DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ response filed 07/29/26 has been considered.
Claims 1-14 are amended. Thus, claims 1-14 are pending in the present application.
Claim Interpretation
construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word "means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first quantum computation unit and second quantum computation unit in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In the instant application, it is not clear in the specification as to what particular
corresponding structures the Applicant intends to encompass for performing the claimed
functions. The specifications and drawings do not disclose sufficient corresponding structure,
material or acts for performing the claimed functions. The specification merely repeats the
function without any structure to perform the function. The drawing provided simply designates
a “block box” to perform the function (see for example Figures 2 and 5, elements 20 and 30, and
specification [0025-0030]). Thus, Examiner could not properly determine the scope of the claim
as the specification does not set forth clear structure that performs each function invoked by the
35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
The patent law requires that applicants must disclose his invention in such detail that it
will not require undue experimentation for one skill in the art. Applicant did not comply with
this requirement of the first paragraph. The examiner contends (at the time the invention was
made) that it would require undue experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art to make
and use the claimed invention for the reasons set forth above. Applicants are reminded that no new matter is allowed in the amendment to the specifications under 35 U.S.C. 132 and 37 CFR
1.118(a).
Dependent claims 2-7 are rejected upon dependency of the above independent claims.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the control circuit interrupts the computation processing of the first quantum computation unit for backup of a result of the computation processing when the error amount exceeds a predetermined threshold”.
The interconnection between interruption of the computation process and the backup of the result of the computation is confusing and for the most part not detailed or mentioned in the claim. It is difficult to translate the claim and follow what processes are taking place. Further, it is not clear if the result of the computation processing is stored, for example, in a register, and furthermore updated the error amount before the control circuit determines whether the error amount exceeds the threshold. Clarification is required.
Dependent claim depends on the base claim and inherently includes limitations therein and therefore is rejected as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un patentable over Kelly (U.S. PN: 10,692,009) in view of Muraki (U.S. PN: 10,861,363).
As per claim 1, Kelly substantially teaches an information processing apparatus comprising (see col. 1, lines 29-34 and col. 1, lines 63-67) a first quantum computation unit that includes a qubit and performs quantum computation; a second quantum computation unit that includes qubits and performs quantum computation with error correction (see col. 1, lines 30-45, col. 3, lines 9-42, and col. 5, lines 60-67 to col. 1-4); and a control unit that causes the first quantum computation unit to perform computation processing and performs control to transfer the computation processing to the second quantum computation unit, based on an error amount in the computation processing in the first quantum computation unit (see col. 2, lines 18-67 and col. 3, lines 9-
Kelly does not explicitly teach that the control circuit interrupts the computation processing of the first quantum computation unit for backup of a result of the computation processing when the error amount exceeds a predetermined threshold.
However, Muraki teaches a control circuit interrupts the computation processing of the first quantum computation unit for backup of a result of the computation processing when the error amount exceeds a predetermined threshold (see col. 12, lines 15-26) “as shown in step S2, the control circuit 110 determines whether or not the accumulated number of times of detection of an error indicated by the information regarding the accumulated number of times of detection exceeds a threshold value of accumulated number of times of detection. If the accumulated number of times of detection exceeds the threshold value of accumulated number of times of detection, the control circuit 110 outputs a notification signal from an error terminal, which is not illustrated, to the processing device 310, as shown in step S3. The notification signal is an interrupt signal to the processing device 310.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to interrupt the computation processing of the first quantum computation unit for backup of a result of the computation processing when the error amount exceeds a predetermined threshold as taught by Maraki to have incorporated in the system of Kelly.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that interruption the computation processing of the first quantum computation unit for backup of a result of the computation processing when the error amount exceeds a predetermined threshold would have minimized consumption of space processing power or resource consumption.
As per claim 2, Kelly substantially teaches as indicated in claims 1 and 8. Kelly teaches wherein the control circuit performs control to transfer the computation processing to the
second quantum computation unit, based on the error amount according to a processing time of
the computation processing (View Kelly col. 2, lines 18-67 and col. 3, lines 9-25, col. 5, lines 60-
67 to col. 1-4).
As per claim 3, Kelly substantially teaches as indicated in claims 1 and 8. Kelly
teaches wherein the control circuit performs control to transfer the computation processing to the second quantum computation unit, based on the error amount according to the number of single-qubit gate computations in the computation processing (View Kelly col. 1, lines 45-67 to col. 5, lines 1-9).
As per claim 4, Kelly substantially teaches as indicated in claims 1 and 8. Kelly
teaches wherein the control circuit performs control to transfer the computation processing to the
second quantum computation unit, based on the error amount according to the number of two- -
qubit gate computations in the computation processing (View Kelly col. 1, lines 36-40).
As per claim 5, Kelly substantially teaches as indicated in claims 1 and 8. Kelly
teaches wherein the control circuit further performs control to transfer the computation processing
to the first quantum computation circuit after causing the second quantum computation unit having been selected to perform the computation processing (View Kelly col. 2, lines 62-67 to col.3, lines 1-5).
As per claim 6, Kelly substantially teaches as indicated in claims 1 and 8. Kelly
teaches wherein the control circuit further performs control to transfer the computation processing having been transferred to the second quantum computation unit to the first quantum
computation unit again (View Kelly col. 6, lines 5-15).
As per claim 7, Kelly substantially teaches as indicated in claims 1 and 8. Kelly
teaches wherein the control circuit adjusts a code distance for the error correction in the second
quantum computation unit (View Kelly col. 3, lines 6-19 and col. 6, lines 5-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if
the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same
under either status.
(a) (1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention.
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Kelly (U.S.
PN: 10,692,009).
As per claim 8, Kelly substantially teaches an information processing method comprising (see col. 1, lines 29-34 and col. 1, lines 63-67) causing, by a control circuit, a first quantum computation unit to perform computation processing; transferring, by a control circuit, the computation processing from the first quantum computation unit to a second quantum computation unit based on an error amount in the computation processing of the first quantum computation unit wherein the first quantum computation unit includes a qubit and performs quantum computation; the second quantum computation unit includes qubits and performs quantum computation with error correction (see col. 1, lines 30-45, see col. 2, lines 18-67, col. 3, lines 9-45, and col. 5, lines 60-67 to col. 1-15).
As per claim 9, Kelly substantially teaches as indicated in claims 1 and 8. Kelly teaches wherein the control circuit performs control to transfer the computation processing to the
second quantum computation unit, based on the error amount according to a processing time of
the computation processing (View Kelly col. 2, lines 18-67 and col. 3, lines 9-25, col. 5, lines 60-
67 to col. 1-4).
As per claim 10, Kelly substantially teaches as indicated in claims 1 and 8. Kelly
teaches wherein the control circuit performs control to transfer the computation processing to the second quantum computation unit, based on the error amount according to the number of single-qubit gate computations in the computation processing (View Kelly col. 1, lines 45-67 to col. 5, lines 1-9).
As per claim 11, Kelly substantially teaches as indicated in claims 1 and 8. Kelly
teaches wherein the control circuit performs control to transfer the computation processing to the
second quantum computation unit, based on the error amount according to the number of two- -
qubit gate computations in the computation processing (View Kelly col. 1, lines 36-40).
As per claim 12, Kelly substantially teaches as indicated in claims 1 and 8. Kelly
teaches wherein the control circuit further performs control to transfer the computation processing to the first quantum computation unit after causing the second quantum computation unit having been selected to perform the computation processing (View Kelly col. 2, lines 62-67 to col.3, lines 1-5).
As per claim 13, Kelly substantially teaches as indicated in claims 1 and 8. Kelly
teaches wherein the control circuit further performs control to transfer the computation processing having been transferred to the second quantum computation unit to the first quantum
computation unit again (View Kelly col. 6, lines 5-15).
As per claim 14, Kelly substantially teaches as indicated in claims 1 and 8. Kelly
teaches wherein the control circuit adjusts a code distance for the error correction in the second
quantum computation unit (View Kelly col. 3, lines 6-19 and col. 6, lines 5-15).
Conclusion
/ESAW T ABRAHAM/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2112