DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a valuable material collection unit configured to collect valuable materials other than the plate glass, the valuable materials being comprised in the thermally decomposed solar cell module, in claim 1.
a tool collection unit configured to collect the collection tool remaining on the module collection conveyor after the plate glass and the valuable materials are collected, in claim 1.
The corresponding structures is/are:
valuable material collection unit [Wingdings font/0xE0] net
tool collection unit [Wingdings font/0xE0] lifting arm
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuguchi (JP 2016093804 A) in view of Maeda (JP 2648210 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Mizuguchi discloses a solar cell module recycling system comprising:
a thermal decomposition furnace (9, 18) configured to thermally decompose a used solar cell module (5) mounted on a collection tool (8);
a module collection conveyor (conveyor inside carry-out section 20; pg. 8, Example 17) configured to collect a thermally decomposed solar cell module thermally decomposed in the thermal decomposition furnace together with the collection tool; and
a valuable material collection unit (steel mesh 14) configured to collect valuable materials (inorganic substance/residue) other than the plate glass, the valuable materials being comprised in the thermally decomposed solar cell module (pg. 4, second paragraph).
Mizuguchi fails to disclose:
a glass collection conveyor configured to collect plate glass comprised in the thermally decomposed solar cell module transferred to the module collection conveyor; and
a tool collection unit configured to collect the collection tool remaining on the module collection conveyor after the plate glass and the valuable materials are collected.
Maeda teaches a sorting device comprising:
a plurality of collection conveyors configured to collect the sorted materials (pg. 2); and
a tool collection unit (72+81) configured to collect the collection tool (1) remaining on the module collection conveyor after the plate glass and the valuable materials are collected (pg. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Mizuguchi to include a glass collection conveyor configured to collect plate glass comprised in the thermally decomposed solar cell module transferred to the module collection conveyor. The motivation to combine is so that the collected plate glass can be conveyed to the appropriate collection point.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Mizuguchi to include a tool collection unit configured to collect the collection tool remaining on the module collection conveyor after the plate glass and the valuable materials are collected. The motivation to combine is so that the collection tool can be automatically collected and reused.
Regarding claim 4, modified Mizuguchi discloses the solar cell module recycling system according to claim 1, wherein the valuable materials other than the plate glass comprise cells and a ribbon wire (3) connecting the cells to each other (Mizuguchi; abstract).
Regarding claim 5, modified Mizuguchi discloses the solar cell module recycling system according to claim 4, wherein the valuable materials other than the plate glass further comprise granular glass (Fig. 2 shows some of the recovered glass as granules).
Regarding claim 6, modified Mizuguchi discloses (see rejection of claim 1 for citations) a solar cell module recycling method comprising: a thermal decomposition step of thermally decomposing a used solar cell module mounted on a collection tool by a thermal decomposition furnace; a module collection step of transferring the thermally decomposed solar cell module thermally decomposed in the thermal decomposition furnace to a module collection conveyor together with the collection tool and collecting the thermally decomposed solar cell module together with the collection tool; a glass collection step of collecting plate glass comprised in the thermally decomposed solar cell module transferred to the module collection conveyor; a valuable material collection step of collecting valuable materials other than the plate glass, the valuable materials being comprised in the thermally decomposed solar cell module; and a tool collection step of collecting the collection tool remaining on the module collection conveyor after the plate glass and the valuable materials are collected.
Regarding claim 8, modified Mizuguchi discloses the solar cell module recycling method according to claim 6, wherein the valuable materials other than the plate glass comprise cells and a ribbon wire connecting the cells to each other (see rejection of claim 4).
Regarding claim 9, modified Mizuguchi discloses the solar cell module recycling method according to claim 8, wherein the valuable materials other than the plate glass further comprise granular glass (see rejection of claim 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762