DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Motowaki (US 2020/0068758). Motowaki discloses a kitting device extraction system comprising: multiple types of kitting devices (30 and see para. 0066) configured to perform different setting work for setting a reel, on which a carrier tape for accommodating components is wound, on a feeder; and an extraction section (33) configured to extract a corresponding kitting device capable of performing the setting work based on a state of the reel from the multiple types of kitting devices (see at least paras. 0054 and 0059). The multiple types of kitting devices include a setup device (30) that automatically sets the reel on the feeder so that the components are capable of being supplied from the feeder. The multiple types of kitting devices include a feeder unit in which the reel is set on the feeder by a worker (see para. 0066).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motowaki (US 2020/0068758) in view of Makino et al. (JP 2019-204858 A). Motowaki discloses a kitting device extraction system comprising: multiple types of kitting devices (30 and see para. 0066) configured to perform different setting work for setting a reel, on which a carrier tape for accommodating components is wound, on a feeder; and an extraction section (33) configured to extract a corresponding kitting device capable of performing the setting work based on a state of the reel from the multiple types of kitting devices (see at least paras. 0054 and 0059). Motowaki discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose a storage configured to store the reel or a conveyance section configured to convey the reel stored in the storage toward the corresponding kitting device. However, Makino discloses a similar device which includes a storage (M6) configured to store a reel (42); and a conveyance section (M7) configured to convey the reel stored in the storage toward the corresponding kitting device for the purpose of resupplying a kitting device. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to utilize a storage configured to store the reel; and a conveyance section configured to convey the reel stored in the storage toward the corresponding kitting device, as disclosed by Makino, for the purpose of resupplying a kitting device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Iisaka et al. (US 9,814,168) and Hara (WO 2015/019412 A1) disclose devices for setting a reel on a component mounting machine.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653