DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification (ABSTRACT)
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it appears to be a direct copy of the independent claim. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "plexiglass" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner is taking the position for the purpose of the prior art rejection that the “plexiglass” is referring to the transparent organic soft glass in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagholt et. al. (US 2011/0149408 A1) in view of Piesko et. al. (US 5,886,332).
Regarding claim 1 Hahgholt teaches (figs. 3a-3b, and 4a-4c) an autofocus camera structure, characterized in that it includes a glass substrate (7), and a deformation glass plate (1) having a like-side surface is provided on one side of the glass substrate (para. 0012),
where the glass substrate and the deformation glass plate are provided with a polymer layer (3) supporting an image-side surface of the deformation glass plate, so as to form a converging lens between the glass substrate, the polymer layer, and the deformation glass plate (para. 0013);
and a piezoelectric thin film ring (5) is provided around the image-side surface of the deformation glass plate, so as to realize a change of a focal length by deformation generated by the piezoelectric thin film ring (para. 0013).
Hahgholt does not teach that the soft polymer layer is a polymer resin layer.
Piesko teaches a deformable lens system where the soft polymer is a polymer resin (para. 11, col. 58 - 67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system as taught by Hahgholt with the resins as taught by Piesko for the benefit of a system containing a malleable resin with an index of refraction greater than one with low durometer.
Regarding claim 2 Hahgholt teaches (figs. 3a-3b, and 4a-4c) an autofocus camera structure, characterized in that the middle region of the deformation glass plate forms an image-side curved surface away from the glass substrate (para. 0024).
Regarding claim 3 Hahgholt as modified teaches (figs. 3a-3b, and 4a-4c) an autofocus camera structure, characterized in that the piezoelectric thin film ring is located on the other side of the deformation glass plate away from the polymer resin layer (see fig. 4a-4b).
Regarding claim 4 Hahgholt teaches (figs. 3a-3b, and 4a-4c) an autofocus camera structure, characterized in that the piezoelectric thin film ring is deformation by applying a voltage, and this deformation is used to apply pressure to change the curvature of the image-side curved surface of the deformation glass plate to achieve a change in focal length (para. 0013).
Regarding claim 5 Hahgholt teaches (figs. 3a-3b, and 4a-4c) an autofocus camera structure, characterized in that the material of the deformation glass plate is a transparent organic soft glass (para. 0012).
Regarding claim 7 Hahgholt teaches (figs. 3a-3b, and 4a-4c) an autofocus camera structure, characterized in that the piezoelectric thin film ring is a piezoelectric actuator subject to a voltage controlled deformation state in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the glass substrate for controlling the up and down displacement around the deformation glass plate in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the glass substrate to change the curvature of the image-side curvature of the image-side curved surface of the deformation glass plate (para. 0023 and 0013).
Regarding claim 8 Hahgholt as modified teaches (figs. 3a-3b, and 4a-4c) an autofocus camera structure, characterized in that the polymer resin layer is used to support the spacing between the center of the image-side surface of the deformation glass plate and the glass substrate when the curvature of the image-side surface of the deformation glass plate is changed (para. 0021 and fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9 Hahgholt as modified teaches (figs. 3a-3b, and 4a-4c) an autofocus camera structure, except where the polymer resin comprises one or more of alkyd resins off, amino resins, nitro resins, cellulose resins, perchloroethylene resins, vinyl resins off, acrylic resins, polyester resins, epoxy resins, urethane resins, silicone resins, and rubber.
Piesko teaches where the polymer resin comprises one or more of alkyd resins off, amino resins, nitro resins, cellulose resins, perchloroethylene resins, vinyl resins off, acrylic resins, polyester resins, epoxy resins, urethane resins, silicone resins, and rubber (para. 11, col. 58 - 67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system as taught by Hahgholt with the resins as taught by Piesko for the benefit of a system containing a malleable resin with an index of refraction greater than one with low durometer.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagholt et. al. (US 2011/0149408 A1) in view of Piesko et. al. (US 5,886,332) in further view of Batchko et. al. (US 2008/02851143 A1).
Regarding claim 6 Hahgholt as modified teaches (figs. 3a-3b, and 4a-4c) an autofocus camera structure except where, the plexiglass is any one of a thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), a polyethylene terephthalate (PET), or a polyvinyl chloride (PVC).
Batchko teaches where, the plexiglass is any one of a thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), a polyethylene terephthalate (PET), or a polyvinyl chloride (PVC) (para. 0021).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system as taught by Hahgholt with the bendable cover as taught by Batchko for the benefit of a bendable layer with a suitable index of refraction and a reduction in light scattering interference.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagholt et. al. (US 2011/0149408 A1) in view of Piesko et. al. (US 5,886,332) in further view of Okada et. al. (US 4,795,248).
Regarding claim 10 Hahgholt teaches (figs. 3a-3b, and 4a-4c) an autofocus camera structure, except for characterized in that the surface of the glass substrate is vaporized with a transparent conductive layer of In₂O₃ or SnO₂.
Okada teaches the surface of the glass substrate is vaporized with a transparent conductive layer of In₂O₃ or SnO₂ (col. 15, lines 45-63).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system as taught by Hahgholt with the specific clear electrode as taught by Okada for the benefit of a transparent electrode with high electrical conductivity with optical transparency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further fluid lens systems include Nishioka et. al. (US 2002/0118464 A1), Bollis et. al. (US 2012/0170134 A1), Craen et. al. (US 2017/0199357 A1), and Song et. al. (US 12,108,155 B2).
/Robert E. Tallman/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872