Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant failed to include Claim 5 in its entirety – and all intervening claims – in the independent claims. Since then, it has come to the attention of the Examiner that Claim 5 should have been wholly rejected based solely on the prior art provided in the non-final rejection. Given that it is the responsibility of the Applicant to review the provided prior art in its entirety – not just the portions cited in the non-final rejection – and given the fact that the Applicant failed to incorporate Claim 5 in its entirety along with all intervening claims into the independent claims, the fact that the Examiner failed to recognize that Claim 5 should have been wholly rejected based on the provided prior art is rendered moot. As a result, this action will be made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, & 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimosato (WO 2021240992 A1, hereinafter, "Shimosato").
Regarding Claim 1, Shimosato teaches an information processing apparatus comprising: circuitry configured to execute an operation app of an optical system device including a plurality of lenses of different focal lengths including a zoom lens (Shimosato, pg. 4, para. 1, ln. 1, "The zoom lens drive unit 113 drives the zoom lens…"), and cause a display to display a first user interface that clearly indicates a section of optical zoom of the zoom lens for a zoom function of the lens included in the operation app (Shimosato, Step S309, pg. 7, ln. 3-5, "…the focal length related to the magnifying power in the zoom is 100 mm in the non-zoom state, 400 mm in the optical zoom state, and 800 mm in the optical zoom and the electronic zoom state. These three focal lengths [zoom state] are switched [toggled] in order each time the zoom button 74 is pressed."), wherein the first user interface includes an operation component on which scales that indicate focal lengths matching magnifications of the optical zoom and the digital zoom are indicated (Shimosato, Step S309, pg. 7, ln. 3-5, "…the focal length related to the magnifying power in the zoom is 100 mm in the non-zoom state, 400 mm in the optical zoom state, and 800 mm in the optical zoom and the electronic zoom state. These three focal lengths [zoom state] are switched [toggled] in order each time the zoom button 74 is pressed.").
Regarding Claim 4, Shimosato teaches the circuitry causes the display to display the first user interface that includes an oval button indicating a section of a value matching a variable focal length of the zoom lens (Shimosato, Fig. 1, pg. 7, para. 4, ln. 2-5, "In the present embodiment, the focal length related to the magnifying power in the zoom is 100 mm in the non-zoom state, 400 mm in the optical zoom state, and 800 mm in the optical zoom and the electronic zoom state. These three focal lengths (zoom state) are switched (toggled) in order each time the zoom button 74 is pressed." Figure 1 shows that zoom button 74 is oval shaped.).
Regarding Claim 6, Shimosato teaches the optical system device (Shimosato, pg. 11, para. 7, ln. 4-5, "…the present invention can be applied to digital cameras, personal computers, PDAs, smartphones, form telephone terminals, portable image viewers, game machines, and the like.").
Regarding Claim 8, Shimosato teaches the optical system device includes a camera (Shimosato, pg. 11, para. 7, ln. 4-5, "…the present invention can be applied to digital cameras, personal computers, PDAs, smartphones, form telephone terminals, portable image viewers, game machines, and the like.").
Regarding Claim 9, Shimosato teaches an information processing method comprising: executing an operation app of an optical system device including a plurality of lenses of different focal lengths including a zoom lens (Shimosato, pg. 4, para. 1, ln. 1, "The zoom lens drive unit 113 drives the zoom lens…"); and causing a display to display a user interface that clearly indicates a section of optical zoom of the zoom lens for a zoom function of the lens included in the operation apps wherein the first user interface includes an operation component on which scales that indicate focal lengths matching magnifications of the optical zoom and the digital zoom are indicated (Shimosato, Step S309, pg. 7, ln. 3-5, "…the focal length related to the magnifying power in the zoom is 100 mm in the non-zoom state, 400 mm in the optical zoom state, and 800 mm in the optical zoom and the electronic zoom state. These three focal lengths [zoom state] are switched [toggled] in order each time the zoom button 74 is pressed.").
Regarding Claim 10, Shimosato teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied thereon a program, which when executed by a computer causes the computer to execute a method, the method comprising: executing an operation app of an optical system device including a plurality of lenses of different focal lengths including a zoom lens (Shimosato, pg. 4, para. 1, ln. 1, "The zoom lens drive unit 113 drives the zoom lens…"); and causing a display to display a user interface that clearly indicates a section of optical zoom of the zoom lens for a zoom function of the lens included in the operation app (Shimosato, Step S309, pg. 7, ln. 3-5, "…the focal length related to the magnifying power in the zoom is 100 mm in the non-zoom state, 400 mm in the optical zoom state, and 800 mm in the optical zoom and the electronic zoom state. These three focal lengths [zoom state] are switched [toggled] in order each time the zoom button 74 is pressed."), wherein the first user interface includes an operation component on which scales that indicate focal lengths matching magnifications of the optical zoom and digital zoom are indicated (Shimosato, Step S309, pg. 7, ln. 3-5, "…the focal length related to the magnifying power in the zoom is 100 mm in the non-zoom state, 400 mm in the optical zoom state, and 800 mm in the optical zoom and the electronic zoom state. These three focal lengths [zoom state] are switched [toggled] in order each time the zoom button 74 is pressed.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimosato in view of Bagaria & Srivastava (US 10594925 B2, hereinafter, "Bagaria").
Regarding Claim 2, Shimosato teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Bagaria teaches the circuitry is further configured to cause the display to display a second user interface that continuously indicates a range from a minimum magnification to a maximum magnification that can be set to all of a plurality of the lenses (Bagaria, Fig. 7B, [0074], ln. 9-10, "…the first region 793 of the graphical element 791 can act as an arced slider or virtual dial to allow the user 781A to provide a zoom level control input via a graphical user interface."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Bagaria with those of Shimosato because it is well known in the art to display a second user interface that continuously indicates a range from minimum to maximum magnifications that can be set to a plurality of lenses.
Regarding Claim 3, Shimosato and Bagaria teach the limitations of dependent Claim 2 as noted above. Bagaria teaches the circuitry causes the display to display the second user interface that continuously indicates the range including a range of digital zoom (Bagaria, Fig. 7B, [0074], ln. 9-10, "…the first region 793 of the graphical element 791 can act as an arced slider or virtual dial to allow the user 781A to provide a zoom level control input via a graphical user interface."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Bagaria with those of Shimosato because it is well known in the art for a user interface to continuously indicate the range of a digital zoom.
Regarding Claim 5, Shimosato and Bagaria teach the limitations of dependent Claim 3 as noted above. Bagaria teaches the first user interface is indicated on an outer circumference of an arc shape and is rotatably provided around a center of the arc shape (Bagaria, Fig. 7B, [0074], ln. 9-10, "…the first region 793 of the graphical element 791 can act as an arced slider or virtual dial to allow the user 781A to provide a zoom level control input via a graphical user interface."). Bagaria does not teach on the operation component, the section of the optical zoom is clearly indicated separately from a section of the digital zoom. However, Shimosato teaches on the operation component, the section of the optical zoom is clearly indicated separately from a section of the digital zoom (Shimosato, Step S309, pg. 7, ln. 3-5, "…the focal length related to the magnifying power in the zoom is 100 mm in the non-zoom state, 400 mm in the optical zoom state, and 800 mm in the optical zoom and the electronic zoom state. These three focal lengths [zoom state] are switched [toggled] in order each time the zoom button 74 is pressed.").
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimosato in view of Mitsumori & Kobayashi (WO 2021166264 A1, hereinafter, "Mitsumori").
Regarding Claim 7, Shimosato teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Mitsumori teaches the optical system device includes an external apparatus, and wherein the circuitry is further configured to remotely control the optical system device by communication via the operation app (Mitsumori, Fig. 3, pg. 4, para. 7, ln. 1-6, "The screen of the camera application is a landscape screen with the camera key 14 at the top. For example, a monitor screen 20 is displayed at the center of the touch screen 10. The user points the camera lens 17 at the subject and confirms the subject on the monitor screen 20. The user holds the end of the earpiece 15 side of the smartphone 1 with the left hand HL and the end of the mouthpiece with the right hand HR. The user performs a touch operation on the touch screen 10 with the thumb R1 of the right hand HR while holding down the camera key 14 with the index finger R2 of the right hand HR."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Mitsumori with those of Shimosato because it is well known in the art to utilize an external apparatus and remotely control an optical system via an app.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN DANIEL BARRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638