DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on 07/28/2026 regarding claims 1-9 is fully considered. Of the above claims, claims 1-3 have been canceled; claims 4-6 have been amended.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature of “wherein the first electrode includes first characteristic positions where a temperature coefficient of resistance of the shunt resistor has a first value and second characteristic positions where the temperature coefficient of resistance of the shunt resistor has a second value” (claim 6, emphasis added) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, the recitation of “wherein the first electrode includes first characteristic positions where a temperature coefficient of resistance of the shunt resistor has a first value and second characteristic positions where the temperature coefficient of resistance of the shunt resistor has a second value, …, the second electrode includes the first characteristic positions and the second characteristic positions” (emphasis added) in lines 4-8 does not appear to be in the original disclosure. The specification discloses the first electrode has one first characteristic position and one second characteristic position where voltages are detected (voltage detection terminals 16A, 16C; FIGs. 1-2, 11, 21), not first characteristic positions and second characteristic positions. Likewise, the second electrode has one first characteristic position and one second characteristic position where voltages are detected (voltage detection terminals 16B, 16D; FIGs. 1-2, 10, 21).
Claims 7-9 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramm et al. (US 2024/0085459 A1) in view of Kramm et al. (US 2023/0168281 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kramm et al. ‘459 teach a current detection apparatus (current-sensing resistor 1; FIG. 8; so that to avoid repetition, reference is made to the above description, whereby the same reference signs are used for corresponding details; [0094]) comprising:
a shunt resistor having a resistance element, a first electrode, and a second electrode, the first electrode and the second electrode being coupled to both sides of the resistance element (current-sensing resistor 1 having resistor element 6, first-plate-shaped connection part 2 and second plate-shaped connection part 3; FIG. 8), wherein the first electrode includes at least one first characteristic positions where a temperature coefficient of resistance of the shunt resistor has a first value (voltage measurement contact 9; FIG. 8) and at least one second characteristic positions where the temperature coefficient of resistance of the shunt resistor has a second value (voltage measurement contacts 22, 23; FIG. 8), the second electrode includes the at least one the first characteristic positions and the at least one the second characteristic positions (voltage measurement contacts 10, 11 and 12; FIG. 8); and
a current detector electrically coupled to the shunt resistor (voltage measuring device 20, evaluation unit 21; FIG. 7), the current detector including:
a first voltage detection contact electrically coupled to the at least one first characteristic positions of the first electrode (contact of the voltage measuring device 20 electrically coupled to voltage measurement contact 9; FIGs. 7-8);
a second voltage detection contact electrically coupled to the at least one first characteristic positions of the second electrode (contact of the voltage measuring device 20 electrically coupled to voltage measurement contact 11; FIGs. 7-8);
a third voltage detection contact electrically coupled to the at least one second characteristic positions of the first electrode (contact of the voltage measuring device 20 electrically coupled to voltage measurement contacts 22 and 23; FIGs. 7-8);
a fourth voltage detection contact electrically coupled to the at least one second characteristic positions of the second electrode (contact of the voltage measuring device 20 electrically coupled to voltage measurement contacts 10 and 12; FIGs. 7-8); and
a current calculator into which voltage signals from the first voltage detection contact, the second voltage detection contact, the third voltage detection contact, and the fourth voltage detection contact are input (the evaluation unit 21 calculates the current I flowing through the current-sensing resistor 1 from the measured voltage values U12, U13, U23 in accordance with Ohm’s law; [0086]),
wherein the current calculator is configured to derive a value of a current flowing through the shunt resistor from a first characteristic-side detected voltage between the first voltage detection contact and the second voltage detection contact and a second characteristic-side detected voltage between the third voltage detection contact and the fourth voltage detection contact, the first characteristic-side detected voltage and the second characteristic-side detected voltage being calculated from the voltage signals (the evaluation unit 21 calculates the current I flowing through the current-sensing resistor 1 from the measured voltage values U12, U13, U23 in accordance with Ohm’s law; [0086]).
Further regarding claim 6, Kramm et al. ‘459 do not teach wherein the at least one first characteristic positions is two or more first characteristic positions and the at least one second characteristic positions is two or more second characteristic positions; and wherein the first value and the second value having different numerical values.
Further regarding claim 6, Kramm et al. ‘281 do teach a first electrode having two or more first characteristic positions and a second electrode having two or more second characteristic positions (voltage-sensing contacts 8-19; FIG. 1C); and wherein a first value of the two or more first characteristic positions and a second value of the two or more second characteristic positions having different numerical values (FIG. 1C) for the purpose of providing for multiple pairs of voltage sensing contacts to be arranged in series in the direction of current flow to improve the current-sensing resistor.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the at least one first characteristic positions is two or more first characteristic positions and the at least one second characteristic positions is two or more second characteristic positions; and wherein the first value and the second value having different numerical values, as taught by Kramm et al. ‘281, into Kramm et al. ‘459 for the purpose of providing for multiple pairs of voltage sensing contacts to be arranged in series in the direction of current flow to improve the current-sensing resistor.
Regarding claim 7, Kramm et al. ‘459 teach wherein the current calculator has a current calculation formula configured to calculate the value of the current flowing through the shunt resistor from the first characteristic-side detected voltage and the second characteristic-side detected voltage (the evaluation unit 21 calculates the current I flowing through the current-sensing resistor 1 from the measured voltage values U12, U13, U23 in accordance with Ohm’s law; [0086]).
Regarding claim 8, Kramm et al. ‘459 teach wherein the current calculator has a data table showing a relationship between the first and second characteristic-side detected voltages and a value of a current flowing through the shunt resistor (the evaluation unit 21 calculates the current I flowing through the current-sensing resistor 1 from the measured voltage values U12, U13, U23 in accordance with Ohm’s law; [0086]; the relationship can be shown in the forms of graphs or data tables).
Regarding claim 9, Kramm et al. teach wherein the current calculator has a function of deriving a temperature of the shunt resistor from the first characteristic-side detected voltage and the second characteristic-side detected voltage (a temperature can be derived from the graphs; FIGs. 5-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The primary reason for allowance of claim(s) 4 is the inclusion of “a first voltage signal wire, a second voltage signal wire, a third voltage signal wire, and a fourth voltage signal wire coupled to the first voltage detection contact, the second voltage detection contact, the third voltage detection contact, and the fourth voltage detection contact, respectively; a resistor coupled to at least one of the first voltage signal wire, the second voltage signal wire, the third voltage signal wire, and the fourth voltage signal wire; a first voltage signal merging wire configured to merge voltage signals from the first voltage signal wire and the third voltage signal wire; and a second voltage signal merging wire configured to merge voltage signals from the second voltage signal wire and the fourth voltage signal wire, wherein the resistor has a resistance value that brings a temperature coefficient of resistance of the shunt resistor, calculated from voltage signals from the first voltage signal merging wire and the second voltage signal merging wire, close to zero”. These limitations, as they are claimed in the combination, have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, making claim(s) 4 allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for allowance of claim(s) 5 is the inclusion of “wherein the current detector is configured to:
correct at least one of a negative-characteristic-side detected voltage between the first voltage detection contact and the second voltage detection contact and a positive-characteristic- side detected voltage between the third voltage detection contact and the fourth voltage detection contact by multiplying a correction coefficient by at least one of the negative-characteristic-side detected voltage and the positive-characteristic-side detected voltage which are calculated from the voltage signals; and determine a current flowing through the shunt resistor based on a composite detection voltage calculated from a known resistance value of the shunt resistor and the negative- characteristic-side detected voltage and the positive-characteristic-side detected voltage, at least one of which has been corrected, and the correction coefficient has a numerical value that brings a temperature coefficient of resistance of the shunt resistor, calculated from the composite detection voltage, close to zero”. These limitations, as they are claimed in the combination, have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, making claim(s) 5 allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
10 August 2026
/KENDRICK X LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853