DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected. The drawings in the instant application are presented as the photographs (e.g., see Figs. 3A-5). Photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not permitted in utility and design patent applications. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1).
Furthermore, the drawings in general are of poor quality and have reduced legibility. Additionally, the drawings will not reproduce well due to the character of the lines. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. See 37 CFR 1.84(1).
(1) Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process
which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter
must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and
uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to
permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and
to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses
may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
(m) Shading. The use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the
invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Shading is used to indicate the surface or shape of
spherical, cylindrical, and conical elements of an object. Flat parts may also be lightly shaded.
Such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, but not for cross sections.
See paragraph (h)(3) of this section. Spaced lines for shading are preferred. These lines must be
thin, as few in number as practicable, and they must contrast with the rest of the drawings. As a substitute for shading, heavy lines on the shade side of objects can be used except where they superimpose on each other or obscure reference characters. Light should come from the upper left corner at an angle of 45°. Surface delineations should preferably be shown by proper shading. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19, 26, and 28, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites the limitation “a smart socket” (l. 3). It’s not clear whether it’s the same component as the previously introduced “smart socket device” or something else. If it’s the same component, then the Applicant is reminded that the uniform terminology should be used throughout the claims. The claimed terminology should be consistent with the terminology of the specification and should follow the nomenclature of the specification. The terms and phrases used in claims must have a clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
Regarding claim 26, the limitation “an appliance” (l. 2) produces ambiguity, since it’s not clear whether it’s the same “appliance” as the previously introduced in claim 1 (l. 2), or a different one. If it’s the same “appliance”, then it’s not clear why it recited with an article “a”.
Regarding claim 28, the limitation “particular behavior” (l. 2) is vague and indefinite (i.e., any behavior can be regarded as a “particular” one).
Appropriate corrections are required. The Office requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing all pending claims and correcting all remaining problems and informalities present in the claims, but not made of record above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-11, 13-16, 18, 19, and 25-28, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0124327 to Parfitt (cited on IDS) in view of SE 509,879 to Per Huse et al. (hereafter “Huse”, cited on IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Parfitt discloses a smart socket device/electrical safety system (Fig. 1) comprising: a socket (100) arranged to receive an electrical plug of an electrical appliance (par. 6: "the present invention comprises a socket arranged to receive an electrical plug of an electrical appliance to connect a current supply to the electrical appliance''); a mains current connector for connection to a mains current supply cable (par. 80: "The device may be connected directly to the mains power supply via connection''); a conductor arranged such that current flows through the conductor between the mains current connector and the electrical plug during use (par. 44: "electrical faults can be determined by an increased in surface temperature of the mains plug connection''); a thermal sensor arranged to detect the surface temperature of the conductor (par. 57: "The thermal sensor 110 is preferably configured to detect temperature changes over a range of -20° C. to 100° C., allowing for tracking of the surface temperature of the electrical plug as it begins to heat up in the case of an electrical fault.''); a processor in communication with the thermal sensor (par. 44:" The electrical safety device 100 further includes a processor (internal to the device and not pictured) which is in communication with the thermal sensor 110''), the processor configured to determine when the sensed surface temperature of the conductor exceeds a predetermined threshold; a communications link configured to communicate with a remote device (par.55:"the electrical safety device further includes an internal alarm sounder to provide an alert when a plug received in the socket 120 exceeds the predetermined threshold .. The device 100 further includes wireless communication functionality in order to send alerts to a user device such as a smartphone and to take various actions to mitigate the risk'').
Parfitt does not disclose that a PCB comprises the conductor arranged such that current flows through the conductor between the mains current connector and the electrical
plug during use.
Huse discloses a PCB (1) comprising a conductor (11-13) arranged such that current flows through the conductor between the mains current connector and the electrical plug during use (Figs. 1, 2 and par.8 of the English translation of record: “it has now been found particularly advantageous, in view of the aforementioned problems with this particular type of plug, to utilize circuit board technology to achieve a new plug design which is simple and inexpensive in manufacture while being secure. And functional in use, for example in ordinary house installations.'').
Based on this knowledge, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implemented the necessary conductor in Parfitt by means of a PCB comprising a conductor, as taught by Huse, in order to simplify the design and assembly, while achieving a secure device which is simple and inexpensive in manufacture. Furter, in the aforementioned combination the thermal sensor would implicitly also be arranged to detect the surface temperature of the conductor of the PCB as the contact sleeves/connectors (2A-2C, 3A-3C) are disposed on the PCB (Huse, Figs. 1 and 2). Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, Parfitt discloses that the thermal sensor is configured to provide a contactless measurement of the temperature of the conductor of the PCB during use (i.e., the thermal sensor is an infrared sensor, see par. 37: "Preferably the thermal sensor is an infrared sensor such as an infrared thermal imaging sensor. In particular, preferably the thermal sensor is an infrared camera comprising an array of thermopile detector pixels'').
Regarding claim 5, Parfitt-Huse combination discloses that the conductor comprises a conductive track (Huse, elements (11-13)) running across a face of the PCB (Huse, element (1)), wherein the thermal sensor is arranged so as to be facing the conductive track (in the aforementioned Parfitt-Huse combination the thermal sensor would implicitly also be arranged to detect the surface temperature of the conductor of the PCB as the contact sleeves/connectors (2A-2C, 3A-3C) are disposed on the PCB, Figs. 1 and 2 of Huse).
Regarding claims 4-7, Parfitt-Huse combination does not disclose: a second PCB comprising the thermal sensor, wherein the second PCB is arranged adjacent to the first PCB, wherein the first PCB is arranged between the socket and the second PCB, the first PCB comprising a first face that faces the socket and a second, opposing, face that faces the second PCB, where the conductive track is positioned on the second face.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have constructed the device of the Parfitt-Huse combination on multiple PCBs, so the thermal sensor is on the second PCB, wherein the second PCB is arranged adjacent to the first PCB, wherein the first PCB is arranged between the socket and the second PCB, the first PCB comprising a first face that faces the socket and a second, opposing, face that faces the second PCB, where the conductive track is positioned on the second face, in order to achieve: desired thermal sensor sensitivity/response, desired space utilization, and optimal assembly process, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Also, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Huse discloses that the conductor (11-13) comprises a connector (2A-2C, 3A-3C) arranged to contact a pin of the electrical plug when received in the socket and the PCB (1) comprises a live conductor (11, 12) (to contact connectors (2A, 3A, 2C, 3C) and a neutral conductor (13) (to contact connectors (2B, 3B)) (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 10, Parfitt discloses that a first thermal sensor arranged to measure the temperature of the live conductor and a second thermal sensor arranged to measure the temperature of the neutral conductor (see pars. 8, 36, 38, 41, 59, 60, 61, 102, and 114 teaching various arrangements and positionings of the thermal sensors, including “to detect the surface temperature of the electrical components”, “to face the internal electrical components”, “mounted so as to be directed at the internal electrical components which are most liable to overheat, such as one or more of: a motor, a heater, a power source, a fuse, and the connecting electrical circuitry”, “[a]dditional thermal sensors may monitor connections within the device to identify abnormal current flow or local hazard causing conditions”, etc.).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have positioned thermal sensors in the Parfitt-Huse combination as claimed, in order to predicably and reliably detect dangerous temperature rise of the desired electrical components, thus enhancing overall safety of the installation, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 11, Parfitt discloses an ambient temperature sensor configured to measure the ambient temperature in the vicinity of the smart socket device (i.e., the processor is configured to determine the predetermined threshold based on the local ambient temperature measured by ambient temperature sensor, see par.113: "When the sensed ambient thermal energy level exceeds a threshold value, the heat detector communicates with the internal circuitry to indicate a risk of fire.'').
Regarding claim 13, Parfitt discloses that the smart socket device further comprising a relay configured to connect and disconnect the electrical plug from the mains current connector; wherein the processor is configured to control the relay in response to one or more of: receiving, via the communications link, an instruction from a remote device; the sensed surface temperature exceeding a threshold; or data from a programmable timer within the smart socket device (i.e., the processor is configured to determine the predetermined threshold based on the local ambient temperature measured by ambient temperature sensor, see par.113: "When the sensed ambient thermal energy level exceeds a threshold value, the heat detector communicates with the internal circuitry to indicate a risk of fire.''. See also teachings of the “relay(s)” in pars. 17, 18, 55, 73, 87, 108, 115, and in claim 10).
Regarding claims 14 and 27, Parfitt discloses a current sensor arranged to detect the current passing through the conductor of the PCB, wherein the processor is configured to determine the presence of an electrical fault based on the combination of data received from the current sensor and data received from the thermal sensor (par. 88: "if a power surge is detected by the current sensors in electrical safety devices 100, 200 or the infrared thermal sensors detect a rise in temperature associated with a power surge, the mains electrical isolation unit 350 can act to send a signal to the main switch 351 of the consumer unit 353 to shut off the mains electrical supply'').
Regarding claim 16, Parfitt discloses that the electrical system comprises one or more smart socket devices and one or more remote devices, wherein the smart socket devices and remote devices form a mesh network in which the smart socket devices and remote devices can communicate (par. 27: "The electrical system may comprise one or more electrical safety devices and one or more remote devices, wherein the electrical safety devices and remote devices form a mesh network in which the electrical safety devices and remote devices can communicate.'').
Regarding claim 18, Parfitt discloses that at least one remote device comprises a smart
user device and the smart user device is configured to provide an audio or visual alert after receiving signal from the smart socket device (par. 28: "Preferably at least one remote device comprises a smart user device and the smart user device is configured to provide an audio or visual alert after receiving a signal from the electrical safety device.''; par. 55: "the electrical safety device further includes an internal alarm sounder to provide an alert when a plug received in the socket 120 exceeds the predetermined threshold .. The device 100 further includes wireless communication functionality in order to send alerts to a user device such as a smartphone and to take various actions to mitigate the risk'').
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Parfitt discloses that at least one remote device comprises a dynamic sign comprising a configurable display (i.e. a “smartphone”), wherein the dynamic sign is configured to receive a signal from a smart socket and display information on the configurable display in response (par. 55: "the electrical safety device further includes an internal alarm sounder to provide an alert when a plug received in the socket 120 exceeds the predetermined threshold .. The device 100 further includes wireless communication functionality in order to send alerts to a user device such as a smartphone and to take various actions to mitigate the risk'').
Regarding claim 25, Parfitt discloses that the processor is configured to determine when the sensed temperature of the conductor exceeds a predetermined threshold (par. 44: "The electrical safety device 100 further includes a processor”; par. 55: "the electrical safety device further includes an internal alarm sounder to provide an alert when a plug received in the socket 120 exceeds the predetermined threshold .. The device 100 further includes wireless communication functionality in order to send alerts to a user device such as a smartphone and to take various actions to mitigate the risk''. Also, see pars. 8, 36, 38, 41, 59, 60, 61, 102, and 114 for teachings various arrangements and positionings of the thermal sensors, including “to detect the surface temperature of the electrical components”, “to face the internal electrical components”, “mounted so as to be directed at the internal electrical components which are most liable to overheat, such as one or more of: a motor, a heater, a power source, a fuse, and the connecting electrical circuitry”, “[a]dditional thermal sensors may monitor connections within the device to identify abnormal current flow or local hazard causing conditions”, etc.).
Regarding claim 26, as best understood, Parfitt-Huse combination discloses that the first PCB ((1) in Huse) comprises a relay for disconnecting the supply of mains power to an appliance plugged into the socket (see in Parfitt numerous teachings of the “relay(s)” and their functionality in pars. 17, 18, 55, 73, 87, 108, 115, and in claim 10).
Regarding claim 28, as best understood, Parfitt discloses that the processor is configured to determine when the rate of change of the sensed temperature displays a particular behaviour (pars. 9, 21, 30, 38, 42, 68).
Conclusion
The additional prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure, because of the teachings of various electrical smart plugs, sockets, and receptacles. Furter, some references teach non-smart electrical plugs, sockets, and receptacles with safety protection arrangements, e.g., US 10161806, 6753755, 7489227, 6340926, 6204747, etc.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/ interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash N. Gandhi can be reached at 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Anatoly Vortman/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841