DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the terms such as KALCOL 6098, DIAPON K-SF, and EMULGEN 108, which are a trade names or a marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the terms should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites a mass ratio range as decimals whereas claim 7 recites a mass ratio range in fraction form. Examiner suggests amending for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “polyethylene glycol having a mass average molecular weight of 500 or less”. This limitation does not recite any units and the specification fails to provide any guidance, thus rendering the scope of the claim unclear. For example, it is unclear if mass average molecular weight is meant to be expressed in daltons or kilodaltons. For purposes of compact prosecution, if the prior art teaches the recited values, it will be considered to read on the claim.
Regarding claims 2-20, these claims depend from claim 1 and do not cure the deficiencies of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2-20 inherit the deficiencies of parent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doi (US 2017/0246096 A1, published 8/17/2017, cited on the 4/13/2026 IDS).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, 6, 12, 17, and 19, Doi teaches a cleansing composition for skin or hair comprising an internal olefin sulfonate (reads on salt of internal olefin sulfonic acid) having 12 to 24 carbon atoms [Abstract], preferably having 16 to 18 carbon atoms [0016]. Doi teaches Production Example G which comprises a mixture of C16 and C18 internal olefins [0181], which was used as raw material to prepare Production Example 5, which comprises a sodium C16/C18 internal olefin sulfonate [0193] to be used for a cleansing composition [0199]. Production Example 5 comprises 17.6% by mass of internal olefin sulfonate wherein the sulfonate group is at the C2 position (reads on instant claims 4 and 12). The amount taught by the prior art falls within and makes obvious the instantly claimed range of 10% to 35% by mass.
The double bond distribution of Production Example G is 0.7% at C1, 25.2% at C2, 21.6% at a C3, 18.0% at C4, 16.2% at C5, 9.3% at C6, 4.4% by mass at a C7, 3.6% at C8, and 1.0% at C-9 (all percentages by mass) [0181]. This equates to an average double bond position of 4.087, based on the following calculation: [ (1*0.7) + (2*25.2) + (3*21.76 + (4*18.0) + (5*16.2) + (6*9.3) + (7*4.4) + (8*3.6) + (9*1.0) ] / 100 = 4.087. This falls within the claimed range of average double bond position of instant claim 1.
Doi further teaches that the composition may comprise of a moisturizing agent comprising a sugar alcohol (reads on component (b1) of instant claim 1), such as sorbitol or erythritol (reads on instant claim 2) [0072]. The mass ratio of the moisturizing agent to the internal olefin sulfonate is preferably 0.02 to 0.2 (see [0079] which teaches a ratio of internal olefin sulfonate component (A) to moisturizing agent component (C), i.e. the inverse ratio, to be preferably 50 to 5 → 1/50 = 0.02; 1/5 = 0.2). The range taught by the prior art overlaps with and makes obvious the claimed mass ratio range of 0.005 to 0.45 of instant claim 1. MPEP 2144.05. The moisturizing agent may be present in the amount of 0.01% to 5% by mass of the composition [0079]. It would be obvious to include sugar alcohols, which are moisturizing agents, in the amount that are taught to be suitable for moisturizing agents. The amounts taught in the prior art overlap with and make obvious the claimed range of 0.05% to 1.5% by mass of component (B) of instant claims 6, 17, and 19. MPEP 2144.05.
The composition may further comprise of an organic solvent comprising polyethylene glycol with a weight average molecular weight of 200 to 10,000 (reads on component (b2) of instant claim 1) [0100] . The mass ratio of the organic solvent to the internal olefin sulfonate is preferably 0.025 to 0.2 (see [0101] which teaches a ratio of internal olefin sulfonate component (A) to organic solvent component (G), i.e. the inverse ratio, to be preferably 40 to 5 → 1/40 = 0.025; 1/5 = 0.2). The range taught by the prior art overlaps with and makes obvious the claimed mass ratio range of 0.005 to 0.45 of instant claim 1. MPEP 2144.05. The organic solvent may be present in the amount of 0.1% to 30% by mass of the composition [0101]. It would be obvious to include polyethylene glycol, an organic solvent, in the amount that is taught to be suitable for organic solvents. The amounts taught in the prior art overlap with and make obvious the claimed range of 0.05% to 1.5% by mass of instant claims 6, 17, and 19. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Doi teaches that the mass ratio of the hydroxy form of the internal olefin sulfonate to the olefin form of the internal olefin sulfonate (i.e. hydroxy form/olefin form) of the internal olefin sulfonate component of the composition may be from 50/50 to 100/0 [0032].
Regarding claim 8, Doi teaches that the internal olefin sulfonate may be present in the cleansing composition in the amount of 0.1% to 80% by mass. The range taught by the prior art overlaps with and makes obvious the claimed range of 0.01% to 30% by mass. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, Doi teaches that the cleansing composition may comprise a cationic polymer [0133].
Regarding claim 10, Doi teaches that the cleansing composition imparts good combability to hair after cleansing [0014]. However, Examiner would like to note that the recitation of “for improving combability on wet hair after cleansing” is interpreted as intended use and does not constitute a functional limitation. A recitation that merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. MPEP 2111.02. In the instant case, this recitation does not add a structural distinction to the claim. As the prior art makes obvious the claimed composition, the limitations of the instant claim have been met.
Claims 1-5, 11-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doi (US 2017/0246096 A1, published 8/17/2017, cited on the 4/13/2026 IDS), as applied to claims 1-2, and further in view of Tawa et al. (US 2020/0318036 A1, published 10/8/2020, cited on the 9/23/2024 IDS).
Doi does not explicitly teach a composition wherein the content of internal olefin sulfonic acid or salt thereof having a sulfonate group at C1 to C4 position is 40% to 75% by mass (claims 3, 11); or a composition wherein the content of internal olefin sulfonic acid or salt having a sulfonate group at the 3-position is from 5% to 30% mass (claims 5 and 14-16).
Regarding claims 3-5, 11-16, 18, and 20, Tawa teaches a liquid detergent composition comprising a component (A) comprising an internal olefin sulfonate having 14 to 16 carbon atoms, wherein the mass ratio of internal olefin sulfonates with the sulfonate group at C-2 to C-4 to internal olefin sulfonates with the sulfonate group at C5 or higher is from 0.50 to 4.2; and a component (B) comprising an organic solvent having a hydroxy group [Abstract]. Tawa teaches an exemplary internal olefin sulfonate (a-6), which was prepared using a 16-carbon olefin raw material with a double bond distribution of 0.4% at C1, 25.2% at C2, at 21.7% at C3, 17.7% at C4, 13.5% at C5, 9.7 at C6, 5.9% at C7, and 5.9% at C8 [Table 3]. This equates to an average double bond position of 4.009, based on the following calculation: [ (1*0.4) + (2*25.2) + (3*21.7) + (4*17.7) + (5*13.5) + (6*9.7) + (7*5.9) + (8*5.9) ] / 100 = 4.009. Tawa further teaches that (a-6) has a sulfonate group distribution of 1.2% at C1, 20.4% at C2 (reads on instant claims 4, 12-13) , 17.1% at C3 (reads on instant claims 5 and 14-16), 22.4% at C4, and 38.9% at C5 to C9 [Table 2]. Thus, the content of internal olefin sulfonate having a sulfonate group at the C1 to C4 position is 61.1% (i.e. 100% - 38.9% = 61.1%), which reads on the claimed range of 40% to 75% (instant claims 3 and 11) . MPEP 2144.05.
Tawa teaches that the use of an internal olefin sulfonate wherein the mass ratio of internal olefin sulfonate having a sulfonate group at the C2 to C4 position to internal olefin sulfonate having a sulfonate group at the C5 or higher position is from 0.5 to 4.2, such as (a-6), see Table 2 (aforementioned mass ratio for (1-6) = 1.5) , can prevent precipitation and separation of the detergent composition at low temperatures [0023]. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Doi with that of Tawa, and use the internal olefin sulfonate (a-6) as taught by Tawa, as the internal olefin sulfonate component of the cleansing composition of Doi, in order to improve the stability of the cleansing composition.
Regarding claims 18 and 20, these claims recite a limitation previously made obvious over Doi, said discussion will not be repeated herein (see above rejection of claims 6, 17, and 19).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/AMANDA LYNN CHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613