DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment
The Preliminary Amendment filed on 09/23/2024 has been received and placed of record. Accordingly, claims 11-14 have been cancelled and claims 1-10 and 15-24 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 15-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopal et al (US 2016/0234746; art cited by applicant) in view of Srivastava et al (US 2019/0150042) or Dhanapal et al (US 2017/0034745).
Regarding independent claim 1, Gopal teaches a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving signaling, from a serving cell of a first radio access technology (RAT), indicating priority levels (figs. 4, 6 and 7, [0034]-[0035], [0047] and [0055], LTE corresponds to first RAT); performing idle measurements for frequency channel, while camped on a serving cell of a second RAT (figs. 4, 6 and 7, [0034]-[0035], [0047], TD-SCDMA corresponds to serving cell of a second cell); setting cell reselection thresholds to apply to the idle measurements for the frequency, based on a relative priority of the serving cell of the second RAT ([0049], [0055], setting cell reselection thresholds for reselection from LTE to another RAT); and performing cell reselection procedures based on the idle measurements for the frequencies and the determined cell reselection thresholds (figs. 6-7, [0048], [0055]). Gopal fails to teach the signaling includes a first list of frequencies associated with the first RAT. However, signaling includes a first list of frequencies associated with a RAT is notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications. For example, Srivastava or Dhanapal, from the same field of endeavor, teaches such signaling. See Srivastava: [0059] and [0064] or Dhanapal: [0050] and [0058]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gopal by employing the teachings as taught by Srivastava or Dhanapal in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding independent claims 15 and 24, the claims is the corresponding apparatus claims and recite similar subject matter to claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale is applied as for claim 1. Gopal further teaches the method steps can be performed by a processor to execute the instructions stored on non-transitory computer-readable medium. See [0056], [0059] and [0062].
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 16, Gopal as modified by Srivastava or Dhanapal further teaches storing cell reselection parameters for the first RAT, wherein setting the cell reselection thresholds comprises setting the cell reselection thresholds to either: i) stored cell reselection parameters for the first RAT or (ii) cell reselection parameters for the serving cell of the second RAT. See Gopal: [0032], [0038], [0046] and [0049].
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 17, Gopal as modified by Srivastava or Dhanapal further teaches wherein setting the cell reselection thresholds comprises setting the cell reselection thresholds, for a given frequency, based on the stored cell reselection parameters for the first RAT, if the priority for that given frequency is higher than the priority for the serving cell of the second RAT. See [0038], [0043], [0045] and [0051].
Regarding dependent claims 4 and 18, Gopal as modified by Srivastava or Dhanapal further teaches wherein setting the cell reselection thresholds comprises setting the cell reselection thresholds, for a given frequency, based on the cell reselection parameters for the serving cell of the second RAT, if the priority for that given frequency is lower than the priority for the serving cell of the second RAT.
See [0038], [0043], [0045] and [0051].
Regarding dependent claims 5 and 19, Gopal as modified by Srivastava or Dhanapal further teaches setting cell reselection thresholds, for one or more frequencies associated with the first RAT that are not indicated in the first list, to predefined threshold values. See [0038], [0043], [0045] and [0051].
Regarding dependent claims 6 and 20, Gopal as modified by Srivastava or Dhanapal further teaches wherein setting the cell reselection thresholds comprises setting the cell reselection thresholds, for a given frequency, to predefined threshold values, if the priority for that given frequency is higher than the priority for the serving cell of the second RAT. See [0038], [0043], [0045] and [0051].
Regarding dependent claims 7 and 21, Gopal as modified by Srivastava or Dhanapal further teaches wherein the signaling comprises a list of frequencies to prioritize in the first RAT. See Srivastava: [0059] and [0064] or Dhanapal: [0050] and [0058].
Regarding dependent claims 8 and 22, Gopal as modified by Srivastava or Dhanapal further teaches wherein the signaling comprises a list of frequencies to deprioritize in the first RAT. See Srivastava: [0059] and [0064] or Dhanapal: [0050] and [0058].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References Huang et al (US 2011/0165909), Martin et al (US 2013/0084866), Song et al (US 2016/0295471), Pakniat et al (US 2016/0373978) are cited because they are pertinent to the method and apparatus for cell reselection. However, none of the cited references teaches or suggests the further arrangements as recited in the dependent claims 9-10 and 23.
/DON N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634