704
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendments filed June 17th, 2026, the following has occurred: claim 1 has been amended; claims 14-15 are new; claims 1-12 and 14-15 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotzig et al. (DE 102017104147 A1, “Gotzig”) in view of Electronics Tutorials (“The Band Stop Filter”, 2015. Internet Archive, https://www.electronics-tutorials.ws/filter/band-stop-filter.html. Accessed 5 February 2026) and Pelick et al. (US 5805526 A, “Pelick”).
Regarding claim 1, Gotzig discloses an ultrasonic sensor for emitting ultrasonic signals and for receiving ultrasonic echoes, in-particular for use on a vehicle ([attached machine translation, pg. 3] ultrasonic sensor may include a plurality of ultrasonic sensors for monitoring objects or obstacles in an area surrounding a motor vehicle), comprising: an ultrasound diaphragm;
a piezoelectric element mounted on the ultrasound diaphragm ([attached machine translation, pg. 3], ultrasonic sensor with a corresponding piezoelectric element and membrane excites mechanical vibrations. emitted ultrasonic signal is reflected at the object in the surrounding area and again impinges upon the membrane of the ultrasonic sensor);
an amplifier circuit; and connection circuitry, which electrically connects the piezoelectric element and the amplifier circuit (Implicit[attached machine translation, pg. 8] ultrasonic sensor includes an evaluation device which is designed as part of an ASIC and connects with the transducer element and an amplifier to strengthen the raw signal)(in order for the sensor signal to be amplified, there must implicitly be connection circuitry between the sensor signal and the amplifier).
Gotzig fails to teach
the connection circuitry comprises an activatable notch filter having a filter frequency,
and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes.
Electronics Tutorials teaches
the connection circuitry comprises an activatable notch filter having a filter frequency([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies),
and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is configured to activate the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes ([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies)(the frequency in which the notch filter provides high attenuation is the filter frequency and would implicitly activate in the event of interference in the region at the filter frequency)([pg. 9], “Notch Filter Design” illustrates two amplifiers with an input and output which are equivalent to connection circuitry).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensor of Gotzig to include the teachings of Electronics Tutorials, in order to yield a vehicle-based ultrasonic obstacle detection device that utilizes a notch filter that allows the device to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies such that received signals within the frequency of interest for anticipated objects detected in the vicinity of the vehicle may have interference filtered out in order to enhance detection accuracy and reliability. Making such a modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (A).
Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials fails to teach
Wherein, in a deactivated state, the notch filter does not attenuate signals in the connection circuitry
Pelick teaches
Wherein, in a deactivated state, the notch filter does not attenuate signals in the connection circuitry(column 8, lines 34-44, data signal may be supplied to notch filter which has a low signals to noise ratio as a result of a target being detected. As the signal passes through the notch filter, the signal may be degraded further, therefore it becomes necessary to exclude said notch filter by by-passing it)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensor of Gotzig, as modified in view of the teachings to Electronics Tutorials, to include the teachings of Pelick, in order to yield a vehicle-based ultrasonic obstacle detection device that utilizes a notch filter that can be selectively activated or bypassed in order to prevent further signal degradation in the event a detected obstacle is stationary so that the obstacle may accurately detected . Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Regarding claim 2, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Electronics Tutorials further teaches
the activatable notch filter is in the form of a twin-T filter([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies).
Regarding claim 3, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1.
Electronics Tutorials further teaches the activatable notch filter is constructed from identical resistors and/or identical capacitors, wherein the identical resistors and/or the identical capacitors are part of an associated resistor network and/or an associated capacitor network([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies) ([pg. 9], “Notch Filter Design” illustrates two parallel resistors and two parallel capacitors).
Regarding claim 4, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Gotzig further teaches
the amplifier circuit is integrated with an application-specific integrated circuit([attached machine translation, pg. 8] ultrasonic sensor includes an evaluation device which is designed as part of an ASIC and connects with the transducer element and an amplifier to strengthen the raw signal).,
and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate by means of the application- specific integrated circuit the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes([attached machine translation, pg. 8] ultrasonic sensor includes an evaluation device which is designed as part of an ASIC and connects with the transducer element and an amplifier to strengthen the raw signal).
Regarding claim 6, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Electronics Tutorials further teaches
wherein the notch filter is in the form of a frequency-adjustable notch filter of adjustable filter frequency, and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to adjust the filter frequency of the notch filter according to an interference frequency of the interference during reception of the ultrasonic echoes (implicit, [pg. 7] notch filter can be made fully adjustable by replacing the two feedback resistors with a single potentiometer and feed it into another op-amp buffer for increased negative gain)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the inclusion of the single potentiometer would implicitly mean the ultrasonic sensor of Gotzig could adjust the filter frequency based on determined interference using the notch filter of Electronics Tutorials).
Regarding claim 7, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Gotzig further teaches
the ultrasonic sensor is designed to receive an activation signal from a control unit of a driving assistance system ([attached machine translation, pg. 5], amplitude, frequency, and/or coding of the voltage signal is determined by a control signal, which allows the evaluation device to control the transducer element).
Electronics Tutorials further teaches
the received activation signal indicates the interference during reception of the ultrasonic echoes, and the ultrasonic sensor is also designed to activate the notch filter depending on the reception of the activation signal([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the frequency in which the notch filter provides high attenuation is the filter frequency and would implicitly activate in the event of interference in the region at the filter frequency).
Regarding claim 9, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Electronics Tutorials further teaches
the notch filter is configurable, and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to configure the notch filter depending on a type of the interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies) (implicit, [pg. 7] notch filter can be made fully adjustable by replacing the two feedback resistors with a single potentiometer and feed it into another op-amp buffer for increased negative gain)(the inclusion of the single potentiometer would implicitly mean the ultrasonic sensor of Gotzig could adjust the filter frequency based on determined interference using the notch filter of Electronics Tutorials).
Regarding claim 12, Gotzig discloses
a driving assistance system comprising: having at least one ultrasonic sensor for providing sensor information; a control unit, wherein the at least one ultrasonic sensor and the control unit are connected to each other via a data link, and the control unit is designed to receive the sensor information from the at least one ultrasonic sensor, and to process this sensor information in order to detect the environment of the vehicle([attached machine translation, pg. 3] ultrasonic sensor device for use with a motor vehicle may include multiple ultrasound sensors which are connected to each other via data lines connecting to a control unit for data transmission),
wherein the at least one ultrasonic sensor is embodied as claimed in claim 1(see rejection of claim 1).
Gotzig fails to teach
the connection circuitry comprises an activatable notch filter having a filter frequency,
and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes.
Electronics Tutorials teaches
the connection circuitry comprises an activatable notch filter having a filter frequency([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies),
and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is configured to activate the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes ([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies)(the frequency in which the notch filter provides high attenuation is the filter frequency and would implicitly activate in the event of interference in the region at the filter frequency)([pg. 9], “Notch Filter Design” illustrates two amplifiers with an input and output which are equivalent to connection circuitry).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensor of Gotzig to include the teachings of Electronics Tutorials, in order to yield a vehicle-based ultrasonic obstacle detection device that utilizes a notch filter that allows the device to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies such that received signals within the frequency of interest for anticipated objects detected in the vicinity of the vehicle may have interference filtered out in order to enhance detection accuracy and reliability. Making such a modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (A).
Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials fails to teach
Wherein, in a deactivated state, the notch filter does not attenuate signals in the connection circuitry
Pelick teaches
Wherein, in a deactivated state, the notch filter does not attenuate signals in the connection circuitry(column 8, lines 34-44, data signal may be supplied to notch filter which has a low signals to noise ratio as a result of a target being detected. As the signal passes through the notch filter, the signal may be degraded further, therefore it becomes necessary to exclude said notch filter by by-passing it)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensor of Gotzig, as modified in view of the teachings to Electronics Tutorials, to include the teachings of Pelick, in order to yield a vehicle-based ultrasonic obstacle detection device that utilizes a notch filter that can be selectively activated or bypassed in order to prevent further signal degradation in the event a detected obstacle is stationary so that the obstacle may accurately detected . Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotzig in view of Electronics Tutorials, Pelick, and Foster (DE 19901835 A, “Foster”).
Regarding claim 5, Gotzig, as modified in view Electronics Tutorials and Pelick teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Gotzig, as modified in view Electronics Tutorials and Pelick fails to teach
the activatable notch filter is integrated with a coupling capacitor of the connection circuitry.
Foster teaches
the activatable notch filter is integrated with a coupling capacitor of the connection circuitry (Fig. 3, [attached machine translation, pg. 4], (56) illustrates a coupling capacitor for connecting the input of the notch filter).
Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the sensor of Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick, to further include the teachings of Foster, in order to yield a vehicle-based ultrasonic obstacle detection device that is capable of adjusted the series resonance frequency of the notch filter as well as holding the voltage output from the D/A converter, in a manner that grants greater control of the operation of the notch filter for detecting signals of interest in the vicinity of the vehicle. Making such a modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (A).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotzig in view of Electronics Tutorials, Pelick, and Hallek (WO 2014037269 A1, “Hallek”).
Regarding claim 8, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Electronics Tutorials further teaches
the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate the notch filter depending on the determined interference during reception of the ultrasonic echoes([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies) (implicit, [pg. 7] notch filter can be made fully adjustable by replacing the two feedback resistors with a single potentiometer and feed it into another op-amp buffer for increased negative gain)(the inclusion of the single potentiometer would implicitly mean the ultrasonic sensor of Gotzig could adjust the filter frequency based on determined interference using the notch filter of Electronics Tutorials).
Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick fails to teach
the ultrasonic sensor has an interference detection unit, which is designed to determine the interference during reception of the ultrasonic echoes.
Hallek teaches
the ultrasonic sensor has an interference detection unit, which is designed to determine the interference during reception of the ultrasonic echoes ([attached machine translation, pg. 5], evaluation and control unit evaluates and analyzes the interference detected within detected echo information).
Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the sensor of Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick, to further include the teachings of Hallek, in order to yield a vehicle-based ultrasonic obstacle detection device that is capable of determining and analyzing interference presence in the detected ultrasonic data so that the quality of the detected echoes can be determined as well as the effectiveness of the notch filter. Making such a modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (A).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotzig in view of Electronics Tutorials, Pelick, and Li (US 20070109109 A1, “Li”).
Regarding claim 10, Gotzig disclose an ultrasonic detection system having a plurality of ultrasonic sensors for detecting an environment, an environment of a vehicle, on the basis of sensor information provided by the ultrasonic sensors, comprising:
a plurality of ultrasonic sensors, which are connected to each other via a data link ([attached machine translation, pg. 3] ultrasonic sensor device for use with a motor vehicle may include multiple ultrasound sensors which are connected to each other via data lines connecting to a control unit for data transmission), and to process this sensor information in order to detect the environment of the vehicle, wherein the ultrasonic sensors are embodied as claimed in claim 1 (See Rejection of Claim 1).
Gotzig fails to teach the connection circuitry comprises
an activatable notch filter having a filter frequency, and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes.
wherein, in a deactivated state, the notch filter does not attenuate signals in the connection circuitry.
Electronics Tutorials teaches
the connection circuitry comprises an activatable notch filter having a filter frequency, and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes ([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies)(the frequency in which the notch filter provides high attenuation is the filter frequency and would implicitly activate in the event of interference in the region at the filter frequency)([pg. 9], “Notch Filter Design” illustrates two amplifiers with an input and output which the examiner interprets to be connection circuitry)(See rejection of claim 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gotzig to include the teachings of Electronics Tutorials, in order to yield a vehicle-based ultrasonic obstacle detection device that utilizes a notch filter that allows the device to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies such that received signals within the frequency of interest for anticipated objects detected in the vicinity of the vehicle may have interference filtered out in order to enhance detection accuracy and reliability. Making such a modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (A).
Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials fails to teach
wherein, in a deactivated state, the notch filter does not attenuate signals in the connection circuitry.
one of the ultrasonic sensors is in the form of a master in order to receive the sensor information from at least one further ultrasonic sensor, which is in the form of a slave.
Pelick teaches
wherein, in a deactivated state, the notch filter does not attenuate signals in the connection circuitry. (column 8, lines 34-44, data signal may be supplied to notch filter which has a low signals to noise ratio as a result of a target being detected. As the signal passes through the notch filter, the signal may be degraded further, therefore it becomes necessary to exclude said notch filter by by-passing it)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensor of Gotzig, as modified in view of the teachings to Electronics Tutorials, to include the teachings of Pelick, in order to yield a vehicle-based ultrasonic obstacle detection device that utilizes a notch filter that can be selectively activated or bypassed in order to prevent further signal degradation in the event a detected obstacle is stationary so that the obstacle may accurately detected . Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick fails to teach
one of the ultrasonic sensors is in the form of a master in order to receive the sensor information from at least one further ultrasonic sensor, which is in the form of a slave
Li teaches
one of the ultrasonic sensors is in the form of a master in order to receive the sensor information from at least one further ultrasonic sensor, which is in the form of a slave ([0009], reversing sensor device for a vehicle includes a master sensor and more than one slave-sensor. The master sensor and slave sensors include an ultrasonic emission and reflection and detection circuit. The master sensor is connected to slave sensors and uses a time sharing and polling method to collect detection results from slave sensors).
Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art of ultrasonic sensing, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Gotzig, as modified in view of the teachings of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick, to further include teaching of Li, in order to yield a vehicle-based ultrasonic detection system that utilizes a master-slave architecture that allows configuration of the sensors to be relayed from a master sensor such that transmitted/received signals are optimized based on the selected characteristics of the activable notch filter, enhancing detection performance and reliability with respect to the surroundings of the motor vehicle as it is backing up. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials, Pelick, and Li teaches the ultrasonic detection system as claimed in claim 10. Gotzig further teaches
the ultrasonic sensor for emitting ultrasonic signals and for receiving ultrasonic echoes, for use on a vehicle, comprising: an ultrasound diaphragm, a piezoelectric element mounted on the ultrasound diaphragm([attached machine translation, pg. 3], ultrasonic sensor with a corresponding piezoelectric element and membrane excites mechanical vibrations. emitted ultrasonic signal is reflected at the object in the surrounding area and again impinges upon the membrane of the ultrasonic sensor),
an amplifier circuit, and connection circuitry, which electrically connects the piezoelectric element and the amplifier circuit([attached machine translation, pg. 8] ultrasonic sensor includes an evaluation device which is designed as part of an ASIC and connects with the transducer element and an amplifier to strengthen the raw signal)( in order for the sensor signal to be amplified, there must implicitly be connection circuitry between the sensor signal and the amplifier);
the ultrasonic sensor is designed to receive an activation signal, from a control unit of a driving assistance system([attached machine translation, pg. 5], amplitude, frequency, and/or coding of the voltage signal is determined by a control signal, which allows the evaluation device to control the transducer element);
Electronics Tutorials further teaches
the connection circuitry comprises an activatable notch filter having a filter frequency, and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies);
and the ultrasonic sensor is also designed to activate the notch filter depending on the reception of the activation signal; the received activation signal indicates the interference during reception of the ultrasonic echoes ([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies)(the frequency in which the notch filter provides high attenuation is the filter frequency and would implicitly activate in the event of interference in the region at the filter frequency)([pg. 9], “Notch Filter Design” illustrates two amplifiers with the notch filter comprising an input and output which the examiner interprets to be connection circuitry),
Li further teaches
the ultrasonic sensor in the form of master is
however Li does not teach the transfer of signals to a slave sensor in response to an activation signal indicating the presence of interference or a configuration signal in response to determining a type of interference present in the region for configuring the notch filter. No identified prior art teaches these limitations in part with sufficient motivation to combine).
Regarding claim 14, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick teaches the ultrasonic sensor of claim 1. Pelick further teaches
wherein the activatable notch filter is selectively activated and deactivated notch filter is connected directly to the output terminal)(Pelick, the closest identified prior art, teaches that the exclusion (or deactivation) of the notch filter is achieved by by-passing the notch filter via a selector switch that selectively routes the signal path, rather than deactivating the notch filter by a connection to ground, as required by the claim limitation. No other identified prior art teaches the limitation either wholly or in part with sufficient motivation to combine).
Regarding claim 15, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick teaches the ultrasonic sensor of claim 1. Pelick further teaches
wherein the amplifier circuit comprises at least one general-purpose input/output (GPIO) and at least one switch, and wherein the notch filter is activated by connecting the at least one GPIO to ground via the at least one switch(column 8, lines 34-44, data signal may be supplied to notch filter which has a low signals to noise ratio as a result of a target being detected. As the signal passes through the notch filter, the signal may be degraded further, therefore it becomes necessary to exclude said notch filter by by-passing it. This is accomplished by energizing the selector switch in such a manner that the input to notch filter is connected directly to the output terminal)(Pelick, the closest identified prior art, teaches that the exclusion (or deactivation) of the notch filter is achieved by by-passing the notch filter via a selector switch that selectively routes the signal path, rather than deactivating the notch filter by a connection to ground via a switch between a GPIO and ground, as required by the claim limitation. No other identified prior art teaches the limitation either wholly or in part with sufficient motivation to combine).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, filed June 17th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Pelick.
On pg. 4-10 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant further argues that due to the alleged allowability of independent claim 1, that the dependent claims are therefore in condition for allowance. As noted in the response to arguments with respect to claim 1, above, the rejection is maintained under new grounds as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Similarly, the rejections of claims 2-10 and 12 stand rejected. Claims 11 and 14-15 are indicated objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Rostocki it el. (US 20170160386 A, “Rostocki”) which discloses an ultrasonic driver assistance system
Preissler et al. (WO 2019215028 A1, “Preissler”) which discloses an ultrasonic system for detecting objects surrounding a vehicle
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645