DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026, regarding previous claims 1-17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art of record (Jung et al US 2020/0007808 A1) fails to teach the limitations as currently constructed, specifically “a differencing circuit configured to receive, for each of the pixel circuits, two pixel signals successively transmitted from the pixel circuit on the data signal line within a same row selection interval, and to obtain a difference signal from the two pixel signals, wherein the solid-state imaging device is configured to control each pixel circuit to output a previous pixel signal and a new pixel signal in a same row selection interval, and wherein the previous pixel signal and the new pixel signal contain image information about an imaged scene at different points in time.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims as currently constructed, requires having a differencing circuit, two signals transmitted successively on the data signal line and to obtain a difference signal from the two pixel signals (emphasis added). The prior art teach having a differencing circuit (ADC 130 comprised of comparators 141 in comparison block 140), a row driver 120 for driving multiple pixels within a row, and a differencing signal from the pixel signals within said row). Lastly the image sensor 100 may capture multiple images (i.e. a first and second image) of the multiple pixels within the same row as controlled by row driver 120. Based on this interpretation, the prior art of Jung will remain. It is highly suggested to amend the claims further to highlight the inventive concept.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al (US 2020/0007808 A1).
As per claim 1, Jung discloses a solid-state imaging device (fig. 2, image sensor 100), comprising:
pixel circuits (fig. 2, image sensor 100, pixel array 110), wherein each pixel circuit (fig. 2, image sensor 100, pixel 111) is configured to output pixel signals on a data signal line in response to an active row select signal in a row selection interval, wherein each pixel circuit comprises a floating diffusion, and wherein a floating diffusion potential of the floating diffusion determines a voltage level of the pixel signals (fig. 4, pixel array 110, pixels 111a, row driver 120, floating diffusion capacitor Cf, floating diffusion node voltage VFD); and
a differencing circuit (fig. 2, image sensor 100, analog to digital converter (ADC) 130) configured to receive, for each of the pixel circuits (fig. 2, image sensor 100, pixel array 110, pixels 111), two pixel signals successively transmitted from the pixel circuit on the data signal line within a same row selection interval, and to obtain a difference signal from the two pixel signals (fig. 2, image sensor 100, pixel array 110, pixel 111, ADC 130, row driver 120, data signals are sent to row lines (RL) and outputted to column lines (CL) from multiple pixel(s) 111 and difference is calculated by comparison block 140),
wherein the solid-state imaging device (fig. 2, image sensor 100) is configured to control each pixel circuit (fig. 2, image sensor 100, pixel array 110, pixel 111) to output a previous pixel signal and a new pixel signal in a same row selection interval, and wherein the previous pixel signal and the new pixel signal contain image information about an imaged scene at different points in time (fig. 2, image sensor 100, row driver 120, buffer 180, may output a previous pixel signal and new pixel signal in a same row).
As per claim 2, Jung further discloses the solid-state imaging device according to according to claim 1,
wherein the solid-state imaging device is configured to control the floating diffusion to keep a floating diffusion potential from a readout of a new pixel signal in a first row selection interval for a pixel circuit until a readout of a previous pixel signal in a second row selection interval for the pixel circuit (fig. 2, image sensor 100, row driver 120, para 0026 and 0027).
As per claim 9, Jung further discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1,
wherein the pixel circuit further comprises a photoelectric conversion element configured to determine the floating diffusion potential by photocurrent (fig. 4, pixel 111, photodiode PD), and a transfer transistor configured to connect a cathode of the photoelectric conversion element (fig. 4, pixel 111, transfer transistor TX) and the floating diffusion in response to an active transfer signal in the row selection interval (fig. 4, pixel 111, floating diffusion capacitor Cf).
As per claim 10, Jung further discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 9,
wherein the pixel circuit further comprises a photodetector reset transistor configured to reset a potential at the cathode of the photoelectric conversion element to a fixed potential in response to an active photodetector reset signal (fig. 4, pixel 111, reset transistor RX, para 0058).
As per claim 12, the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the pixel circuit further comprises a floating diffusion reset transistor configured to connect the floating diffusion with a pixel reset voltage in response to at least an active floating diffusion reset signal, and further comprising
a threshold drift compensation circuit configured to control the pixel reset voltage as a function of a current voltage of the pixel signal on the data signal line (fig. 2, image sensor 100, row driver 120, CLP controller 121)
As per claim 13, Jung further discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a converter circuit configured to gate the difference signal with a threshold signal (fig. 2, image sensor 100, analog to digital converter (ADC) 130, para 0042-0045).
As per claim 14, Jung further discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 13,
wherein the converter circuit is configured to obtain digital event information from the difference signal (fig. 2, image sensor 100, analog to digital converter (ADC) 130, para 0042-0045).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US 2020/0007808 A1) in view of Niwa et al (US 2018/0270438 A1).
As per claim 3, the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1,
wherein the differencing circuit comprises an amplifier circuit, a sample capacitor in a first input leg between the data signal line and an inverting input of the amplifier circuit, and a switchable feedback path between an output of the amplifier circuit and the inverting input of the amplifier circuit.
Jung fails to teach the limitations as recited above in claim 3. However, Niwa discloses an imaging device having a column signal processing circuit 14 comprising a comparator 52 having signal lines 23a and 23b and feedback switch 73 between the output of the comparator and inverting input of the comparator 52 (Niwa, figs. 1 and 7, imaging element 11, signal processing circuit 14, comparator 52, para 0101-0103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Jung in view of Niwa, as a whole, by incorporating the signal processing circuit elements of as disclosed by Niwa, into the imaging device as taught by Jung, because doing so would provide a more efficient way of processing the output of image signals captured, thus enhancing the image being outputted.
As per claim 4, the combined teachings of Jung in view of Niwa, as a whole, further discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 3,
wherein the solid-state imaging device is configured to control the differencing circuit to sample a voltage corresponding to a signal level of a first pixel signal across the sample capacitor in a first phase, and to obtain the difference signal from a difference between the voltage sampled at the sample capacitor and a voltage level of a second pixel signal applied to an input electrode of the sample capacitor in a second phase (Niwa, fig. 7, comparator 52, output lines 23a and 23b, voltages 42a and 42b, capacitors 71a and 71b).
As per claim 6, the combined teachings of Jung in view of Niwa, as a whole, further discloses the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a noise reduction circuit configured to reduce kTC noise in the pixel signals prior to obtaining the difference signal (Niwa, para 0103).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 18 recites: “A solid-state imaging device, comprising:
pixel circuits, each pixel circuit configured to output pixel signals on a data signal line in response to an active row select signal in a row selection interval, each pixel circuit comprising a floating diffusion, a floating diffusion potential of the floating diffusion determining a voltage level of the pixel signals; and
a differencing circuit configured to receive, for each of the pixel circuits, two pixel signals successively transmitted from the pixel circuit on the data signal line within a same row selection interval, and to obtain a difference signal from the two pixel signals,
wherein the differencing circuit comprises a fully differential amplifier and a sample/hold circuit electrically connected in a first input leg between the data signal line and a first input of the fully differential amplifier, a second input leg couples the data signal line and a second input of the fully differential amplifier, and
the solid-state imaging device is configured to control each pixel circuit to output a previous pixel signal and a new pixel signal in a same row selection interval, the previous pixel signal and the new pixel signal containing image information about an imaged scene at different points in time.”
The closest prior art of record relied upon is Jung et al (US 2020/0007808 A1) which discloses an image sensor having a pixel array comprised of floating diffusion capacitor and floating diffusion node, further comprising a ADC circuit with a row driver for selecting multiple pixels within a row and imaging multiple signals to be output. However, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasis that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, wherein the differencing circuit comprises a fully differential amplifier and a sample/hold circuit electrically connected in a first input leg between the data signal line and a first input of the fully differential amplifier, a second input leg couples the data signal line and a second input of the fully differential amplifier, and the solid-state imaging device is configured to control each pixel circuit to output a previous pixel signal and a new pixel signal in a same row selection interval, the previous pixel signal and the new pixel signal containing image information about an imaged scene at different points in time. Claim 20 recites the same/similar limitations as recited above in claim 18, and is thus allowed. Claim 19 depends on independent claim 18, and is thus allowed.
Claims 5, 7, 8, 11, and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasis that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the solid-state imaging device according to claim 3, wherein the solid-state imaging device is configured to control the differencing circuit to sample a voltage corresponding to a signal level of a previous pixel signal across the sample capacitor in a first phase, and to obtain the difference signal from a difference between the voltage sampled at the sample capacitor and a voltage level of a next pixel signal applied to an input electrode of the sample capacitor in a second phase, wherein the previous pixel signal and the new pixel signal contain image information about an imaged scene at different points in time.
Regarding claim 7, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasis that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the differencing circuit comprises a fully differential amplifier and a sample/hold circuit electrically connected in a first input leg between the data signal line and a first input of the fully differential amplifier, and wherein a second input leg couples the data signal line and a second input of the fully differential amplifier.
Regarding claim 8, claims depend from claim 7, and are allowable for the same reasons stated above.
Regarding claim 11, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasis that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the pixel circuit further comprises a floating diffusion reset transistor configured to connect the floating diffusion with a pixel reset voltage in response to at least an active floating diffusion reset signal, and wherein the pixel circuit further comprises an auxiliary transistor electrically connected in series between the floating diffusion reset transistor and a node supplying the pixel reset voltage and configured to connect the floating diffusion reset transistor to the node supplying the pixel reset voltage in response to an active auxiliary signal, and a pixel coupling capacitor electrically connected in parallel to the floating diffusion reset transistor.
Regarding claim 15, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasis that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the solid-state imaging device according to claim 13, the solid-state imaging device according to wherein the converter circuit comprises an analog-to-digital converter, and wherein the solid-state imaging device is configured to control the analog-to-digital converter such that the difference signal is quantized with high accuracy only when after k out of N possible quantization steps the difference signal is above a predefined frame difference threshold.
Regarding claim 16, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasis that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the solid-state imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the differencing circuit comprises an amplifier circuit, a sample capacitor in a first input leg between the data signal line and an inverting input of the amplifier circuit, and an autozero switch element between an output of the amplifier circuit and the inverting input of the amplifier circuit, and wherein the differencing circuit is configured to receive a variable threshold signal at the non-inverting input of the amplifier circuit.
Regarding claim 17, claims depend from claim 16, and are allowable for the same reasons stated above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN H MOREHEAD III/Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639