DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotzig et al. (DE 102017104147 A1, “Gotzig”) in view of Electronics Tutorials (“The Band Stop Filter”, 2015. Internet Archive, https://www.electronics-tutorials.ws/filter/band-stop-filter.html. Accessed 5 February 2026).
Regarding claim 1, Gotzig discloses an ultrasonic sensor for emitting ultrasonic signals and for receiving ultrasonic echoes, in-particular for use on a vehicle ([attached machine translation, pg. 3] ultrasonic sensor may include a plurality of ultrasonic sensors for monitoring objects or obstacles in an area surrounding a motor vehicle), comprising: an ultrasound diaphragm; a piezoelectric element mounted on the ultrasound diaphragm ([attached machine translation, pg. 3], ultrasonic sensor with a corresponding piezoelectric element and membrane excites mechanical vibrations. emitted ultrasonic signal is reflected at the object in the surrounding area and again impinges upon the membrane of the ultrasonic sensor); an amplifier circuit; and connection circuitry, which electrically connects the piezoelectric element and the amplifier circuit ([attached machine translation, pg. 8] ultrasonic sensor includes an evaluation device which is designed as part of an ASIC and connects with the transducer element and an amplifier to strengthen the raw signal)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that in order for the sensor signal to be amplified, there must implicitly be connection circuitry between the sensor signal and the amplifier).
Gotzig may not explicitly teach the connection circuitry comprises an activatable notch filter having a filter frequency, and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes.
Electronics tutorial teaches the connection circuitry comprises an activatable notch filter having a filter frequency, and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes ([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the frequency in which the notch filter provides high attenuation is the filter frequency and would implicitly activate in the event of interference in the region at the filter frequency)([pg. 9], “Notch Filter Design” illustrates two amplifiers with an input and output which the examiner interprets to be connection circuitry).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of ultrasonic sensing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensor of Gotzig, to include the notch filter of Electronics Tutorials with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies [pg. 9].
Regarding claim 2, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Electronics tutorials further teaches the activatable notch filter is in the form of a twin-T filter([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies).
Regarding claim 3, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Electronics Tutorials further teaches the activatable notch filter is constructed from identical resistors and/or identical capacitors, wherein the identical resistors and/or the identical capacitors are part of an associated resistor network and/or an associated capacitor network([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies) ([pg. 9], “Notch Filter Design” illustrates two parallel resistors and two parallel capacitors).
Regarding claim 4, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Gotzig further teaches the amplifier circuit is integrated with an application-specific integrated circuit, and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate by means of the application- specific integrated circuit the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes([attached machine translation, pg. 8] ultrasonic sensor includes an evaluation device which is designed as part of an ASIC and connects with the transducer element and an amplifier to strengthen the raw signal).
Regarding claim 6, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Electronics Tutorials further teaches wherein the notch filter is in the form of a frequency-adjustable notch filter of adjustable filter frequency, and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to adjust the filter frequency of the notch filter according to an interference frequency of the interference during reception of the ultrasonic echoes (implicit, [pg. 7] notch filter can be made fully adjustable by replacing the two feedback resistors with a single potentiometer and feed it into another op-amp buffer for increased negative gain)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the inclusion of the single potentiometer would implicitly mean the ultrasonic sensor of Gotzig could adjust the filter frequency based on determined interference using the notch filter of Electronics Tutorials).
Regarding claim 7, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Gotzig further teaches the ultrasonic sensor is designed to receive an activation signal from a control unit of a driving assistance system ([attached machine translation, pg. 5], amplitude, frequency, and/or coding of the voltage signal is determined by a control signal, which allows the evaluation device to control the transducer element).
Electronics Tutorials further teaches the received activation signal indicates the interference during reception of the ultrasonic echoes, and the ultrasonic sensor is also designed to activate the notch filter depending on the reception of the activation signal([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the frequency in which the notch filter provides high attenuation is the filter frequency and would implicitly activate in the event of interference in the region at the filter frequency).
Regarding claim 9, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Electronics Tutorials further teaches the notch filter is configurable, and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to configure the notch filter depending on a type of the interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies) (implicit, [pg. 7] notch filter can be made fully adjustable by replacing the two feedback resistors with a single potentiometer and feed it into another op-amp buffer for increased negative gain)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the inclusion of the single potentiometer would implicitly mean the ultrasonic sensor of Gotzig could adjust the filter frequency based on determined interference using the notch filter of Electronics Tutorials).
Regarding claim 12, Gotzig discloses a driving assistance system comprising: having at least one ultrasonic sensor for providing sensor information; a control unit, wherein the at least one ultrasonic sensor and the control unit are connected to each other via a data link, and the control unit is designed to receive the sensor information from the at least one ultrasonic sensor, and to process this sensor information in order to detect the environment of the vehicle([attached machine translation, pg. 3] ultrasonic sensor device for use with a motor vehicle may include multiple ultrasound sensors which are connected to each other via data lines connecting to a control unit for data transmission), wherein the at least one ultrasonic sensor is embodied as claimed in claim 1(see rejection of claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of ultrasonic sensing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gotzig, to include the notch filter of Electronics Tutorials with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies [pg. 9].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotzig in view of Electronics Tutorials and Foster (DE 19901835 A, “Foster”).
Regarding claim 5, Gotzig, as modified in view Electronics Tutorials the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Gotzig, as modified in view Electronics Tutorials the activatable notch filter is integrated with a coupling capacitor of the connection circuitry.
Foster teaches the activatable notch filter is integrated with a coupling capacitor of the connection circuitry (Fig. 3, [attached machine translation, pg. 4], (56) illustrates a coupling capacitor for connecting the input of the notch filter).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of ultrasonic sensing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensor of Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials to include the coupling capacitor of Foster with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of holding the voltage output from the D/A converter [attached machine translation. Pg. 4].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotzig in view of Electronics Tutorials and Hallek (WO 2014037269 A1, “Hallek”).
Regarding claim 8, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials, teaches the ultrasonic sensor as claimed in claim 1. Electronics Tutorials further teaches the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate the notch filter depending on the determined interference during reception of the ultrasonic echoes([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies) (implicit, [pg. 7] notch filter can be made fully adjustable by replacing the two feedback resistors with a single potentiometer and feed it into another op-amp buffer for increased negative gain)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the inclusion of the single potentiometer would implicitly mean the ultrasonic sensor of Gotzig could adjust the filter frequency based on determined interference using the notch filter of Electronics Tutorials).
Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials may not explicitly teach the ultrasonic sensor has an interference detection unit, which is designed to determine the interference during reception of the ultrasonic echoes.
Hallek teaches the ultrasonic sensor has an interference detection unit, which is designed to determine the interference during reception of the ultrasonic echoes ([attached machine translation, pg. 5], evaluation and control unit evaluates and analyzes the interference detected within detected echo information).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of ultrasonic sensing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensor of Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials to include the interference detection unit of Hallek with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation identifying interference present in the signal such as those from ground reflections [attached machine translation, pg. 4].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotzig in view of Electronics Tutorials and Li (US 20070109109 A1, “Li”).
Regarding claim 10, Gotzig disclose an ultrasonic detection system having a plurality of ultrasonic sensors for detecting an environment, an environment of a vehicle, on the basis of sensor information provided by the ultrasonic sensors, comprising: a plurality of ultrasonic sensors, which are connected to each other via a data link ([attached machine translation, pg. 3] ultrasonic sensor device for use with a motor vehicle may include multiple ultrasound sensors which are connected to each other via data lines connecting to a control unit for data transmission), and to process this sensor information in order to detect the environment of the vehicle, wherein the ultrasonic sensors are embodied as claimed in claim 1 (See Rejection of Claim 1).
Gotzig may not explicitly teach the connection circuitry comprises an activatable notch filter having a filter frequency, and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes.
Electronics Tutorials teaches the connection circuitry comprises an activatable notch filter having a filter frequency, and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes ([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the frequency in which the notch filter provides high attenuation is the filter frequency and would implicitly activate in the event of interference in the region at the filter frequency)([pg. 9], “Notch Filter Design” illustrates two amplifiers with an input and output which the examiner interprets to be connection circuitry)(See rejection of claim 1)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of ultrasonic sensing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the detection system of Gotzig, to include the notch filter of Electronics Tutorials with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies [pg. 9].
Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials may not explicitly teach one of the ultrasonic sensors is in the form of a master in order to receive the sensor information from at least one further ultrasonic sensor, which is in the form of a slave.
Li teaches one of the ultrasonic sensors is in the form of a master in order to receive the sensor information from at least one further ultrasonic sensor, which is in the form of a slave ([0009], reversing sensor device for a vehicle includes a master sensor and more than one slave-sensor. The master sensor and slave sensors include an ultrasonic emission and reflection and detection circuit. The master sensor is connected to slave sensors and uses a time sharing and polling method to collect detection results from slave sensors).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of ultrasonic sensing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gotzig, to include the master slave configuration of Li with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of aiding the monitoring of surroundings of a motor vehicle as it reverses [0009].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as any relevant 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, Gotzig, as modified in view of Electronics Tutorials and Li teaches the ultrasonic detection system as claimed in claim 10. Gotzig further teaches the ultrasonic sensor for emitting ultrasonic signals and for receiving ultrasonic echoes, for use on a vehicle, comprising: an ultrasound diaphragm, a piezoelectric element mounted on the ultrasound diaphragm([attached machine translation, pg. 3], ultrasonic sensor with a corresponding piezoelectric element and membrane excites mechanical vibrations. emitted ultrasonic signal is reflected at the object in the surrounding area and again impinges upon the membrane of the ultrasonic sensor), an amplifier circuit, and connection circuitry, which electrically connects the piezoelectric element and the amplifier circuit([attached machine translation, pg. 8] ultrasonic sensor includes an evaluation device which is designed as part of an ASIC and connects with the transducer element and an amplifier to strengthen the raw signal)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that in order for the sensor signal to be amplified, there must implicitly be connection circuitry between the sensor signal and the amplifier); the ultrasonic sensor is designed to receive an activation signal, from a control unit of a driving assistance system([attached machine translation, pg. 5], amplitude, frequency, and/or coding of the voltage signal is determined by a control signal, which allows the evaluation device to control the transducer element);
Electronics Tutorials further teaches the connection circuitry comprises an activatable notch filter having a filter frequency, and wherein the ultrasonic sensor is designed to activate the notch filter in the event of interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes; and the ultrasonic sensor is also designed to activate the notch filter depending on the reception of the activation signal; the received activation signal indicates the interference during reception of the ultrasonic echoes ([pg. 9], Notch filters use a Twin-T parallel RC network to obtain a deep notch and are designed to provide high attenuation at and near a single frequency with little or no attenuation at all other frequencies)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the frequency in which the notch filter provides high attenuation is the filter frequency and would implicitly activate in the event of interference in the region at the filter frequency)([pg. 9], “Notch Filter Design” illustrates two amplifiers with the notch filter comprising an input and output which the examiner interprets to be connection circuitry),
Li further teaches the ultrasonic sensor in the form of master is designed to determine interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes, and, depending on the determined interference, to transfer to the at least one ultrasonic sensor in the form of a slave an activation signal indicating the interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes, and/or wherein the ultrasonic sensor in the form of master is designed to determine a type of the interference in the region of the filter frequency during reception of the ultrasonic echoes, and, depending on the determined type of the interference, to transfer to the at least one ultrasonic sensor in the form of a slave a configuration signal for configuring the notch filter ([0009], reversing sensor device for a vehicle includes a master sensor and more than one slave-sensor. The master sensor and slave sensors include an ultrasonic emission and reflection and detection circuit. The master sensor is connected to slave sensors and uses a time sharing and polling method to collect detection results from slave sensors, however Li does not teach the transfer of signals to a slave sensor in response to an activation signal indicating the presence of interference or a configuration signal in response to determining a type of interference present in the region for configuring the notch filter. No identified prior art teaches these limitations in part with sufficient motivation to combine).
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Rostocki it el. (US 20170160386 A, “Rostocki”) which discloses an ultrasonic driver assistance system
Preissler et al. (WO 2019215028 A1, “Preissler”) which discloses an ultrasonic system for detecting objects surrounding a vehicle
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645