DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 23 September 2024 was filed on the mailing date of this present application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 8, “expose the battery powered device for light”, should be --expose the battery powered device to light--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation “a first threshold” recited on line 4 is unclear. This limitation is unclear because the use of “first” indicates that there is a second or additional threshold and the claim has not recited any other thresholds.
Regarding Claim 2, the limitation “a luminaire” recited on line 6 is unclear. “A luminaire” is unclear because Claim 1, from which this claim depends from also recites “a luminaire” on line 7, so it is not clear if these are the same or different luminaires.
Regarding Claim 7, the limitation “a first threshold” recited on line 9 is unclear. This limitation is unclear because the use of “first” indicates that there is a second or additional threshold and the claim has not recited any other thresholds.
Regarding Claim 10, the limitation “a charging-request signal” recited on line 5 is unclear. This limitation is unclear because “a charging-request signal” is also recited on line 2, so it is not clear if this the same or different charging-request signals.
Regarding Claims 2-6, they depend from Claim 1 and are also rejected for the reasons stated above.
Regarding Claims 8-9 and 15-16, they depend from Claim 7 and are also rejected for the reasons stated above.
Regarding Claims 11-15, they depend from Claim 10 and are also rejected for the reasons stated above.
Claims 2 and 7 recite the following limitations:
Claim 2, line 3, “the energy-harvesting module”; and
Claim 7, lines 8-9. “the determined state of charge”.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 15 depends from two claims, Claim 7 and Claim 10, which is improper. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-12, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leabman et al. US 2017/0070091.
Regarding Claims 1 and 7, Leabman teaches a method for charging a battery (battery, fig. 4) of a battery powered device (446, fig. 4), the method comprising:
at the battery powered device, detecting that a state of charge of the battery of the battery powered device is below a first threshold (The types of information communicated by the communications components between the receiver and the transmitter include but not limited to the present power levels in the batteries, refer to [0212]);
wirelessly transmitting, from the battery powered device, to a control engine (410, fig. 4), a charging-request signal (the receiver 103 may comprise a communications component that transmits control signals to the transmitter 101 in order to exchange data in real-time or near real-time. …control signals may be used to convey information between the transmitter 101 and the receiver 103 used to adjust the power transmission signals, as well as contain information related to status, efficiency, user data, power consumption, billing, geo-location, and other types of information., refer to [0062]-[0064]);
instructing, by means of the control engine, RF power waves that are pocket-forming to expose the battery powered device for light (microcontrollers (MCs) … Transmitter 1101 may emit RF power waves that are pocket-forming , MC may select the appropriate data set accordingly. In a next step 1209, MC may then adjust all antennas through RFIC in order to form pockets of energy at the appropriate locations., refer to [0146], [0169], and [0174]); and
charging the battery of the battery powered device by harvesting energy from the RF power waves (Battery may receive power wirelessly through pocket-forming and may charge through its embedded receiver 2020B, refer to [0231]).
The present embodiment of Leabman is silent wherein the RF power waves is a luminaire.
Alternate embodiments of Leabman teaches wherein the RF power waves is a luminaire (Non-limiting exemplary transmission techniques for energy that can be converted by a receiving device into electrical power may include: ultrasound, microwave, resonant and inductive magnetic fields, laser light, infrared, or other forms of electromagnetic energy, refer to [0145]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the light as taught by an alternative embodiment of Leabman with the device of an embodiment of Leabman in order to provide an additional option for another power source.
Regarding Claim 2, the combined embodiments of Leabman teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the charging-request signal comprises information pertaining to a frequency range of the light the energy-harvesting module is capable to harvest energy from, wherein the method further comprises, extracting, from the charging-request signal, information pertaining to a frequency range of desired light, and wherein instructing a luminaire to expose the battery powered device for light comprises sending information pertaining to the frequency range of desired light to the luminaire (refer to [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined embodiments of Leabman teaches all of the imitations of Claim 1 above and further teaches comprising: selecting one or more luminaires among a plurality of luminaires based on a position of the battery-powered device, and instructing the selected one or more luminaires to expose the battery powered device for light (refer to [0059]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined embodiments of Leabman teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above and further teaches comprising: upon detecting, at the battery-powered device, that the state of charge of the battery of the battery powered device is above a second threshold, sending to the control engine a charging stop signal, upon detection of the charging stop signal, generating, at the control engine, a stop charging signal and transmitting it to the luminaire currently emitting light for charging the battery-powered device, upon receipt of the charging stop signal, at the luminaire, stop emitting light for charging the battery-powered device (refer to [0227]).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined embodiments of Leabman teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7 above and further teaches wherein the charging-request function is further configured to, upon the determined state of charge of the battery is above a second threshold, generate a charging stop signal; wherein the confirmation function is configured to deactivate the energy- harvesting module based on the charging stop signal; and/or wherein the wireless communication unit is configured to transmit the charging stop signal upon its generation (refer to [0227]).
Regarding Claim 10, Leabman teaches a control engine (310/410, figs. 3 and 4) comprising:
a short-range wireless transceiver (312/412, figs. 3 and 4, Communications components 324 may enable receiver 320 to communicate with the transmitter 302 by transmitting control signals 345 over a wireless protocol. The wireless protocol can be a proprietary protocol or use a conventional wireless protocol, such as Bluetooth®, BLE, Wi-Fi, NFC, ZigBee, and the like., refer to [0089]) configured to detect a charging-request signal from a battery-powered device (446, fig. 4) arranged at a distance from the control engine (the receiver 103 may comprise a communications component that transmits control signals to the transmitter 101 in order to exchange data in real-time or near real-time. …control signals may be used to convey information between the transmitter 101 and the receiver 103 used to adjust the power transmission signals, as well as contain information related to status, efficiency, user data, power consumption, billing, geo-location, and other types of information., refer to [0062]-[0064]); and
circuitry configured to execute:
a charging function configured to, upon detection of a charging-request signal, generate a charging-initiation signal comprising charging information to RF power waves (Battery may receive power wirelessly through pocket-forming and may charge through its embedded receiver 2020B, refer to [0231]), and
a communication function configured to transmit the charging-initiation signal to the RF power waves (microcontrollers (MCs) … Transmitter 1101 may emit RF power waves that are pocket-forming , MC may select the appropriate data set accordingly. In a next step 1209, MC may then adjust all antennas through RFIC in order to form pockets of energy at the appropriate locations., refer to [0146], [0169], and [0174]).
The present embodiment of Leabman is silent wherein the RF power waves is a luminaire.
Alternate embodiments of Leabman teaches wherein the RF power waves is a luminaire (Non-limiting exemplary transmission techniques for energy that can be converted by a receiving device into electrical power may include: ultrasound, microwave, resonant and inductive magnetic fields, laser light, infrared, or other forms of electromagnetic energy, refer to [0145]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the light as taught by an alternative embodiment of Leabman with the device of an embodiment of Leabman in order to provide an additional option for another power source.
Regarding Claim 11, the combined embodiments of Leabman teaches all of the limitations of Claim 10 above and further teaches wherein the charging function is further configured to: extract, from the charging-request signal, information pertaining to a frequency range of desired light, and include information pertaining to the frequency range of desired light into the charging- initiation signal (refer to [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined embodiments of Leabman teaches all of the limitations of Claim 10 above and further teaches wherein the charging function is further configured to: extract, from the charging-request signal, information pertaining to a position of the battery-powered device, select one or more luminaires among a plurality of luminaires based on the position of the battery-powered device, and send the charging-initiation signal to the selected one or more luminaires(refer to [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding Claim 14, the combined embodiments of Leabman teaches all of the limitations of Claim 10 above and further teaches wherein the short-range wireless transceiver is configured to detect a charging stop signal from the battery-powered device, wherein the charging function is further configured to, upon detection of the charging stop signal, generate a stop charging signal and transmit it to a luminaire currently emitting light for charging the battery-powered device (refer to [0227]).
Regarding Claim 15, A system comprising: a battery-powered device according to any one of claims 7; a control engine according to any one of claims 10; and one or more luminaire each being arranged to expose the battery-powered device for light upon receipt of a charging-initiation signal (this is an improper dependent claim and has not been examined).
Claims 4-5, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leabman et al. US 2017/0070091, in view of Kim et al. 2014/0346888.
Regarding Claim 4, the combined embodiments of Leabman teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above, however is silent regarding sending a positive charging request acknowledgment, ACK, to the battery powered device, and upon receipt of the ACK, activating an energy-harvesting energy module at the battery powered device.
Kim teaches sending a positive charging request acknowledgment, ACK, to the battery powered device, and upon receipt of the ACK, activating an energy-harvesting energy module at the battery powered device (fig 4, and refer to [0067] and [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method as taught by Kim with the device of the combined embodiments of Leabman in order to provide the efficiency of the system.
Regarding Claim 5, the combined embodiments of Leabman teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above, however is silent regarding sending a negative charging request acknowledgment, NAK, to the battery powered device, and upon receipt of the NAK, setting the battery powered device 100 in an energy- conservation mode.
Kim teaches sending a negative charging request acknowledgment, NAK, to the battery powered device, and upon receipt of the NAK, setting the battery powered device 100 in an energy- conservation mode (fig 4, and refer to [0067] and [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method as taught by Kim with the device of the combined embodiments of Leabman in order to provide the efficiency of the system.
Regarding Claim 8, the combined embodiments of Leabman teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7 above, however is silent regarding wherein the control circuitry is configured to further execute: a confirmation function configured to receive a confirmation signal, wherein the confirmation function is configured to, upon the confirmation signal is indicative of a positive acknowledgement, ACK, set the battery-powered device in an energy- harvesting mode by activating the energy-harvesting module, and wherein the confirmation function is configured to, upon the confirmation signal is indicative of a negative acknowledgement, NAK, set the battery-powered device in an energy- conservation mode.
Kim teaches wherein the control circuitry is configured to further execute: a confirmation function configured to receive a confirmation signal, wherein the confirmation function is configured to, upon the confirmation signal is indicative of a positive acknowledgement, ACK, set the battery-powered device in an energy- harvesting mode by activating the energy-harvesting module, and wherein the confirmation function is configured to, upon the confirmation signal is indicative of a negative acknowledgement, NAK, set the battery-powered device in an energy- conservation mode (fig 4, and refer to [0067] and [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method as taught by Kim with the device of the combined embodiments of Leabman in order to provide the efficiency of the system.
Regarding Claim 13, the combined embodiments of Leabman teaches all of the limitations of Claim 10 above, however is silent regarding wherein the circuitry is further configured to execute: a charging compliance function configured to :confirm whether the control engine is able and/or allowed to provide the, in the charging-request signal, requested charging, upon positive confirmation, generate a confirmation signal comprising a positive acknowledgement, ACK, and send the ACK via the short-range wireless transceiver to the battery-powered device and/or instruct the charging function to generate the charging-initiation signal, and upon negative confirmation, generate a confirmation signal comprising a negative acknowledgement, NAK, and send the NAK via the short-range wireless transceiver to the battery-powered device and/or send the NAK to a maintenance server.
Kim teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to execute: a charging compliance function configured to :confirm whether the control engine is able and/or allowed to provide the, in the charging-request signal, requested charging, upon positive confirmation, generate a confirmation signal comprising a positive acknowledgement, ACK, and send the ACK via the short-range wireless transceiver to the battery-powered device and/or instruct the charging function to generate the charging-initiation signal, and upon negative confirmation, generate a confirmation signal comprising a negative acknowledgement, NAK, and send the NAK via the short-range wireless transceiver to the battery-powered device and/or send the NAK to a maintenance server (fig 4, and refer to [0067] and [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method as taught by Kim with the device of the combined embodiments of Leabman in order to provide the efficiency of the system.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leabman et al. US 2017/0070091, in view of Bell et al. US 10,291,055.
Regarding Claim 16, the combined embodiments of Leabman teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7 above, however is silent regarding wherein the charging- request function is further configured to, upon the determined state of charge of the battery is above a second threshold, generate a charging stop signal; wherein the wireless communication unit is configured to transmit the charging stop signal upon its generation.
Bell teaches wherein the charging- request function is further configured to, upon the determined state of charge of the battery is above a second threshold, generate a charging stop signal; wherein the wireless communication unit is configured to transmit the charging stop signal upon its generation (refer to col. 2, line 43 - col. 3, line 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method as taught by Bell with the device of the combined embodiments of Leabman in order to provide the efficiency of the system.
Conclusion
/BRIAN K BAXTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
26 September 2025
/DANIEL KESSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836