Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1,9-11,13,16,17,25,26,29,31,33,40 and 42 in the reply filed on 8/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2,3,18,19,20,20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected product/method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, it is unclear how the product of claim 1 cannot contain a phosphate when a nucleotide is required in option b of claim 1. A nucleotide such as GMP and IMP contains a phosphate. For the purposes of this action, a nucleotide such as GMP and IMP is excluded from the “phosphate” in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,9-11,13,16,25,26,29,31,33,40 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mcgrane(WO2014/068047A1).
Regarding claims 1,9,10,11,13,42, Mcgrane teaches administering a pet food product to a cat. The pet food product comprises water with added 25mM proline(a first amino acid capable of activating a umami response) and 25mM histidine(a second amino acid not capable of activating the umami receptor)(example 1). Therefore, the first and second amino acids have a 1:1 molar ratio.
Mcgrane teaches that the composition caused the cats to drink more water than a control(example 1). Since increased hydration is known to prevent/treat kidney disease, Mcgrane teaches a method preventing/treating chronic kidney disease.
Regarding claim 16, Mcgrane teaches the presence of a phosphate in the form of GMP. However, since GMP is one of the nucleotides as allowed in claim 1, GMP is not considered a “phosphate” as prohibited in claim 16. As such, Mcgrane does not require any other phosphates and meets claim 16. See the 112(b) rejection as stated above.
Regarding claims 25 and 26, Mcgrane does not teach the presence of a nucleotide derived from yeast. However, Mcgrane teaches option (a) in claim 1, a combination of amino acids. Option (b) reciting a nucleotide is not required in claim 1. Therefore, further limiting of option (b) in claims 25 and 26 is not limiting to claim 1 if option (a) is chosen.
Regarding claims 29 and 31, Mcgrane teaches the presence of a furan in an amount of 4ppm(example 1).
Regarding claim 33, Mcgrane teaches that the pet food further contains GMP and IMP which contains a phosphate(example 1).
Regarding claim 40, Mcgrane teaches that the pet food can be a packaged drinking water(p.5, line 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mcgrane(WO2014/068047A1) in view of Eichelburg(US 4265913).
Regarding claim 17, Mcgrane does not teach the presence of yeast. However, Eichelburg teaches that the addition of yeast to food and medicine products for animals such as cats acts as a palatability enhancer(abstract, background). It would have been obvious to include yeast in the pet product of Mcgrane as taught in Eichelburg in order to increase palatability of the product.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE D LEBLANC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791