DETAILED ACTION
Claims 66-85 are pending.
Claims 1-65 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 66-78 and 80-85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cherian et al. USPGPUB 2012/0029720 (hereinafter "Cherian").
As to claim 66, Cherian teaches a method of managing grid services using at least one local energy management system (LEMS) (paragraph 0065 and FIG. 2 “a local control module 215. The local control module 215 standardizes control command responses with each of the plurality of power producers”), the method comprising: receiving, by at least one LEMS, one or more energy objectives (paragraph 0065 “regional control module 225 a standardized response from each of the plurality of power producing entities, the regional control module can actively manage the power grid in a scalable manner This means that the controller can dynamically alter its actions depending on the DER that is available at any time. The distributed controller dynamically and automatically compensates for assets that may be added, go out of service, fail, or lose connectivity”); receiving, by the at least one LEMS, raw energy data from one or more power generating assets corresponding to the one or more energy objectives (paragraph 0065-0066 “regional control module 225 interacts with the enterprise control module 275 which in turn gives the regional control module 225 access to smart grid controls 285, data 280 and other management applications that are associated with the enterprise control module 275” and FIG. 2-4); calculating, by the at least one LEMS, one or more operating parameter set points according to the one or more energy objectives and the raw energy data (paragraph 0068-0078 “parallel activities take place where the real time controls engine uses its algorithms to determine what course of action to take to meet its local objectives. In order to accomplish this, it may query the embedded simulation engine for predictions about the consequences of actions it might take. This process may iterate until some condition is met or some time has elapsed when the controls engine 325 determines its action and sends command signals to appropriate destinations through its associated smart I/O module 325” and FIG. 2-4), wherein the one or more operating parameter set points comprise commands to the one or more power generating assets and a power grid to carry out functions to achieve the one or more energy objectives (paragraph 0068-0075 “power generation at a traditional power plant occurs by generating steam which turns one or more steam driven turbines which thereafter drives an electrical generator. As demand increases within the region there is a finite amount of time from when the demand is realized and the new amount of energy can be produced. This sort of response is different for each type of power generation. For example, from the time an increasing demand is realized to that when power generated by a gas turbine is available, two minutes may elapse. This means the time between when the control interface issues a command to the gas turbine to begin producing power to that when the power is actually realized at the substation may be as much as five minutes or some other period of time. Alternatively, a steam powered turbine may be able to increase its output within 30 seconds, a spinning natural gas reciprocating engine may be able to increase its output in seconds and a flywheel may be able to contribute energy instantaneously. The responsiveness to control inputs of each power producing system is different. Control algorithms within the different layers of the present invention manage these distinctions so that power production dynamically meets power demand at all times”); and communicating the commands from the at least one LEMS to the one or more power generating assets and the power grid (paragraph 0068-0070 “regional 225 and local 215 control modules send out a plurality of inquiries to the new wind turbine to ascertain data pertinent to the wind turbine's integration into the distributed power grid. This data can also be obtained through manual input by operators. Once gained, this information is shared to the enterprise control module 275 which stores the data in a repository accessible by all regional control modules” and FIG. 2-4).
As to claim 67, Cherian teaches further comprising transforming, by the at least one LEMS, the raw energy data into a structured protocol format for one or more protocol adapters (paragraph 00448-0051).
As to claim 68, Cherian teaches further comprising adjusting, by the at least one LEMS, one or more operational power settings of the one or more power generating assets, wherein the one or more operational power settings may control at least one of voltage, frequency, or current of the one or more power generating assets (paragraph 0064-0069).
As to claim 69, Cherian teaches wherein in response to the at least one LEMS communicating the commands to the one or more power generating assets and the power grid, one or more operating parameter settings of the one or more power generating assets are adjusted according to the one or more operating parameter set points to meet the one or more energy objectives (paragraph 0067-0078).
As to claim 70, Cherian teaches wherein in response to the at least one LEMS communicating the commands from the at least one LEMS to the one or more power generating assets and the power grid, power is transferred between the one or more power generating assets and the power grid (paragraph 0065-0068 and FIG. 2-4).
As to claim 71, Cherian teaches wherein the one or more power generating assets comprises a targeted system (paragraph 0068-0070 and FIG. 2-4).
As to claim 72, Cherian teaches further comprising adjusting, by the at least one LEMS, one or more operational power settings of the targeted system to achieve the one or more energy objectives (paragraph 0068-0070 and FIG. 2-4).
As to claim 73, Cherian teaches further comprising tapping into, by the at least one LEMS, one or more energy meters, wherein the at least one LEMS is configured to receive data from the one or more energy meters and use the data from the one or more energy meters to calculate the one or more operating parameter set points (paragraph 0080-0105 and FIG. 4-5).
As to claim 74, Cherian teaches further comprising coupling the at least one LEMS to an aggregation platform, wherein the aggregation platform is coupled to the one or more power generating assets and the power grid, and wherein in response to receiving the one or more operating parameter set points from the at least one LEMS, grid services are controlled by the aggregation platform and via the one or more power generating assets (paragraph 0078-0083 and FIG. 2-5).
As to claim 75, Cherian teaches wherein coupling the at least one LEMS to the one or more power generating assets and the power grid comprises remotely coupling the at least one LEMS to the one or more power generating assets and the power grid (paragraph 0068-0073 and FIG. 2-5).
As to claim 76, Cherian teaches wherein coupling the at least one LEMS to the one or more power generating assets and the power grid comprises physically coupling the at least one LEMS to the one or more power generating assets, wherein one of the at least one LEMS is physically coupled to each of the one or more power generating assets (FIG. 2 and paragraph 0063-0066).
As to claim 77, Cherian teaches wherein the one or more power generating assets comprise one or more of an electric vehicle station equipment (EVSE) (paragraph 0020 and 0063, FIG. 2).
As to claim 78, Cherian teaches wherein each of the one or more power generating assets comprise: a first local power generating asset comprising one or more of the EVSE configured to leverage on-board storage of an electric vehicle wherein the electric vehicle is plugged into the one or more of the EVSE, wherein the first local power generating asset is configured to communicate power to and from the power grid over power lines; and second local power generating asset comprising a unidirectional local generation resource (LGR), wherein the LGR is configured to produce a DC power and capture and store the DC power in a fixed energy storage (FES) system (paragraph 0063-0064, 0181 and FIG. 2-5).
As to claim 80, Cherian teaches wherein the LGR is one of: a solar power generating system, a wind power generating system, and a hydro power generating system (FIG. 2 and element 120).
As to claim 81, Cherian teaches a method of energy management using a local energy management system (LEMS) (paragraph 0065 and FIG. 2 “a local control module 215. The local control module 215 standardizes control command responses with each of the plurality of power producers”), comprising: receiving, by a control system of the LEMS, raw sensor data, wherein the LEMS comprises a plurality of sensors, transmitted by a plurality of local power generating assets from the plurality of sensors (paragraph 0065-0066 “regional control module 225 interacts with the enterprise control module 275 which in turn gives the regional control module 225 access to smart grid controls 285, data 280 and other management applications that are associated with the enterprise control module 275” and FIG. 2-4); receiving, by the control system of the LEMS, one or more electrical objectives from an external entity; generating, by the control system of the LEMS, one or more operating parameter set points of the plurality of local power generating assets based on one or more energy objectives and the raw sensor data (paragraph 0065-0070 “regional control module 225 a standardized response from each of the plurality of power producing entities, the regional control module can actively manage the power grid in a scalable manner This means that the controller can dynamically alter its actions depending on the DER that is available at any time. The distributed controller dynamically and automatically compensates for assets that may be added, go out of service, fail, or lose connectivity” and FIG. 2-4); and outputting, by the control system of the LEMS, the one or more operating parameter set points to the plurality of local power generating assets, wherein one or more operating parameter settings of the plurality of local power generating assets are configured to be adjusted according to the one or more operating parameter set points to meet the one or more energy objectives (paragraph 0068-0075 “power generation at a traditional power plant occurs by generating steam which turns one or more steam driven turbines which thereafter drives an electrical generator. As demand increases within the region there is a finite amount of time from when the demand is realized and the new amount of energy can be produced. This sort of response is different for each type of power generation. For example, from the time an increasing demand is realized to that when power generated by a gas turbine is available, two minutes may elapse. This means the time between when the control interface issues a command to the gas turbine to begin producing power to that when the power is actually realized at the substation may be as much as five minutes or some other period of time. Alternatively, a steam powered turbine may be able to increase its output within 30 seconds, a spinning natural gas reciprocating engine may be able to increase its output in seconds and a flywheel may be able to contribute energy instantaneously. The responsiveness to control inputs of each power producing system is different. Control algorithms within the different layers of the present invention manage these distinctions so that power production dynamically meets power demand at all times”, paragraph 0068-0070 “regional 225 and local 215 control modules send out a plurality of inquiries to the new wind turbine to ascertain data pertinent to the wind turbine's integration into the distributed power grid. This data can also be obtained through manual input by operators. Once gained, this information is shared to the enterprise control module 275 which stores the data in a repository accessible by all regional control modules” and FIG. 2-4)). Frequency
As to claim 82, Cherian teaches wherein the one or more operating parameter settings comprise at least one of: control voltage, frequency, and current (paragraph 0064-0065).
As to claim 83, Cherian teaches wherein the external entity is one of: an aggregation platform, a frequency meter, an energy meter, and a third-party system (paragraph 0071, 0105 and FIG. 2-5).
As to claim 84, Cherian teaches wherein the outputting the one or more operating parameter set points to the plurality of local power generating assets comprises wireless transmission of the one or more operating parameter set points by an electronic aggregation platform (paragraph 0051-0055).
As to claim 85, Cherian teaches further comprising: receiving, by the control system of the LEMS, a second set of operating parameters; and generating, by the control system of the LEMS, a second set of operating parameter set points based on the second set of operating parameters (paragraph 0023-0024 and 0129-0131).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 79 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian et al. USPGPUB 2012/0029720 (hereinafter "Cherian") in view of Lee et al USPGPUB 2021/0351743 (hereinafter "Lee").
As to claim 79, Cherian teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Cherian does not explicitly teach wherein the unidirectional LGR is coupled to a DC-DC converter configured to regulate the DC power, wherein the DC power is regulated by the DC- DC converter before the DC power is captured and stored by the FES system.
However, Lee teaches wherein the unidirectional LGR is coupled to a DC-DC converter configured to regulate the DC power, wherein the DC power is regulated by the DC- DC converter before the DC power is captured and stored by the FES system (paragraph 0025-0028 and FIG. 1).
Cherian and Lee are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to energy management system.
Therefore at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above energy management system, as taught by Cherian, and incorporating fault condition, as taught by Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify existing power distribution control systems is the emergence of alternative and renewable power production sources, distributed storage systems, demand management systems, smart appliances, and intelligent devices for network management, as suggested by Cherian (paragraph 0016).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and listed on the attached PTO Form 892 but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kaplan USPGPUB 2011/0093127 a distributed Energy Resources Manager may serve to connect electrical assets in an electricity distribution grid with other information-processing systems including, but not limited to, existing utility grid management systems to manage flows of information between electrical assets and interacting software assets and, thereby, manage performance of at least the electrical assets..
Steven et al. USPGPUB 20150278968 A1 teaches a generating energy-related revenue from energy markets. Operating schedules are generated, over a time period (T), for operation of an energy management system of energy assets of data center sites. Since CPU utilization (or computing load) can be correlated to energy consumption, the operating schedules can cause the energy management system to modulate the CPU utilization (or computing load) of energy assets within a data center, or to indicate shifting of CPU utilization (or computing load) from one data center site in a certain energy market price region to another data center site in a different energy market price region. When implemented, the generated operating schedules facilitates derivation of the energy-related revenue, over a time period (T), associated with operation of the energy assets according to the generated operating schedule.
/ZIAUL KARIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119