DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification amendment submitted on 09/23/2024 which amended the abstract has been accepted.
The specification amendment submitted on 09/23/2024 which added the cross-reference to related applications has been accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 50-53 and 61-63 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 50 recites “monitoring” in line 3. For clarity, it is suggested to replace with “the monitoring”.
Claim 61 recites “monitoring” in line 4. For clarity, it is suggested to replace with “the monitoring”.
Claims 51-53 and 62-63 are also objected since they are dependent on the objected claims set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 50-53 and 61-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 50 recites “multi-cell scheduling” in line 3. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “multi-cell scheduling” in claim 46. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 50 recites “a reference cell” in line 5. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a reference cell” in claim 46. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 61 recites “multi-cell scheduling” in line 3. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “multi-cell scheduling” in claim 56. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 61 recites “a reference cell” in line 5. It is unclear whether or not it is referring to “a reference cell” in claim 56. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claims 51-53 and 62-63 are also rejected since they are dependent on the rejected claims set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 46-54 and 56-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nimbalker et al. (US 2023/0269751 A1, hereinafter “Nimbalker”).
Regarding claims 46 and 64, Nimbalker discloses An apparatus of a New Radio (NR) User Equipment (UE), the apparatus including one or more processors and a radio frequency (RF) circuitry interface to couple the one or more processors to an RF circuitry of the UE [see Fig. 2, para. 65-68; wireless device including processor 86 and radio interface 82], the one or more processors to:
detect a received downlink control information (DCI) format for multi-cell scheduling; and count the DCI format based on only a reference cell for counting the DCI format [see Fig. 8, para. 102-103, claim 13; receive scheduling from the primary cell using a PDCCH and scheduling from the secondary cell using a PDCCH, the scheduling configured to schedule a physical shared channel on the primary cell for the wireless device, the size of DCI format used for the primary cell being size-matched to the size of the DCI format used for secondary for the secondary cell; a DCI budget for the wireless device for both the primary cell and secondary cell corresponds to a total number of DCIs sizes that the wireless device is provided is shared among the primary cell and is the same as the DCI budget for one of the primary cell and secondary cell].
Regarding claims 47 and 65, Nimbalker discloses wherein the reference cell for counting the DCI format is to correspond to a scheduling cell in response to a determination that the scheduling cell can be configured by the DCI format [see para. 82, Fig. 8, para. 102-103; the scheduling configured to schedule a physical shared channel on the primary cell for the wireless device, the size of DCI format used for the primary cell being size-matched to the size of the DCI format used for secondary for the secondary cell; see Fig. 10a, para. 131, PCell as reference scheduling cell].
Regarding claim 48, Nimbalker discloses wherein the reference cell for counting the DCI format is configured via higher layer signaling [see para. 74, 82, 86, 113; the size of DCI format used for the primary cell is configured via higher layer signaling (RRC)].
Regarding claim 49, Nimbalker discloses wherein the higher layer signaling corresponds to a SearchSpace parameter [see para. 74, 82, 86, 129, 134-135, 141-142; the higher layer signaling (RRC) corresponds to a SearchSpace parameter].
Regarding claim 50, Nimbalker discloses wherein the one or more processors are to monitor physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates to detect a PDCCH candidate corresponding to the DCI format for multi-cell scheduling, monitoring including counting the PDCCH candidate or a number of corresponding non-overlapped control channel elements (CCEs) based on only a reference cell for counting the PDCCH candidate [see para. 72-80, 129; PDCCH monitoring to detect a PDCCH candidate corresponding to the DCI format for PCell/SCell scheduling, monitoring including determining the CCEs corresponding to PDCCH candidates that a wireless device may have to monitor within a search space set, and configuring PDCCH candidates appropriately for the different search spaces on different serving cells based on one or more of the identified limits].
Regarding claim 51, Nimbalker discloses wherein the reference cell for counting the PDCCH candidate corresponds to a scheduling cell [see para. 129, 170-184; counting the DCI sizes for scheduling sSCell and for scheduling primary cell within the same budget, and configuring PDCCH candidates appropriately for the different search spaces on different serving cells based on one or more of the identified limits].
Regarding claim 52, Nimbalker discloses wherein the reference cell for counting the PDCCH candidate is to corresponds to the scheduling cell in response to a determination that the scheduling cell can be configured by the DCI format [see para. 72-80, 129, 170-184; see Fig. 10a, para. 131, PCell as reference scheduling cell; see Fig. 8, para. 102-103; the primary cell can be configured by the DCI format].
Regarding claim 53, Nimbalker discloses wherein the reference cell for counting the PDCCH candidate is configured via higher layer signaling [see para. 74, 82, 86, 113; the reference cell for counting the PDCCH candidate is configured via higher layer signaling (RRC)] corresponding to a SearchSpace parameter [see para. 74, 82, 86, 129, 134-135, 141-142; the higher layer signaling (RRC) corresponds to a SearchSpace parameter].
Regarding claim 54, Nimbalker discloses further including an RF front end coupled to the one or more processors [see Fig. 2, para. 65-68; RF transceiver coupled to the processor].
Regarding claim 56, Nimbalker discloses One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions to cause one or more processors of a New Radio (NR) User Equipment (UE), upon execution of the instructions [see Fig. 2, para. 65-68; wireless device comprising memory 88 storing software 90 executed by processor 86], to perform operations including:
detecting a received downlink control information (DCI) format for multi-cell scheduling; and counting the DCI format based on only a reference cell for counting the DCI format [see Fig. 8, para. 102-103, claim 13; receive scheduling from the primary cell using a PDCCH and scheduling from the secondary cell using a PDCCH, the scheduling configured to schedule a physical shared channel on the primary cell for the wireless device, the size of DCI format used for the primary cell being size-matched to the size of the DCI format used for secondary for the secondary cell; a DCI budget for the wireless device for both the primary cell and secondary cell corresponds to a total number of DCIs sizes that the wireless device is provided is shared among the primary cell and is the same as the DCI budget for one of the primary cell and secondary cell].
Regarding claim 57, Nimbalker discloses wherein the reference cell for counting the DCI format corresponds to a scheduling cell [see para. 82, Fig. 8, para. 102-103; the scheduling configured to schedule a physical shared channel on the primary cell for the wireless device, the size of DCI format used for the primary cell being size-matched to the size of the DCI format used for secondary for the secondary cell; see Fig. 10a, para. 131, PCell as reference scheduling cell].
Regarding claim 58, Nimbalker discloses wherein the reference cell for counting the DCI format corresponds to the scheduling cell in response to a determination that the scheduling cell can be configured by the DCI format [see para. 82, Fig. 8, para. 102-103; the scheduling configured to schedule a physical shared channel on the primary cell for the wireless device, the size of DCI format used for the primary cell being size-matched to the size of the DCI format used for secondary for the secondary cell; see Fig. 10a, para. 131, PCell as reference scheduling cell].
Regarding claim 59, Nimbalker discloses wherein the reference cell for counting the DCI format is configured via higher layer signaling [see para. 74, 82, 86, 113; the size of DCI format used for the primary cell is configured via higher layer signaling (RRC)].
Regarding claim 60, Nimbalker discloses wherein the higher layer signaling corresponds to a SearchSpace parameter [see para. 74, 82, 86, 129, 134-135, 141-142; the higher layer signaling (RRC) corresponds to a SearchSpace parameter].
Regarding claim 61, Nimbalker discloses the operations further including monitoring physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates to detect a PDCCH candidate corresponding to the DCI format for multi-cell scheduling, monitoring including counting the PDCCH candidate or a number of corresponding non-overlapped control channel elements (CCEs) based on only a reference cell for counting the PDCCH candidate [see para. 72-80, 129; PDCCH monitoring to detect a PDCCH candidate corresponding to the DCI format for PCell/SCell scheduling, monitoring including determining the CCEs corresponding to PDCCH candidates that a wireless device may have to monitor within a search space set, and configuring PDCCH candidates appropriately for the different search spaces on different serving cells based on one or more of the identified limits].
Regarding claim 62, Nimbalker discloses wherein the reference cell for counting the PDCCH candidate is to correspond to a scheduling cell [see para. 129, 170-184; counting the DCI sizes for scheduling sSCell and for scheduling primary cell within the same budget, and configuring PDCCH candidates appropriately for the different search spaces on different serving cells based on one or more of the identified limits] in response to a determination that the scheduling cell can be configured by the DCI format [see para. 72-80, 129, 170-184; see Fig. 10a, para. 131, PCell as reference scheduling cell; see Fig. 8, para. 102-103; the primary cell can be configured by the DCI format].
Regarding claim 63, Nimbalker discloses wherein the reference cell for counting the PDCCH candidate is configured via higher layer signaling [see para. 74, 82, 86, 113; the reference cell for counting the PDCCH candidate is configured via higher layer signaling (RRC)], the higher layer signaling corresponding to a SearchSpace parameter [see para. 74, 82, 86, 129, 134-135, 141-142; the higher layer signaling (RRC) corresponds to a SearchSpace parameter].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nimbalker in view of Sun et al. (US 2024/0023128 A1, hereinafter “Sun”).
Regarding claim 55, Nimbalker does not explicitly disclose one or more antenna panels.
However, Sun teaches a UE comprising an RF front end coupled to one or more antenna panels [see Fig. 2, para. 22; UE 110 comprising one or more antenna panels 230 coupled to transceiver 225].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a UE comprising an RF front end coupled to one or more antenna panels”, as taught by Sun, into the system of Nimbalker so that it would provide scheduling of control signaling on a primary cell [see Sun, para. 2].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2026/0067899 A1) discloses monitoring a PDCCH in a search space set configured for a first cell, the PDCCH including first DCI for scheduling the uplink transmission or the downlink reception in at least one among the first cell or a second cell; and performing the uplink transmission or the downlink reception in at least one among the first cell or the second cell on the basis of the first DCI.
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469