DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed October 21, 2024 is acknowledged. However, the Examiner notes the artifact folder containing the references cited therein has not yet provided to the Examiner internally for consideration. Upon receipt, the references on this IDS will be considered and a notice will be mailed informing Applicant.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the tapered bushing being split, as set forth in claim 18, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 10 first recites “an output shaft” as part of an intended use of a rotatable assembly in lines 1-2. However, the claim goes on to positively recited the output shaft in lines 5-6, in reciting “the output shaft is arranged in the central opening of the tapered bushing, and wherein the key is engaged with the keyway”. It is therefore unclear from the claim whether Applicant is intending to claim the output shaft in combination with the rotatable assembly, or merely claim the rotatable assembly as a subcombination, where --the output shaft is configured to be arranged in the central opening of the tapered bushing, and wherein the key is configured to be engaged with the keyway--. Given dependent claim 16 further recites “an electric motor” as part of the rotatable assembly, it would appear Applicant intends to claim the output shaft in combination with the rotatable assembly, and therefore, for the purpose of this action, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as such. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 11-18 inherit the above issue for depending upon rejected independent claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2,787,483 (Harvey).
Regarding claim 4, Harvey discloses a method of making a rotatable assembly (see Figures 1-3 and annotated Figure 1 below), the method comprising:
engaging a tapered bushing (11) with an output shaft (see column 1, lines 14-16) such that a keyway (17) of the tapered bushing engages a key of the output shaft (see column 2, lines 14-16);
engaging a bushing lock (see annotated Figure 1 below) on the output shaft adjacent to the tapered bushing such that a keyway of the bushing lock engages the key of the output shaft (see Figure 2;
securing the bushing lock to the output shaft against axial movement (see column 1, lines 38-49);
engaging a tapered adapter (12) with the tapered bushing such that a tapered mating surface (see column 2, lines 17-18, and annotated Figure 1 below) of the tapered adapter engages a tapered mating surface (13) of the tapered bushing (see Figure 2); and
engaging a fastener (20) between the tapered adapter and the tapered bushing (see Figure 2 and column 2, lines 17-41).
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 2 of Harvey
Regarding claim 5, Harvey discloses the tapered adapter (12) has an interior cavity, and wherein the bushing lock (see annotated Figure 1 above) is positioned inside the interior cavity of the tapered adapter (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Harvey discloses removing a fan (sprocket 10 reading on a fan, as it has blades which are capable of moving air) having a hub (shown accepting bolts 20) with a tapered mating surface from the tapered bushing (11; see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Harvey discloses the step of removing the fan (10) having the hub with tapered mating surface from the tapered bushing (11) occurs prior to the step of engaging the tapered adapter (12) with the tapered bushing (see column 2, lines 17-41).
Regarding claim 9, Harvey discloses the step of securing the bushing lock (see annotated Figure 1 above) to the output shaft against axial movement comprises tightening a fastener engaged with the bushing lock (see annotated Figure 1 above) against the output shaft (see column 1, lines 14-16, 38-49).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 and 19-20 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 1-3, Harvey discloses kit for a drivetrain of a rotatable assembly (see Figures 1-3 and annotated Figure 1 above) that includes an output shaft having a key (see column 2, lines 14-16), the kit comprising:
a tapered bushing (11) having a flange (14), a sleeve portion, a central opening, a keyway (17), and at least one fastener hole (22) in the flange, wherein the sleeve portion has a tapered mating surface (13) facing outward, and wherein the keyway is located along the central opening (see Figures 1 and 2, and annotated Figure 1 above);
a tapered adapter (12) having a hub body, an interior cavity, and at least one fastener hole (21, 23) extending substantially axially through the hub body (see Figure 2), wherein a tapered mating surface (see column 2, lines 17-18, and annotated Figure 1 above) is located along the interior cavity and faces inward (see Figures 2 and 3), wherein the respective tapered mating surfaces of the tapered bushing and the tapered adapter are configured to be engageable with each other (see Figures 2 and 3), and wherein the at least one fastener hole of the tapered adapter and the at least one fastener hole of the tapered bushing are configured to align to engage at least one fastener therebetween when the respective tapered mating surfaces of the tapered bushing and the tapered adapter are engaged (see column 2, lines 17-41); and
a bushing lock (see annotated Figure 1 above) having a bushing lock central opening extending axially, a keyway (see annotated Figure 1 above) located along the bushing lock central opening, and a fastener hole extending substantially radially, wherein the bushing lock is configured to be securable on the output shaft adjacent to the tapered bushing (see column 1, lines 38-49).
Harvey fails to disclose a threaded shaft extending axially forward from a center of an end face portion of the hub body opposite the interior cavity.
The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to Harvey such that a threaded shaft extending axially forward from a center of an end face portion of the hub body opposite the interior cavity. Further, Harvey does not require such a modification, as the fasteners (20) provide for the clamping between the tapered bushing, tapered adapter, and output shaft, and therefore, such a modification would be redundant and thus, add weight and teach away from the intended structure of the rotatable assembly of Harvey.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Harvey discloses a tapered adapter (12) for a rotatable assembly (see Figures 1-3 and annotated Figure 1 above), the tapered adapter comprising:
a hub body (see annotated Figure 1 above) that is continuous in a circumferential direction (see Figure 1) includes:
an axially-extending portion having a cylindrical shape (see annotated Figure 1 above);
an end face portion (left end in Figure 2) extending radially and located at a distal end of the axially-extending portion (see Figure 2); and
a tapered mating surface facing inward and having a frusto-conical shape (see annotated Figure 1 above);
an interior cavity, wherein the interior cavity is bounded by both the axially-extending portion and the end face portion and has a rear face (right end of Figure 2) that is open opposite the end face portion, and wherein the tapered mating surface is located along the interior cavity (see Figure 2); and
at least one fastener hole (21, 23) extending substantially axially and passing entirely through the axially-extending portion of the hub body (see Figures 2 and 3).
Harvey fails to disclose a threaded shaft extending axially forward from a center of the end face portion of the hub body opposite the interior cavity and aligned with an axis of rotation of the tapered adapter, wherein the threaded shaft is the only portion of the tapered adapter that has threads that encircle the axis of rotation.
The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to Harvey such that a threaded shaft extending axially forward from a center of the end face portion of the hub body opposite the interior cavity and aligned with an axis of rotation of the tapered adapter, wherein the threaded shaft is the only portion of the tapered adapter that has threads that encircle the axis of rotation. Further, Harvey does not require such a modification, as the fasteners (20) provide for the clamping between the tapered bushing, tapered adapter, and output shaft, and therefore, such a modification would be redundant and thus, add weight and teach away from the intended structure of the rotatable assembly of Harvey.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Harvey discloses method of claim 5, wherein the tapered adapter (11) further includes a hub body with an end face portion (left end of 11 in Figure 2), but fails to disclose a threaded shaft extending axially forward from a center of the end face portion opposite the interior cavity, the method further comprising engaging a clutch with the threaded shaft of the tapered adapter.
The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to Harvey such that a threaded shaft extending axially forward from a center of the end face portion opposite the interior cavity, the method further comprising engaging a clutch with the threaded shaft of the tapered adapter. Further, Harvey does not require such a modification, as the fasteners (20) provide for the clamping between the tapered bushing, tapered adapter, and output shaft, and therefore, such a modification would be redundant and thus, add weight and teach away from the intended structure of the rotatable assembly of Harvey.
Claims 10-18 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Harvey discloses a rotatable assembly (see Figures 1-3 and annotated Figure 1 above) providing a drivetrain to transmit torque from an output shaft, the output shaft having a key and being rotatable (see column 2, lines 14-16), the rotatable assembly comprising:
a tapered bushing (11) having a flange (14), a sleeve portion (see annotated Figure 1 above), a central opening (see annotated Figure 1 above), and a keyway (17), wherein the sleeve portion has a tapered mating surface (13) facing outward, wherein the output shaft is arranged in the central opening of the tapered bushing, and wherein the key is engaged with the keyway (see Figure 2 and column 2, lines 14-16);
a tapered adapter (12) having a hub body with an end face portion (left end in Figure 2), an interior cavity, and, wherein a tapered mating surface (see annotated Figure 1 above) is located along the interior cavity and faces inward, wherein the respective tapered mating surfaces of the tapered bushing and the tapered adapter engaged with each other, and wherein the flange of the tapered bushing and the hub body of the tapered adapter are secured together with a fastener (20; see Figure 2); and
a bushing lock (see annotated Figure 1 above), a keyway engaged with the key (see annotated Figure 1 above), a fastener hole extending substantially radially with a fastener engaged with the output shaft and the fastener hole in the bushing lock (see Figure 2), wherein the bushing lock is positioned adjacent to the tapered bushing such that the tapered bushing is axially retained on the output shaft (see annotated Figure 1 above).
Harvey fails to disclose a threaded shaft extending axially forward from a center of the end face portion opposite the interior cavity.
The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to Harvey such that a threaded shaft extending axially forward from a center of the end face portion opposite the interior cavity. Further, Harvey does not require such a modification, as the fasteners (20) provide for the clamping between the tapered bushing, tapered adapter, and output shaft, and therefore, such a modification would be redundant and thus, add weight and teach away from the intended structure of the rotatable assembly of Harvey.
Harvey further fails to disclose the bushing lock having a bushing lock central opening in which the output shaft is arranged. Harvey instead discloses the bushing lock being in the form of a radially extending set screw which may be rotated in order to provide a clamping force against the output shaft. The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to Harvey such that the set screw is replaced with a structure having a bushing lock central opening in which the output shaft is arranged. Further, given the bushing lock is in the form of a set screw, it is altogether impossible to provide it with an opening in which the output shaft may be arranged. Further still, such a modification would teach away from the simplistic locking structure of the set screw of Harvey and thus, add weight and teach away from the intended structure of the rotatable assembly of Harvey.
Conclusion
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure in the field of adapters for rotatable assemblies.
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
August 26, 2026