DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/23/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10-13, 19, 20, 25, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacobs et al. (US Publication 2020/0252100).
Regarding claims 1, 19, 25, Jacobs teaches an apparatus and a reporting method, performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: (i.e. figs 4b, 4c shows a network apparatus comprising a processor, memory and transceiver for executing programmed instructions; see paragraph 92)
acquiring a capability request message sent by a network device; (i.e. fig. 8 shows the network can send the UE a capability request message (element 838); see paragraph 133) and
reporting capability information to the network device, wherein the capability information comprises at least one of: (i.e. fig. 8 shows in response to the capability request, the UE provides the network feedback including the capabilities of the UE (element 842); see paragraphs 134)
first indication information indicating whether the UE supports a computing capability sharing function; second indication information indicating whether the UE enables a-the computing capability sharing function; or a computing capability parameter of the UE. (i.e. the capability information provided to the network can include operational characteristics of the such as power level, processor load, memory, applications executing on the UE, , MIMO capabilities such as number of MIMO dimensions available, traffic state, channel conditions, a link quality, etc..; see paragraphs 134)
Regarding claim 2, Jacobs teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the computing capability parameter of the UE comprises at least one of:
a base clock speed of a computing unit of the UE; a cache of the computing unit of the UE; a core count of the computing unit of the UE; a bus speed of the computing unit of the UE; or a ratio of sharable computing capability to total computing capability of the UE. (i.e. the capability information provided to the network can include operational characteristics of the such as power level, processor load, memory, applications executing on the UE, , MIMO capabilities such as number of MIMO dimensions available, traffic state, channel conditions, a link quality, etc..; see paragraphs 134)
Regarding claim 3, Jacobs teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein acquiring the capability request message sent by the network device comprises: acquiring a UE Capability Enquiry message sent by the network device. (i.e. the "capability request message" described in the claim inherently covers a standard 3GPP UE Capability Enquiry message used in cellular networks. In telecommunications standards (like 4G LTE and 5G NR), the official RRC (Radio Resource Control) message used by a base station to ask a device for its capabilities is called UECapabilityEnquiry. A "capability request message" is just a general description for any message that asks a device what it can do)
Regarding claim 4, Jacobs teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein reporting the capability information to the network device comprises: reporting UE Capability information to the network device. : (i.e. fig. 8 shows in response to the capability request, the UE provides the network feedback including the capabilities of the UE (element 842); see paragraphs 134)
Regarding claim 6, Jacobs teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein acquiring the enquiry request message sent by the network device comprises: acquiring a UE Information Request message sent by the network device. (i.e. the "capability request message" described in the claim inherently covers a UE Information Request message as the response to a standard information request message usually reports network conditions, as the "capability request message” of the prior art covers both UE capability information along with network conditions both UE Information Request and UE capability enquiry are supported; see paragraph 134)
Regarding claims 10, 20, 26, Jacobs teaches an apparatus and a method for reporting, performed by a network device, comprising: (i.e. figs 4b, 4c shows a network apparatus comprising a processor, memory and transceiver for executing programmed instructions; see paragraph 92)
sending a capability request message to a user equipment (UE); (i.e. fig. 8 shows the network can send the UE a capability request message (element 838); see paragraph 133) and
acquiring capability information reported by the UE, wherein the capability
information comprises at least one of: (i.e. fig. 8 shows in response to the capability request, the UE provides the network feedback including the capabilities of the UE (element 842); see paragraphs 134)
first indication information indicating whether the UE supports a computing capability sharing function; second indication information indicating whether the UE enables the computing capability sharing function; or a computing capability parameter of the UE. (i.e. the capability information provided to the network can include operational characteristics of the such as power level, processor load, memory, applications executing on the UE, , MIMO capabilities such as number of MIMO dimensions available, traffic state, channel conditions, a link quality, etc..; see paragraphs 134)
Regarding claim 11, Jacobs teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the computing capability parameter of the UE comprises at least one of:
a base clock speed of a computing unit of the UE; a cache of the computing unit of the UE; a core count of the computing unit of the UE; a bus speed of the computing unit of the UE; or a ratio of sharable computing capability to total computing capability of the UE. (i.e. the capability information provided to the network can include operational characteristics of the such as power level, processor load, memory, applications executing on the UE, , MIMO capabilities such as number of MIMO dimensions available, traffic state, channel conditions, a link quality, etc..; see paragraphs 134)
Regarding claim 12, Jacobs teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein acquiring the capability request message sent by the network device comprises: acquiring a UE Capability Enquiry message sent by the network device. (i.e. the "capability request message" described in the claim inherently covers a standard 3GPP UE Capability Enquiry message used in cellular networks. In telecommunications standards (like 4G LTE and 5G NR), the official RRC (Radio Resource Control) message used by a base station to ask a device for its capabilities is called UECapabilityEnquiry. A "capability request message" is just a general description for any message that asks a device what it can do)
Regarding claim 13, Jacobs teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein acquiring the enquiry request message sent by the network device comprises: acquiring a UE Information Request message sent by the network device. (i.e. the "capability request message" described in the claim inherently covers a UE Information Request message as the response to a standard information request message usually reports network conditions, as the "capability request message” of the prior art covers both UE capability information along with network conditions both UE Information Request and UE capability enquiry are supported; see paragraph 134)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 objected to as being dependent upon a objected claim that would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 objected to as being dependent upon a objected claim that would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 objected to as being dependent upon a objected claim that would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 objected to as being dependent upon a objected claim that would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ROBERT J. LOPATA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/ROBERT J LOPATA/
September 1, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471