DETAILED ACTION
Receipt and entry of Applicant’s Preliminary Amendment filed on 09/23/2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-9, 12-13 and 15 have been amended. Overall, claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a mechanical valve” and “a closure element” recited in claim 10; “an electrically controlled valve” recited in claim 11; and “closing a valve” recited in claim 15, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “flow control device” recited in claims 1, 3, 7-9 and 12-13; “movable closure element” recited in claims 3, 10 and 14; and “resilient member” recited in claim 10.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
- claim 1: line 13, “said pump” should be changed to --said vacuum pump -- for clarity and constancy the claim language;
- claim 2: “A vacuum pump” should be changed to --The rotary vane vacuum pump -- since claim 2 depends on claim 1;
- claims 3-12: “A rotary vane vacuum pump” should be changed to --The rotary vane vacuum pump -- since claim 3-12 depend on claim 1;
- claim 3: lines 8-9, “said movable element” should be changed to -- said movable closure element -- for clarity and constancy the claim language;
- claim 4: line 2, “the rotary vane pump” should be changed to --the vacuum pump -- for clarity and constancy the claim language since claim 4 depends on claim 1;
- claim 6: line 3, “said pump” should be changed to --said vacuum pump -- for clarity and constancy the claim language since claim 6 depends on claim 1;
- claim 10: line 2, “said closure element” should be changed to -- a closure element -- for clarity and constancy the claim language since claims 10 depends on claim 9 and the independent claim 1;
- claim 12: lines 6-7, “said pump” should be changed to --said vacuum pump -- for clarity and constancy the claim language since claim 12 depends on claim;
- claim 12: “a predetermined time elapsing, a speed of rotation of said rotor reaching a predetermined threshold value, a motor current reaching a predetermined value and an output from said at least one sensor, said output from said at least one sensor being indicative of operation of said vacuum pump” should be changed to -- the predetermined time elapsing, the speed of rotation of said rotor reaching the predetermined threshold value, the motor current reaching the predetermined value and the output from said at least one sensor, said output from said at least one sensor being indicative of operation of said vacuum pump-- for clarity and consistency the claim language since in claim 12 depends on claim 1;
- claim 13: “a predetermined time elapsing, a speed of rotation of said rotor reaching a predetermined threshold value, a motor current reaching a predetermined value and an output from said at least one sensor, said output from said at least one sensor being indicative of operation of said vacuum pump” should be changed to -- the predetermined time elapsing, the speed of rotation of said rotor reaching the predetermined threshold value, the motor current reaching the predetermined value and the output from said at least one sensor, said output from said at least one sensor being indicative of operation of said vacuum pump-- for clarity and consistency the claim language since in claim 13 depends on claim 1;
- claims 14-15: “A method” should be changed to --The method --since claims 14-15 depend on claim 13; and
- claim 14: line 2, “a movable element” should be changed to -- a movable closure element -- for clarity and constancy the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
- The claims not specifically mentioned are objected to since they depended from one of the above claims.
6. Claims 9-10 are objected to, in that their subject matter needs to be incorporated into the specification and the drawings. For example, the claimed “a mechanical valve”, “a closure element”, “an electrically controlled valve” and “closing a valve” should be given reference numeral in the specification and drawings. Otherwise, the language not depicted with reference numerals in the specification and contained in the drawings should be removed from the claims.
7. The applicants’ cooperation is required to amend claims 1-15 for conforming to U.S. patent practice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 5-10, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buchel (Patent Number 3,301,474).
Regarding claim 1, as shown in Figs. 1-3, Buchel discloses a rotary vane vacuum pump (see col. 1, lines 64-68) for evacuating gas from a vacuum chamber, said rotary vane vacuum pump comprising: an inlet 5 for connection to said vacuum chamber and an outlet 6 for exhausting fluid pumped by said vacuum pump; a rotor 2 comprising a plurality of vanes 3, 4 and a stator 1, said rotor being configured for rotation within said stator, said rotor and stator defining a plurality of pumping chambers 9 for pumping a fluid from said inlet 5 to said outlet 6 on rotation of said rotor; a motor (the rotary vane vacuum pump obviously has a motor the operate the rotary vane vacuum pump) for driving said rotor 2; and a venting channel 10 (see col. 1, lines 68-71 to col. 2, lines 1-10 and see Fig. 1) for venting one of said plurality of pumping chambers within said vacuum pump, said venting channel 10 comprising a flow control device 14, 15; 18 (see col. 2, lines 11-26 and Figs. 2-3) for controlling flow through said venting channel; said flow control device 14, 15; 18 being configured to allow flow through said venting channel at start up of said pump and to impede flow through said venting channel in response to at least one of: a predetermined time elapsing, a speed of rotation of said rotor reaching a predetermined threshold value, a motor current reaching a predetermined value and an output from at least one sensor, said output from said at least one sensor being indicative of operation of said vacuum pump.
- Note that “being configured to allow flow through said venting channel at start up of said pump and to impede flow through said venting channel” is considered functional language. The use of the functional language only requires that the apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Buchel is capable of controlling the oil/air flow into pumping chamber, the prior art meets the functional limitation. Furthermore, “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §2114)).
- Note that the term “at least one of” is to claimed in claim 1; therefore, any prior art being only read on one part, is applied to reject the claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Buchel discloses wherein said venting channel 10 vents to a pressure above atmospheric pressure.
Regarding claim 6, Buchel discloses wherein said rotary vane vacuum pump comprises a lubricant sealed sliding vane vacuum pump and said venting channel 10 vents to a lubricant casing of said pump.
Regarding claim 7, Buchel discloses wherein said flow control device 14, 15; 18 is configured to open said venting channel 10 or close said venting channel 10.
Regarding claim 8, Buchel discloses wherein said flow control device 14, 15; 18 is configured to control a degree of opening and thus, a flow through said venting channel 10.
Regarding claim 9, Buchel discloses wherein said flow control device 14, 15; 18 comprises a valve.
Regarding claim 10, Buchel discloses wherein said valve 14, 15; 18 comprises a mechanical valve 14, 15; 18 comprising a resilient member for biasing said closure element towards said closed position.
Regarding claim 13, Buchel discloses a method of starting a rotary vane vacuum pump according to claim 1, said method comprising: controlling a flow control device 14, 15; 18 to allow flow through a venting channel 10 (see Figs. 1-3); starting rotation of the rotor 2 of the pump; and in response to at least one of the predetermined time elapsing, the speed of rotation of said rotor reaching the predetermined threshold value, the motor current reaching the predetermined value and an output from a sensor, said output from said sensor being indicative of operation of said vacuum pump, impeding flow though said venting channel.
Note that the term “at least one of” is to claimed in claim 13; therefore, any prior art being only read on one part, is applied to reject the claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, Buchel discloses wherein said step of impeding flow through said venting channel comprises closing a valve 14, 15; 18.
- Regarding claims 13 and 15, Buchel teaches an oil sealed mechanical rotary vane vacuum pump having substantially all features as discussed above. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered inherent by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). See MPEP §2112.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchel in view of Rottlaender et al. (Rottlaender) (Publication Number WO2010-052060A2 - provided with the IDS filed on 09/23/2024 by the applicants).
Buchel discloses the invention as recited above; however, Buchel fails to disclose the rotary vane vacuum pump further comprising said at least one sensor.
As shown in Figs. 1, Rottlaender teaches said rotary vane vacuum pump further comprises said at least one sensor 46, said at least one sensor comprising at least one of a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor 46, a humidity sensor, and a sensor for sensing a number of rotations of said rotor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the rotary vane vacuum pump further comprising the pressure sensor, as taught by Rottlaender in the Buchel apparatus, since the use thereof would have controlled the rotation speed of the rotor.
Note that the term “or” is to claimed in claim 2; therefore, any prior art being only read on one part, is applied to reject the claim 2.
10. Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchel in view of Aubert (Publication Number GB2583542A).
Buchel discloses the invention as recited above; however, Buchel fails to disclose a movable closure element for opening or closing said inlet.
Regarding claim 3, as shown in Figs. 1, 3 and 5, Aubert teaches wherein said inlet 10 comprises a movable closure element 15 for opening or closing said inlet 10, said movable closure element 15 being configured to move between an open and a closed position in response to a pressure on a vacuum pump side of said movable closure element rising above a pressure on a vacuum chamber side of said movable closure element; wherein said venting channel 30 is in fluid communication with said vacuum chamber side of said movable closure element 15, such that said fluid control device 22, 24 allowing flow through said venting channel 30 causes said movable closure element 15 to move to said closed position. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the movable closure element for opening or closing said inlet, as taught by Aubert in the Buchel apparatus, since the use thereof would have controlled the fluid flow at the inlet of the rotary vane vacuum pump.
Regarding claim 14, Aubert discloses said method further comprising: causing a movable element 15 to move from obscuring an inlet to said vacuum pump to open said inlet to said vacuum pump by said step of impeding flow through said venting channel 30.
11. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchel in view of legal precedent.
Buchel discloses the invention as recited above; however, Buchel fails to disclose wherein said venting channel configured to open into the rotary vane pump closer to said inlet to said vacuum pump than to said outlet. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized said venting channel configured to open into the rotary vane pump closer to said inlet to said vacuum pump than to said outlet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
12. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchel in view of Arnold et al. (Arnold) (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2007/0224067A1).
Buchel discloses the invention as recited above; however, Buchel fails to disclose an electrically controlled valve.
As shown in Figs. 6-8, Arnold teaches wherein said valve comprises an electrically controlled valve 207 configured to operate in response to control signals sent by control circuitry. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute the mechanical valve of Buchel with the electrically controlled valve of Arnold, as a matter of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. KSR, 550 U.S. (2007) (see MPEP §2143B).
The results are predictable as controlling the flow of the rotary vane vacuum pump.
13. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchel in view of Rottlaender.
Buchel discloses the invention as recited above; however, Buchel fails to disclose a control circuitry.
As shown in Fig. 1, Rottlaender teaches said rotary vane pump further comprising control circuitry 50 configured to: control said motor for driving said vacuum pump; and to control said flow control device 56; said control circuitry 50 being configured to control said flow control device 56 to be allow flow through said venting channel 54 at start up of said pump, to control said motor to start driving said pump and then to control said flow control device to impede flow through said venting channel in response to at least one of: the predetermined time elapsing, the speed of rotation of said rotor reaching the predetermined threshold value, the motor current reaching the predetermined value and the output from said at least one sensor, said output from said at least one sensor being indicative of operation of said vacuum pump. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the a control circuitry, as taught by Rottlaender in the Buchel apparatus, since the use thereof would have controlled the rotation speed of the rotor, the sensor and the valve of the rotary vane vacuum pump.
Prior Art
14. The IDS (PTO-1449) filed on Sept. 23, 2024 has been considered. An initialized copy is attached hereto.
15. The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Communication
/TT/
/Theresa Trieu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746