DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/11/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/23/2024 has been entered. Claims 3-6, 8-12 and 15-16 are amended, and Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “either of X-ray diffraction, particle size distribution, optical microscopy and SEM/EDX” in step (b) raises ambiguity about which tests must show no detectable fluoride accumulations. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “said source of phosphate and transition metal” in line 1 of the claim and claim 1, from which claim 2 depends recites “a phosphate source and a source of metal other than lithium” in step (a). There is insufficient antecedent basis for “said transition metal” in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “said dopants” in step (c1) and claim 1 from which claim 6 depends, recites the limitation “optional elements M1” so it is unclear whether said dopants refers to M1 sources, the fluoride dopant, or additional dopants. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 also recites the limitation “said oxide or (oxy)hydroxide of TM” in step (c2) however, claim 1 from which claim 6 depends, introduces a source of metal but never identify that source as an oxide or (oxy)hydroxide or define TM. This limitation lacks antecedent basis and leaves uncertainty about whether it specifies the previously recited metal or introduces another material. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 inherits the ambiguities of claim 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “said source of phosphate and transition metal” in step (c2) of the claim and claim 1, from which claim 8 depends, recites “a phosphate source and a source of metal other than lithium” in step (a). There is insufficient antecedent basis for “said transition metal” in the claim.
Claim 9 recites steps (a1-a4) however claim 9 is dependent on claim 1 which does not use steps (a1-a4) and only are introduced in claim 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for steps (a1-a4) in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3-5 and 10-12 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as they ultimately depend from claim 1 which stands rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the secondary particles" in lines 5-6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 14-17 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as they ultimately depend from claim 13 which stands rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (CN 104409688 A - Machine Translation referenced for citation), hereinafter "Pan" in view of Choy et al. (US 20100233540 A1), hereinafter "Choy" as evidenced by Wang (CN 113991071 A - Machine Translation referenced for citation), hereinafter "Wang" and Peng et al. (CN 112234176 A - Machine Translation referenced for citation), hereinafter "Peng".
In regard to Claims 13-15, Pan et al. discloses a particulate cathode active material according to the general formula LiFe(1. x)MIx(PO4)1-yF3y by disclosing LiFe (PO 4) 0.99f 0.03/ C which has x=0, y=0.01, a carbon coating and M1 not required when x=0 (Pan, Embodiment 2). While Pan is silent as to the average particle diameter (D50) the skilled artisan would be well aware of this variable as taught in Choy et al.
Choy discloses an olivine-type lithium iron phosphate composed of secondary particles having a mean particle diameter (D50) of 5 to 40µm (Choy, Abstract, [0043]), which overlaps the claimed range and has the advantage of improved processing, reduced binder and solvent requirements, shorter mixing/drying periods and suitable slurry behavior (Choy, Abstract, [0017, 0034]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide the LFP secondary particles with overlapping particle size as taught in Choy as the LFP particles of Pan as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Choy an as doing so would amount to nothing more than selecting the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference, as overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
While Pan et al. discloses fluorine incorporated into the crystal lattice (Pan, Abstract), it is silent as to the uniform distribution or accumulation at the particle surface. However, the skilled artisan would be well aware of uniform distribution and surface accumulation of fluoride in an F doped cathode as evidenced by Wang and Peng et al.
Wang discloses uniform dopant distribution in fluorinated LFP through precursor preparation with a benefit of excellent platform voltage stability and multiplying power performance (Wang, Abstract, (19)) and Peng discloses a cathode active material wherein F is uniformly distributed in such cathode active material and not accumulated at the outer surface of the secondary particles (absence of a surface to interior concentration gradient) of such cathode active material and wherein fluoride is not accumulated at the outer surface of the secondary particles but is inside of the secondary particles with an advantage of this property being taught as providing improved crystal stability and reduced voltage attenuation (Peng, Abstract, 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide the F doped lithium iron phosphate with F incorporated into the crystal lattice as disclosed in Pan with wherein F is uniformly distributed in such cathode active material and not accumulated at the outer surface of the secondary particles of such cathode active material and wherein fluoride is not accumulated at the outer surface of the secondary particles but is inside of the secondary particles as taught in Wang and Peng as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Wang and Peng and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regard to Claims 16-17, Pan in view of Choy as evidenced by Wang and Peng et al. discloses a cathode containing the particulate cathode active material according to claim 13. Pan et al. also discloses a full cell battery comprising the cathode which reasonably includes an anode and electrolyte (Pan, [0067]) but is silent as to conductive carbon and a binder in the cathode layer. However, the skilled artisan would be well aware of LFP cathode active materials with a binder and conductive additive as taught by Choy et al.
Choy discloses a beneficial LFP cathode, binder, conductive carbon in a full cell with anode and electrolyte (Choy, Example 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide the known configuration of LFP cathode cell taught in Choy as the cell of Pan as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of success and as doing so would amount to nothing more than selecting a known configuration to improve similar devices in the same way.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1-12 are indicated allowable pending formal requirements discussed under the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 section above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The present invention is related to, inter alia, a process for the manufacture of a fluoride doped cathode active material with olivine crystal structure, providing a source of lithium that contains 0.01 to 2.5 % by weight of fluoride, uniformly dispersed within said source of lithium wherein the source of lithium is selected from lithium hydroxide and lithium carbonate and wherein the fluoride-containing source of lithium is mixed with an additional source of lithium containing less fluoride.
Wang (CN 113991071 A - Machine Translation referenced for citation), is considered to be the closest relevant prior art to independent claim 1. Wang et al. discloses uniform dopant distribution in fluorinated LFP through precursor preparation with a benefit of excellent platform voltage stability and multiplying power performance (Wang, Abstract, (19)) wherein iron phosphate, ferrous oxalate and phosphoric acid are mixed with LioH and Li2CO3 and treating the mixture at a temp of 700°C for 12 hours in an inert atmosphere (Wang, Example 3). However, Wang fails to disclose, teach, fairly suggest or render obvious the fluorine content in the LiOH or Li2Co3 lithium sources and that in the source of lithium, no separate crystals or accumulations of fluorides of LiF may be detected by either of X-ray diffraction, particle size distribution, optical microscopy and SEM/EDX. In fact, the in-situ fluorine source for doping in Wang is provided separately as HF in the cathode slurry.
Rohde et al. (WO 2021018778 A1 - US20220274841A1 referenced for citations), is also considered relevant prior art to independent claim 1. Rohde discloses a thermally treated spent battery material treated with an alkaline earth hydroxide treatment and separation to recover lithium, evaporating/drying to obtain fluoride containing LiOH wherein the fluoride content is in a range of 0.1-1.29wt% (Rohde, Abstract, [0122]) which overlaps the claimed range and is substantially similar to the process used in the current application to produce a lithium source comprising LiOH with a fluoride content in the claimed range that has no separate crystals or accumulations of fluorides of LiF may be detected by either of X-ray diffraction, particle size distribution, optical microscopy and SEM/EDX. However, Rohde fails to disclose, teach, fairly suggest or render obvious providing this material as a first lithium source and mixed with a second lithium source which has less fluoride than the first lithium source and also fails to suggest using the recovered LiOH with fluoride as a Fluoride source in a lithium iron phosphate cathode. In fact, it would not be an obvious combination to provide the fluoride containing LiOH from Rohde as the LiOH in Wang explicitly as a fluoride source as Wang already provides HF as a separate fluoride source and only provides LiOH and Li2CO3 as lithium sources.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Xu et al. (CN 105845913 A) discloses ion co-doped lithium iron phosphate material and its preparation method. the multiple ion co-doped lithium iron phosphate material chemical formula is Li1-zMzFe1-yVy (PO4) 1-xFx/C, wherein x is not less than 0.001 and not more than 0.1 and not more than 0.001, y is not less than 0.1 and not more than 0.001, z is not less than 0.1, M is the metal ion of lithium doping (Xu, Abstract).
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725