DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2 indicates that the mixture must be filtered, but claim 1 already has a filtering step for the mixture.. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firgo et al, USP 5,601,767 in view of Keh et al, US Patent Publication 2020/0262108.
Regarding claims 1 and 11-14, Firgo teaches a process and apparatus for regenerating materials form textiles (see abstract and Example 1 being a used fabric) comprising, providing textiles to a container (see example 1); adding aqueous NMMO to the container (see Example 1); stirring/kneading the mixture and raising the temperature to create a mixture (see Example 1), and then removal of water from the solution to create a final mixture (see claim 1 and example 1).
Firgo teaches that the solution is removed form the container and then has its water removed before further processing, which is focused on using it in further molding operations.
Firgo is silent on the use of filtering with a vacuum filtration unit and drying in a vacuum over to make the final material, but instead teaches a generic water reduction step prior to the materials being utilized in further processing.
In the same field of endeavor of regenerating old textiles, Keh teaches a method for recycling waste textile (see abstract) comprising: providing samples of textile into a container [0026]; adding an aqueous solution of an organic acid [0025-0026]; heating the system to create a heated mixture [0027]; filtering the mixture with a vacuum filtration [0028]; and drying the filtered mixture (see claim 8).
While Keh teaches the use of an oven for drying the mixture, there is not an explicit teaching that the dryer is vacuum oven. It is the Examiner’s stance that the selection of a vacuum oven vs a blast oven is a simple engineering choice that does not have an effect on the materials being dried. The simple substitution of one known element for another (in this case a vacuum oven vs a blast oven) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention as both are basic drying means that produce the same predictable end result.
It would have been obvious to utilize the filtration and drying method of Keh in the Firgo method as both references teach the same act of taking a dissolved textile and heating and mixture the solution then removing water from it prior to further processing. The explicit use of Keh’s vacuum filtration followed by oven drying would have been an obvious addition to the Firgo method that simply states to remove water for the benefit of utilizing a known process in a known manner to arrive at a predictable end result.
Regarding claim 2, Firgo teaches filtering the mixture (see example 1 and claim 1).
Regarding claims 4 and 9-10, Keh further teaches that the heating step occurs at 110-180 degrees C (see claim 12) for .5-3 hours (see claim 14).
Regarding claim 5, Keh further teaches that the filtering is performed with a 20 mesh screen sized sieve [0036]. A 20 mesh is approximately the same size as a 1 mm screen and at the very least is an obvious equivalate as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Firgo further teaches in Example 1 that the ANMMO aqueous solution has a water content of 40% leaving a 60% concentration of NMMO (see example 1).
Regarding claim 8, Firgo does not provide a starting ratio of textiles to aqueous solution, but instead provides a concentration of the water after the heating to forma mixture.
In Example 1, the textiles are added to a container and a mixture is produced after water removal to a final mixture of 10%.(or 3:20 ratio). This means that the ratio of the starting aqueous solution must be greater than that due to water being actively removed to arrive at the 10% mixture.
While an exact number cannot be calculated for the ratio, we have an ending result that provides a top end of the range. Finding an optimal range is within the ability of the average artisan. With the discloser of Firgo, the average artisan would have been motivated to optimize the amount of fabric to aqueous solution ratio in order for best practices.
Regarding claim 16, Firgo teaches an apparatus that is capable of having an aqueous solution of at least 85% NMMO.
Claim(s) 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firgo et al, USP 5,601,767 in view of Keh et al, US Patent Publication 2020/0262108 and in further view of Kind et al, USP 6,610,134.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Firgo and Keh teach the controlling of the amount of materials and the drying of the materials, but do not explicitly states that a homogenizer is used to determine the concentration of the NMMO in the material.
In the same field of endeavor of producing a cellulose suspension in NMMO, Kind teaches the use of a homogenizer (see example 2) in the process of determining the amount and concentration of NMMO solution (see column 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention totalize the homogenizer as taught by Kind in the Firgo method for the benefit of utilizing a known method to determine the make up of the materials during production in a known and conventional manner.
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748