DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should be 50 to 150 words in length, and the present abstract has more than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Massand (U.S. 2014/0380201).
With regard to claim 1, Massand teaches a system configured to operate applications of a construction equipment ([abstract] including detecting a presence of multiple monitors installed in a computer system; [0039] a computer system is connected to a network, it may communicate with other network connected devices using any suitable protocol and can be implemented using one or more programmed computer systems or devices), comprising:
a plurality of displays ([abstract] multiple monitor layout displays); and
a control device connected to the plurality of displays through wired or wireless communication ([0039] subsystems of the exemplary embodiments can include, for example, any suitable servers, workstations, PCs, laptop computers, PDAs, Internet appliances, handheld devices, cellular telephones, wireless devices, …a computer system is connected to a network, it may communicate with other network connected devices using any suitable protocol and can be implemented using one or more programmed computer systems or devices) and configured to control to display execution screens of a plurality of applications in the plurality of displays ([0007] the presence of multiple monitors and present preset configurations for displaying of content (e.g., windows within computer applications, various GUIs of computer applications, dialog windows within computer applications, dialog windows related to operating systems, etc.)),
wherein the control device is configured to:
determine a layout mode of each of the plurality of displays (Fig. 3; [0008] configuration of multiple monitor layout displays, including detecting a presence of multiple monitors installed in a computer system; configuring layouts for the multiple monitors, including, configuring at least one of size, shape and location of corresponding displays of the multiple monitors); and
control to display an execution screen of at least one application in each of the plurality of displays according to the determined layout mode (Fig. 3; [0013] FIG. 3 is a diagram of a GUI that enables users to create and save multiple layout configurations for each computer application and across applications), and
wherein the layout mode comprises at least one among an entire screen mode (Fig. 3; [0029] Monitor 1 shown at 306, one can see in this example, the first iteration of a Microsoft Word document is displayed so that it fills the entirety of that monitor. On Monitor 2 shown at 308, the second and third iterations of a Microsoft Word are displayed, so that they each take up roughly half of the available screen space on that monitor) in which an execution screen of one application is displayed in a specified application display area (Figs. 3-4; [0029] the system and method's GUI, to create and save multiple layout configurations for each computer application installed on their computer and across applications. FIG. 3 illustrates two examples of the GUI. In 302, there is illustrated the creation of a new default layout. In 304, there is illustrated the listing of computer applications on the system (in the hypothetical) in which default multiple monitor layouts can be pre-configured. Users first select the application they wish to define within the monitor space), and a divided screen mode in which the specified application display area is divided into two or more areas and execution screens of different applications are displayed in each of the division areas (Fig. 3, 308 and 314; Fig. 7, 704; [0029] On Monitor 2 shown at 308, the second and third iterations of a Microsoft Word are displayed, so that they each take up roughly half of the available screen space on that monitor…On Monitor 1 shown at 314, one can see in this example, the first iteration of a Microsoft Word document is displayed on the left half of the screen and on the right half, the second iteration of a Microsoft Word document and the first iteration of a Change-Pro document are displayed; [0033] In FIG. 7, the GUI 702 gives the users the ability to draw boxes in display areas for each monitor (704 shows Monitor 1 in this example and 706 shows Monitor 2)).
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Massand teaches wherein the control device is configured to determine the layout mode according to attributes of the plurality of applications (Fig. 3, 308 and 314; Fig. 7, 704; [0029] On Monitor 2 shown at 308, the second and third iterations of a Microsoft Word are displayed, so that they each take up roughly half of the available screen space on that monitor…On Monitor 1 shown at 314, one can see in this example, the first iteration of a Microsoft Word document is displayed on the left half of the screen and on the right half, the second iteration of a Microsoft Word document and the first iteration of a Change-Pro document are displayed; [0033] In FIG. 7, the GUI 702 gives the users the ability to draw boxes in display areas for each monitor (704 shows Monitor 1 in this example and 706 shows Monitor 2)).
With regard to claim 3, the limitations are addressed above and Massand teaches wherein the control device is configured to:
provide a user interface capable of setting the layout mode of the plurality of displays through one among the plurality of displays ([0029] to create and save multiple layout configurations for each computer application installed on their computer and across applications. FIG. 3 illustrates two examples of the GUI. In 302, there is illustrated the creation of a new default layout. In 304, there is illustrated the listing of computer applications on the system (in the hypothetical) in which default multiple monitor layouts can be pre-configured; [0033] The ability to allow users to create their own customized default layout settings for multiple monitors can be provided by the manufacturers of computer applications. FIG. 7 illustrates a diagram of an example of how computer application manufacturers can integrate the capacity for users to create customized preconfigured multiple monitor layouts in their programs); and
set up the layout mode of at least one among the plurality of displays based on an input by a user through the user interface ([claim 4] an input designating at least one user-defined characteristic of how to display content on at least one of the display devices).
With regard to claim 4, the limitations are addressed above and Massand teaches wherein the control device is configured to:
determine one among the plurality of displays to be a main display (Fig. 3, 306 and 314; [0029] On Monitor 1 shown at 306, one can see in this example, the first iteration of a Microsoft Word document is displayed so that it fills the entirety of that monitor) and a remaining one thereof to be a sub display based on the input by a user through the user interface ([claim 17] receive, via the graphical user interface, an input designating at least one user-defined characteristic of how to display content on at least one of the display devices; configure a user-defined display device layout based on the at least one user-defined characteristic); and
dispose one specified application among the plurality of applications in the main display or the sub display with priority ([0029] in this example, layouts are defined for multiple applications and multiple iterations of those applications. In 312, one can see the listing of computer applications on the system (in the hypothetical) in which default multiple monitor layouts can be pre-configured. Users first select the application they wish to define within the monitor space; [claim 7] receiving, via the graphical user interface, a selection of a first application for generating content displayed in the first application window).
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Massand teaches wherein when the layout mode of the main display is the divided screen mode (Fig. 3; Fig. 7), the control device is configured to:
divide application display area of the main display into two or more division areas (Fig. 3; Fig. 7); and
dispose the specified application in a first division area among the two or more division areas with priority ([0029] layouts are defined for multiple applications and multiple iterations of those applications; [0030] the user is provided with the option to create additional boxes at step 412, either on that same monitor or on a different monitor and either for the next iteration of the same computer application or for the first iteration of a different computer application).
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Massand teaches wherein the control device is configured to dispose an application other than the specified application in a second division area among the two or more division areas (Fig. 3; [0029] layouts are defined for multiple applications and multiple iterations of those applications. In 312, one can see the listing of computer applications on the system (in the hypothetical) in which default multiple monitor layouts can be pre-configured; [0030] the user is provided with the option to create additional boxes at step 412, either on that same monitor or on a different monitor and either for the next iteration of the same computer application or for the first iteration of a different computer application).
With regard to claim 7, the limitations are addressed above and Massand teaches wherein the control device is configured to:
determine a main display (Fig. 3, 306 and 316; [0029] On Monitor 1 shown at 306, one can see in this example, the first iteration of a Microsoft Word document is displayed so that it fills the entirety of that monitor) based on at least one among size information of each of display areas of the plurality of displays ([abstract] configuring layouts for the multiple monitors, including, configuring at least one of size, shape and location of corresponding displays of the multiple monitors, and configuring at least one of size, shape and location of content for display on the multiple monitors), resolution information of each of the plurality of displays ([0045] Thus, the present invention includes recognition that currently existing multiple monitor management applications, although enabling users to drag and resize displays of content within and across monitors), communication method information of each of the plurality of displays (Fig. 3; Fig. 7) and order information of the plurality of displays connected to the control device ([0025] to view those documents in that preferred layout by selecting that layout from a list of pre-configured multiple monitor layouts; [0027] the system and method provides a GUI in which users can create, manage and save new layouts for displays of content within and across multiple monitors. At step 108, the system and method provides users with the ability to create, manage and save new layouts for displays of content within and across multiple monitors through a standalone option integrated with an operating system), and
provide the user interface through the main display (Fig. 3, 306 and 314; [0029] On Monitor 1 shown at 306, one can see in this example, the first iteration of a Microsoft Word document is displayed so that it fills the entirety of that monitor).
With regard to claim 8, the limitations are addressed above and Massand teaches wherein when a layout mode of a first display among the plurality of displays is the divided screen mode ([0027] provides a range of tools to display multiple monitor layout configurations when multiple monitors are detected…The system and method then provides the potential of multiple mechanisms to manage preconfigured multiple monitor layout settings), the control device is configured to:
divide application display area of the first display into two or more division areas ([0029] In 304, there is illustrated the listing of computer applications on the system (in the hypothetical) in which default multiple monitor layouts can be pre-configured. Users first select the application they wish to define within the monitor space…layouts are defined for multiple applications and multiple iterations of those applications); and
control the first display such that each of the two or more division areas displays execution screens of different applications based on an input by a user with respect to the two or more division areas ([0029] On Monitor 1 shown at 314, one can see in this example, the first iteration of a Microsoft Word document is displayed on the left half of the screen and on the right half, the second iteration of a Microsoft Word document and the first iteration of a Change-Pro document are displayed. On Monitor 2 shown at 316, the second iteration of a Change-Pro document is displayed so that it takes up the entirety of the screen space of that monitor; [claim 4] receiving, via the graphical user interface, an input designating at least one user-defined characteristic of how to display content on at least one of the display devices).
With regard to claim 9, the limitations are addressed above and Massand teaches wherein when an event of selecting an application to be executed is detected with respect to an entire area of the entire screen mode or each of the division areas of the divided screen mode according to the layout mode determined for each of the plurality of displays (Fig. 3, 306, 308, 314 and 316; Fig. 7, 704 and 706; Fig. 9, 906 and 908), the control device is configured to:
display a list of applications executable in the area in which the event of selecting an application to be executed is detected (Fig. 3, 304 and 312; Fig. 9, 904; [0029] In 304, there is illustrated the listing of computer applications on the system (in the hypothetical) in which default multiple monitor layouts can be pre-configured…In 312, one can see the listing of computer applications on the system (in the hypothetical) in which default multiple monitor layouts can be pre-configured);
select one application from the list (Fig. 3, 304 and 312; Fig. 9, 904; [0025] a mechanism to view those documents in that preferred layout by selecting that layout from a list of pre-configured multiple monitor layouts; [0035] At 904, one can see the listing of computer applications installed on the computer (in the hypothetical) in which default multiple monitor layouts can be pre-configured); and
control an execution screen of the selected application to be displayed in the area in which the event of selecting an application to be executed is detected (Fig. 3, 306, 308, 314 and 316; Fig. 7, 704 and 706; Fig. 9, 906 and 908).
With regard to claim 10, the limitations are addressed above and Massand teaches wherein in a state in which an execution screen of a first application is displayed in a first area of one display among the plurality of displays ([claim 7] receiving, via the graphical user interface, a selection of a first application for generating content displayed in the first application window), the control device is configured to:
detect an input by a user requiring execution of a second application in the first area ([claim 8] a location of a second application window displayed on a second display device connected to the computer system; [claim 17] an input designating at least one user-defined characteristic of how to display content on at least one of the display devices; configure a user-defined display device layout based on the at least one user-defined characteristic);
change an area in which the execution screen of the first application is displayed to a second area according to an attribute of the first application in response to the input by a user (Fig. 3; 304 and 312; [0035] the first iteration of a Microsoft Word document is displayed so that it fills half of the monitor space, while the other half is shared by the second iteration of a Microsoft Word document and the first iteration of a Change-Pro document. On Monitor 2 shown at 908, the first iteration of a Microsoft Excel document and the second iteration of a Change-Pro document share the monitor screen); and
control an execution screen of the second application to be displayed in the first area ([0034] At step 804, the user selects the "Custom Multiple Monitor Display Settings" option from the application's menu selections. When the GUI displays the settings dialog screen, the user first selects a monitor. They then are able to draw a box within that monitor at step 808 and define its size, shape and location at step 810. If additional settings are needed for that customized multiple monitor display setting, the user can repeat these steps by again selecting a monitor and then drawing and defining a new box's parameters within the region of that monitor).
With regard to claim 11, Massand teaches a system configured to operate applications of a construction equipment ([abstract] including detecting a presence of multiple monitors installed in a computer system; [0039] a computer system is connected to a network, it may communicate with other network connected devices using any suitable protocol and can be implemented using one or more programmed computer systems or devices), comprising:
two different displays ([abstract] multiple monitor layout displays); and
a control device connected to the two displays through wired or wireless communication ([0039] subsystems of the exemplary embodiments can include, for example, any suitable servers, workstations, PCs, laptop computers, PDAs, Internet appliances, handheld devices, cellular telephones, wireless devices, …a computer system is connected to a network, it may communicate with other network connected devices using any suitable protocol and can be implemented using one or more programmed computer systems or devices) and configured to control to display execution screens of a plurality of applications in the two displays ([0007] the presence of multiple monitors and present preset configurations for displaying of content (e.g., windows within computer applications, various GUIs of computer applications, dialog windows within computer applications, dialog windows related to operating systems, etc.)),
wherein the control device is configured to:
determine a layout mode of each of the two displays based (Fig. 3; [0008] configuration of multiple monitor layout displays, including detecting a presence of multiple monitors installed in a computer system; configuring layouts for the multiple monitors, including, configuring at least one of size, shape and location of corresponding displays of the multiple monitors) on a plurality of applications selected by a user and the two displays (Fig. 3, 308 and 314; Fig. 7, 704; [0029] On Monitor 2 shown at 308, the second and third iterations of a Microsoft Word are displayed, so that they each take up roughly half of the available screen space on that monitor…On Monitor 1 shown at 314, one can see in this example, the first iteration of a Microsoft Word document is displayed on the left half of the screen and on the right half, the second iteration of a Microsoft Word document and the first iteration of a Change-Pro document are displayed; [0033] In FIG. 7, the GUI 702 gives the users the ability to draw boxes in display areas for each monitor (704 shows Monitor 1 in this example and 706 shows Monitor 2)); and
control to display an execution screen of at least one application in each of the two displays according to the determined layout mode (Fig. 3; [0013] FIG. 3 is a diagram of a GUI that enables users to create and save multiple layout configurations for each computer application and across applications).
With regard to claim 12, the limitations are addressed above and Massand teaches wherein the layout mode comprises at least one among an entire screen mode in which an execution screen of one application is displayed in a specified application display area (Figs. 3-4; [0029] the system and method's GUI, to create and save multiple layout configurations for each computer application installed on their computer and across applications. FIG. 3 illustrates two examples of the GUI. In 302, there is illustrated the creation of a new default layout. In 304, there is illustrated the listing of computer applications on the system (in the hypothetical) in which default multiple monitor layouts can be pre-configured. Users first select the application they wish to define within the monitor space), and a divided screen mode in which the specified application display area is divided into two or more areas and execution screens of different applications are displayed in each of the division areas (Fig. 3, 308 and 314; Fig. 7, 704; [0029] On Monitor 2 shown at 308, the second and third iterations of a Microsoft Word are displayed, so that they each take up roughly half of the available screen space on that monitor…On Monitor 1 shown at 314, one can see in this example, the first iteration of a Microsoft Word document is displayed on the left half of the screen and on the right half, the second iteration of a Microsoft Word document and the first iteration of a Change-Pro document are displayed; [0033] In FIG. 7, the GUI 702 gives the users the ability to draw boxes in display areas for each monitor (704 shows Monitor 1 in this example and 706 shows Monitor 2)), and
wherein the control device is configured to determine the layout mode according to attributes of each of the plurality of applications selected by a user (Fig. 3; [0029] Monitor 1 shown at 306, one can see in this example, the first iteration of a Microsoft Word document is displayed so that it fills the entirety of that monitor. On Monitor 2 shown at 308, the second and third iterations of a Microsoft Word are displayed, so that they each take up roughly half of the available screen space on that monitor).
With regard to claim 13, Massand teaches a method for operating a control device provided in a construction equipment ([abstract] including detecting a presence of multiple monitors installed in a computer system; [0039] a computer system is connected to a network, it may communicate with other network connected devices using any suitable protocol and can be implemented using one or more programmed computer systems or devices), comprising:
controlling to display execution screens of a plurality of applications in a plurality of displays ([abstract] multiple monitor layout displays; [0007] the presence of multiple monitors and present preset configurations for displaying of content (e.g., windows within computer applications, various GUIs of computer applications, dialog windows within computer applications, dialog windows related to operating systems, etc.)) provided in the construction equipment ([abstract] including detecting a presence of multiple monitors installed in a computer system; [0039] a computer system is connected to a network, it may communicate with other network connected devices using any suitable protocol and can be implemented using one or more programmed computer systems or devices),
wherein the controlling to display execution screens of a plurality of applications comprises:
determining a layout mode of each of the plurality of displays (Fig. 3; [0008] configuration of multiple monitor layout displays, including detecting a presence of multiple monitors installed in a computer system; configuring layouts for the multiple monitors, including, configuring at least one of size, shape and location of corresponding displays of the multiple monitors); and
controlling to display an execution screen of at least one application in each of the plurality of displays according to the determined layout mode (Fig. 3; [0013] FIG. 3 is a diagram of a GUI that enables users to create and save multiple layout configurations for each computer application and across applications), and
wherein the layout mode comprises at least one among an entire screen mode (Fig. 3; [0029] Monitor 1 shown at 306, one can see in this example, the first iteration of a Microsoft Word document is displayed so that it fills the entirety of that monitor. On Monitor 2 shown at 308, the second and third iterations of a Microsoft Word are displayed, so that they each take up roughly half of the available screen space on that monitor) in which an execution screen of one application is displayed in a specified application display area (Figs. 3-4; [0029] the system and method's GUI, to create and save multiple layout configurations for each computer application installed on their computer and across applications. FIG. 3 illustrates two examples of the GUI. In 302, there is illustrated the creation of a new default layout. In 304, there is illustrated the listing of computer applications on the system (in the hypothetical) in which default multiple monitor layouts can be pre-configured. Users first select the application they wish to define within the monitor space), and a divided screen mode in which the specified application display area is divided into two or more areas and execution screens of different applications are displayed in each of the division areas (Fig. 3, 308 and 314; Fig. 7, 704; [0029] On Monitor 2 shown at 308, the second and third iterations of a Microsoft Word are displayed, so that they each take up roughly half of the available screen space on that monitor…On Monitor 1 shown at 314, one can see in this example, the first iteration of a Microsoft Word document is displayed on the left half of the screen and on the right half, the second iteration of a Microsoft Word document and the first iteration of a Change-Pro document are displayed; [0033] In FIG. 7, the GUI 702 gives the users the ability to draw boxes in display areas for each monitor (704 shows Monitor 1 in this example and 706 shows Monitor 2)).
With regard to claim 14, the method claim corresponds to the system claim 3, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 15, the method claim corresponds to the system claim 5, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 16, the method claim corresponds to the system claim 9, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 17, the method claim corresponds to the system claim 10, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Noll et al. (US 2024/0308340) teaches a run screen that can be displayed by an electronic device that displays a critical ribbon container, a tractor icon (e.g., with front and rear power take-off shaft), and an application that supports machine control settings (e.g., rear hitch settings).
Kobel et al. (US 2023/0196688) teaches a method for inspecting a machine using augmented reality to provide a user interface for receiving a video feed of the machine.
Tamura et al. (US 2023/0183942) teaches a work machine control method, a work machine control program, a work machine control system, and a work machine provided with a machine body that moves according to an operation device's operation.
Song et al. (US 2022/0268000) teaches a machine guidance program and excavator using the same.
Heo (US 2015/0130759) teaches a display apparatus of a vehicle for providing various kinds of information includes a touchscreen unit to display at least one of a screen of an external manipulation mode and a screen of a touch manipulation mode.
Song (US 2013/0255241) teaches a system and method of controlling flow rate of attachment for construction equipment.
Jeong (US 2004/0155982) teaches construction of a video display appliance capable of adjusting a sub-picture.
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171