Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they fail to show a woven fabric insert applied on both sides of at least the central region as viewed in a radial direction and forming a contact surface between the buffer elements and the radial webs as recited in claim 11. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because the detailed description of the invention fails to describe details corresponding to:
Claim 11, lines 11-13, “a woven fabric insert applied on both sides of a least the central region as viewed in a radial direction and forming a contact surface between the buffer elements and the radial webs.”
Claims 15-18, all limitations therein. In the reply filed September 22, 2026 applicant argues the features corresponding to these limitations are found in the summary. However, the objection pertains to the detailed description of the invention, not the summary. Neither is a substitute for the other.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because at line 11, “a least: should be changed to “at least”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 & 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frigerio, FR 1.104.652 (all citations taken from the attached English language translation) in view of Clarke, US 6,283,868. Frigerio discloses a drive train/industrial application, comprising:
a first shaft (see “respective shaft” at page 4, line 2) designed as a drive shaft;
a second shaft (see “respective shaft” at page 3, line 21) designed as an output shaft; and
a coupling (see Figs. 1-2) designed to couple the first shaft in a torque-transmitting manner to the second shaft, said coupling comprising a first coupling part (3) connected to the first shaft, a second coupling part connected to the second shaft, and a plurality of dumbbell-shaped buffer elements (see Fig. 3), each buffer element comprising two end buffers (7, 7) which are connected via a central region (8), said buffer elements being held on a circular arc (see Fig. 2) of the first coupling part via the respective one of the central regions in slotted radial webs (6) of the first coupling part, with the second coupling part comprising axially directed drivers (5) which are seated between adjacent ones of the buffer elements in an operating situation.
Frigerio does not expressly disclose the coupling further a woven fabric insert applied on both sides of at least the central region as viewed in a radial direction and forming a contact surface between the buffer elements and the radial webs. At Figs. 4 & 6, Clarke shows a woven fabric (col. 5, line 21) insert (58) forming a contact surface of buffer elements (40, 56) in facing relationship to radial webs (45) and at Figs. 2 & 5, Frigerio shows the woven fabric insert (25) applied on both sides of the insert (24). At col. 2, lines 1-6 and col. 4, line 12, Clarke teaches providing the buffer elements with the woven fabric insert in order to provide wear resistance, increased load capacity, and improved resistance to slippage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the drive train of Frigerio by providing a woven fabric insert in order to provide wear resistance, increased load capacity, and improved resistance to slippage as taught by Clarke.
As to claim 12, at Fig. 6, Clarke shows the contact surface formed by the woven fabric insert (58) extends from a central region to mutually facing flanks of the end buffers (56).
As to claim 14, at Fig. 6, Clarke shows the contact surface formed by the woven fabric insert (58) is seated in a surface recess (63) in the buffer element (40), with the surface recess having a depth which substantially corresponds to a thickness of the woven fabric insert.
As to claims 15-16, Clarke does not expressly disclose the thickness of the woven fabric insert (58) is between 0.2 and 0.3 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the thickness of the woven fabric insert (58) from between 0.2 and 0.3 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to claim 17, Clarke discloses the woven fabric insert (58) is made of a material (see col. 5, lines 16-20) having an elasticity which is lower than an elasticity of a material (see col. 4, lines 63+) of the buffer element (40).
As to claim 18, Clarke discloses the buffer element (40) is made of an elastomer (see col. 4, lines 63+) which for producing the buffer element is compressed together with the woven fabric insert in a mold at a temperature (see col. 7, lines 50-63).
In the reply filed September 22, 2026 applicant argues the combination of Frigerio and Clarke lacks a woven fabric insert applied on both sides of at least the central region as viewed in a radial direction and forming a contact surface between the buffer elements and the radial webs. However, as noted above, such a feature is an obvious modification in this combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. At Figs. 4-5, Munk shows a torsionally elastic coupling.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Greg Binda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679