DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/850,030, dated on 09/23/2024.
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 pending.
Claims 15-20 cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 11 limitation “the second SL transmission resource” objected due to lack of antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Xue et al. (US 2022/0061095 A1).
Claim 1, Xue discloses a method for performing wireless communication by a first device (UE; Fig. 2, el. 215; ¶12), the method comprising:
obtaining information related to a time duration which a type 2 listen before talk (LBT)-based transmission is performed (obtaining type 2 LBT base not filtered and/or filtered candidate resources, COT information through COT sharing indicator; In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure). A type 2 LBT may be similar to a category 2 (CAT2) LBT with no countdown. In some instances, some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT, some candidate resources may be available via a type 2 LBT, and some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT. A resource available via a type 2 LBT may be a resource that is shared by another UE. For instance, another UE may contend for a channel occupancy time (COT) in a channel Upon winning the contention, the other UE can transmit in the channel during the COT, and may also share the COT with other UEs. A resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT; ¶47);
triggering a resource selection; determining a selection window based on the resource selection being triggered; and determining a set of sidelink (SL) candidate resources within the selection window based on sensing (Figs. 3A, 3B, 4-7 show triggering the “resource selection trigger” in order to determine a selection window and in order to determine a set of sidelink (SL) candidate resources within the selection window based on sensing; a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), the method includes determining, based on a projected listen-before-talk (LBT) completion time, at least one of a sensing window or a first resource selection window; sensing, based on the determining, in a sidelink resource pool within a shared radio frequency band; identifying, based on the sensing, a subset of resources from the sidelink resource pool that are within the first resource selection window; selecting at least a first resource from the subset of resources; and transmitting, to a second UE using the selected first resource, a sidelink transmission; ¶7; The UE may define a sensing window and a resource selection window in the resource pool with respect to a time when the resource selection is triggered. The sensing window may be located prior to the trigger, and the resource selection window may be located after the trigger. The UE may determine the sensing window and the resource selection window based on a set of parameters, which may be preconfigured and/or predetermined). The UE may identify candidate resources within the resource selection window based on past sensing results (e.g., decoded SCI and/or signal measurements) obtained in the sensing window. In other words, the UE may predict resource usages in the resource selection window based on the past sensing results. The UE may randomly select a resource from the identified candidate resources. The UE may transmit a sidelink transmission (e.g., including SCI in a PSCCH and the packet in a PSSCH) using the selected resource; ¶41),
wherein a first SL transmission resource among the set of SL candidate resources is selected within the time duration (within the type 2 LBT base filtered candidate resources, COT; ¶47) within the selection window (selection of a set of SL candidate resources within the type 2 LBT base filtered candidate resources of the shared COTs as described in ¶47 and within the selection window shown in Figs. 3A, 3B, 4-7 and as describe in exemplary ¶7 and ¶41; The UE may define a sensing window and a resource selection window in the resource pool with respect to a time when the resource selection is triggered. The sensing window may be located prior to the trigger, and the resource selection window may be located after the trigger. The UE may determine the sensing window and the resource selection window based on a set of parameters, which may be preconfigured and/or predetermined). The UE may identify candidate resources within the resource selection window based on past sensing results (e.g., decoded SCI and/or signal measurements) obtained in the sensing window. In other words, the UE may predict resource usages in the resource selection window based on the past sensing results. The UE may randomly select a resource from the identified candidate resources. The UE may transmit a sidelink transmission (e.g., including SCI in a PSCCH and the packet in a PSSCH) using the selected resource; ¶41).
Claim 2, Xue discloses wherein the information related to the time duration includes starting time information and ending time information of the time duration (information of the starting time and ending time of the shared COT; In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure). A type 2 LBT may be similar to a category 2 (CAT2) LBT with no countdown. In some instances, some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT, some candidate resources may be available via a type 2 LBT, and some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT. A resource available via a type 2 LBT may be a resource that is shared by another UE. For instance, another UE may contend for a channel occupancy time (COT) in a channel Upon winning the contention, the other UE can transmit in the channel during the COT, and may also share the COT with other UEs. A resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT; ¶47; Upon receiving the resource selection trigger 346, the PHY layer 304 may define a sensing window 342 and a resource selection window 344 with respect to the time of the resources selection trigger 346 based on a set of parameters including Tproc,0, Tproc,1, T0, T1, T2, and T2min. For instance, the PHY layer 304 may determine a start of the sensing window 342 based on a T0 duration before the resource selection trigger 346 and may determine an end of the sensing window 342 based on a Tproc,0 duration before the resource selection trigger 346. As shown, the sensing window 342 starts at the start of the T0 duration and ends at the start of the Tproc,0 duration. The PHY layer 304 may determine a start of the resource selection window 344 based on a T1 duration after the resource selection trigger 346 and may determine an end of the resource selection window 344 based on a T2 duration after the resource selection trigger 346. The T1 duration may have an upper bound limited by the parameter Tproc,1 (e.g., 0≤T1≤Tproc,1). The T2 duration can be determined to meet a certain packet delay budget (PDB) and may have a lower bound limited by T2min (e.g., T2min≤T2≤PDB). As shown, the resource selection window 344 starts at the end of the T1 duration and ends at the end of the T2 duration. In some aspects, the PHY layer 304 may be preconfigured with some of the parameters (e.g., Tproc,0, Tproc,1). In some aspects, the PHY layer 304 may receive some of the parameters (e.g., T1, T2, T2min) from an upper layer (e.g., an RRC layer); ¶78).
Claims 3, 22, 26, Xue discloses wherein the set of SL candidate resources is determined based on the information related to the time duration (determining SL candidate resources based on the type 2 LBT base not filtered and/or filtered candidate resources of the shared COT information and time duration; In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure). A type 2 LBT may be similar to a category 2 (CAT2) LBT with no countdown. In some instances, some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT, some candidate resources may be available via a type 2 LBT, and some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT. A resource available via a type 2 LBT may be a resource that is shared by another UE. For instance, another UE may contend for a channel occupancy time (COT) in a channel Upon winning the contention, the other UE can transmit in the channel during the COT, and may also share the COT with other UEs. A resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT; ¶47; Upon receiving the resource selection trigger 346, the PHY layer 304 may define a sensing window 342 and a resource selection window 344 with respect to the time of the resources selection trigger 346 based on a set of parameters including Tproc,0, Tproc,1, T0, T1, T2, and T2min. For instance, the PHY layer 304 may determine a start of the sensing window 342 based on a T0 duration before the resource selection trigger 346 and may determine an end of the sensing window 342 based on a Tproc,0 duration before the resource selection trigger 346. As shown, the sensing window 342 starts at the start of the T0 duration and ends at the start of the Tproc,0 duration. The PHY layer 304 may determine a start of the resource selection window 344 based on a T1 duration after the resource selection trigger 346 and may determine an end of the resource selection window 344 based on a T2 duration after the resource selection trigger 346. The T1 duration may have an upper bound limited by the parameter Tproc,1 (e.g., 0≤T1≤Tproc,1). The T2 duration can be determined to meet a certain packet delay budget (PDB) and may have a lower bound limited by T2min (e.g., T2min≤T2≤PDB). As shown, the resource selection window 344 starts at the end of the T1 duration and ends at the end of the T2 duration. In some aspects, the PHY layer 304 may be preconfigured with some of the parameters (e.g., Tproc,0, Tproc,1). In some aspects, the PHY layer 304 may receive some of the parameters (e.g., T1, T2, T2min) from an upper layer (e.g., an RRC layer); ¶78).
Claims 4, 23, Xue discloses wherein all of the set of SL candidate resources is included in the time duration (selecting the type 2 LBT base not filtered candidate resources of the shared COT for SL communication; In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure). A type 2 LBT may be similar to a category 2 (CAT2) LBT with no countdown. In some instances, some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT, some candidate resources may be available via a type 2 LBT, and some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT. A resource available via a type 2 LBT may be a resource that is shared by another UE. For instance, another UE may contend for a channel occupancy time (COT) in a channel Upon winning the contention, the other UE can transmit in the channel during the COT, and may also share the COT with other UEs. A resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT; ¶47).
Claim 5, Xue discloses wherein a portion of the set of SL candidate resources is included in the time duration (selecting a portion of the type 2 LBT base not filtered candidate resources of the shared COT for SL communication; In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure). A type 2 LBT may be similar to a category 2 (CAT2) LBT with no countdown. In some instances, some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT, some candidate resources may be available via a type 2 LBT, and some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT. A resource available via a type 2 LBT may be a resource that is shared by another UE. For instance, another UE may contend for a channel occupancy time (COT) in a channel Upon winning the contention, the other UE can transmit in the channel during the COT, and may also share the COT with other UEs. A resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT; ¶47; The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 that are to be used for transmissions with a higher traffic priority than the UE 215 (e.g., based on SCI decoding in the sensing window 342 and/or prediction). The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 based on resources 352 within the sensing window 342 that have signal measurements (e.g., RSRP and/or RSSI) higher than a certain signal threshold and a predicted resource usage pattern. The PHY layer 304 may perform the resource filtering or exclusion by SCI decoding, priority, and/or signal measurements in the resource selection window 344 in any suitable order. If the remaining candidate resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 is less than 20% of the total resources in the resource selection window 344, the PHY layer 304 may increase the signal threshold and repeat the resource filtering or exclusion until the candidate resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 is about 20% of the total resources 352 in the resource selection window 344. In FIG. 3B, the candidate resources (available resources) 352 in the resource selection window 344 are shown as empty-filled boxes. The unavailable resources 352 are shown as pattern-filled boxes; ¶79).
Claim 6, Xue discloses wherein a second SL transmission resource among the set of SL candidate resources is selected outside the time duration within the selection window, based on the portion of the set of candidate resources not being included in the time duration (selecting a second SL transmission resource among the set of SL candidate resources within the selection window shown in Figs. 3A, 3B, 4-7 and as describe in exemplary ¶7 and ¶41, based on a portion of the SL candidate resources not being in the type 2 LBT base filtered candidate resources of the shared COT for SL communications; In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure). A type 2 LBT may be similar to a category 2 (CAT2) LBT with no countdown. In some instances, some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT, some candidate resources may be available via a type 2 LBT, and some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT. A resource available via a type 2 LBT may be a resource that is shared by another UE. For instance, another UE may contend for a channel occupancy time (COT) in a channel Upon winning the contention, the other UE can transmit in the channel during the COT, and may also share the COT with other UEs. A resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT; ¶47; The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 that are to be used for transmissions with a higher traffic priority than the UE 215 (e.g., based on SCI decoding in the sensing window 342 and/or prediction). The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 based on resources 352 within the sensing window 342 that have signal measurements (e.g., RSRP and/or RSSI) higher than a certain signal threshold and a predicted resource usage pattern. The PHY layer 304 may perform the resource filtering or exclusion by SCI decoding, priority, and/or signal measurements in the resource selection window 344 in any suitable order. If the remaining candidate resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 is less than 20% of the total resources in the resource selection window 344, the PHY layer 304 may increase the signal threshold and repeat the resource filtering or exclusion until the candidate resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 is about 20% of the total resources 352 in the resource selection window 344. In FIG. 3B, the candidate resources (available resources) 352 in the resource selection window 344 are shown as empty-filled boxes. The unavailable resources 352 are shown as pattern-filled boxes; ¶79).
Claims 7, 21, 25, Xue discloses wherein the time duration is channel occupancy time (COT) or fixed frame period (FFP) (the time duration being a channel occupancy time (COT); In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure). A type 2 LBT may be similar to a category 2 (CAT2) LBT with no countdown. In some instances, some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT, some candidate resources may be available via a type 2 LBT, and some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT. A resource available via a type 2 LBT may be a resource that is shared by another UE. For instance, another UE may contend for a channel occupancy time (COT) in a channel Upon winning the contention, the other UE can transmit in the channel during the COT, and may also share the COT with other UEs. A resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT; ¶47).
Claim 8, Xue discloses wherein the set of SL candidate resources is determined within the time duration or outside the time duration, within the selection window (determining the set of SL candidate resources within type 2 LBT base not filtered candidate resources of the shared COT type 2 LBT base filtered candidate resources of the shared COT as describe in exemplary ¶47 and/or within the selection window shown in Figs. 3A, 3B, 4-7 and as describe in exemplary ¶7 and ¶41; The UE may define a sensing window and a resource selection window in the resource pool with respect to a time when the resource selection is triggered. The sensing window may be located prior to the trigger, and the resource selection window may be located after the trigger. The UE may determine the sensing window and the resource selection window based on a set of parameters, which may be preconfigured and/or predetermined). The UE may identify candidate resources within the resource selection window based on past sensing results (e.g., decoded SCI and/or signal measurements) obtained in the sensing window. In other words, the UE may predict resource usages in the resource selection window based on the past sensing results. The UE may randomly select a resource from the identified candidate resources. The UE may transmit a sidelink transmission (e.g., including SCI in a PSCCH and the packet in a PSSCH) using the selected resource; ¶41; In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure). A type 2 LBT may be similar to a category 2 (CAT2) LBT with no countdown. In some instances, some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT, some candidate resources may be available via a type 2 LBT, and some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT. A resource available via a type 2 LBT may be a resource that is shared by another UE. For instance, another UE may contend for a channel occupancy time (COT) in a channel Upon winning the contention, the other UE can transmit in the channel during the COT, and may also share the COT with other UEs. A resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT; ¶47).
Claim 9, Xue discloses wherein a second SL transmission resource among the set of SL candidate resources is selected outside the time duration within the selection window, based on a portion of the set of candidate resources not being included in the time duration (selecting a second SL transmission resource among the set of SL candidate resources within the selection window shown in Figs. 3A, 3B, 4-7 and as describe in exemplary ¶7 and ¶41, based on a portion of the SL candidate resources not being in the type 2 LBT base filtered candidate resources of the shared COT for SL communications; In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure). A type 2 LBT may be similar to a category 2 (CAT2) LBT with no countdown. In some instances, some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT, some candidate resources may be available via a type 2 LBT, and some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT. A resource available via a type 2 LBT may be a resource that is shared by another UE. For instance, another UE may contend for a channel occupancy time (COT) in a channel Upon winning the contention, the other UE can transmit in the channel during the COT, and may also share the COT with other UEs. A resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT; ¶47).
Claim 10, Xue discloses wherein information related to a number of a SL transmission resource selected within the time duration is configured for the first device (configuring the UE selection of a number of the SL transmission resource based on the set of parameters, preconfigured and/or predetermined in the UE and a number of a SL transmission resource within the configured the type 2 LBT base not filtered and/or filtered candidate resources of the shared COT for SL communications; The UE may define a sensing window and a resource selection window in the resource pool with respect to a time when the resource selection is triggered. The sensing window may be located prior to the trigger, and the resource selection window may be located after the trigger. The UE may determine the sensing window and the resource selection window based on a set of parameters, which may be preconfigured and/or predetermined). The UE may identify candidate resources within the resource selection window based on past sensing results (e.g., decoded SCI and/or signal measurements) obtained in the sensing window. In other words, the UE may predict resource usages in the resource selection window based on the past sensing results. The UE may randomly select a resource from the identified candidate resources. The UE may transmit a sidelink transmission (e.g., including SCI in a PSCCH and the packet in a PSSCH) using the selected resource; ¶41; The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 that are to be used for transmissions with a higher traffic priority than the UE 215 (e.g., based on SCI decoding in the sensing window 342 and/or prediction). The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 based on resources 352 within the sensing window 342 that have signal measurements (e.g., RSRP and/or RSSI) higher than a certain signal threshold and a predicted resource usage pattern. The PHY layer 304 may perform the resource filtering or exclusion by SCI decoding, priority, and/or signal measurements in the resource selection window 344 in any suitable order. If the remaining candidate resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 is less than 20% of the total resources in the resource selection window 344, the PHY layer 304 may increase the signal threshold and repeat the resource filtering or exclusion until the candidate resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 is about 20% of the total resources 352 in the resource selection window 344. In FIG. 3B, the candidate resources (available resources) 352 in the resource selection window 344 are shown as empty-filled boxes. The unavailable resources 352 are shown as pattern-filled boxes; ¶79).
Claim 11, Xue discloses wherein the second SL transmission resource among the set of SL candidate resources is selected outside the time duration within the selection window, based on a number of the set of SL candidate resources within the time duration being less than the number of the SL transmission resource (when the number of the SL candidate resources within the type 2 LBT base not filtered candidate resources of the shared COT is not enough for the SL communication, selecting a second SL transmission resource among the set of SL candidate resources within the selection window as shown in Figs. 3A, 3B, 4-7 and as describe in exemplary ¶7 and ¶41, for the SL communication; The UE may define a sensing window and a resource selection window in the resource pool with respect to a time when the resource selection is triggered. The sensing window may be located prior to the trigger, and the resource selection window may be located after the trigger. The UE may determine the sensing window and the resource selection window based on a set of parameters, which may be preconfigured and/or predetermined). The UE may identify candidate resources within the resource selection window based on past sensing results (e.g., decoded SCI and/or signal measurements) obtained in the sensing window. In other words, the UE may predict resource usages in the resource selection window based on the past sensing results. The UE may randomly select a resource from the identified candidate resources. The UE may transmit a sidelink transmission (e.g., including SCI in a PSCCH and the packet in a PSSCH) using the selected resource; ¶41; In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure). A type 2 LBT may be similar to a category 2 (CAT2) LBT with no countdown. In some instances, some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT, some candidate resources may be available via a type 2 LBT, and some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT. A resource available via a type 2 LBT may be a resource that is shared by another UE. For instance, another UE may contend for a channel occupancy time (COT) in a channel Upon winning the contention, the other UE can transmit in the channel during the COT, and may also share the COT with other UEs. A resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT; ¶47; change filtering and resizing the number of resources to meet the required number of the SL transmission resource; The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 that are to be used for transmissions with a higher traffic priority than the UE 215 (e.g., based on SCI decoding in the sensing window 342 and/or prediction). The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 based on resources 352 within the sensing window 342 that have signal measurements (e.g., RSRP and/or RSSI) higher than a certain signal threshold and a predicted resource usage pattern. The PHY layer 304 may perform the resource filtering or exclusion by SCI decoding, priority, and/or signal measurements in the resource selection window 344 in any suitable order. If the remaining candidate resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 is less than 20% of the total resources in the resource selection window 344, the PHY layer 304 may increase the signal threshold and repeat the resource filtering or exclusion until the candidate resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 is about 20% of the total resources 352 in the resource selection window 344. In FIG. 3B, the candidate resources (available resources) 352 in the resource selection window 344 are shown as empty-filled boxes. The unavailable resources 352 are shown as pattern-filled boxes; ¶79).
Claim 12, Xue discloses wherein the information related to the time duration is obtained through sidelink control information (SCI) or medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (obtaining the candidate resource information through SCI for the SL communication; The UE may define a sensing window and a resource selection window in the resource pool with respect to a time when the resource selection is triggered. The sensing window may be located prior to the trigger, and the resource selection window may be located after the trigger. The UE may determine the sensing window and the resource selection window based on a set of parameters, which may be preconfigured and/or predetermined). The UE may identify candidate resources within the resource selection window based on past sensing results (e.g., decoded SCI and/or signal measurements) obtained in the sensing window. In other words, the UE may predict resource usages in the resource selection window based on the past sensing results. The UE may randomly select a resource from the identified candidate resources. The UE may transmit a sidelink transmission (e.g., including SCI in a PSCCH and the packet in a PSSCH) using the selected resource; ¶41; The PHY layer 304 may use a combination of SCI decoding, signal measurements, and/or priority information to identify candidate resources. In some aspects, the PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 that are reserved (e.g., based on SCI decoding in the sensing window 342 and/or prediction). The PHY layer 304 may exclude resources 352 in the resource selection window 344 that are to be used for transmissions with a higher traffic priority than the UE 215 (e.g., based on SCI decoding in the sensing window 342 and/or prediction); ¶79).
Claim 13, Xue discloses wherein the information related to the time duration is transferred from a MAC layer of the first device to a physical (PHY) layer of the first device (communicating the shared COT type 2 LBT base not filtered and/or filtered candidate resource information described in exemplary ¶47, between MAC layer and physical layer of the UE as shown in Figs. 3A, 5-6; 11A, 12A in order to select resources for the SL communication; In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT. A type 1 LBT may be similar to a category 4 (CAT4) LBT including a countdown (a random backoff procedure). A type 2 LBT may be similar to a category 2 (CAT2) LBT with no countdown. In some instances, some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT, some candidate resources may be available via a type 2 LBT, and some candidate resources may be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT. A resource available via a type 2 LBT may be a resource that is shared by another UE. For instance, another UE may contend for a channel occupancy time (COT) in a channel Upon winning the contention, the other UE can transmit in the channel during the COT, and may also share the COT with other UEs. A resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT; ¶47; Upon receiving the resource selection trigger 346, the PHY layer 304 may define a sensing window 342 and a resource selection window 344 with respect to the time of the resources selection trigger 346 based on a set of parameters including Tproc,0, Tproc,1, T0, T1, T2, and T2min. For instance, the PHY layer 304 may determine a start of the sensing window 342 based on a T0 duration before the resource selection trigger 346 and may determine an end of the sensing window 342 based on a Tproc,0 duration before the resource selection trigger 346. As shown, the sensing window 342 starts at the start of the T0 duration and ends at the start of the Tproc,0 duration. The PHY layer 304 may determine a start of the resource selection window 344 based on a T1 duration after the resource selection trigger 346 and may determine an end of the resource selection window 344 based on a T2 duration after the resource selection trigger 346. The T1 duration may have an upper bound limited by the parameter Tproc,1 (e.g., 0≤T1≤Tproc,1). The T2 duration can be determined to meet a certain packet delay budget (PDB) and may have a lower bound limited by T2min (e.g., T2min≤T2≤PDB). As shown, the resource selection window 344 starts at the end of the T1 duration and ends at the end of the T2 duration. In some aspects, the PHY layer 304 may be preconfigured with some of the parameters (e.g., Tproc,0, Tproc,1). In some aspects, the PHY layer 304 may receive some of the parameters (e.g., T1, T2, T2min) from an upper layer (e.g., an RRC layer); ¶78).
Claim 14, Xue discloses a first device (UE; Fig. 14, el. 1400) comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig. 14, el. 1410) at least one processor (Fig. 14, el. 1402) and at least one memory (Fig. 14, el. 1404) connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions (Fig. 14, el. 1406) (As shown, the UE 1400 may include a processor 1402, a memory 1404, an LBT aware autonomous sidelink sensing module 1408, a transceiver 1410 including a modem subsystem 1412 and a radio frequency (RF) unit 1414, and one or more antennas 1416. These elements may be in direct or indirect communication with each other, for example via one or more buses; ¶199; In an aspect, the memory 1404 includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The memory 1404 may store, or have recorded thereon, instructions 1406. The instructions 1406 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 1402, cause the processor 1402 to perform the operations described herein with reference to the UEs 115 and/or 215 in connection with aspects of the present disclosure; ¶201).
Claim 24, Xue discloses a processing device adapted to control a first device (UE; Fig. 14, el. 1400), the processing device comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 14, el. 1402) and at least one memory (Fig. 14, el. 1404) connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions (Fig. 14, el. 1406) that, based on being executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations (As shown, the UE 1400 may include a processor 1402, a memory 1404, an LBT aware autonomous sidelink sensing module 1408, a transceiver 1410 including a modem subsystem 1412 and a radio frequency (RF) unit 1414, and one or more antennas 1416. These elements may be in direct or indirect communication with each other, for example via one or more buses; ¶199; In an aspect, the memory 1404 includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The memory 1404 may store, or have recorded thereon, instructions 1406. The instructions 1406 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 1402, cause the processor 1402 to perform the operations described herein with reference to the UEs 115 and/or 215 in connection with aspects of the present disclosure; ¶201).
Conclusion
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471