Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “shielding element” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “actuator adapted to” in claims 5-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “actuator” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The term “actuator” is known in the art to take a myriad of configurations. The specification recites the claim language, not providing sufficient structure for the type, size, or configuration of the actuator. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Until this is rectified, the claims have not been examined in light of the prior art.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NL 2001506 C2 (hereinafter Antonius) in view of US 20060141108 A1 (hereinafter Tene).
Regarding claim 1, Antonius discloses a device for singulating food products (pg. 4, first full paragraph) which are supplied in bulk, such as pre-cooked sausages, comprising: a drum arranged for rotation about a horizontally oriented axis of rotation (Fig. 1, No 11); a housing for partially enclosing the drum (Fig. 1, No. 2), which housing is closed at least at the bottom and is at least partly open (Fig. 4, No. 20) for feeding the food products in bulk into the drum (Fig. 1, No. 2), the drum further including, a plurality of gutters extending on the inside of a circumferential wall of the drum (Fig. 4, No. 22), wherein each of the gutters has a width which at least substantially corresponds to the width of the food products to be separated, for ejecting the singulated food products out of the gutters through rotation of the drum (Fig. 4).
Antonius does not disclose that the gutters are substantially the length of the barrel. Tene discloses gutters are substantially the length of the drum (Fig. 1, No. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the singulation device of Antonius with the gutters of Tene. The motivation would be to have a greater effective surface area contact with the food being singulated.
Neither Antonius nor Tene discloses a circular housing, but a difference in shape does not warrant non-obviousness. A change in the physical configuration of an invention of an invention is a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention was significant. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2, Antonius and Tene disclose the device of claim 1. Antonius further discloses that the gutters are arranged to rotate about a longitudinal axis relative to the drum (pg. 3, last line to page 4, first line).
Regarding claim 3, Antonius and Tene disclose the device of claim 1. Antonius further discloses a housing that is open at one side, but not the top (Fig. 1, Nos. 2 & 20). Tene discloses a drum that is open at the top for receiving the food products supplied in bulk and wherein the food products are ejected from the housing in a direction transverse to the longitudinal direction of the gutters (Fig. 1, No. 14).
Regarding claim 4, Antonius and Tene disclose the device of claim 1. Antonius further discloses wherein the housing is completely open on one base of the cylindrical housing for receiving the food products supplied in bulk (Fig. 4, No. 20), on the other base of the cylindrical housing is open for singular ejection of the food products in line with the longitudinal direction of the gutters (Fig. 4, No. 25).
Regarding claim 9, Antonius and Tene disclose the device of claim 1. Tene further discloses the drum is provided with three gutters extending over the length of the drum on the inside of a wall of the drum (claim 32).
Regarding claim 11, Antonius and Tene disclose the device of claim 2. Antonius further discloses a housing that is open at one side, but not the top (Fig. 1, Nos. 2 & 20). Tene discloses a drum that is open at the top for receiving the food products supplied in bulk and wherein the food products are ejected from the housing in a direction transverse to the longitudinal direction of the gutters (Fig. 1, No. 14).
Regarding claim 12, Antonius and Tene disclose the device of claim 2. Antonius further discloses wherein the housing is completely open on one base of the cylindrical housing for receiving the food products supplied in bulk (Fig. 4, No. 20), on the other base of the cylindrical housing is open for singular ejection of the food products in line with the longitudinal direction of the gutters (Fig. 4, No. 25).
Regarding claim 13, Antonius and Tene disclose the device of claim 2. Tene further discloses that the drum is provided with three gutters extending over the length of the drum on the inside of a wall of the drum (claim 32).
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonius in view of Tene in further view of US 20030129289 A1 (hereinafter Henricksen).
Antonius and Tene disclose the device of claims 1 and 2, as well as gutters and separated food products. They do not disclose a shielding element. Henricksen discloses a shielding element movable relative to the housing, which shielding element can be slid in front of an ejection opening of the housing for blocking the ejection of the food products (Fig. 8, No. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Antonius and Tene with the shielding element of Henricksen. The motivation would be to selectively dispense food product whenever it is needed, as opposed to continuously (Henricksen ¶0031).
Conclusion
/AMARI J MEDDLING/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651