a reduced image of the physical object on the image plane (See Kitazawa: Paragraph 57,94, fig. 3,5 i.e. wherein the image forming optical system(21) forms a reduced image of the physical object on the image plane(P2)) . Considering Claim 7 Kitazawa and Leblans disclose the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the control device controls the position changing device on the basis of a feature location of the physical object detected on the basis of the imaging results (See Kitazawa: Paragraph 75, fig. 2 i.e. the control device(5) controls the position changing device(4) on the basis of a feature location of the physical object detected on the basis of the imaging results from the imaging element(20)) . Considering Claim 8 Kitazawa and Leblans disclose the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the imaging device has a plurality of pixels (See Kitazawa: Paragraph 56, fig. 2 i.e. the imaging device(20) has a plurality of pixels) . Considering Claim 13 Kitazawa and Leblans disclose the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the physical object includes a light receiving portion of a light receiving device, wherein the emission beam is emitted to the light receiving portion, and wherein the emission beam is a light beam for performing optical wireless communication with the light receiving device (See Leblans: Paragraph 71,72, fig. 3a i.e. the physical object includes a light receiving portion(62) of a light receiving device(50), wherein the emission beam(λa) is emitted to the light receiving portion(62), and wherein the emission beam(λa) is a light beam for performing optical wireless communication with the light receiving device(50)) . Considering Claim 14 Kitazawa and Leblans disclose light emitting device according to claim 1, further comprising a light receiving portion configured to receive an input beam output from a light outputting portion of a light transmitting device serving as the physical object and input to the image forming optical system via the optical member (See Leblans: Paragraph 71,72, fig. 3a i.e. a light receiving portion(62) configured to receive an input beam(λa) (40) output from a light outputting portion of a light transmitting device(39) serving as the physical object and input to the image forming optical system(18) via the optical member(44,12)) . Considering Claim 15 Kitazawa and Leblans disclose light emitting device according to claim 14, wherein the light receiving portion configured to receive the input beam receives the input beam via the conjugate plane (See Leblans: Paragraph 71,72, fig. 3a i.e. the light receiving portion(62) configured to receive the input beam(λa) receives the input beam via the conjugate plane(60)) . Considering Claim 21 Kitazawa and Leblans disclose the light emitting device according to claim 14, wherein the input beam is a light beam for performing optical wireless communication with the light transmitting device (See Kitazawa: Paragraph 54, fig. 2 i.e. wherein the input beam(L1) is a light beam for performing optical wireless communication with the light transmitting device(11)) . Considering Claim 23 Kitazawa and Leblans disclose the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the light generating device includes a light receiving portion configured to receive light generated by the emission beam emitted from the image forming optical system to at least a part of the physical object via the image forming optical system and the optical member ((See Kitazawa: Paragraph 55,56, fig. 2 i.e. wherein the light generating device includes a light receiving portion(photodiode) in the image element(20) configured to receive light generated by the emission beam(L1,L2) emitted from the image forming optical system(21) to at least a part of the physical object(Q) via the image forming optical system(21) and the optical member(22)) . Considering Claim 34 Kitazawa and Leblans disclose an optical wireless communication system comprising: the light emitting device according to claim 13; and the light receiving device, wherein the light emitting device and the light receiving device perform optical wireless communication when the light receiving portion of the light receiving device receives the emission beam from the light emitting device (See Leblans: Paragraph 71,72, fig. 3a i.e . the light emitting device(39) according to claim 13; and the light receiving device(50), wherein the light emitting device and the light receiving device perform optical wireless communication when the light receiving portion(62) of the light receiving device(50) receives the emission beam(λa) from the light emitting device(39)) . Considering Claim 35 Kitazawa and Leblans disclose an optical wireless communication system comprising: the light emitting device according to claim 21; and the light transmitting device, wherein the light transmitting device and the light emitting device perform optical wireless communication when the light receiving portion of the light emitting device receives the input beam from the light transmitting device (See Kitazawa: Paragraph 54-56, fig. 2 i.e. the light emitting device(1) according to claim 21; and the light transmitting device(11), wherein the light transmitting device(11) and the light emitting device(1) perform optical wireless communication when the light receiving portion(the photodetector in imaging element(20)) of the light emitting device(1) receives the input beam from the light transmitting device(11)) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazawa et al.(US 2013/0202727) in view of Leblans(US 2003/0142398) further in view of Kim(CN 107924044 A). Considering Claim 3 Kitazawa and Leblans do not explicitly disclose the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein a maximum angle of view of the image forming optical system is 170° or more. Kim teaches the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein a maximum angle of view of the image forming optical system is 170° or more (See Paragraph 66, fig. 4 i.e. a maximum angle of view of the image forming optical system(100) is 170° or more(190° or more)) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Kitazawa and Leblans, and have a maximum angle of view of the image forming optical system to be 170° or more, as taught by Kim, thus providing an efficient transmission system by capturing a wide range of image, as discussed by Kim (Paragraph 1) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5,6,9-12,16-20,22,24-33,36-39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HIBRET A WOLDEKIDAN whose telephone number is (571)270-5145. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, DAVID C PAYNE can be reached at (571)272-3024. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HIBRET A WOLDEKIDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/849,539 Page 2 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/849,539 Page 3 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/849,539 Page 4 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/849,539 Page 5 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/849,539 Page 6 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/849,539 Page 7 Art Unit: 2635 Application/Control Number: 18/849,539 Page 8 Art Unit: 2635