Drawings
The drawings are objected to because at Fig. 5:
Reference number 44 appearing next to number 10 should be deleted.
Refence number 40 should be changed to 42.
Reference number 42 should be changed to 44.
See paragraph 0029.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because the detailed description of the invention fails to describe details corresponding to claims 15-18 & 21-22,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which they depend. Claims 21-22 depend on claim 11, but include only the “constituent parts” of the coupling of claim 11 and thus do not include the entire coupling which includes features besides the parts, (e.g. the structural relationships that form the parts into an assembled coupling). As such, each of claims 21-22 fails the infringement test (see MPEP § 608.01(n)III).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because each is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a data agglomeration, a product that could be obtained in the human mind or by a human using a pen and pencil. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11- 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frigerio, FR 1.104.652 (all citations taken from the attached English language translation) in view of Clarke, US 6,283,868. Frigerio discloses a drive train/industrial application, comprising:
a first shaft (see “respective shaft” at page 4, line 2) designed as a drive shaft;
a second shaft (see “respective shaft” at page 3, line 21) designed as an output shaft; and
a coupling (see Figs. 1-2) designed to couple the first shaft in a torque-transmitting manner to the second shaft, said coupling comprising a first coupling part (3) connected to the first shaft, a second coupling part connected to the second shaft, and a plurality of dumbbell-shaped buffer elements (see Fig. 3), each buffer element comprising two end buffers (7, 7) which are connected via a central region (8), said buffer elements being held on a circular arc (see Fig. 2) of the first coupling part via the respective one of the central regions in slotted radial webs (6) of the first coupling part, with the second coupling part comprising axially directed drivers (5) which are seated between adjacent ones of the buffer elements in an operating situation.
Frigerio does not expressly disclose the coupling further comprising a woven fabric insert forming a contact surface of the buffer elements in facing relationship to the radial webs. At Figs. 4 & 6, Clarke shows a woven fabric (col. 5, line 21) insert (58) forming a contact surface of buffer elements (40, 56) in facing relationship to radial webs (45). At col. 2, lines 1-6 and col. 4, line 12, Clarke teaches providing the buffer elements with the woven fabric insert in order to provide wear resistance, increased load capacity, and improved resistance to slippage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the drive train of Frigerio by providing a woven fabric insert in order to provide wear resistance, increased load capacity, and improved resistance to slippage as taught by Clarke.
As to claims 12-13, at Fig. 6, Clarke shows the contact surface formed by the woven fabric insert (58) extends from a central region to mutually facing flanks of the end buffers (56).
As to claim 14, at Fig. 6, Clarke shows the contact surface formed by the woven fabric insert (58) is seated in a surface recess (63) in the buffer element (40), with the surface recess having a depth which substantially corresponds to a thickness of the woven fabric insert.
As to claims 15-16, Clarke does not expressly disclose the thickness of the woven fabric insert (58) is between 0.2 and 0.3 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the thickness of the woven fabric insert (58) from between 0.2 and 0.3 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to claim 17, Clarke discloses the woven fabric insert (58) is made of a material (see col. 5, lines 16-20) having an elasticity which is lower than an elasticity of a material (see col. 4, lines 63+) of the buffer element (40).
As to claim 18, Clarke discloses the buffer element (40) is made of an elastomer (see col. 4, lines 63+) which for producing the buffer element is compressed together with the woven fabric insert in a mold at a temperature (see col. 7, lines 50-63).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ricefield, Foster and Ochiai disclose torsionally elastic couplings
/Greg Binda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679