DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II (claims 9-11) in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the withdrawn claims (claims 2-8 and 12-14) have been amended to clarify how Groups I and III are integrated into the same invention as claimed in Group II.
Examiner finds this persuasive and thus claims 2-14 will be examined. However, because claim 15 belongs to Group IV and was not argued upon nor elected, claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2023/057299 filed 03/22/2023. This application also claims priority to foreign application EP 22165392.6 filed 03/03/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed on 09/23/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 2 line 8 of the Specification filed 09/23/2024, “the increased filed of view” should be corrected to: “the increased field of view”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informality:
“the distal end” should be corrected to “a distal end”
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 appears to be written in an independent form, yet also refers back to independent claim 9. In an interpretation, claim 11 may be construed as an independent claim; and in another interpretation may also be construed as a dependent claim. In order to prevent any foreseeable ambiguity, it is suggested to bring the entire claim 9 into claim 11 to have the claim construed as a proper independent claim; or correct the dependency of claim 11 (as shown in other depending claims e.g., claim 12) to have the claim construed as a proper dependent claim
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informality:
“…supplying an alternate electric current to at least one first ultrasound transducer component and at least one second ultrasound transducer component” should be corrected to:
“…supplying an alternate electric current to the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "a plurality of the first and the second ring-type structures". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, it will be interpreted for wherein the invention of claim 6 may include first and second ring-type structures.
Claim 10 recites “an elongated structure configured for insertion of at least the distal end into a lumen for intrabody vascular flow measurement”. It is unclear which distal end this refers to. For example, is “the distal end” referring to the distal end of the operating structure which is recited in claim 9 or is it referring to a distal end of the elongated structure recited in claim 10. For purposes of examination it will be interpreted for “the distal end” to mean “the distal end of the operating structure”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 2-5, 7, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma (US5394876).
Regarding claim 9, Ma teaches a flow measurement device (24; 60) (Figs. 1-2, 7, & 10, Title, Abstract, Claim 1, Column 5 line 57 – Column 6 line 8, Column 13 lines 1-7, wherein the device is a Doppler flow sensing device), comprising:
a sensor (60) comprising a transducer arrangement (62) with at least one first transducer component (66-1) and at least one second transducer component (662), wherein the at least one first transducer component (66-1) and the at least one second transducer component (662) are arranged with an at least partly common field of view in operation, and wherein the at least one first transducer component (66-1) and the at least one second transducer component (662) are configured to be operated with a phase shift (Figs. 1A-1B, 2, & 7A, Table 1, Column 8 lines 12-37, Column 9 lines 30-31, “The sequential array elements are driven simultaneously and out of phase with one another”; See also Table 1; and wherein the transducer array arrangement shown in figure 7A being configured to have each transducer, i.e. 661 & 662, emit ultrasound in the same direction (out of page) comprises the transducers having at least partly common field of view in operation; Column 13 lines 54-62, wherein each transducer element transmits towards a patient’s ascending aorta comprises a common field of view);
an operating structure (handle) for handling and positioning the transducer arrangement (62) (Figs. 1A-1B & 2, Column 9 lines 21-23, “The transducer 60 is connected to a conventional handle designed for good access to the suprasternal notch”);
wherein the transducer arrangement (62) is attached to the distal end of the operating structure (Figs. 1A-1B & 2, Column 9 lines 21-23, wherein the transducer being connected to a conventional handle implies it’s attached to its distal end); and
wherein a data connection (coaxial cables) is provided at a proximal portion of the operating structure (handle), the data connection being configured to provide measured flow data (Figs. 1B & 10, Column 9 lines 21-24, “The transducer 60 is connected to… appropriate coaxial cables”, Column 12 line 53 – Column 13 line 7, “…the processor/controller 80 further processes these signals to produce a value of the flow through the ascending aorta 20. The value of this flow can be shown on the display 84”; wherein figure 1B shows location of a coaxial cable being provided at a proximal portion of a handle of an ultrasound probe).
Regarding claim 2, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma further teaches wherein the second transducer component (662) is annular to the first transducer component (661) (Fig. 10, Column 8 lines 24-28).
Regarding claim 3, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma further teaches wherein the first transducer component (661) and the second transducer component (662) are arranged in a concentric manner (Fig. 10, Column 8 lines 24-28, “The central array 62 consists of four elements. Four concentric annular elements, designated 661, 662, …”).
Regarding claim 4, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma further teaches wherein the first transducer component (66-2) is provided as a first ring-type structure; and the second transducer component (663) is provided as a second ring-type structure (Fig. 10, Column 8 lines 24-28, wherein figure 10 shows a first transducer component 662 and second transducer component 663 with ring-type structures).
Regarding claim 5, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma further teaches wherein the first transducer component (661) and the second transducer component (662) are provided next to each other (Fig. 10, Column 8 lines 24-28).
Regarding claim 7, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma further teaches wherein a processor (80) is further provided, configured to drive and/or read out the transducer element (Fig. 10, Column 12 lines 1-52, “The processor/controller 80, under control of its program, produces transmitter drive signals on the bus 88. The transmitter drive signals prescribe the amplitude of signals that will be transmitted by the four annular elements 61i- [sic] in the ultrasonic transducer 60”); and wherein the processor (80) is configured to provide the phase shift for operation of the at least one first transducer component (661) and the at least one second transducer component (662) of the transducer arrangement (62) (Table 1, Column 9 lines 28-31, “The sequential array elements are driven simultaneously and out of phase with one another”, Column 12 lines 34-38, “The processor/controller 80 also produces data on the data bus 92 and data load signals on the data load bus 94. The data carried on the data bus 92 include phase signals used to define each transmitted pulse)”.
Regarding claim 10, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma further teaches wherein the operating structure is one of: an elongated structure configured for insertion for at least the distal end into a lumen for intrabody vascular flow measurement; an ultrasound probe configured for extracorporeal positioning for external measurement of flow inside a body lumen (Figs. 1A-1B & 2, Column 2 lines 51-57, “Hottinger-type, non-invasive cardiac output monitor”, Column 5 lines 45-56; wherein the device is an ultrasound probe configured for extracorporeal positioning for external measurement; ultrasound probe/transducer is placed on a subject’s suprasternal notch to measure blood flow in the ascending aorta).
Regarding claim 11, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma further teaches an ultrasound system (apparatus) for flow measurement (Fig. 10, Column 1 lines 5-10, Column 12 lines 3-4), comprising:
a flow measurement device (60) according to claim 9 (Fig. 10, Column 12 line 53 – Column 13 line 7); and
an operating console (80, 82) (Fig. 10, Column 12 lines 7-12, wherein a processor/controller 80 in the form of a personal computer configured to receive commands from control keys 82 comprises an operating console);
wherein the operating console (80, 82) is configured to operate the at least one first transducer component (661) and the at least one second transducer component (662) of the transducer arrangement (62) of the sensor (60) (Fig. 10, Column 12 lines 19-34, “The transmitter drive signals prescribe the amplitude of signals that will be transmitted by the four annular elements 61i [sic] in the ultrasonic transducer 60. The amplitude of the transmitted signals can be specified by an operator through the conventional control keys 82”, wherein “61i” should be “66i”, Column 13 lines 44-50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (US5394876) in view of Degertekin (US20130128702).
Regarding claim 6, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
However, Ma fails to teach wherein the transducer arrangement comprises a transducer array with: i) a plurality of the first and the second ring-type structures; or ii) a plurality of the first and second transducer components provided next to each other.
In an analogous sensor comprising an ultrasound transducer field of endeavor, Degertekin teaches such a feature. Degertekin teaches a transducer array (1200) comprised of five annular rings (1205) (Fig. 12, [0064]). Degertekin teaches wherein each ring may be subdivided into individual transducer elements (1215), thereby creating a phased array (Fig. 12, [0064]). By subdividing each ring into a plurality of elements, a first ring/array comprising a plurality of first transducer elements (components) and a second ring/array comprising plurality of second transducer elements (components) is formed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to have the annular transducer arrays or rings comprise a phased array of a plurality of elements as taught by Degertekin (Fig. 12, [0064]). By implementing the array or rings as a phased array, beam steering may be performed, thus allowing for an ultrasound beam to be aligned with a direction of blood flow for improved blood flow or velocity measurement accuracy.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (US5394876) in view of Emery (WO2008033528).
Regarding claim 8, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 7.
However, Ma fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to drive the at least one first transducer component and the at least one second transducer component of the transducer arrangement with an oscillating alternate current as operative voltage and with opposite biasing direct current voltages for achieving the phase shift.
In an analogous sensor comprising an ultrasound transducer field of endeavor, Emery teaches such a feature. Emery teaches an ultrasonic transducer array comprising a plurality of electrostrictive transducers (600) (Fig. 1, [0045-0046]). Emery teaches applying an alternating current (AC) drive signal with direct current (DC) bias to the transducer elements for operation ([0047]). Emery teaches wherein the transducer elements may be driven out of phase (phase shift) with respect to the AC drive signal by reversing the polarity of the DC bias applied, i.e. with opposite biasing DC ([0067]). Emery therefore teaches driving transducer components with oscillating AC as operative voltage and with opposite biasing DC voltages for achieving a phase shift.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to drive the transducer elements with alternating current and with opposite DC bias to drive the transducer elements out of phase as taught by Emery ([0067]). By phase shifting in such a manner, a common/single AC drive signal may be used for multiple elements and thus circuit complexity may be reduced.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (US5394876) in view of Phung (US20060094960), Lutsky (US20210160621), Spivey (US5305752), Smith (US20020153805), and Von (US20040044284).
Regarding claim 12, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma teaches the invention further comprising a driving circuit (100) for operating the sensor (60) (Fig. 11A, Column 13 lines 11-29).
However, Ma fails to teach wherein the driving circuit comprises: a primary high voltage input configured for supply an alternating electric current to at least one first ultrasound transducer component and at least one second ultrasound transducer component, in transmitting mode.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Phung teaches such a feature. Phung teaches a conventional ultrasound system includes a transducer (15) for transmitting ultrasound/acoustic waves and receiving echoes ([0005]). Phung teaches a high voltage generator (35) of the conventional ultrasound system receives an alternating current (AC) input from a power source to generate high voltage for transducer excitation ([0005]). Phung therefore teaches a primary high voltage input configured for supplying AC current to a transducer, in transmitting (excitation) mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to have the drive circuit comprise a high voltage input for supplying alternating current to the transducers as taught by Phung ([0005]). By providing high voltage AC input to the transducers, they may be excited for transmission of an ultrasound/acoustic wave as recognized by Phung ([0005]). Moreover, it is recognized by Phung that a high voltage AC input for transducer excitation is conventional ([0005]).
However, the combination noted above fails to teach a secondary input for a first biasing direct current voltage and a second biasing direct current voltage; and a dual-line connecting interface with: a first connection for connection with the at least one first ultrasound transducer component; and a second connection for connection with the at least one second ultrasound transducer component; and a signal output for providing a signal generated by the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component, wherein the first biasing voltage is supplied to the first connection, and the second biasing voltage is supplied to the second connection such that at least a phase shift is provided between the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Lutsky teaches such a feature. Lutsky teaches an ultrasound circuit (300) comprising a first ultrasound transducer element (MUT 304A) and second ultrasound transducer component (MUT 304B) (Fig. 3, [0046]). Lutsky teaches wherein each element (304A, 304B) has its own bias voltage source (302A, 302B) and are supplied to a first and second connection (Fig. 3, [0046], wherein figure 3 shows a first and second connection, explained in detail further below). Lutsky teaches wherein the first bias voltage is different or opposite from the second bias voltage ([0008], [0031]). Lutsky teaches wherein the first bias voltage may be a positive voltage and the second bias voltage may be a negative voltage, resulting in the acoustic signals having opposite polarity (180 degrees out of phase) ([0031]). Lutsky therefore teaches secondary inputs (302A, 302B) for a first biasing DC voltage and a second biasing DC voltage (it is understood that bias voltage is DC unless otherwise specified) and wherein the bias voltages are supplied to first and second connections such that a phase shift is provided between the ultrasound transducer components. Lutsky further teaches a dual-line connecting interface as shown in figure 3, wherein figure 3 shows separate line connections (separate transmit paths stemming from pulser 116A of transmit circuit 110A and pulser 116B of transmit circuit 110B) for the first ultrasound transducer component (304A) and second ultrasound transducer component (308B) (Fig. 3, [0048], [0050]). Moreover, Lutsky teaches wherein each element (304A, 304B) includes a signal output (switches 120A, 120B) for providing a generated signal to a receive circuit (112) (Fig. 3, [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to provide separate inputs for bias DC voltage, a dual-line connecting interface, and a signal output for the ultrasound transducers as taught by Lutsky (Fig. 3, [0008], [0046], [0048], [0050-0051]). By using two separate/opposite bias voltages, noise may be reduced as recognized by Lutsky ([0031]). Moreover, the dual-line connecting interface and signal output may predictably provide a circuit for transmitting and receiving ultrasound acoustic signals using multiple transducer elements as recognized by Lutsky (Fig. 3, [0046]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach a common-line connecting interface with a common connection for the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Spivey teaches such a feature. Spivey teaches a device comprising a ring of a plurality of transducers (80) (Abstract, Column 10 lines 53-65). Spivey teaches wherein an electrode of each transducer (10j) may be connected to a common electrical ground line (35) (Fig. 3, Column 8 lines 8-10). Spivey therefore teaches a common-line connecting interface (common electrical ground line 35) with a common connection for at least one first ultrasound transducer component and at least one second ultrasound transducer component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to provide a common-line connecting interface with a common connection to each transducer as taught by Spivey (Fig. 3, Column 8 lines 8-10). A common-line connecting interface may provide for a common ground line as taught by Spivey, which predictably provides a shared reference potential point for voltage for transmitting and receiving signals.
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the primary high voltage input is switchably connectable to the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Smith teaches such a feature. Smith teaches an ultrasound imaging system incorporating transducer elements (10) (Figs. 1-2, [0028], [0030]). Smith teaches high-voltage electrical energy is distributed to each individual transducer element (10) through switches (44) (Fig. 2, [0030]). Smith teaches wherein the transducers are switchably coupled to the voltage source (Claim 14). Smith therefore teaches wherein high voltage input is switchably connectable to at least one first and at least one second ultrasound transducer component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to have the primary high voltage input be switchably coupled to the transducers as taught by Smith (Claim 14, [0030]). By using switches, high voltage may be applied to a desired element at an appropriate time for generation and transmission of ultrasound and may help when beamforming as recognized by Smith ([0030]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component are switchably connectable to the signal output.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Von teaches such a feature. Von teaches a transducer array (14) comprising a plurality of transducer elements (Fig. 2, [0019-0020], [0047], [0052]). Von teaches switches may be provided for switchably connecting either transmit channels or receive channels to any of the elements of the transducer (14) ([0046]). Von therefore teaches wherein ultrasound transducers elements/components may be switchably connectable to a signal output (i.e. receive channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to have switches connecting the transducer components to a receive channel or signal output as taught by Von ([0046]). The switches allow for selection of different apertures of the transducer array (configurable apertures) for operation as recognized by Von ([0046]). Moreover, switches connected to the receive channels allow for isolation from transmit channels, thereby protecting sensitive receive circuitry during transmit.
Regarding claim 13, Ma in view of Phung, Lutsky, Spivey, Smith, and Von teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
However, Ma fails to teach wherein the primary high voltage input comprises a first high voltage input for supplying at least one first ultrasound transducer component via the first connection, and a second high voltage input for supplying the at least one second ultrasound transducer component via the second connection; and wherein at least one of the first biasing voltage and the second biasing voltage is adjustable to adapt a degree of phase-shift between the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Lutsky teaches such a feature. Lutsky teaches an ultrasound circuit (300) comprising a first ultrasound transducer element (MUT 304A) and second ultrasound transducer component (MUT 304B) (Fig. 3, [0046]). Lutsky teaches wherein the first bias voltage may be a positive voltage and the second bias voltage may be a negative voltage, resulting in the acoustic signals having opposite polarity (180 degrees out of phase) ([0031]). Lutsky teaches wherein the bias voltage sources (302A, 302B) may be variable voltage sources and wherein the generated bias voltage may be adjustable ([0047]). Lutsky therefore teaches wherein the first and second biasing voltages may be adjustable to adapt a degree of phase-shift between the two ultrasound transducer components. Lutsky further teaches a dual-line connecting interface with a first and second connection (Fig. 3, wherein the two ultrasound transducer components 304A, 304B have separate lines for receiving separate transmit signals and supply voltage). Lutsky teaches wherein the a pulser (116A) from the first connection and a pulser (116B) from the second connection provides supply voltage to their respective ultrasound transducer components (304A, 304B) (Fig. 3, [0054]). Lutsky therefore teaches a first and second voltage input for supplying the first ultrasound transducer component (304A) and second ultrasound transducer component (304B) via first and second connections respectively. Phung earlier above in claim 12 teaches wherein the voltage input is primary high voltage input.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to provide separate supply voltages to drive the ultrasound transducer components via first and second connections and to have the bias voltage be adjustable as taught by Lutsky (Fig. 3, [0047], [0054]). The bias voltages may be adjusted differently for different modes of operation such as transmit and receive as recognized by Lutsky ([0047]). Moreover, having separate voltage sources may allow for less power to be consumed than conventional approaches as further recognized by Lutsky ([0054]).
Regarding claim 14, Ma in view of Phung, Lutsky, Spivey, Smith, and Von teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
However, Ma fails to teach wherein the primary high voltage input is connectable to the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component via the common-line
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Smith teaches such a feature. Smith teaches an ultrasound imaging system incorporating transducer elements (10) (Figs. 1-2, [0028], [0030]). Smith teaches high-voltage electrical energy is distributed to each individual transducer element (10) through switches (44) (Fig. 2, [0030]). Smith teaches wherein the transducers are switchably coupled to the voltage source (Claim 14). Thus, when each switch is switched ON, high-voltage is distributed to each transducer via a common line. Smith therefore teaches a primary high voltage input is connectable (via switches) to the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component via a common-line.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to have the primary high voltage input be switchably coupled to the transducers as taught by Smith (Claim 14, [0030]). By using switches, high voltage may be applied to a desired element at an appropriate time for generation and transmission of ultrasound and may help when beamforming as recognized by Smith ([0030]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the first and second biasing voltages are provided as opposite bias voltages.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Lutsky teaches such a feature. Lutsky teaches an ultrasound circuit (300) comprising a first ultrasound transducer element (MUT 304A) and second ultrasound transducer component (MUT 304B) (Fig. 3, [0046]). Lutsky teaches wherein a first bias voltage, provided to the first ultrasound transducer component 304A, may be a positive voltage and a second bias voltage, provided to the second ultrasound transducer component 304B, may be a negative voltage, resulting in the acoustic signals having opposite polarity (180 degrees out of phase) ([0031], [0047]). Lutsky therefore teaches wherein the first and second biasing voltages may be provided as opposite bias voltages (opposite polarity; positive and negative).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to have the biasing voltages be provided as opposite bias voltages as taught by Lutsky ([0031], [0047]). By using two separate/opposite bias voltages, noise may be reduced as recognized by Lutsky ([0031]).
Conclusion
/TOMMY T LY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797