Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10,13-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US 20230051778 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses:
“Method carried out in an access node of a wireless network for scheduling communication with a user equipment (UE) the method comprising: transmitting, to the UE, configuration of scheduled periodic communication occasions for communication with the access node;” ([¶ 0078]: “In some cases, a network node may configure a UE with a DRX configuration via radio resource control (RRC) signaling… The network node may determine the anchor cycle duration (e.g., based on a number of periods of the downlink traffic bursts 610 that correspond to millisecond time boundaries, such as three 8.333 ms periods that provide a 25 ms anchor cycle duration), a number of DRX cycles within the anchor cycle 620, and which of the DRX cycles are to have different cycle durations.”)
“transmitting, to the UE, information identifying timing adjustment of the communication occasions in relation to a predetermined periodicity associated with the configuration; and” ([¶ 0081]: “A UE may make an adjustment 720 to the DRX ON-duration start offset following the third downlink burst 710-c, which may increase the ON-duration start offset by one millisecond in this example, such that the adjusted DRX ON-duration is aligned with the fourth downlink traffic burst 710-d.”; [¶ 0082]: “In some cases, the DRX starting offset may be dynamically indicated (e.g., based on MAC CE or DCI) in a prior downlink transmission.”)
“communicating data with the UE using the scheduled periodic communication occasions adjusted based on the timing adjustment.” ([¶ 0123]: “As shown by reference number 940, the UE may receive the one or more communications based at least in part on the configuration for the DRX cycle periodicity.”)
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee further discloses “wherein communicating data comprises transmitting data to the UE.” ([¶ 0123]: “As shown by reference number 940, the UE may receive the one or more communications based at least in part on the configuration for the DRX cycle periodicity.”)
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee further discloses “wherein communicating data comprises receiving data from the UE..” ([¶ 0068]: “For example, XR downlink traffic may include 100+ kilobytes (KB) of data for 45, 60, 75, or 90 frames per second (e.g., every 11 milli-seconds (ms), 13 ms, 16 ms, or 22 ms). XR uplink traffic may include controller information for gaming, information for VR split rendering, and/or the user pose information. The XR uplink traffic may include 100 bytes every 2 ms (500 Hz). The XR device may reduce this periodicity to align the XR uplink traffic with the XR downlink traffic.”)
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee further discloses “wherein said predetermined periodicity identifies a non-integer time of arrival, in a unit of time, based on an associated traffic rate, wherein the timing adjustment determines communication occasion timing at an integer number of time by rounding off the non-integer time of arrival based on a rounding function.” ([¶ 0116]: “Applying the ceiling operation or the floor operation on the non-integer number may allow the network node and the UE to determine the timing between reception occasions to include a leap DRX cycle without explicit signaling of the leap DRX cycle.”)
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee further discloses “wherein said configuration comprises a plurality of configurations, and wherein said information identifies alternate scheduling of communication occasions among said plurality of configurations.” ([¶ 0096]: “Additionally, or alternatively, the configuration information may indicate a set of candidate formulas from which a formula may be selected for one or more communications.”)
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee further discloses “wherein said information is provided as downlink control information by physical layer signaling.” ([¶ 0082]: “In some cases, the DRX starting offset may be dynamically indicated (e.g., based on MAC CE or DCI) in a prior downlink transmission.”)
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses:
“Method carried out in a user equipment (UE) for implementing scheduling of communication with an access node of a wireless network, the method comprising: receiving, from the wireless network, configuration of scheduled periodic communication occasions for communication with the access node;” ([¶ 0078]: “In some cases, a network node may configure a UE with a DRX configuration via radio resource control (RRC) signaling… The network node may determine the anchor cycle duration (e.g., based on a number of periods of the downlink traffic bursts 610 that correspond to millisecond time boundaries, such as three 8.333 ms periods that provide a 25 ms anchor cycle duration), a number of DRX cycles within the anchor cycle 620, and which of the DRX cycles are to have different cycle durations.”)
“obtaining information identifying timing adjustment of the communication occasions in relation to a predetermined periodicity associated with the configuration; and” ([¶ 0081]: “A UE may make an adjustment 720 to the DRX ON-duration start offset following the third downlink burst 710-c, which may increase the ON-duration start offset by one millisecond in this example, such that the adjusted DRX ON-duration is aligned with the fourth downlink traffic burst 710-d.”; [¶ 0082]: “In some cases, the DRX starting offset may be dynamically indicated (e.g., based on MAC CE or DCI) in a prior downlink transmission.”)
“communicating data with the access node using the scheduled periodic communication occasions adjusted based on the timing adjustment..” ([¶ 0123]: “As shown by reference number 940, the UE may receive the one or more communications based at least in part on the configuration for the DRX cycle periodicity.”)
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee further discloses “wherein communicating data comprises receiving data from the access node.” ([¶ 0123]: “As shown by reference number 940, the UE may receive the one or more communications based at least in part on the configuration for the DRX cycle periodicity.”)
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee further discloses “wherein communicating data comprises transmitting data to the access node.” ([¶ 0068]: “For example, XR downlink traffic may include 100+ kilobytes (KB) of data for 45, 60, 75, or 90 frames per second (e.g., every 11 milli-seconds (ms), 13 ms, 16 ms, or 22 ms). XR uplink traffic may include controller information for gaming, information for VR split rendering, and/or the user pose information. The XR uplink traffic may include 100 bytes every 2 ms (500 Hz). The XR device may reduce this periodicity to align the XR uplink traffic with the XR downlink traffic.”)
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee further discloses “wherein said information identifies a reference point in time for application of the timing adjustment to the communication occasions.” ([¶ 0081]: “A UE may make an adjustment 720 to the DRX ON-duration start offset following the third downlink burst 710-c, which may increase the ON-duration start offset by one millisecond in this example, such that the adjusted DRX ON-duration is aligned with the fourth downlink traffic burst 710-d.”)
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee further discloses “wherein the configuration identifies semipersistent scheduling according to said predetermined periodicity.” ([¶ 0093]: “For example, the communication cycle periodicity may include a periodicity associated with … semi-persistent-scheduling (SPS) resources…”)
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee further discloses “wherein said configuration identifies said predetermined periodicity, and wherein said information comprises at least one adjustment parameter to be applied to the communication occasions.” ([¶ 0078]: “In some cases, a network node may configure a UE with a DRX configuration via radio resource control (RRC) signaling… The network node may determine the anchor cycle duration (e.g., based on a number of periods of the downlink traffic bursts 610 that correspond to millisecond time boundaries, such as three 8.333 ms periods that provide a 25 ms anchor cycle duration), a number of DRX cycles within the anchor cycle 620, and which of the DRX cycles are to have different cycle durations.”; [¶ 0081]: “A UE may make an adjustment 720 to the DRX ON-duration start offset following the third downlink burst 710-c, which may increase the ON-duration start offset by one millisecond in this example, such that the adjusted DRX ON-duration is aligned with the fourth downlink traffic burst 710-d.”; [¶ 0082]: “In some cases, the DRX starting offset may be dynamically indicated (e.g., based on MAC CE or DCI) in a prior downlink transmission.”)
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee further discloses “wherein said at least one adjustment parameter comprises a time shift, and an adjustment interval identifying a number of communication occasions between adjustment using the time shift.” ([¶ 0081]: “A UE may make an adjustment 720 to the DRX ON-duration start offset following the third downlink burst 710-c, which may increase the ON-duration start offset by one millisecond in this example, such that the adjusted DRX ON-duration is aligned with the fourth downlink traffic burst 710-d.”; [¶ 0082]: “In some cases, the DRX starting offset may be dynamically indicated (e.g., based on MAC CE or DCI) in a prior downlink transmission.”)
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee further discloses “wherein said at least one adjustment parameter comprises a timing adjustment to be applied to successive communication occasions of the predetermined periodicity for determining an adjusted periodicity between the communication occasions.” ([¶ 0081]: “A UE may make an adjustment 720 to the DRX ON-duration start offset following the third downlink burst 710-c, which may increase the ON-duration start offset by one millisecond in this example, such that the adjusted DRX ON-duration is aligned with the fourth downlink traffic burst 710-d.”; [¶ 0082]: “In some cases, the DRX starting offset may be dynamically indicated (e.g., based on MAC CE or DCI) in a prior downlink transmission.”)
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee further discloses “wherein said information is provided by radio resource control signaling.” ([¶ 0099]: “In some aspects, the UE may receive the indication of the configuration for the DRX formula via RRC signaling.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20230051778 A1) in view of Khoshnevisan (US 20220225378 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee does not explicitly disclose “wherein each of said plurality of configurations use said predetermined periodicity, with a time offset between the communication occasions for said plurality of configurations.”
However, Khoshnevisan discloses the missing feature “wherein each of said plurality of configurations use said predetermined periodicity, with a time offset between the communication occasions for said plurality of configurations.” ([¶ 0017]: “The method may include receiving, from a base station, a configuration that indicates a first monitoring pattern for a first SS set within a first transmission time interval and a second monitoring pattern for a second SS set within a second transmission time interval, receiving, from the base station, an indication that a first group of downlink control channel candidates in the first SS set are linked with a second group of downlink control channel candidates in the second SS set for downlink control channel repetition, and monitoring the first group of downlink control channel candidates of the first SS set and the second group of downlink control channel candidates of the second SS set based on the first SS set and the second SS set having a same periodicity but different offsets.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Lee and Khoshnevisan, to modify the technique as disclosed by Lee, to utilize the same periodicity but different offsets as disclosed by Khoshnevisan. The motivation for doing so is that it prevents collisions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Khoshnevisan to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view of Khoshnevisan discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee does not explicitly disclose “wherein said information configures the UE to monitor the communication occasions for at least two of said configurations in each period of the predetermined periodicity.”
However, Khoshnevisan discloses the missing feature “wherein said information configures the UE to monitor the communication occasions for at least two of said configurations in each period of the predetermined periodicity.” ([¶ 0017]: “The method may include receiving, from a base station, a configuration that indicates a first monitoring pattern for a first SS set within a first transmission time interval and a second monitoring pattern for a second SS set within a second transmission time interval, receiving, from the base station, an indication that a first group of downlink control channel candidates in the first SS set are linked with a second group of downlink control channel candidates in the second SS set for downlink control channel repetition, and monitoring the first group of downlink control channel candidates of the first SS set and the second group of downlink control channel candidates of the second SS set based on the first SS set and the second SS set having a same periodicity but different offsets.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Lee and Khoshnevisan, to modify the technique as disclosed by Lee, to utilize the same periodicity but different offsets as disclosed by Khoshnevisan. The motivation for doing so is that it prevents collisions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Khoshnevisan to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20230051778 A1) in view of Zhang (US 20200404586 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee does not explicitly disclose “wherein the predetermined periodicity comprises a first periodicity and a second periodicity, and wherein said adjustment parameter identifies timing for switching between the first periodicity and the second periodicity.”
However, Zhang discloses the missing feature “wherein the predetermined periodicity comprises a first periodicity and a second periodicity, and wherein said adjustment parameter identifies timing for switching between the first periodicity and the second periodicity.” ([¶ 0118]: “In some examples, base station 105-b may switch UE 115-a from a first monitoring pattern having first periodicity 325 to a second monitoring pattern having a second periodicity 330. Base station 105-a may send a control message 320 to UE 115-c. The control message 320 may trigger a switch from the first monitoring pattern to the second monitoring pattern. The control message 320 may be included in a group common PDCCH (e.g., channel occupancy time system information (COT-SI)) or a UE-specific PDCCH.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Lee and Zhang, to modify the technique as disclosed by Lee, to utilize the multiple periodicities as disclosed by Zhang. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Zhang to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee does not explicitly disclose “wherein said timing for switching comprises a timing scheme, identifying a number of communication occasions for using one of the first and second periodicities before switching.”
However, Zhang discloses the missing feature “wherein said timing for switching comprises a timing scheme, identifying a number of communication occasions for using one of the first and second periodicities before switching..” ([¶ 0171]: “The COT manager 1120 may identify, based on the control message, a channel occupancy time during which a base station has gained access to the wireless channel, where monitoring the wireless channel for downlink control channel signaling during the second set of downlink control channel monitoring occasions includes switching from the first monitoring pattern to the second monitoring pattern for a duration of no more than the channel occupancy time.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Lee and Zhang, to modify the technique as disclosed by Lee, to utilize the multiple periodicities as disclosed by Zhang. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Zhang to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20230051778 A1) in view of Chai (US 20240129785 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses all of the features of the parent claim.
Lee does not explicitly disclose “wherein said information is obtained from an application layer in association with data communication of application data.”
However, Chai discloses the missing feature “wherein said information is obtained from an application layer in association with data communication of application data.” ([¶ 0972]: “transmission time information of data of the multicast service includes: a repetition cycle, an offset parameter and a duration of service data of the multicast service; where the UE can obtain the time information from the application layer;”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Lee and Chai, to modify the technique as disclosed by Lee, to receive the offset from the application layer as disclosed by Chai. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Chai to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
/SAAD KHAWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412