DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/25/2026 has been entered. Claim 4 has been canceled. Claims 2-3 and 5-15 remain pending in the application, with claim 15 being withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/25/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues reference Ma fails to accurately teach each and every claimed feature of claim 9. Applicant argues the ultrasonic transducer of Ma is positioned outside of a body of a patient and thus the device disclosed in Ma is an external device that is placed on a patient to “detect blood flow”. Applicant argues that “This is fundamentally different from the presented claims that recite ‘the first transducer component is provided as a first ring-type structure, wherein the second transducer component is provided as a second ring-type structure’ so that an intravascular device may ‘operated in anti-phase, i.e. a phase delay of 180° to achieve a very large acceptance angle > 60°’ and enabling ‘the acceptance angle [to] be tuned.’… As such, the types of devices in Ma and the present application are different, and the purposes of the separate transducers in Ma and the present application are different. Thus Ma fails to accurately teach each and every claimed limitation”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the device being intravascular, achieving a very large acceptance angle > 60°, and enabling the acceptance angle to be tuned) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Examiner further points to claim 10, wherein claim 10 suggests the invention may be “an ultrasound probe configured for extracorporeal positioning for external measurement of flow inside a body lumen”, this being contrary to the device requiring to be intravascular as argued by Applicant.
Regarding claim 9, Ma teaches:
A flow measurement device (24; 60) (Figs. 1-2, 7A-7B, & 10, Title, Abstract, Claim 1, Column 5 line 57 – Column 6 line 8, Column 7 line 60 – Column 8 line 24, Column 13 lines 1-7, wherein the device is a Doppler flow sensing device), comprising:
A sensor (60) comprising a transducer arrangement (62) with at least one first transducer component (66-2) and at least one second transducer component (663) (Fig. 7A, Column 8 lines 12-37),
Wherein the at least one first transducer component (66-2) and the at least one second transducer component (663) are arranged with an at least partly common field of view in operation (Figs. 1A-1B, 2, & 7A-7B, Column 13 lines 54-62, wherein the transducer array arrangement shown in figure 7A being configured to have each transducer, i.e. 662 & 663, emit ultrasound in the same direction (out of page), like shown in figures 1A-1B & 2, comprises the transducers having at least partly common field of view in operation), and
Wherein the at least one first transducer component (66-2) and the at least one second transducer component (663) are configured to be operated with a phase shift (Table 1, Column 9 lines 30-31, “The sequential array elements are driven simultaneously and out of phase with one another”),
Wherein the first transducer component (66-2) is provided as a first ring-type structure (Fig. 7A, Column 8 lines 24-28, wherein figure 7A shows a first transducer component 662 with a ring-type structure),
Wherein the second transducer component (663) is provided as a second ring-type structure (Fig. 7A, Column 8 lines 24-28, wherein figure 7A shows second transducer component 663 with a ring-type structures);
An operating structure (handle) for handling and positioning the transducer arrangement (62) (Figs. 1A-1B & 2, Column 9 lines 21-23, “The transducer 60 is connected to a conventional handle designed for good access to the suprasternal notch”);
Wherein the transducer arrangement (62) is attached to a distal end of the operating structure (handle) (Figs. 1A-1B & 2, Column 9 lines 21-23, wherein the transducer being connected to a conventional handle implies it’s attached to its distal end; see figure 1B); and
Wherein a data connection (coaxial cables) is provided at a proximal portion of the operating structure (handle), the data connection being configured to provide measured flow data (Figs. 1B & 10, Column 9 lines 21-24, “The transducer 60 is connected to… appropriate coaxial cables”, Column 12 line 53 – Column 13 line 7, “…the processor/controller 80 further processes these signals to produce a value of the flow through the ascending aorta 20. The value of this flow can be shown on the display 84”; wherein figure 1B shows location of a coaxial cable being provided at a proximal portion of a handle of an ultrasound probe).
Accordingly, Ma teaches each and every claimed feature of independent claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 2-3, 5, 7, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma (US5394876).
Regarding claim 9, Ma teaches a flow measurement device (24; 60) (Figs. 1-2, 7A-7B, & 10, Title, Abstract, Claim 1, Column 5 line 57 – Column 6 line 8, Column 7 line 60 – Column 8 line 24, Column 13 lines 1-7, wherein the device is a Doppler flow sensing device), comprising:
a sensor (60) comprising a transducer arrangement (62) with at least one first transducer component (66-2) and at least one second transducer component (663) (Fig. 7A, Column 8 lines 12-37),
wherein the at least one first transducer component (66-2) and the at least one second transducer component (663) are arranged with an at least partly common field of view in operation (Figs. 1A-1B, 2, & 7A-7B, Column 13 lines 54-62, wherein the transducer array arrangement shown in figure 7A being configured to have each transducer, i.e. 662 & 663, emit ultrasound in the same direction (out of page), like shown in figures 1A-1B & 2, comprises the transducers having at least partly common field of view in operation), and
wherein the at least one first transducer component (66-2) and the at least one second transducer component (663) are configured to be operated with a phase shift (Table 1, Column 9 lines 30-31, “The sequential array elements are driven simultaneously and out of phase with one another”),
wherein the first transducer component (66-2) is provided as a first ring-type structure (Fig. 7A, Column 8 lines 24-28, wherein figure 7A shows a first transducer component 662 with a ring-type structure),
wherein the second transducer component (663) is provided as a second ring-type structure (Fig. 7A, Column 8 lines 24-28, wherein figure 7A shows second transducer component 663 with a ring-type structures);
an operating structure (handle) for handling and positioning the transducer arrangement (62) (Figs. 1A-1B & 2, Column 9 lines 21-23, “The transducer 60 is connected to a conventional handle designed for good access to the suprasternal notch”);
wherein the transducer arrangement (62) is attached to a distal end of the operating structure (handle) (Figs. 1A-1B & 2, Column 9 lines 21-23, wherein the transducer being connected to a conventional handle implies it’s attached to its distal end; see figure 1B); and
wherein a data connection (coaxial cables) is provided at a proximal portion of the operating structure (handle), the data connection being configured to provide measured flow data (Figs. 1B & 10, Column 9 lines 21-24, “The transducer 60 is connected to… appropriate coaxial cables”, Column 12 line 53 – Column 13 line 7, “…the processor/controller 80 further processes these signals to produce a value of the flow through the ascending aorta 20. The value of this flow can be shown on the display 84”; wherein figure 1B shows location of a coaxial cable being provided at a proximal portion of a handle of an ultrasound probe).
Regarding claim 2, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma further teaches wherein the second transducer component (663) is provided annular to the first transducer component (662) (Fig. 7A, Column 8 lines 24-28).
Regarding claim 3, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma further teaches wherein the first transducer component (662) and the second transducer component (663) are arranged in a concentric manner (Fig. 7A, Column 8 lines 24-28, “The central array 62 consists of four elements. Four concentric annular elements, designated 661, 662, …”).
Regarding claim 5, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma further teaches wherein the first transducer component (662) and the second transducer component (663) are provided next to each other (Fig. 7A, Column 8 lines 24-28).
Regarding claim 7, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma further teaches wherein a processor (80) is further provided, configured to drive and/or read out the transducer arrangement (62) (Fig. 10, Column 12 lines 1-52, “The processor/controller 80, under control of its program, produces transmitter drive signals on the bus 88. The transmitter drive signals prescribe the amplitude of signals that will be transmitted by the four annular elements 61i- [sic] in the ultrasonic transducer 60”); and
wherein the processor (80) is configured to provide the phase shift for operation of the at least one first transducer component (662) and the at least one second transducer component (663) of the transducer arrangement (62) (Table 1, Column 9 lines 28-31, “The sequential array elements are driven simultaneously and out of phase with one another”, Column 12 lines 34-38, “The processor/controller 80 also produces data on the data bus 92 and data load signals on the data load bus 94. The data carried on the data bus 92 include phase signals used to define each transmitted pulse)”.
Regarding claim 10, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma further teaches wherein the operating structure is one of: an elongated structure configured for insertion of at least the distal end of the operating structure into a lumen for intrabody vascular flow measurement; an ultrasound probe configured for extracorporeal positioning for external measurement of flow inside a body lumen (Figs. 1A-1B & 2, Column 2 lines 51-57, “Hottinger-type, non-invasive cardiac output monitor”, Column 5 lines 45-56; wherein the device is an ultrasound probe configured for extracorporeal positioning for external measurement; ultrasound probe/transducer is placed on a subject’s suprasternal notch to measure blood flow in the ascending aorta).
Regarding claim 11, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma further teaches an ultrasound system (apparatus) for flow measurement (Figs. 1A-1B, 2, 7A, & 10, Column 1 lines 5-10, Column 12 lines 3-4), comprising:
a flow measurement device (60) according to claim 9 (Figs. 7A & 10, Column 12 line 53 – Column 13 line 7; see claim 9 above); and
an operating console (80, 82) (Fig. 10, Column 12 lines 7-12, wherein a processor/controller 80 in the form of a personal computer configured to receive commands from control keys 82 comprises an operating console);
wherein the operating console (80, 82) is configured to operate the at least one first transducer component (662) and the at least one second transducer component (663) of the transducer arrangement (62) of the sensor (60) (Fig. 10, Column 12 lines 19-34, “The transmitter drive signals prescribe the amplitude of signals that will be transmitted by the four annular elements 61i [sic] in the ultrasonic transducer 60. The amplitude of the transmitted signals can be specified by an operator through the conventional control keys 82”, wherein “61i” should be “66i”, Column 13 lines 44-50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (US5394876) in view of Degertekin (US20130128702).
Regarding claim 6, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
However, Ma fails to teach wherein the transducer arrangement comprises a transducer array with: i) a plurality of first and second ring-type structures; or ii) a plurality of the first and second transducer components provided next to each other.
In an analogous sensor comprising an ultrasound transducer field of endeavor, Degertekin teaches such a feature. Degertekin teaches a transducer array (1200) comprised of five annular rings (1205) (Fig. 12, [0064]). Degertekin teaches wherein each ring may be subdivided into individual transducer elements (1215), thereby creating a phased array (Fig. 12, [0064]). By subdividing each ring into a plurality of elements, a first ring/array comprising a plurality of first transducer elements (components) and a second ring/array comprising plurality of second transducer elements (components) is formed, resulting in a plurality of the first and second transducer components being provided next to each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to have the annular transducer arrays or rings comprise a phased array of a plurality of elements as taught by Degertekin (Fig. 12, [0064]). By implementing the array or rings as a phased array, beam steering may be performed, thus allowing for an ultrasound beam to be aligned with a direction of blood flow for improved blood flow or velocity measurement accuracy.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (US5394876) in view of Emery (WO2008033528).
Regarding claim 8, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 7.
However, Ma fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to drive the at least one first transducer component and the at least one second transducer component of the transducer arrangement with an oscillating alternate current as operating voltage and with opposite biasing direct current voltages for achieving the phase shift.
In an analogous sensor comprising an ultrasound transducer field of endeavor, Emery teaches such a feature. Emery teaches an ultrasonic transducer array comprising a plurality of electrostrictive transducers (600) (Fig. 1, [0045-0046]). Emery teaches applying an alternating current (AC) drive signal with direct current (DC) bias to the transducer elements for operation ([0047]). Emery teaches wherein the transducer elements may be driven out of phase (phase shift) with respect to the AC drive signal by reversing the polarity of the DC bias applied, i.e. with opposite biasing DC ([0067]). Emery therefore teaches driving transducer components with oscillating AC as operating voltage and with opposite biasing DC voltages for achieving a phase shift.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to drive the transducer elements with alternating current and with opposite DC bias to drive the transducer elements out of phase as taught by Emery ([0067]). By phase shifting in such a manner, a common/single AC drive signal may be used for multiple elements and thus circuit complexity may be reduced.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (US5394876) in view of Phung (US20060094960), Lutsky (US20210160621), Spivey (US5305752), Smith (US20020153805), and Von (US20040044284).
Regarding claim 12, Ma teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Ma teaches the invention further comprising a driving circuit (100) for operating the sensor (60) (Fig. 11A, Column 13 lines 11-29).
However, Ma fails to teach wherein the driving circuit comprises: a primary high voltage input configured for supply an alternating electric current to the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component, in transmitting mode.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Phung teaches such a feature. Phung teaches a conventional ultrasound system includes a transducer (15) for transmitting ultrasound/acoustic waves and receiving echoes ([0005]). Phung teaches a high voltage generator (35) of the conventional ultrasound system receives an alternating current (AC) input from a power source to generate high voltage for transducer excitation ([0005]). Phung therefore teaches a primary high voltage input configured for supplying AC current to a transducer, in transmitting (excitation) mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to have the drive circuit comprise a high voltage input for supplying alternating current to the transducers as taught by Phung ([0005]). By providing high voltage AC input to the transducers, they may be excited for transmission of an ultrasound/acoustic wave as recognized by Phung ([0005]). Moreover, it is recognized by Phung that a high voltage AC input for transducer excitation is conventional ([0005]).
However, the combination noted above fails to teach a secondary input for a first biasing direct current voltage and a second biasing direct current voltage; and a dual-line connecting interface with: a first connection for connection with the at least one first ultrasound transducer component; and a second connection for connection with the at least one second ultrasound transducer component; and a signal output for providing a signal generated by the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component, wherein the first biasing voltage is supplied to the first connection, and the second biasing voltage is supplied to the second connection such that at least a phase shift is provided between the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Lutsky teaches such a feature. Lutsky teaches an ultrasound circuit (300) comprising a first ultrasound transducer element (MUT 304A) and second ultrasound transducer component (MUT 304B) (Fig. 3, [0046]). Lutsky teaches wherein each element (304A, 304B) has its own bias voltage source (302A, 302B) and are supplied to a first and second connection (Fig. 3, [0046], wherein figure 3 shows a first and second connection, explained in detail further below). Lutsky teaches wherein the first bias voltage is different or opposite from the second bias voltage ([0008], [0031]). Lutsky teaches wherein the first bias voltage may be a positive voltage and the second bias voltage may be a negative voltage, resulting in the acoustic signals having opposite polarity (180 degrees out of phase) ([0031]). Lutsky therefore teaches secondary inputs (302A, 302B) for a first biasing DC voltage and a second biasing DC voltage (it is understood that bias voltage is DC unless otherwise specified) and wherein the bias voltages are supplied to first and second connections such that a phase shift is provided between the ultrasound transducer components. Lutsky further teaches a dual-line connecting interface as shown in figure 3, wherein figure 3 shows separate line connections (separate transmit paths stemming from pulser 116A of transmit circuit 110A and pulser 116B of transmit circuit 110B) for the first ultrasound transducer component (304A) and second ultrasound transducer component (308B) (Fig. 3, [0048], [0050]). Moreover, Lutsky teaches wherein each element (304A, 304B) includes a signal output (switches 120A, 120B) for providing a generated signal to a receive circuit (112) (Fig. 3, [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to provide separate inputs for bias DC voltage, a dual-line connecting interface, and a signal output for the ultrasound transducers as taught by Lutsky (Fig. 3, [0008], [0046], [0048], [0050-0051]). By using two separate/opposite bias voltages, noise may be reduced as recognized by Lutsky ([0031]). Moreover, the dual-line connecting interface and signal output may predictably provide a circuit for transmitting and receiving ultrasound acoustic signals using multiple transducer elements as recognized by Lutsky (Fig. 3, [0046]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach a common-line connecting interface with a common connection for the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Spivey teaches such a feature. Spivey teaches a device comprising a ring of a plurality of transducers (80) (Abstract, Column 10 lines 53-65). Spivey teaches wherein an electrode of each transducer (10j) may be connected to a common electrical ground line (35) (Fig. 3, Column 8 lines 8-10). Spivey therefore teaches a common-line connecting interface (common electrical ground line 35) with a common connection for at least one first ultrasound transducer component and at least one second ultrasound transducer component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to provide a common-line connecting interface with a common connection to each transducer as taught by Spivey (Fig. 3, Column 8 lines 8-10). A common-line connecting interface may provide for a common ground line as taught by Spivey, which predictably provides a shared reference potential point for voltage for transmitting and receiving signals.
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the primary high voltage input is switchably connectable to the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Smith teaches such a feature. Smith teaches an ultrasound imaging system incorporating transducer elements (10) (Figs. 1-2, [0028], [0030]). Smith teaches high-voltage electrical energy is distributed to each individual transducer element (10) through switches (44) (Fig. 2, [0030]). Smith teaches wherein the transducers are switchably coupled to the voltage source (Claim 14). Smith therefore teaches wherein high voltage input is switchably connectable to at least one first and at least one second ultrasound transducer component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to have the primary high voltage input be switchably coupled to the transducers as taught by Smith (Claim 14, [0030]). By using switches, high voltage may be applied to a desired element at an appropriate time for generation and transmission of ultrasound and may help when beamforming as recognized by Smith ([0030]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component are switchably connectable to the signal output.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Von teaches such a feature. Von teaches a transducer array (14) comprising a plurality of transducer elements (Fig. 2, [0019-0020], [0047], [0052]). Von teaches switches may be provided for switchably connecting either transmit channels or receive channels to any of the elements of the transducer (14) ([0046]). Von therefore teaches wherein ultrasound transducers elements/components may be switchably connectable to a signal output (i.e. receive channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to have switches connecting the transducer components to a receive channel or signal output as taught by Von ([0046]). The switches allow for selection of different apertures of the transducer array (configurable apertures) for operation as recognized by Von ([0046]). Moreover, switches connected to the receive channels allow for isolation from transmit channels, thereby protecting sensitive receive circuitry during transmit.
Regarding claim 13, Ma in view of Phung, Lutsky, Spivey, Smith, and Von teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
However, Ma fails to teach wherein the primary high voltage input comprises a first high voltage input for supplying the at least one first ultrasound transducer component via the first connection, and a second high voltage input for supplying the at least one second ultrasound transducer component via the second connection; and wherein at least one of the first biasing voltage and the second biasing voltage is adjustable to adapt a degree of phase-shift between the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Lutsky teaches such a feature. Lutsky teaches an ultrasound circuit (300) comprising a first ultrasound transducer element (MUT 304A) and second ultrasound transducer component (MUT 304B) (Fig. 3, [0046]). Lutsky teaches wherein the first bias voltage may be a positive voltage and the second bias voltage may be a negative voltage, resulting in the acoustic signals having opposite polarity (180 degrees out of phase) ([0031]). Lutsky teaches wherein the bias voltage sources (302A, 302B) may be variable voltage sources and wherein the generated bias voltage may be adjustable ([0047]). Lutsky therefore teaches wherein the first and second biasing voltages may be adjustable to adapt a degree of phase-shift between the two ultrasound transducer components. Lutsky further teaches a dual-line connecting interface with a first and second connection (Fig. 3, wherein the two ultrasound transducer components 304A, 304B have separate lines for receiving separate transmit signals and supply voltage). Lutsky teaches wherein the a pulser (116A) from the first connection and a pulser (116B) from the second connection provides supply voltage to their respective ultrasound transducer components (304A, 304B) (Fig. 3, [0054]). Lutsky therefore teaches a first and second voltage input for supplying the first ultrasound transducer component (304A) and second ultrasound transducer component (304B) via first and second connections respectively. Phung earlier above in claim 12 teaches wherein the voltage input is primary high voltage input.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to provide separate supply voltages to drive the ultrasound transducer components via first and second connections and to have the bias voltage be adjustable as taught by Lutsky (Fig. 3, [0047], [0054]). The bias voltages may be adjusted differently for different modes of operation such as transmit and receive as recognized by Lutsky ([0047]). Moreover, having separate voltage sources may allow for less power to be consumed than conventional approaches as further recognized by Lutsky ([0054]).
Regarding claim 14, Ma in view of Phung, Lutsky, Spivey, Smith, and Von teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
However, Ma fails to teach wherein the primary high voltage input is connectable to the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component via the common-line
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Smith teaches such a feature. Smith teaches an ultrasound imaging system incorporating transducer elements (10) (Figs. 1-2, [0028], [0030]). Smith teaches high-voltage electrical energy is distributed to each individual transducer element (10) through switches (44) (Fig. 2, [0030]). Smith teaches wherein the transducers are switchably coupled to the voltage source (Claim 14). Thus, when each switch is switched ON, high-voltage is distributed to each transducer via a common line. Smith therefore teaches a primary high voltage input is connectable (via switches) to the at least one first ultrasound transducer component and the at least one second ultrasound transducer component via a common-line.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to have the primary high voltage input be switchably coupled to the transducers as taught by Smith (Claim 14, [0030]). By using switches, high voltage may be applied to a desired element at an appropriate time for generation and transmission of ultrasound and may help when beamforming as recognized by Smith ([0030]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the first and second biasing voltages are provided as opposite bias voltages.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer system field of endeavor, Lutsky teaches such a feature. Lutsky teaches an ultrasound circuit (300) comprising a first ultrasound transducer element (MUT 304A) and second ultrasound transducer component (MUT 304B) (Fig. 3, [0046]). Lutsky teaches wherein a first bias voltage, provided to the first ultrasound transducer component 304A, may be a positive voltage and a second bias voltage, provided to the second ultrasound transducer component 304B, may be a negative voltage, resulting in the acoustic signals having opposite polarity (180 degrees out of phase) ([0031], [0047]). Lutsky therefore teaches wherein the first and second biasing voltages may be provided as opposite bias voltages (opposite polarity; positive and negative).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Ma to have the biasing voltages be provided as opposite bias voltages as taught by Lutsky ([0031], [0047]). By using two separate/opposite bias voltages, noise may be reduced as recognized by Lutsky ([0031]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOMMY T LY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/JOSEPH M SANTOS RODRIGUEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797