DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 ,14-18 are pending examination.
Claims 12 and 13 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1,11,14,15,16,17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (USPUB 20140314414) in view of Biegert et al. (USPUB 20100183298) in further view of Anirban Kanungoe et al. ( NPL Doc: ” A minimal redundant shared OLT protection for hybrid WDM–TDM optical access networks,” 30th October 2015, Photon Netw Commun (2015),Pages 387-400.) .
Regarding claim 1, Cheng et al. teaches A method of operating an optical network comprising a plurality of sets of optical network units, 'ONUs' ( FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 teaches plurality sets of ONUs and Paragraph [0030]) , and a commensurate plurality of exchange apparatuses ( FIG.2 and Paragraph [0030]- “…The TWDM PON architecture 200 may further comprise a plurality of OLT transceiver modules 220, 222, 224, and 226, which may be located in one OLT (e.g., the OLT 110 in FIG. 1) or in different OLTs…”) , the optical network being reversibly switchable between: a first configuration in which each of the sets of ONUs is optically coupled to a respective first exchange apparatus of the plurality of exchange apparatuses ( FIG. 4C-4D teaches the plurality of OLTs( exchange apparatus) connected to splitter ( switching ) with multiple ONUs sets, AND further more Paragraphs [0043-0044]) , such that each of the exchange apparatuses is optically coupled to only one of the sets of ONUs ( FIGs. 4A-4D) ; and
Cheng et al. does not explicitly teach a second configuration in which one or some of the sets of ONUs, hereafter 'the second configuration transfer ONU sets’, are optically uncoupled from their respective first exchange apparatuses and optically coupled to a respective second exchange apparatus of the plurality of exchange apparatuses, such that those second one or more exchange apparatuses are each optically coupled to two or more of the sets of ONUs; the method comprising: registering each of the sets of ONUs with their respective first exchange apparatuses; registering each of the second configuration transfer ONU sets with their respective second exchange apparatuses; with the optical network in the first configuration, causing optical communication between each of the sets of ONUs and their respective first exchange apparatuses; then obtaining an indication that a period of low traffic demand on the optical network has commenced by determining, or receiving an indication, that a threshold proportion of ONUs of either i) the second configuration transfer ONU sets;ii) the one or more sets of ONUs whose respective first exchange apparatuses act as respective second exchange apparatuses for the second configuration transfer ONU sets; or iii) the full plurality of sets of ONUs have been inactive for a threshold inactivity duration, or have been optically decoupled from their respective first exchange apparatuses; and responsive thereto: ceasing the optical communication between each of the second configuration transfer ONU sets and their respective first exchange apparatuses; powering down those one or more first exchange apparatuses; switching the optical network to the second configuration; and responsive thereto, causing optical communication between each of the second configuration transfer ONU sets and their respective second exchange apparatuses.
However, within analogous art, Biegert et al. teaches a second configuration in which one or some of the sets of ONUs, hereafter 'the second configuration transfer ONU sets’, are optically uncoupled from their respective first exchange apparatuses and optically coupled to a respective second exchange apparatus of the plurality of exchange apparatuses (FIG. 1 and Paragraphs [0027-0029]- “…Downstream optical signals at these wavelengths are transmitted substantially continuously. If the average power of the downstream optical signals at these wavelengths remains above a threshold value, the N.times.1 protection switch detects an intact optical fiber link. If the average power is below the threshold, however, the N.times.1 protection switch detects an optical fiber link failure and switches to the optical fiber link coupled to the secondary OLT to maintain or establish upstream and downstream communication between the redundant, secondary OLT and the ONTs….”) , such that those second one or more exchange apparatuses are each optically coupled to two or more of the sets of ONUs ( Paragraph [0024]- “…two or more redundant OLTs may be provided to support services for a particular set of ONTs. In one example, a primary OLT may be coupled to a primary optical splitter/combiner that splits the output of the primary OLT among optical fibers coupled to a set of ONTs. Likewise, a secondary, redundant OLT may be coupled to a secondary optical splitter/combiner that splits the output of the secondary OLT among optical fibers coupled to the same set of ONTs….”) ; the method comprising: registering each of the sets of ONUs with their respective first exchange apparatuses; registering each of the second configuration transfer ONU sets with their respective second exchange apparatuses ( Paragraphs [0026-0027]- “…primary and secondary OLTs may be coupled to the respective optical splitters via respective optical fiber links. In a fully protected PON, each ONT may be coupled to communicate via either the primary optical splitter or the secondary optical splitter, thereby providing the ONTs with redundant trunk connections to the OLTs. Each ONT may be coupled to an N.times.1 protection switch. In the case of two OLTs and two splitters/combiners, N is equal to 2. For this scenario, each ONT is coupled to both the primary optical splitter and the secondary optical splitter via respective optical fibers. For greater levels of redundancy,….”) ; with the optical network in the first configuration, causing optical communication between each of the sets of ONUs and their respective first exchange apparatuses ( Paragraphs [0051-0052]- “… protection switch 28 may not be able to reestablish communication between the ONTs 34 with the fiber failure and OLT 12. For example, if there is a fiber failure on the optical fiber link that couples splitter/combiner 32 to ONT 34A, protection switch 28 may not be able to reestablish communication between ONT 34A and OLT 12. However, the remaining ONTs 34B-34N will still be able to transmit optical signals to and receive optical signals from OLT 12, thereby reducing the failure group size to only a single ONT in the event of a single fiber failure between splitter/combiner 32 and ONTs 34A-34N, and increasing the per ONT availability of PON 10….”) ;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Biegert et al. within the modified teaching of the Flexible TWDM PON With Load Balancing And Power Saving mentioned by Cheng et al. because the Passive optical network protection switching mentioned by Biegert et al. provides a method and system for implementation of protection of switching within PON network for optical communication .
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Passive optical network protection switching mentioned by Biegert et al. within the modified teaching of the Flexible TWDM PON With Load Balancing And Power Saving mentioned by Cheng et al. for implementing a system and method for protection of switching within PON network for optical communication .
Combination of Cheng et al. and Biegert et al. does not explicitly teach then obtaining an indication that a period of low traffic demand on the optical network has commenced by determining, or receiving an indication, that a threshold proportion of ONUs of either i) the second configuration transfer ONU sets;ii) the one or more sets of ONUs whose respective first exchange apparatuses act as respective second exchange apparatuses for the second configuration transfer ONU sets; or iii) the full plurality of sets of ONUs have been inactive for a threshold inactivity duration, or have been optically decoupled from their respective first exchange apparatuses; and responsive thereto: ceasing the optical communication between each of the second configuration transfer ONU sets and their respective first exchange apparatuses; powering down those one or more first exchange apparatuses; switching the optical network to the second configuration; and responsive thereto, causing optical communication between each of the second configuration transfer ONU sets and their respective second exchange apparatuses.
However, within analogous art, Anirban Kanungoe et al. teaches then obtaining an indication that a period of low traffic demand on the optical network has commenced by determining, or receiving an indication, that a threshold proportion of ONUs of either i) the second configuration transfer ONU sets ( Page 388 – Fig. 1 OTL - ONU architecture and Col. 2- “…we propose a new hybrid WDM–TDM (HTWDM) PON architecture where geographically dispersed OLTs of different H-TWDM PONs are interconnected via their remote nodes to their neighboring OLTs and their ONUs. Here, an OLT provides service protection to ONUs of their neighboring OLTs (if they fail) while simultaneously supporting its own ONUs. This is achieved by connecting an OLT in the proposed network to not just the ONUs directly connected to it, but also to the ONUs of the neighboring OLTs (refer Fig. 2). Since each OLT may be connected to three other…”) ;ii) the one or more sets of ONUs whose respective first exchange apparatuses act as respective second exchange apparatuses for the second configuration transfer ONU sets ( Page 390- Fig. 3 AND Col. 2- “…OLT Architecture We assume each OLT has N transceiver modules operating on N pairs of uplink and downlink wavelengths (Fig. 3). The downlink and uplink wavelengths of each transceiver module are separated from one another by the free spectral range (FSR) of the arrayed waveguide grating (AWGs) (e.g., AWG1) used in the OLT…”) ; or iii) the full plurality of sets of ONUs have been inactive for a threshold inactivity duration, or have been optically decoupled from their respective first exchange apparatuses ( Page 391- Fig. 4 AND Col. 2- “…The RN1−2 has a four × four power splitter (PS1) and a control box that regulates the exchange of control signals received from the OLTs of connected nodes (i.e., from OLT1, OLT2, OLT3, and OLT5). In each of the four ports of PS1 four data fibers, each coming from OLT1, OLT2 , OLT3, and OLT5 gets connected. Before connecting to PS1, the fibers are passed through erbium-doped fiber amplifier (EDFA) for suitable amplification. Each downstream-side port of the 4×4 PS1 is connected to an (N×1) AWG as used in the OLT. Fibers from the ith port of each of the AWGs in RN1 are sent via a common ferrule connect to four 1:M Power splitters in the RN2….”) ; and responsive thereto: ceasing the optical communication between each of the second configuration transfer ONU sets and their respective first exchange apparatuses; powering down those one or more first exchange apparatuses ( Page 397- Col. 1- “…For case (ii), none of the immediate neighbors of OLT3 are capable of supporting the combined traffic load of its own ONUs and that of OLT3. In this case, the load-sharing and transfer strategy (which will be explained later) come into play. This is explained by a typical example shown in Fig. 6b. In the figure, every OLT in the network (apart from OLT8) has been depicted to have been operating at high (90%) load. Thus, in case of failure of OLT3, none of its immediate supporting OLTs (like OLT2, OLT4, and OLT6) will be able to support the traffic of their own ONUs and that of the ONUs of the failed OLT3. However, OLT8 is found to be operating at a relatively low load (5 %), and OLT8 is neighbor to OLT7 which is neighbor to OLT6 which is neighbor to the affected OLT3. It can be seen that the combined traffic load of the ONUs of OLT8 and OLT7 can be supported by OLT8 alone….”) ; switching the optical network to the second configuration; and responsive thereto, causing optical communication between each of the second configuration transfer ONU sets and their respective second exchange apparatuses ( Page 390- Fig. 3 teaches switching of optical network AND Page 391- Col. 1- “…transmit/receive from four different ODNs. Consider node 2 in Fig. 3 where OLT2 and RN1−2 are connected ferrules carrying data and control fibers. RN1−2 is further connected by ferrules carrying data and control fibers with RN1−1, RN1−3, and RN1−5. OLT2 can connect to four ODNs— ODN2, ODN1, ODN3, and ODN5. If DFB(λ0) of OLT2 have to transmit to ODN2, 1:4 switch (SW) (S1) in OLT2 directs the signal to AWG1_2 in OLT2. TheAWG1−2 transmits λ0—via a fiber path—to the PS1 in RN1−2 to reach ODN2. The PS1 is a 4×4 passive optical power splitter (PS) in the RN1s (refer Fig. 3). Similarly to reachODN1, S1 connects toAWG1−1 to reach RN1−1 through the ferrule connecting RN1−1 and RN1−2 to connect to the PS1 in RN1−1 and reach ODN1. Similarly, ODN3 and ODN5 can also be reached by OLT2….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Anirban Kanungoe et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Flexible TWDM PON With Load Balancing And Power Saving mentioned by Cheng et al. and the Passive optical network protection switching mentioned by Biegert et al. because the A minimal redundant shared OLT protection for hybrid WDM–TDM optical access networks mentioned by Anirban Kanungoe et al. provides a method and system for implementation of scalability within optical communication system and protecting optical data processing within the PON system .
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the A minimal redundant shared OLT protection for hybrid WDM–TDM optical access networks mentioned by Anirban Kanungoe et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Flexible TWDM PON With Load Balancing And Power Saving mentioned by Cheng et al. and the Passive optical network protection switching mentioned by Biegert et al. for implementing a system and method for scalability within optical communication system and protecting optical data processing within the PON system .
Regarding claim 11, Combination of Cheng et al. and Biegert et al. and Anirban Kanungoe et al. teaches claim 1,
Within analogous art, Kanungoe et al. teaches the method further comprising, after obtaining the indication that the period of low traffic demand on the optical network has commenced, powering down the HTD OLT or HTD OLT subunit ( Page 390-Col. 2- “…in Fig. 2, ODN7 can access services from OLT8, OLT6, and OLT4 when OLT7 is partially/fully dysfunctional. As shown in Fig. 2, we can as well insert a redundant OLT (R-OLT) along with its associated redundant RN1(R-RN1). The R-OLT does not have any ODN to serve and can be inserted at any location in the ring. More than one R-OLT (and R-RN1) can also be present in the ring to further enhance the overall availability of the network….”) .
Regarding claim 14, Combination of Cheng et al. and Biegert et al. and Anirban Kanungoe et al. teaches claim 1,
Cheng et al. teaches implemented by a computer ( Paragraph [0064]- “… any processing of the present disclosure may be implemented by causing a processor (e.g., a general purpose CPU inside a computer system) in a computer system (e.g., an OLT or an ONU) to execute a computer program. …”) .
Regarding claim 15, Combination of Cheng et al. and Biegert et al. and Anirban Kanungoe et al. teaches claim 14,
Cheng et al. teaches A data processing system configured to perform the method of claim 14 ( Paragraph [0029]- “… the ONUs 120 may forward data received from the OLT 110 to the customer, and forward data received from the customer onto the OLT 110. Although the specific configuration of the ONUs 120 may vary depending on the type of PON 100, in an embodiment, the ONUs 120 may comprise an optical transmitter configured to send optical signals to the OLT 110 and an optical receiver configured to receive optical signals from the OLT 110….”) .
Regarding claim 16, Combination of Cheng et al. and Biegert et al. and Anirban Kanungoe et al. teaches claim 14,
Cheng et al. teaches A computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method of claim 14 ( Paragraph [0064]- “… a computer program product can be provided to a computer or a mobile device using any type of non-transitory computer readable media. The computer program product may be stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium in the computer or the network device….”) .
Regarding claim 17, Combination of Cheng et al. and Biegert et al. and Anirban Kanungoe et al. teaches claim 16,
Cheng et al. teaches A computer-readable data carrier having stored thereon the computer program of claim 16 ( Paragraph [0064]- “… a computer program product can be provided to a computer or a mobile device using any type of non-transitory computer readable media. The computer program product may be stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium in the computer or the network device….”) .
Regarding claim 18, Combination of Cheng et al. and Biegert et al. and Anirban Kanungoe et al. teaches claim 16,
Cheng et al. teaches A data carrier signal carrying the computer program of claim 16 ( Data signal via electrical /optical signal within the system taught Paragraph [0029]- “… ONUs 120 may comprise an optical transmitter configured to send optical signals to the OLT 110 and an optical receiver configured to receive optical signals from the OLT 110. Additionally, the ONUs 120 may comprise a converter that converts the optical signal into electrical signals for the customer, such as signals in the Ethernet or asynchronous transfer mode (ATM) protocol, and a second transmitter and/or receiver that may send and/or receive the electrical signals to/from a customer device….”) .
2. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (USPUB 20140314414) in view of Anirban Kanungoe et al. ( NPL Doc: ” A minimal redundant shared OLT protection for hybrid WDM–TDM optical access networks,” 30th October 2015, Photon Netw Commun (2015),Pages 387-400.) .
Regarding claim 10, Cheng et al. teaches An optical network comprising a plurality of sets of optical network units ( FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 teaches plurality sets of ONUs and Paragraph [0030]) , and a commensurate plurality of exchange apparatuses ( FIG.2 and Paragraph [0030]- “…The TWDM PON architecture 200 may further comprise a plurality of OLT transceiver modules 220, 222, 224, and 226, which may be located in one OLT (e.g., the OLT 110 in FIG. 1) or in different OLTs…”) , the plurality of exchange apparatuses being distributed between a plurality of optical line terminals,'OLTs', or OLT subunits ( FIG. 4A-4B teaches OLT subunits) ; the optical network being configured to be reversibly switchable from: a first configuration in which each of the sets of ONUs is optically coupled to a respective first exchange apparatus of the plurality of exchange apparatuses ( FIG. 4C-4D teaches the plurality of OLTs( exchange apparatus) connected to splitter ( switching ) with multiple ONUs sets, AND further more Paragraphs [0043-0044]) , such that each of the exchange apparatuses is optically coupled to only one of the sets of ONUs ( FIGs. 4A-4D) ;
Cheng et al. does not explicitly teach a second configuration in which all of the sets of ONUs whose respective first exchange apparatus is comprised in a high traffic demand, 'HTD', OLT or HTD OLT subunit of the plurality of OLTs or OLT subunits respectively are: optically uncoupled from their respective first exchange apparatuses, and optically coupled to a respective second exchange apparatus of the plurality of exchange apparatuses, each of those second exchange apparatuses being comprised in an OLT or OLT subunit of the plurality of OLTs or OLT subunits respectively other than the HTD OLT or HTD OLT subunit respectively, such that those second one or more exchange apparatuses are each optically coupled to two or more of the sets of ONUs and the HTD OLT or HTD OLT subunit respectively is no longer optically coupled to any of the sets of ONUs.
However, within analogous art, Anirban Kanungoe et al. teaches a second configuration in which all of the sets of ONUs whose respective first exchange apparatus is comprised in a high traffic demand, 'HTD' ( Page 388 – Fig. 1 OTL - ONU architecture and Col. 2- “…we propose a new hybrid WDM–TDM (HTWDM) PON architecture where geographically dispersed OLTs of different H-TWDM PONs are interconnected via their remote nodes to their neighboring OLTs and their ONUs. Here, an OLT provides service protection to ONUs of their neighboring OLTs (if they fail) while simultaneously supporting its own ONUs. This is achieved by connecting an OLT in the proposed network to not just the ONUs directly connected to it, but also to the ONUs of the neighboring OLTs (refer Fig. 2). Since each OLT may be connected to three other…”) , OLT or HTD OLT subunit of the plurality of OLTs or OLT subunits respectively are: optically uncoupled from their respective first exchange apparatuses, and optically coupled to a respective second exchange apparatus of the plurality of exchange apparatuses ( Page 390- Fig. 3 AND Col. 2- “…OLT Architecture We assume each OLT has N transceiver modules operating on N pairs of uplink and downlink wavelengths (Fig. 3). The downlink and uplink wavelengths of each transceiver module are separated from one another by the free spectral range (FSR) of the arrayed waveguide grating (AWGs) (e.g., AWG1) used in the OLT…”) ; each of those second exchange apparatuses being comprised in an OLT or OLT subunit of the plurality of OLTs or OLT subunits respectively other than the HTD OLT or HTD OLT subunit respectively( Page 391- Fig. 4 AND Col. 2- “…The RN1−2 has a four × four power splitter (PS1) and a control box that regulates the exchange of control signals received from the OLTs of connected nodes (i.e., from OLT1, OLT2, OLT3, and OLT5). In each of the four ports of PS1 four data fibers, each coming from OLT1, OLT2 , OLT3, and OLT5 gets connected. Before connecting to PS1, the fibers are passed through erbium-doped fiber amplifier (EDFA) for suitable amplification. Each downstream-side port of the 4×4 PS1 is connected to an (N×1) AWG as used in the OLT. Fibers from the ith port of each of the AWGs in RN1 are sent via a common ferrule connect to four 1:M Power splitters in the RN2….”), such that those second one or more exchange apparatuses are each optically coupled to two or more of the sets of ONUs and the HTD OLT or HTD OLT subunit respectively is no longer optically coupled to any of the sets of ONUs ( Page 390- Fig. 3 teaches switching of optical network AND Page 391- Col. 1- “…transmit/receive from four different ODNs. Consider node 2 in Fig. 3 where OLT2 and RN1−2 are connected ferrules carrying data and control fibers. RN1−2 is further connected by ferrules carrying data and control fibers with RN1−1, RN1−3, and RN1−5. OLT2 can connect to four ODNs— ODN2, ODN1, ODN3, and ODN5. If DFB(λ0) of OLT2 have to transmit to ODN2, 1:4 switch (SW) (S1) in OLT2 directs the signal to AWG1_2 in OLT2. TheAWG1−2 transmits λ0—via a fiber path—to the PS1 in RN1−2 to reach ODN2. The PS1 is a 4×4 passive optical power splitter (PS) in the RN1s (refer Fig. 3). Similarly to reachODN1, S1 connects toAWG1−1 to reach RN1−1 through the ferrule connecting RN1−1 and RN1−2 to connect to the PS1 in RN1−1 and reach ODN1. Similarly, ODN3 and ODN5 can also be reached by OLT2….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Anirban Kanungoe et al. within the modified teaching of the Flexible TWDM PON With Load Balancing And Power Saving mentioned by Cheng et al. because the A minimal redundant shared OLT protection for hybrid WDM–TDM optical access networks mentioned by Anirban Kanungoe et al. provides a method and system for implementation of scalability within optical communication system and protecting optical data processing within the PON system .
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the A minimal redundant shared OLT protection for hybrid WDM–TDM optical access networks mentioned by Anirban Kanungoe et al. within the modified teaching of the Flexible TWDM PON With Load Balancing And Power Saving mentioned by Cheng et al. for implementing a system and method for scalability within optical communication system and protecting optical data processing within the PON system .
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 2,3,4,5,6,7,8 and 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
4. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 2 : “…obtaining the indication that a period of low traffic demand on the optical network has commenced further comprises one or more of: a. determining, or receiving an indication, that a predetermined time window has commenced; and b. determining, or receiving an indication, that traffic on the optical network has fallen below a threshold traffic level, or has remained below a threshold traffic level for a threshold quiet duration.”
As to claims 3 and 4 , claims 3 and 4 depends on claim 2 , therefore claim 3 and 4 are objected as allowable over prior art of record.
As to claim 5, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 5 : “…ceasing the optical communication precedes the step of powering down the one or more first exchange apparatuses, the method further comprising, in response to ceasing the optical communication: queuing messages received at the exchange for the second configuration transfer ONU sets until the optical network has been switched to the second configuration.”
As to claim 6, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 6 : “…ceasing the optical communication between each of the second configuration transfer ONU sets and their respective first exchange apparatuses comprises pausing issuance of upstream dynamic bandwidth allocation, 'DBA', grants to the second configuration transfer ONU sets; and the method further comprises: obtaining an indication that all upstream DBA grants issued to the second configuration transfer ONU sets prior to said pausing have expired, the step of powering down the one or more first exchange apparatuses of the second configuration transfer ONU sets being responsive thereto; and in response to switching the optical network to the second configuration, resuming issuance of upstream DBA grants to the second configuration transfer ONU sets.”
As to claim 7, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 7: “…the second configuration transfer ONU sets are configured to enter a popup state on detecting loss of communication from their respective first exchange apparatuses, the method further comprising: in response to obtaining the indication that the period of low traffic demand on the optical network has commenced, causing the one or more second exchange apparatuses to commence sending respective streams of popup physical layer operations, administration and maintenance, 'PLOAM', messages; and in response to switching the optical network to the second configuration, causing the one or more second exchange apparatuses to cease sending the stream of popup PLOAM messages.”
As to claim 8, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 8: “…obtaining an indication that a period of high traffic demand on the optical network has commenced; and responsive thereto: ceasing the optical communication between each of the second configuration transfer ONU sets and their respective second exchange apparatuses; powering up the one or more first exchange apparatuses that were powered down in response to obtaining the indication that the period of low traffic demand on the optical network had commenced; switching the optical network back to the first configuration; and causing optical communication between each of the second configuration transfer ONU sets and its respective first exchange apparatus to recommence.”
As to claim 9 , Claim 9 depends on claim 8, therefore claim 9 are objected as allowable over prior art of record.
Examiner’s Notes
5. The Examiner acknowledges the following prior arts below as pertinent to the current applications claim limitations and inventive concept, although the following prior arts shown below were not relied upon to address the limitations within the claim , they are analogous art mentioning the inventive concept key points on ( PON system, multiple OLTs , multiple ONUs protection of ONU optical signal transfer, switching between OLTs etc. ).
1) Amit Kumar Garg et al. ," Adaptive bandwidth mechanism using dual rate OLT for energy efficient WDM–TDM passive optical network," 21st April 2017, Telecommun Syst (2017),Pages 657-665.
2) Pulak Chowdhury et al.," Building a Green Wireless-Optical Broadband Access Network (WOBAN),"26th July 2010, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 28, NO. 16, AUGUST 15, 2010,Pages 2219-2223.
3) Jingjing Zhang et al.," Designing Energy-efficient Optical Line Terminal for TDM Passive Optical Networks,"16th June 2011, 34th IEEE Sarnoff Symposium, Pages 1-3.
4) Takashi Mitsui et al.," Flexible and Scalable PON Protection Architecture using N:M Redundancy toward Next Generation Access Network,"16th February 2012, The 17th Asia Pacific Conference on Communications, Pages 224-228.
5) Jun-ichi Kani, " Power Saving Techniques and Mechanisms for Optical Access Networks Systems,"9th January 2013, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 31, NO. 4, FEBRUARY 15, 2013, Pages 563-568.
6) Marek Hajduczenia et al., " Resilience and Service Protection for Ethernet Passive Optical Networks in SIEPON,"10th September 2012, IEEE Communications Magazine , Volume: 50, Issue: 9, September 2012, Pages 118-125.
7) Parkin (USPAT 12035084 )
8) Rafel Porti et al. (USPAT 11018771 )
9) RAFEL PORTI (USPUB 20160329984 )
10) Lee et al. (USPAT 8971699 )
11) MITSUI TAKASHI (KR 20140056286)
12) CHEN et al. (USPUB 20090142059 )
13) Davis et al. ( USPUB 20100239252 )
14) HARAMATY et al. (USPUB 20130243418 )
15) Effenberger et al. (USPUB 20140341561)
16) Peng et al. (USPUB 20160088377)
17) Gao (USPUB 20170111137 )
18) Gao et al.( USPUB 20180199119)
19) Gao ( USPAT 10244295 )
20) ZHENG et al. (USPUB 20190319709 )
21) HAJDUCZENIA(USPUB 20190387293 )
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635