DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Objections
3. Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22 recites “The method of claim 21 25” which should be corrected as “The method of claim 21 .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
6. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first reference signal processing component, a coarse channel estimation component, a coarse channel equalization component, a nonlinear modeling component, a digital post distortion (DPOD) component, a fine channel estimation component in claims 3, 19, 28, 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 3, 19, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 19, 28, and 30 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because it recites generic placeholders (components) performing functions without reciting sufficient structure to perform the functions.
Component is a generic placeholder that does not specify any structure, and the specification does not provide any structure associated with the claimed components. Specification further discloses that the components can be implanted in software (Par 0038). Therefore, it is not clear which structure/hardware performs the functions of the claimed components (a first reference signal processing component, a coarse channel estimation component, a coarse channel equalization component, a nonlinear modeling component, a digital post distortion (DPOD) component, a fine channel estimation component).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-2, 18, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pajukoski et al (WO 2022073615 A1, hereinafter referred to as Pajukoski).
Re claim 1, Pajukoski teaches a network node (gNB, Fig. 2, Fig. 8) for wireless communication, comprising:
(i) a memory (808) (Fig. 8, Par 0114); and
(ii) one or more processors (804) coupled to the memory (808) (Fig. 8, Par 0114-0117) and configured to cause the network node to:
(iii) transmit a nonlinear modeling capability indication (triggering/configuring training reference signal with a backoff value, Fig. 2) associated with a nonlinear modeling configuration of the network node (Power amplifier (PA) model of the gNB) (Fig. 2, Fig. 7, Par 0030, Par 0034-0038, Par 0052-0054, Par 0064, Par 0080, Par 0083); and
(iv) receive, based on the nonlinear modeling capability indication (triggering/configuring training reference signal with a backoff value, Fig. 2), a communication in a slot (receiving training RS), wherein the communication includes a data signal (symbol with training RS, Fig. 3) and at least one demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (Symbol with associated DMRS, Fig. 3) (Fig. 2-3, Fig. 7, Par 0038-0042, Par 0052, Par 0057-0062, Par 0085), wherein the at least one DMRS (DMRS 320, Fig. 3) is associated with a single transmission power value (Power level associated with the DMRS 320, Fig. 3) (Fig. 2-3, Par 0038-0042, Par 0057-0062).
Claim 18 recites a method performing the functions recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 27 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions to be executed to perform the functions recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 29 recites an apparatus performing the functions recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Re claim 2, Pajukoski teaches that the nonlinear modeling configuration comprises at least one of a hardware configuration or a firmware configuration (distortion function of a PA model) (Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Par 0035-0038, Par 0060, Par 0064, Par 0069-0070).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-17 and 20-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3, 19, 28, and 30 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Pajukoski et al (WO 2022073615 A1) discloses to train a PA model to determine a correction signal to mitigate distortion caused by the non-linearities of the power amplifier (Fig. 2, Fig. 5). Pajukoski does not disclose to determine a fine channel estimation based on a filtered coarse channel estimation obtained from an equalized coarse linear channel estimation. Pajukoski is also silent about a second DPOD procedure.
Nammi et al (WO 2023106977 A1) discloses that a receiver transmits capability information indicating decoding capability non-linear signals. In response to the capability information, the receiver receives signal from a transmitting node and jointly estimates channel coefficients and coefficients of the nonlinearity of the received signal (Fig. 9-10, Fig. 12, Pg. 10-13). Nammi does not disclose to determine a fine channel estimation based on a filtered coarse channel estimation obtained from an equalized coarse linear channel estimation. Nammi is also silent about a second DPOD procedure.
Conclusion
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2473