DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 12 recites “wherein an outer circumference of the hub has a predefined shape; wherein the predefined shape comprises a plurality of alternating raised portions; and any two raised portions are coupled to each other via a sunken radius”. Claim 1, from which claim 12 depends recites “wherein the cross-section of the core is symmetrical across a line that is perpendicular to surfaces of the planar upper and lower planar portions of the core and that passes through a center of a width of the cross-section of the central portion of the core”. The examiner notes this particular combination of these two features are not present together within a single disclosed embodiment. For example, while figure 4 discloses “wherein the cross-section of the core is symmetrical across a line that is perpendicular to surfaces of the planar upper and lower planar portions of the core and that passes through a center of a width of the cross-section of the central portion of the core” it does not disclose “alternating raised portions”. Conversely, while figure 11 discloses alternating raised portions, it does not disclose “wherein the cross-section of the core is symmetrical across a line that is perpendicular to surfaces of the planar upper and lower planar portions of the core and that passes through a center of a width of the cross-section of the central portion of the core”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 47, line 12 objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “inward to complimentary shape” is grammatically awkward. The Examiner suggests - - inward to said complimentary shape- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7-9, 11, 12, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1,2) as being anticipated by Oberle US 2010/0201030 A1.
Oberle discloses:
Claim 1- a ring gear (1) comprising a first material (see cross-hatching fig. 1), the ring gear having an inner diameter and an outer diameter defining a plurality of gear teeth (see outside of 2 in figure 3); a core (4) coupled to the inner diameter of the ring gear, the core comprising a second material that is different from the first material (see cross-hatching fig. 1); and a hub (3) coupled to the core, the hub comprising a third material (see cross-hatching fig. 1) different from the second material; wherein a cross-section of the core comprises an upper planar portion (unnumbered see fig. 1), a lower planar portion (unnumbered see fig. 1), and a central portion(unnumbered see fig. 1), and is tapered from the upper planar portion and the lower planar portion towards the central portion (see fig. 1).
Claim 5- wherein the outer diameter of the ring gear comprises a plurality of helical gear teeth (see fig. 4).
Claim 7- wherein the core comprises a middle portion around the hub, and an outer portion around the middle portion (see fig. 1).
Claim 8- wherein the hub is one of press- fit into the core and overmolded with the core (paragraph 0032 of detailed description).
Claim 9- wherein the hub is detachable from the middle portion of the core (the device is capable of being detached)
Claim 11- wherein the outer portion of the core comprises a mating surface configured to be coupled to the inner diameter of the ring gear (see fig. 1).
Claim 12- wherein an outer circumference of the hub has a predefined shape; wherein the predefined shape comprises a plurality of alternating raised portions; and any two raised portions are coupled to each other via a sunken radius (see figure 3).
Claim 14- wherein the plurality of alternating raised portions are formed at the outer circumference of the hub (figure 3)
Claim 15- wherein the outer portion of the hub further comprises a raised locking portion at a circumference thereof (see figure 3).
Claim 16- wherein the middle portion of the core comprises a plurality of complimentary shapes at an inner portion thereof, the complimentary shapes being in a mating configuration with the alternating raised portions of the outer portion of the hub (figs. 1 and 3).
Claim 18- wherein the cross-section of the core has an angled cross shape (fig. 1).
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1,2) as being anticipated by Wells US 3,200,665 A.
Wells discloses:
Claim 48- a ring gear (figures 1 and 2) comprising a first material (see cross-hatching), the ring gear having an inner diameter and an outer diameter defining a plurality of gear teeth (22), wherein the inner diameter of the ring gear is smooth (see unnumbered flat portions in figure 3); a core (15) coupled to the inner diameter of the ring gear, the core comprising a second material that is different from the first material (see cross-hatching); and a hub (10) coupled to the core, the hub comprising a third material different from the second material (see cross-hatching), wherein the core surrounds the hub (see figures 1 and 2); wherein a cross-section of the core comprises an upper planar portion, a lower planar portion, and a central portion (generally shown at 19, 18 and 16 in figure 2), and is tapered from the upper planar portion and the lower planar portion towards the central portion (see fig. 2), wherein the cross-section of the core is tapered from the upper and lower planar portions to a center of the central portion (see fig. 2), and wherein a portion of the lower planar portion (16) abuts against a shoulder (see 16 abutting against 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6, and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oberle US 2010/0201030 A1.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Oberle discloses the claimed invention except for stainless steel, cast iron, and aluminum 6061. Stainless steel, cast iron, and aluminum 6061 are old and well known for their durability, strength and strength to weight ratio. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize stainless steel, cast iron, and aluminum 6061 for their durability, strength and strength to weight ratio, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 6- wherein the inner diameter of the ring gear has a smooth surface compared to the outer diameter (outer diameter of 114 is gear teeth).
Regarding claims 19-24- Oberle discloses the claimed invention except for the particular values of claims 19-24. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the particular values as a simple matter of optimizing the performance variables, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 47 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art neither discloses nor renders obvious the claimed combination including: wherein the predefined shape comprises a plurality of alternating raised portions; and any two raised portions are coupled to each other via a sunken radius, wherein the hub includes a raised locking portion around a middle of the outer circumference of the hub and wherein the core includes a complimentary shape to the raised locking portion to connect the hub and core, wherein inner diameter portions of the core taper radially inward to complimentary shape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 3,304,796 A discloses a similar device but does not disclose stainless steel.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TERENCE BOES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3618
/TERENCE BOES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618